Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you drink and drive?

• 07-01-2006 8:23am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭

Given some mad FF-ers rant that rural drivers should be allowed have 'a couple', do you drink and drive?

Do you drink and drive? 137 votes

Never/don't drive
    0% 0 votes
    The odd time
    87% 120 votes
    Every so often
    9% 13 votes
    Regularly
    2% 4 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 905 ✭✭✭rick_fantastic

does drink driving on a moped count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Yeah, as does on a bicycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 844 ✭✭✭casanova_kid

is this a new appeal from FF for the idiot vote.

i dont really consider having a few cans or pints and then driving a moped really drink driving.

i wouldnt have more than 6 cans / pints and then drive my moped home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i dont really consider having a few cans or pints and then driving a moped really drink driving.

try that argument in front of a judge and see how far it gets you. don't pass go, don't collect 200 pounds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Litcagral

As it's a legal matter, your opinion won't cut any ice with a Garda or judge.

i call it a calculated risk. i dont drive on main roads so the chances of being caught are minimal. i wouldnt drink and drive on main roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 545 ✭✭✭cgf

Great logic there - so all the drivers with drink on them take to the side roads.

I think you are also missing the point - it is not about being caught, it is about the risk that you pose to yourself and, more importantly, others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Gaillimhtaibhse

Currently Stateside on stage. Remember the second Matrix movie? Reloaded? They were told to stay off the freeways as they were suicide.

They claim over here that more people die in the US every year than during the Viet Nam War. And half of these "accidents" are caused by drunk drivers. Maybe the script in Matrix was right?:eek:

i call it a calculated risk. i dont drive on main roads so the chances of being caught are minimal. i wouldnt drink and drive on main roads.

You may be involved in an accident whether it's your fault or not. Many accidents, including fatal ones, happen on 'side' roads. If the other driver suspects that you may be over the legal limit, they are going to involve the Gardai to strengthen their case. It's human nature. The Gardai may also be contacted by a member of the public who may know that you have been drinking whether you have been involved in an accident or not. Each Garda area also utilises their unmarked cars in a variety of ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭ST*

<I did not just see that>

No, never did, never would.
    Its the most idiotic, selfish thing someone could do.
    Fine if the drink driver doesnt value their own life, but as soon as you turn the key in the ignition - there is a chance you could kill someone else.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Never would have gone out with the intention of driving home after a couple of pints anyway. But then after getting completely plastered at a mates one time I then for some reason ended up driving later that night, and I'm not completely sure why, I then proceded to drive into the side of an off duty cops car at a mini roundabout.

Nice fine and an 18 month ban later I now actually lock the keys to my vehicle away whenever I'm going out on the beers, just to make it that much more difficult for me if I were to get the urge to start driving later on that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Devon

Atari Jaguar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Litcagral wrote:
    You may be involved in an accident whether it's your fault or not. Many accidents, including fatal ones, happen on 'side' roads. If the other driver suspects that you may be over the legal limit, they are going to involve the Gardai to strengthen their case. It's human nature. The Gardai may also be contacted by a member of the public who may know that you have been drinking whether you have been involved in an accident or not. Each Garda area also utilises their unmarked cars in a variety of ways.

Just as an example

Some friends of a friend of mine were dicking about in a car one early morning (4am or so) and were reversing round a roundabout anticlockwise when they got whacked by another car they hadn't noticed. He hadn't got any lights on

It turns out the driver off the other car was absolutely bladdered and didn't even realise he had hit someone. anyway both cars were wrecked and jammed together so they had to call the GARDA....guess who got the entire blame for the accident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

how is it not drink driving?? that's the most stupid thing I've ever heard in my life!! What, because you're in a smaller vehicle, you can't cause a serious accident?

well, take a look at the stats from here: http://www.irishpost.co.uk/news/story.asp?j=3703:
    Car users made up the bulk of roads deaths in Ireland — up by 36 to stand at 208.

Pedestrians accounted for 70 while 11 cyclists and 50 bikers were killed.
    that's 50 bikers...

I don't even drink if I have work the following morning, I drive to work at about 6am, if I've been out drinking the night before, chances are I would be drinking til about 2, and there's no way I'm sober, and I will never chance it.
    How many people have died on our roads already this year? We are only a week into 2006 and I've heard of numerous already.

