meeting people online what do you think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭mise_me_fein_V2

Sure that's why we drink so much...to come out of ourselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Sure that's why we drink so much...to come out of ourselves.
    Yeah some drunken eejit drooling over us is a real turn on!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Kiera wrote:
    Yeah some drunken eejit drooling over us is a real turn on!!

farts would turn you on :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

joejoem wrote:
    farts would turn you on :rolleyes:
    Only your farts, Joejoem!! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Kiera wrote:
    Only your farts, Joejoem!! ;)

Well I cant blame you there, who doesnt love the smell of butter

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

My cousin (who is a real lady's man and considered to be quite good looking) met his wife on the web. Hes irish, shes from japan. They live in the UK now with their daughter.

Ive dated mots off the web. Great way to meet ppl without the BS of pubs n clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 999 ✭✭✭cregser

Just had a flick through hot or not there, there's actually a few hot and interesting girls on there.

[EDIT]I wonder what she's after?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

The internet is now just another place where you can meet people. It is a little different, but going back a few years, people had pen pals. The internet is a modern equivalent in some ways. I have lots of friends on the net and that I have actually met in person, even from and in other countries. I also know couples who have met through the net and are now married. We are all people here, we gather together, so it is very similar to other places we meet. There are risks, but in some ways it is safer in that the first contact isn't direct and there is that level of safety in that, even if the other person may be lying about themselves. People can lie to your face too. Most people are legit and just ordinary people. So there are some pros to meeting people this way and getting a chance to evaluate them at a safe distance as it were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Flukey wrote:
    The internet is now just another place where you can meet people.

Fair point. Never thought of it that way but isnt also fair to say that over half the population of the world have access to the net? How many of them are weirdos? Odds are slightly higher than penpals.

But I know...you could meet a weirdo in the local this weekend either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭rsynnott

Trilla wrote:
    Fair point. Never thought of it that way but isnt also fair to say that over half the population of the world have access to the net? How many of them are weirdos? Odds are slightly higher than penpals.

No, it's not. Over half the population of the world have still, apparently, never used a telephone.

And there are lots of weirdos in real life as well :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

The amount of ads certainly here in the states about different online dating companies is unreal! Every second or third ad is an online dating one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭Saskia

I think its rather sad and pathetic. Its impossible to get a feel of how someone really is over the internet. If its just a shag then fine but if you're looking for something a bit more substantial id look elsewhere then the internet. Speed Dating for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭AngryBadger

I've done it a few times, and it's always worked out well

Ok, this is a very big issue, so I've taken one for the team.

...I went onto that "HotorNot" site and said I'd like to meet every irish girl on it....I'll let you all know how it turns out :D

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Saskia wrote:
    I think its rather sad and pathetic. Its impossible to get a feel of how someone really is over the internet. If its just a shag then fine but if you're looking for something a bit more substantial id look elsewhere then the internet. Speed Dating for example.

Uve obviously never tried. But if its impossible to get to know someone over the internet, then where does the sex enter it? Do u think that meeting someone in the niteclub/bar drunk is a better idea??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Ok, this is a very big issue, so I've taken one for the team....I went onto that "HotorNot" site and said I'd like to meet every irish girl on it....I'll let you all know how it turns out :D

haven't done this in quite a while but here goes :D I'm on there too
    Knowing my luck I will wind up with you lmao
    Here you shoulda put this on your 'talk about me' column:

Originally Posted by AngryBadger
    the problem a lot of guys have is that they tend to take women at their word, so when women talk about respect, equality, and various other buzzwords, men assume that's the actual fact. then we get confused all the way to hell when the opposite turns out to be the case.

haven't done this in quite a while but here goes :D I'm on there too
    Knowing my luck I will wind up with you lmao
    Here you shoulda put this on your 'talk about me' column:

Originally Posted by AngryBadger
    the problem a lot of guys have is that they tend to take women at their word, so when women talk about respect, equality, and various other buzzwords, men assume that's the actual fact. then we get confused all the way to hell when the opposite turns out to be the case.
    Lmao that's a dam good idea, look for the guy in the Superman costume :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

unless you happen to have a can of Dr.Pepper with you...whats the worst that can happen? :)

nps meeting folk from teh web, made some great mates and a have a relationship out of a meeting aswell :)

kaimera wrote:
    unless you happen to have a can of Dr.Pepper with you...whats the worst that can happen? :)
    nps meeting folk from teh web, made some great mates and a have a relationship out of a meeting aswell :)

LMFAO, dont you mean a can of pepper-spray? especially if it is Angry badger :D No worries, I've done this a few times before- and it was grand.
    Made some good friends out of it too. Haven't done it for a while though :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Its amazing the amount of girls on that site that are "up for a laugh". Is that a code word for horny as ****?

