Do you drink and drive?

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,411 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

there has been the occasion where i had two drinks and drove.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

What exactly is the legal limit? Needless to say some people can manage it without a bother, but of course your response depends on how fast you consume your alcohol. Personally a bit of Ma's christmas cake would be enough to ground me for the night:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

LundiMardi wrote:
    To the people who have the one pint and still drive.. have you ever seen that ad where the guy is in the bar, orders a pint and throws his keys on the counter, then he notices the lady friend? and then it says 'think of the decisions you could be forcing on others'? just one drink, is all it took.

How anyone can have 'the one' pint after seeing this ad can't be right in the head tbh. I never realised how effective these ads were till i started driving.

I haven't read through all of this thread, but one ad I'd like to see is one that I saw on Tarrant on TV from Texas, and I'll never forget it. Basically it showed pictures of this young (and pretty hot) girl going through high school, college, and at her wedding. Then she was driving along and got hit in a drink-driving "accident". The screen says something like "Not everyone who gets hit my a car dies", then there's a shot of her and she's all disfigured, her face is all burnt and she's missing a limb. Very powerful stuff.

If you drink and drive I reckon you're scum, don't care what your "excuse" is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Jesus, drink-drivers weren't scum about 5 years ago... I guess that's the power of those ads being constantly on the TV.

Anyway, I wouldn't drink and drive -- I get a bit too drowzy when I drink, so I'd just fall asleep and wake up in a ditch, lol... not cool.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

Personally a bit of Ma's christmas cake would be enough to ground me for the night:D

Lmao, sounds like she's using the same recipe as my mother :D

Everyone is different. I personally can drink alot without getting woozy -
    but its not the point. I still wouldnt get into a car after one.
    If you have had a particularly hectic day, feeling a bit tired etc, the
    drink hits you much quicker and adds a sedative effect.
    I cant stress enough how morally wrong I think it is.
    how could you live with yourself if you killed someones mother, or father, or brother, or sister etc - or the pain you would cause your family if you killed yourself. There are no 'yeah but..' loop-holes here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

I haven't read through all of this thread, but one ad I'd like to see is one that I saw on Tarrant on TV from Texas, and I'll never forget it. Basically it showed pictures of this young (and pretty hot) girl going through high school, college, and at her wedding. Then she was driving along and got hit in a drink-driving "accident". The screen says something like "Not everyone who gets hit my a car dies", then there's a shot of her and she's all disfigured, her face is all burnt and she's missing a limb. Very powerful stuff.

If you drink and drive I reckon you're scum, don't care what your "excuse" is.
    there's a similar email going around, describing a young woman who gets hit, and is all disfigured etc.. search for it here, it's been posted before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,820 ✭✭✭Vorsprung

DaveMcG wrote:
    Jesus, drink-drivers weren't scum about 5 years ago... I guess that's the power of those ads being constantly on the TV.

Who says they weren't scum 5 years ago?
    LundiMardi wrote:
    there's a similar email going around, describing a young woman who gets hit, and is all disfigured etc.. search for it here, it's been posted before

http://www.fnnc.org/drunk-driving.html - I think this is it, but there's defo a tv ad somewhere. I'll keep looking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Litcagral

All those who said anythign other than 'NEVER' should not be allowed on the road in the first place.

What about the drivers who did it before it was made illegal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

Who says they weren't scum 5 years ago?

http://www.fnnc.org/drunk-driving.html - I think this is it, but there's defo a tv ad somewhere. I'll keep looking.
    that's the one alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

That is the first time I've seen that - all I can say is god love her.
    I know I wouldnt be able to cope, I would lose the will to live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Litcagral wrote:
    What about the drivers who did it before it was made illegal?
    How many people who drank and drove before 1933 are
    a) Still driving
    b) Still drinking, and
    c) Still drinking and driving?

In any case, that was a very different time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Litcagral

seamus wrote:
    How many people who drank and drove before 1933 are
    a) Still driving
    b) Still drinking, and
    c) Still drinking and driving?

In any case, that was a very different time.

Point taken Seamus - I thought it came in in the 1960's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

That is the first time I've seen that - all I can say is god love her.
    I know I wouldnt be able to cope, I would lose the will to live.

God, I never saw that either. It is horrific, she was a beautiful looking girl beforehand. The pain and suffering she went through at the accident and ever since must be beyond our comprehension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,211 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

bubby wrote:
    God, I never saw that either. It is horrific, she was a beautiful looking girl beforehand. The pain and suffering she went through at the accident and ever since must be beyond our comprehension.