I hate the attitude of "I'll be fine" or "It'll never happen to me" - and thinking that you can have 6 pints and still drive, be it a moped or a car, is the most stupid thing I've ever heard, even for people to think that they are ok after 2 and 3 pints, they're not, and it's been proven on more than one occassion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭arac

The max I would allow myself is one bottle of beer or 1/2 a glass of wine, always have plenty of water too with that..If I had anymore than that I wouldn't drive...That said, I drank a bottle of wine last night watching a dvd and when I got up for work this morn I realised half way up the road to Cork that I should not really be driving..I am not ashamed to admit that..but I couldn't just stop as still had to go to work..I drank plenty of water before I went to bed etc but was still dodgy this morn..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,205 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Heh, tbh id consider drink driving a 2 wheeled veichle *more* dangerous as it requires balance. I was at a party out the country one night, and we thought it would be great craic to drive our dirt-bikes in yer mans field (back garden). We were well pissed, it was great craic, but I think most of the fun was falling off/not being able to keep our balance... :D God knows what could have happened if we were on the roads :eek:

If im going out with the intention of drinking, I leave the car in the driveway, simple as, no excuses. Once or twice I have found myself in a situation where I end up drinking a (singular) pint, but id always leave it about an hour before driving, and id always get a bag of chips or a burger before driving.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

JohnCleary wrote:
    Heh, tbh id consider drink driving a 2 wheeled veichle *more* dangerous as it requires balance.

Definately more dangerous, but as always on a two wheeled vehicle its the rider that will die whoever it is that is drunk, the car driver that hits them or the rider themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Atrocity

I cycled home through the city very drunk. It didn't affect the cycling as much as the decision making, I was taking shortcuts down one-way streets and the like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭ClareBear

I come from a fairly rural part of the country and there's a pub less than a mile from my house and everyone that drinks there drives home, I mean everyone. It drives me mad. What if one of these idiots crashes in to me or one of my family some night. And you just know that nothing will be done about it until someone actually does get hurt, typical.

robinph wrote:
    Definately more dangerous, but as always on a two wheeled vehicle its the rider that will die whoever it is that is drunk, the car driver that hits them or the rider themselves.

Yes, but there can be other consequences. 2 weeks ago in Galway a motorcyclist (drunk, was leaving a party - I know his for a fact) killed TWO teenagers, not sure if the motorcyclist was killed though. It was all over the news, you may have heard about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

ClareBear wrote:
    Iyou just know that nothing will be done about it until someone actually does get hurt, typical.

Not quite true. Nothing will be done until someone "important" is hurt. Joe Soap doesn't count.:mad:

Hagar wrote:
    Not quite true. Nothing will be done until someone "important" is hurt. Joe Soap doesn't count.:mad:

True.

ClareBear wrote:
    True.

I'm getting confused now. Does that mean that it is TRUE that it is UNTRUE that it is TRUE!!!!!

Litcagral wrote:
    I'm getting confused now. Does that mean that it is TRUE that it is UNTRUE that it is TRUE!!!!!

Untrue

Oh better go back on topic before this gets locked :rolleyes:

It's true that nothing will be done about it until someone gets hurt but a big deal won't be made out of it unless someone important gets hurt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 433 ✭✭me and the biz

nah i wouldnt even drink a drop and then drive... i would have thought at this stage most people would do the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I've drunk and cycled home once or twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭dogg_r_69

Have done it before but don't anymore. Not worth losing my lience over

dogg_r_69 wrote:
    Have done it before but don't anymore. Not worth losing my lience over
    Yeah...cause thats why you shouldn't drink and drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭poker_face

Yea I used to do it a bit but only around town (galway) with lighted streets that i know like the back of my hand. After a while I cut it down to just the one or at most 2 pints, I guess I thought of the consequences of accidents a little. Since then I've realised that there's no point risking my license for a measly pint or two, so I've decided to quit it for good. I can't see myself ever drink driving again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

poker_face wrote:
    Yea I used to do it a bit but only around town (galway) with lighted streets that i know like the back of my hand

See? It's the stupid ones who are drink driving.

poker_face wrote:
    Yea I used to do it a bit but only around town (galway) with lighted streets that i know like the back of my hand. After a while I cut it down to just the one or at most 2 pints, I guess I thought of the consequences of accidents a little. Since then I've realised that there's no point risking my license for a measly pint or two, so I've decided to quit it for good. I can't see myself ever drink driving again.

Galway town is well dodge now - you'd never know where you'd meet a checkpoint. I've seen them at Merchants Road a few times... they just jump out at ya, if you were doing anything wrong you'd be fecked!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

No way I'd do it. Have you seen that new ad, "all it takes?" or somethin like that. Freaked the sh!t out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,847 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Does the "Never/Don't Drive" option also account for people who are clicking that they don't drive so therefore can't drink and drive? :confused:

Think they should have been seperate:o

I drive and don't drink. I don't drink anyway;) but if I did I wouldn't dream of doing them both!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭poker_face

Quote:
    Originally Posted by poker_face
    Yea I used to do it a bit but only around town (galway) with lighted streets that i know like the back of my hand

See? It's the stupid ones who are drink driving.