EDIT: And if i ever got the notion, this would be my first stop!
    http://meetme.hotornot.com/r/?emid=GLHZBSS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭ando

tried it once out of curiosity. The 'attractive looking girl' she described herself as turned out to me a middle aged whale. NEVER AGAIN

ando wrote:
    tried it once out of curiosity. The 'attractive looking girl' she described herself as turned out to me a middle aged whale. NEVER AGAIN

Most people will send you pic of them these days. fair enough, theres a risk it mightn't be them - just have be able to spot the bullsh1tter.
    From what I've seen on the hot or not site, there are few worthy of the minger thread :eek:
    Lmao that's a dam good idea, look for the guy in the Superman costume
    I've gotta see this, pm linkage :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭dbnavan

I met my wife on yahoo messenger, she flew from america to meet me and never went back, except with me on holiday,

although on other side of coin about 3-4 years ago i met someone online, and chatted for months and texted her also till i found out she was really 14 and not 19 as she had told me, she had sent fake photos, and was very intellegent so i had now way of telling, èven spoke to her on the phone,

she letter told me, that she had started it messing, and it just got out of control and didnt know how to finish it, cause she had strong feelings for me, I was pretty cut up, so was she age gap was far to big obviously so we just ceased contact.

Made sure wife had webcam before she came over, and had spoken to her whole family too. *LOL*

dbnavan wrote:
    I met my wife on yahoo messenger, she flew from america to meet me and never went back, except with me on holiday

:v: Is that true now?

If it is fair fcuks to you both. I've never had a bad experience out of it.
    The key is building up a good friendship before meeting, theres too much pressure otherwise. By then you will know each other well enough to just go have a laugh.

You had a good chance to do that with the distance and all. What part was she from?

I've a friend ;) in NY - having be chatting for ages now. Met on yahoo, but both use msn now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭SexeeAussie

dbnavan wrote:
    I met my wife on yahoo messenger, she flew from america to meet me and never went back, except with me on holiday

Can I ask, how long did you 'chat' before you actually met in person....

This may be very relevant to my life at this very moment!

100% true, people who I personally know one boards can verify this, how long this sounds unbelieveable but true, 3 months.........she was coming to work for the summer anyway.

actually spent twice the amount on phone calls in 3 months as she did on airfare! If only we had skype then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭SexeeAussie

awwww, I can sympathise.....my 'man' is coming to see me in Aus in April, we have been chatting since October.

I met him online, but not on a dating site....lol.

I like to think that he and I know each other better than anyone I met randomly in a pub etc.

April will tell the story tho......( We are VERY optimistic!)

I like to think that he and I know each other better than anyone I met randomly in a pub etc.

Well I wish you all the best and yes when all you do is talk on phone and online you do know why more about someone, i think i knew her better before she got her, then I did my ex who I was with in person for 6 months,

Hope it all goes well for you's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

Meeting people for "dates" is one thing, but meeting people in general over the web: I'm a great believer in it.

I moved to Dublin from Belfast a while ago, not knowing anyone in Dublin at all.

Most of my mates I met from the internet - people interested in specific things - cars, music, etc. Others I know from work, but most of my mates I originally met on the web.

I wouldn't put it down - especially the poster who said "it's sad". Rubbish. I find that while you might need to get to know someone in reality before they open up, on email or web people are more likely to open up straightaway. Yeah, maybe some people might be more inclined to be tell lies, or sarcastic or magnify some other normal part of their personality by some factor of x10, but yuo can quickly weed out those types.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

Who cares where you meet people? If they become the love of your life from meeting them on the net then great. It's never happened to me but I know of people that have met their partners online and they couldn't be happier so I don't have a problem with it. I'm not sure how I'd feel about online dating personally, I prefer getting chatted up in person rather than over my keyboard but I've made some good pals from the net so I'm all for meeting people online. Each to their own.