I saw it a few times, messed up alright. Oprah had a whole show about it before. The drunk driver confronted the mother and the girl for the first time since the accident. I'd say he was about to wee himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Litcagral wrote:
    Point taken Seamus - I thought it came in in the 1960's.
    In your defence, the first proper legislation came about in 1968. The above link talks about being drunk in charge, and you can bet there were no breath or urine tests. I'd be curious to see how many people were actually prosecuted under that legislation for the 35 years it was in force. Even nowadays you can be stocious behind the wheel and manage to get away with it - back then you had to be deemed to be drunk by a Garda!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 pauly04

Hi guys,you must all hate me.i hate myself.i am only 19 years of age.I Never drink and drive but on sunday just gone i decided to have a couple of pints in my local which is only 30 seconds away from me in my car.I decided against leaving my car in the car park as i was afraid of what will happen to it over night.I brought it home and bumped into the guards about 10 seconds away from my house.I was driving home to watch the superbowl with my friend.

They arrested me,i was so shocked as i have never been involved with police before.I was quite drunk,i was very stupid.I was put in a cell for a half an hour which scared the hell out of someone who has never been arrested before.Anyway, i was over the limit.I now have to attend court on valentines day.I face 2 years been banned from the road.Can anyone tell me what to do as im really scared.

It was my fault i know and you can give me as much abuse as you want.But it has affected me so much that i have not even drove my car since the incident.I really dont want to lose my licence i adore driving and am about to lose my job (not from drink driving).My next door neighbour is a well known guard and will help me.He is meeting up with my dad on thursday.But what will happen to me?

Please can i have honest answers as i have been affected badly with what has happend.I have not been talking to any of my friends and if their parents find out how stupid i was they will not be able to get in my car anymore,and that is the last thing i want as i am FAR from a drink driver its the first time ever.I was going to leave my car there but decided against it.Im sorry if you all hope i lose my licence but i really dont know what i will do if that happens.Please can someone give me advice .Im scared and that was the biggest Regret of my life.
    Thank You.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

You seem to regret what you did but is that because?
    a) You think it's wrong / dangerous / irresponsible
    b) You got caught

If a) then it's not the end of the world. You have to face up to your actions and take whatever punishment the court decides. You won't do it again.

If b) then you have a problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,211 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Take it like a man is all you can do. You're gonna lose your license, and you'll have an endorsment when you get your license back, so insurance is gonna be much more expensive from now on.

Hard luck dude, you made a choice and now you must face the consequences.

PS - Be prepared for lots of abuse. People here on baords.ie like to think they're better than everyone else and have never broken the law, they're all angels :rolleyes:
    pauly04 wrote:
    Hi guys,you must all hate me.i hate myself.i am only 19 years of age.I Never drink and drive but on sunday just gone i decided to have a couple of pints in my local which is only 30 seconds away from me in my car.I decided against leaving my car in the car park as i was afraid of what will happen to it over night.I brought it home and bumped into the guards about 10 seconds away from my house.I was driving home to watch the superbowl with my friend.

They arrested me,i was so shocked as i have never been involved with police before.I was quite drunk,i was very stupid.I was put in a cell for a half an hour which scared the hell out of someone who has never been arrested before.Anyway, i was over the limit.I now have to attend court on valentines day.I face 2 years been banned from the road.Can anyone tell me what to do as im really scared.

It was my fault i know and you can give me as much abuse as you want.But it has affected me so much that i have not even drove my car since the incident.I really dont want to lose my licence i adore driving and am about to lose my job (not from drink driving).My next door neighbour is a well known guard and will help me.He is meeting up with my dad on thursday.But what will happen to me?

Please can i have honest answers as i have been affected badly with what has happend.I have not been talking to any of my friends and if their parents find out how stupid i was they will not be able to get in my car anymore,and that is the last thing i want as i am FAR from a drink driver its the first time ever.I was going to leave my car there but decided against it.Im sorry if you all hope i lose my licence but i really dont know what i will do if that happens.Please can someone give me advice .Im scared and that was the biggest Regret of my life.
    Thank You.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'd delete that and post it in Personal Issues or the Legal Discussion forum (wait that doesn't exist -- join the revolution!), or a more appropriate forum anyway.

You're gonna get tonnes of abuse and barely any help in here.