Yea, that's the only reason why I don't drink drive LovelyHurling, so I can be clever just like you. Would you get a life and stop pointing out minor mistakes people are making. It doesn't make you look intelligent, just a waster. If you have nothing to contribute to this topic than shut up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭Dizzyblabla

what I actually thought was more stupid of people is the fact that all they are worried about is loosing their license?? Noone seems to be in anyway aware of the more serious consequences of drink driving at all, and it's kind of scary that in this day and age that we have so many muppets on the road....
    It doesn't even seem fair that those of us who have respect for other people's lives and our own are the people that are crashed into by drunk drivers.... When is the last time time anyone heard of a crash where one drunk driver went into the other drunk driver? It doesn't happen, quit worrying about loosing your licenses and think about the real reason as to why drink driving is illegal....

rant over, but I'm still quite cross at the lack of cop on....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,061 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

cormie wrote:
    Does the "Never/Don't Drive" option also account for people who are clicking that they don't drive so therefore can't drink and drive? :confused:

Think they should have been seperate:o

I just put them in together cos I'm not bothered about people's reasons for drink-driving. Once people aren't getting behind a wheel with a few pints, I'm not pushed if it's cos they can't or won't. :)

Yea, that's the only reason why I don't drink drive LovelyHurling, so I can be clever just like you. Would you get a life and stop pointing out minor mistakes people are making. It doesn't make you look intelligent, just a waster. If you have nothing to contribute to this topic than shut up.

Just making a point about drink drivers. Surely you see that it's a very stupid thing to say that you were drink driving because you knew the streets well...

It doesn't happen, quit worrying about loosing your licenses and think about the real reason as to why drink driving is illegal....

True, there are worse things than losing your license. On another topic I know of someone who is in a job where she needs to be able to drive, and the police have told her repeatedly that if she doesn't stop drink driving they'll breathalyze her... still she carries on drinking and trying to evade them... It's even worse when there's no telling someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,811 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Its attempted murder to drink and drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,392 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

do drink, don't drive anyway.

but I'd like to think I wouldn't drink and drive when I am driving regardless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

ClareBear wrote:
    I come from a fairly rural part of the country and there's a pub less than a mile from my house and everyone that drinks there drives home, I mean everyone. It drives me mad. What if one of these idiots crashes in to me or one of my family some night. And you just know that nothing will be done about it until someone actually does get hurt, typical.
    why not let the local guarda know? they can't do anything if they don't know about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭LundiMardi

I don't drink, and i don't drink and drive.. sometimes i do like the odd drink, but i'd rather drive home than get a nightlink, so i don't drink.

LundiMardi wrote:
    why not let the local guarda know? they can't do anything if they don't know about it.

In the countryside policemen know what's going on, a schoolfriend of mine is in the PSNI and says they know the names of a lot of drink drivers, yet for different reasons they turn a blind eye - local loyalties, some people need cars for work, and others as their only social outlet.
    Obviously this is wrong, and it's very frustrating. Apparently they could charge people every night of the week if they wanted to but there is an administration issue there too not to mention a judicial backlog... Not that there is ever any excuse for this kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Some boards user had posted that he had cycled home drunk - but when I posted a reply he had deleted his post.

here was my reply to the w**ker
    I wonder if you crashed into someones car or knocked someone over - would you pay or just cyccle off??

My brother had someone cycling on the footpath go into his car. The guy cycled off!! Over 1000 euros worth of damage.

When will the law enforce same road rules for cyclists??

were you talking to me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

NO, whoever it was .. their username began with "A" and they deleted it.

Looking back .. you stated it also. Question now posed to you. If you had crashed into someone else's property while cycling home drunk .. or knocked over someone. What would you have done??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

[sweeping statement]Everyone who drinks & drives deserves to have their license & car taken away from them for at least two years! They should have to do community service in a rehabilitation centre & confront the families of those who have died as a result of drunk driving! They are all cnuts & don't deserve to be living the care-free life that they are![/sweeping statement]

And yes, that includes any friends or family I have that indulge in such disgusting behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

jerryadams wrote:
    Atari Jaguar?

Whats that all about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Sangre wrote:
    were you talking to me?

It must have been you. I have an email with your post on it.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

JohnCleary wrote:
    Yes, but there can be other consequences. 2 weeks ago in Galway a motorcyclist (drunk, was leaving a party - I know his for a fact) killed TWO teenagers, not sure if the motorcyclist was killed though. It was all over the news, you may have heard about it

That's true.

Interestingly none of the news reports mentioned that he was drunk though.:rolleyes:

Why is that?
    Why the f'uck can't the media report the facts?