Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Goths'

• 17-01-2006 9:59pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3 SpinMeRightRoun

I've been reading through some of the threads here . . . and many people seem VERY clueless about Goths. I'm sorry but it's true.
    This site
    http://blood-dance.net/goth/grant.html
    gives a very good definition of Goth.
    Goth is a way of expressing yourself, and it's about colour of mind. It's not about the cloths or music or depression. You could wear luminous green and still call yourself Goth!!! Many people believe the stereotypes about 'Goths', and by that I mean the people who go around wearing misery as fashion. Hopefully this might clear things up . . . I didn't make this thread to be flamed, just to put things into perspective that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

bs dont make me laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Could you account for the large amount of people who go through the 'goth phase'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Riiiiight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Goth is something teenagers do because they want attention.

Goths in their 20's/30's scare me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

dublindude wrote:
    Goths in their 20's/30's scare me.

Goths in their 60's/70's scare me. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭mickymg2003

In a nutshell, Goth is very much like 70s Punk with a brain and good manners.
    Thought it wasnt about music?

Its attention seeking really!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Really, I don't care what you look like, but I don't understand why they feel a need to dress in a certain way in order that 'outsiders' will know they belong to a certain clique. With that in mind, they're no different then the members of a golf club.
    They try to be very different (which is fine!) but the funny thing is they end up looking exactly the same!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Disgruntled teenagers, desperately trying to be "different" by dressing the exact same as their peers.

Smile people, the world ISN'T out to get you.

....well not untill you got all miserable anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Your creative efforts are often described as dark, shocking, scary, morbid or strange

You don't understand why the people around you spend so much time watching TV

You are not afraid of the dark
    LOL, tosser!

I was a goth once, years ago. I wore bright pink and yellow...very little black actually :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I've been reading through some of the threads here . . . and many people seem VERY clueless about Goths. I'm sorry but it's true.
    This site
    http://blood-dance.net/goth/grant.html
    gives a very good definition of Goth.
    Goth is a way of expressing yourself, and it's about colour of mind. It's not about the cloths or music or depression. You could wear luminous green and still call yourself Goth!!! Many people believe the stereotypes about 'Goths', and by that I mean the people who go around wearing misery as fashion. Hopefully this might clear things up . . . I didn't make this thread to be flamed, just to put things into perspective that's all.

If you are really are a goth, where were you when rome was sacked?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭mise_me_fein_V2

Goths are just kids into crap music that have rich parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,320 ✭✭✭ro1798

can i assume this is right?

goth = smelly rocker

just to clear things in my head

ronan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

This has got to be just some hate mongering.

The OP name is the name of a song produced by Stok Akin and Waterman but uneducated people might has thought had a goth relation. The Aviator adding to it and the fact it the first and only post it just makes it more likely a troll

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Guess I went through a phase when I was teenager.
    Wasnt so hot on the music. was a black-wearing moody,sarcastic cow.
    Thats not goth exactly. I call it my transitional stage from my parents running my world to me taking over. a statement I suppose.
    :v: Still cant shake them off though at nearly 27

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,553 ✭✭✭Demetrius

Goths are just kids into crap music that have rich parents.
    Ive always been of that of that opinion myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭nachos

From the few goths that I've come into contact with, they seem very hypocritical and snobby. I'm not a goth at all and the few times I've gone to Fibbers', I've worn my jeans, a jumper and shoes as I would wear anywhere else. When I go into Fibbers' (a metal/goth bar) I can see people sort of look their noses down on me and seem to make snide remarks because I don't belong to their clique.
    They complain that people judge them on the way they look, yet they're doing the exact same to "normal"(that's implying goths aren't normal! well...) people.

maybe I've just met the unpleasent side of goth culture.... meh

This has got to be just some hate mongering.

The OP name is the name of a song produced by Stok Akin and Waterman but uneducated people might has thought had a goth relation. The Aviator adding to it and the fact it the first and only post it just makes it more likely a troll

Just because we don't know that the OP's name it that of a song produced by someone not many people may have heard of, doesn't mean we are "uneducated"

Although now that I know that I agree that it may be a troll.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I've been reading through some of the threads here . . . and many people seem VERY clueless about Goths. I'm sorry but it's true..

and......?
    if people are clueless, who cares? you?
    I thought goths didn't care what you thought of them

or is that me being clueless?
    oops

/edit, btw, what part of celbridge do you live in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

....The Aviator....
    :confused: The Aviator?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

nachos wrote:
    From the few goths that I've come into contact with, they seem very hypocritical and snobby. I'm not a goth at all and the few times I've gone to Fibbers', I've worn my jeans, a jumper and shoes as I would wear anywhere else. When I go into Fibbers' (a metal/goth bar) I can see people sort of look their noses down on me and seem to make snide remarks because I don't belong to their clique.
    They complain that people judge them on the way they look, yet they're doing the exact same to "normal"(that's implying goths aren't normal! well...) people.

maybe I've just met the unpleasent side of goth culture.... meh

I've gotten the same years ago in the metal part of Bruxelles. I love metal (and all other types). I was there with friends wearing runners cords and and some sort of shirt and was told that my kind weren't welcome around here, by two smelly long haired metallers. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Crucifix wrote:
    Good film... Although i assume its the Ankh for an avatar that was the cause for concern ;)

Crucifix wrote:
    The little picture by the persons name.
    Sleipnir wrote:
    Just because we don't know that the OP's name it that of a song produced by someone not many people may have heard of, doesn't mean we are "uneducated"

I was suggesting the OP was uneducated. To say not many people know who SAW are is uneducated though. They have reformed and there was big news reports about it along with a tv documentry.
    Currently the lead singer from the band (Dead or Alive) is in Big Brother right now and the song was used in a recent add and is just being rereleased.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Sorry I did mean to say I spelt it wrong

ro1798 wrote:
    can i assume this is right?

goth = smelly rocker

just to clear things in my head

ronan
    I nearly fell off my chair laughing! Brilliant. :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

if ten or more of that list is true, heh.
    I like museums, i'm not afraid of the dark etc...so I'm a goth?
    Very well then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Mina Loy

what a pointless thread:v:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Pff Goth-bashing is over. It's all about slagging the emos now.

The little picture by the persons name.

I was suggesting the OP was uneducated. To say not many people know who SAW are is uneducated though. They have reformed and there was big news reports about it along with a tv documentry.
    Currently the lead singer from the band (Dead or Alive) is in Big Brother right now and the song was used in a recent add and is just being rereleased.

So basically, unless I know EVERYTHING that's happening in the world, including all press releases and all subjects contained in the media, I'm uneducated.
    I'm also uneducated if there's an ad with music written by the lead of a band who's currently in Big Brother.
    Or am I just uneducated if you know something that I don't?

Personally, I think anybody who cares who's on Big Brother isn't uneducated; they're just idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

Beruthiel wrote:
    and......?
    if people are clueless, who cares? you?
    I thought goths didn't care what you thought of them

or is that me being clueless?
    oops

/edit, btw, what part of celbridge do you live in?

goths dress in mad clothes to draw attention to themselves as "different". if they didn't care what people thought of them they wouldn't feel the need to dress in a way that makes people form an opinion about them

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

goths dress in mad clothes to draw attention to themselves as "different". if they didn't care what people thought of them they wouldn't feel the need to dress in a way that makes people form an opinion about them
    That's just bollocks, you form an opinion, I love black clothes so I'm trying to draw attention to myself...er ya...
    The opinion I form abut their clothes is that they turn me on. :)

Sleipnir wrote:
    So basically, unless I know EVERYTHING that's happening in the world, including all press releases and all subjects contained in the media, I'm uneducated.
    I'm also uneducated if there's an ad with music written by the lead of a band who's currently in Big Brother.
    Or am I just uneducated if you know something that I don't?

Personally, I think anybody who cares who's on Big Brother isn't uneducated; they're just idiots.

THe point is you missed lot of popular culture but most importantly if you were around when Danger Mouse was shown you would certainly have know that stuff.

So you are uneducated or ignorant of the world around you . Doesn't bother me but it seems to bother you when it is pointed out:D

That's just bollocks, you form an opinion, I love black clothes so I'm trying to draw attention to myself...er ya...
    Ha! Don't make me laugh. Dressing in black is one thing. Dressing up as Dracula is another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

THe point is you missed lot of popular culture but most importantly if you were around when Danger Mouse was shown you would certainly have know that stuff.

So you are uneducated or ignorant of the world around you . Doesn't bother me but it seems to bother you when it is pointed out:D

You're so smart, the glare from your pulsating brain full of useful knowledge can be seen from my desk.
    :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,961 ✭✭✭✭Mimikyu

Zulu wrote:
    Ha! Don't make me laugh. Dressing in black is one thing. Dressing up as Dracula is another.
    Hot girl, make up, fangs, whats not to like. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,480 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

the make up and fangs

I like my hot girls smiling and tanned (if possiable) - not miserable, looking like death warmed up. ....different strokes for different folks I guess :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i'm not talking about wearing black clothes, i do that myself. i'm talking about wearing black clothes and having dozens of piercings and makeup and 12 inch spikes in your hair and wearing chains and long trenchcoats etc etc. its all a cry for attention and isn't the act of someone who doesn't care what people think of them. if they don't care what people think of them, why do they feel the need to dress differently?

all the things on that website that "make you a goth" just look to me like that persons way of justifying thinking he's better than everyone else. e.g.

"You wonder "how" a lot, and often figure it out on your own"

oh please! arrogant bastard

and of course, wondering "how" makes you goth. i think it makes you an engineer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Sigh... So we come to it again.

Lets just get one thing straight. People are by nature, conformists. Fact. Goths are just people conforming to a standard that they feel comfortable with. That's it. Any questions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Some of those "goth" girls are fierce hot.

Regardless of the fact most of them have lost sight of, or in fact never even know the true meaning of the word goth, the girls can be great sometimes.

Although god knows why most of them seem to think part of being a goth involves not washing more then once a week....it's quite disgusting.

Although I love death metal, heavy metal, any kind of metal really. I wear a suit most days. Being a goth is nothing to do with appeareance. I'm not a goth or anything, but some of the true goths don't even wear black.

The overkill of stereotypes is shocking these days. I was once called a mosher by a ten year old inbred looking knacker because I was wearing baggy jeans and a hoodie. The fact of the matter is I find them comfortable, not that I feel some wierd devotion to a social clique that thinks it's so unique that they in fact are different to everyone else.

Sigh... So we come to it again.

Lets just get one thing straight. People are by nature, conformists. Fact. Goths are just people conforming to a standard that they feel comfortable with. That's it. Any questions?

BURN TEH GOTH!!!!

i'm not talking about wearing black clothes, i do that myself. i'm talking about wearing black clothes and having dozens of piercings and makeup and 12 inch spikes in your hair and wearing chains and long trenchcoats etc etc. its all a cry for attention and isn't the act of someone who doesn't care what people think of them. if they don't care what people think of them, why do they feel the need to dress differently?

all the things on that website that "make you a goth" just look to me like that persons way of justifying thinking he's better than everyone else. e.g.

"You wonder "how" a lot, and often figure it out on your own"

oh please! arrogant bastard

and of course, wondering "how" makes you goth. i think it makes you an engineer

Hey I'm not saying that site isn't idiotic :)
    but if people want to wear that crap then they can, people are idiotic to judge them.
    Trenchcoats are great, chains are great...don't wear that stuff though...but they are just as valid as somebody wearing a scarf or some crap.
    Different people like different things.

Although I love death metal, heavy metal, any kind of metal really. I wear a suit most days. Being a goth is nothing to do with appeareance. I'm not a goth or anything, but some of the true goths don't even wear black.

Heavy Metal or Death Metal has absolutely nothing to do with goth in the first place, so I don't know why you mentioned it.

For goth bands, see Bauhaus, Sisters Of Mercy, Fields Of The Nephilim, The Mission, Switchblade Symphony, and suchlike. Nothing like any kind of metal at all.

Heavy Metal or Death Metal has absolutely nothing to do with goth in the first place, so I don't know why you mentioned it.

For goth bands, see Bauhaus, Sisters Of Mercy, Fields Of The Nephilim, The Mission, Switchblade Symphony, and suchlike. Nothing like any kind of metal at all.

Yeah, I was kinda weaving around the stereotypical images of what people seem to constituate x and y these days. I basically mean that its ridiculous that someone gets branded a goth if they wear excessive black clothing, or if they listen to certain types of music. It doesn't even have to be a combination of the two.

An old girlfriend of mine used to always wear really gothic stuff, chains, spikes, all that stuff, (it looked great :D) but she actually liked music like soft rock and light metal. Yet people just called her "The goth", I doubt logic on what a real goth envisions would have changed their minds!

Not that things ever change, there's always sweeping generalisations made about everything these days.

The next time a knack from ballybane calls you a dirty goth/mosher, try explaining to him the fundementals of what constitutes a REAL goth, and see how far it gets you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

i am into a lot of gothic things but dress like a normal person. What makes me laugh is the huge groups of teenagers in the city on a friday night claiming 'Were different!'. eh right lads 'but you all look the exact feckin same!!!!!!' black clothes, white make up lalala

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 SpinMeRightRoun

Did any of you read my f**king post??? I said I don't mean these Marilyn Manson hoody wearing teenagers who walk around in gangs and think the whole world is out to get them. Goth's about colour of mind and the way you look at life.

Not that things ever change, there's always sweeping generalisations made about everything these days.

The next time a knack from ballybane calls you a dirty goth/mosher, try explaining to him the fundementals of what constitutes a REAL goth, and see how far it gets you :D

Meh, I don't get that. I don't really dress very 'Metal' these days anyway. I'd just as soon be wearing a shirt, shoes and trousers, as I would band t-shirt, jeans and boots. Don't go in for any other frills, like chains and the like any more.

That said, I doubt I'll ever abandon my New Rocks. What a pair of boots! :v:

Trenchcoats are great, chains are great...don't wear that stuff though...but they are just as valid as somebody wearing a scarf or some crap..
    ...you heard him - he's one of them. BURN HIM!!!!!
    Different people like different things.
    More heresy! Different people are wrong. BURN HIM! BURN HIM!!!