how honest are you

• 20-11-2005 06:04PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,260 ✭✭✭swingking

Here's the situation:

You are sitting down the back of the bus and you come across a wallet with a load of cash in it. The question is do you keep it or do you hand it in

I would love to hear people's reactions on this subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,532 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Hand it in to the nearest Garda Station.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 31,623 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

A while ago I was on a bus and found 20 euro on the ground. Me and my friend split it. If it was anything larger, I would have given it back. But as a wiser man than I once said "the bus driver will probably keep it for himself / herself anyway". Wise, insightful words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

If I found a wallet I'd hand it in. If I found a twenty I'd take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,818 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I found a wallet under the nightlink once. Looked up the name on the Lasercard in the Phonebook but couldn't find anything. Don't think there was any point handing it in to the garda station because I lived in Shankill and found the wallet in town at night so it could have come from anywhere in Dublin. Lucky girl had a doctor's receipt in her wallet that had her address written on it and was from around Dun Laoghaire. Parents were on there way out to Blackrock so I gave it to them to drop in. The girl was very suprised and happy that the wallet just turned up at her door the next day.

When it comes to notes just keep them, what the hell else are you going to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Having lost my wallet and digital camera before id certainly hand it in if i found a wallet,etc,unfortunately whoever found my wallet and camera didn't and for that i wish them eternal bad luck:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I remember finding a 20 box of Marlboro with only two missing.
    It was 1995. Donnybrook.

Didn't hand them into the Garda Station - instead I smoked them. Marlboro was always my cigarette.

Often wonder if I should have done the decent thing. :confused::confused::confused::( :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

If it was a wallet or something of value like that id hand it in to a garda station or if i was in somewhere (bus station/strain station/shopping centre) into the lost & found... cash under €50 is mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

oh i hand in the wallet, if i found one, even if it has money in it, but if i found just money id take it.
    I wouldnt leave it there for the person behind me to pick it up and keep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭bagdaddy

tbh i think i'd keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭bungeecork

When I was a kid I found 10 pounds and thought all my Christmases had come together.

Now if I find any money I give it to charity. Always do this since a friend and I found 50 quid on Grafton street. She put it straight into a charity collectors box and I was so impressed I've done the same since (but have only found money once).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'd hand it in or try and track down the owner.
    Probably more so because someone has done it for me.
    Stumbled out of taxi one night.. woke up next morning feeling well hungover.
    Got phonecall in the afternoon from someone in an estate nearby who claimed she had my wallet... she was out walking her dog that morning and found the wallet across the road from my house... it must have dropped out as I stumbled out of the taxi, but I didnt even know I lost it!!
    She found my name from bank cards and checked for surname nearby in phonebook.
    Needless to say, a big box of choccies was in order for her.
    Moments like that restore my faith in mankind :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

bungeecork wrote:
    When I was a kid I found 10 pounds and thought all my Christmases had come together.

Now if I find any money I give it to charity. Always do this since a friend and I found 50 quid on Grafton street. She put it straight into a charity collectors box and I was so impressed I've done the same since (but have only found money once).
    I found a wallot with with €670 in it once. Handed it in to the nearest gardaí station. Turned out the guy who lost it was wanted for assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭ratboy

keeping=thief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

ah, interesting thread, I meant to make this a while ago... :)

I found €50 lying on the ground about a week ago, and I pocketed it.

I'm gonna give some of it to charity, though. That'd be a decent thing to do... At least something good came of the person losing money.

There's a homeless guy in college (UCD) that I might give it to, actually. Except I dunno how I'd go about giving it to him :confused:

"Here, erm, you look like you could use this..."
    "I AINT NO STINKIN BUM!!! :mad:"

Don't want that sh*t... I'm sure he'd feel like sh*t if I made him seem like a charity case, too.

Any ideas? I actually wanna do that now... lol

I consider myself very honest. I'd def give a wallet in to a Garda station. Cash is different, no point giving it in cos it's not gonna get back to the owner. I'd consider myself lucky to have found it (I've had a lot of things stolen and my share of bad luck) and treat myself. I'd give some to charity as well.

Oh, if I found a wallet, I'd try find the person myself (phonebook) and give it to them, or if I couldn't, Garda station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'd hand it in. Money, unless it's something very large and/or I could be fairly sure it would get back to the owner (say they dropped it in front of me without noticing), I'd probably keep. Even then, I'd make sure there was no way to find whoever lost it. I'm really horribly honest. It's probably a big character flaw that'll get me nowhere in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Linoge

DaveMcG wrote:
    There's a homeless guy in college (UCD) that I might give it to, actually. Except I dunno how I'd go about giving it to him :confused:

"Here, erm, you look like you could use this..."
    "I AINT NO STINKIN BUM!!! :mad:"

Don't want that sh*t... I'm sure he'd feel like sh*t if I made him seem like a charity case, too.

Is that the man who eats in the canteen? Hes defo homeless, I dont think he'd mind you giving it to him at all. But at the same time, you know what he'd probably end up spending it on...

If you're gonna give it to charity give it to Trocaire maybe.

I'd hand back in a wallet, defo. But an envelope of cash maybe??? Now thats totally different. A couple of grand in an envelope, you know that no one will report that stolen, its probably drug money. Besides, that would last all of about 5 minutes in the Garda station:v: :v: :v:

Sarky wrote:
    I'd hand it in. Money, unless it's something very large and/or I could be fairly sure it would get back to the owner (say they dropped it in front of me without noticing), I'd probably keep. Even then, I'd make sure there was no way to find whoever lost it. I'm really horribly honest. It's probably a big character flaw that'll get me nowhere in life.

Yeah, you better cut that shit out right now.

Linoge wrote:
    Is that the man who eats in the canteen? Hes defo homeless, I dont think he'd mind you giving it to him at all. But at the same time, you know what he'd probably end up spending it on...

If you're gonna give it to charity give it to Trocaire maybe.

Yeah, that's the fella.

My dad said that he might spend it on booze too, but I dunno... I've never seen him drinking, and he's in college all day isn't he? If he was drunk, he'd probably be kicked out at this stage. How long has he been there? Does he sleep on the campus?

My dad also mentioned giving it to a charity like Saint Vincent de Paul, but to be honest, I'd rather give it to someone and see them have it, and smile and stuff. I like that kinda instant gratification, I'm selfish like that, lol. If I give it to a big charity, I'll never see the money do any good... It mightn't have made a difference at all, maybe it pays for the electricity in the Concern offices or something. If I gave it to yer man, he could have dinner for 10 days or so (not that he'd want canteen food, lol). They probably give him food for free, actually. Would you say they do? It'd be a bit stingey not to, one meal a day isn't much to ask.

I'm gonna post a thread about this guy actually... (in the UCD forum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

swingking wrote:
    Here's the situation:

You are sitting down the back of the bus and you come across a wallet with a load of cash in it. The question is do you keep it or do you hand it in

I would love to hear people's reactions on this subject.

Look for a number in it, and dial it. If there is no number or anything in it but money I would go to eurobilltracker.com, there is a slight chance that the guy registered them there. that's a last ditch attempt tho. If not, as much as I would not like to do it (not cos i wanna keep it, but because my respect for the guards is not enough to trust them with it)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

DaveMcG wrote:
    Just hang around him for a little while and he might ask for some spare change. Then you say that you have no change and give him a fifty.

To answer the OP, would hand in a wallet if I couldn't track the person down, would either keep a tenner I found on the ground, buy some drinks for my friends or use it if I really needed money then :) or else likely give it to charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Feenikusu

Crucifix wrote:
    If I found a wallet I'd hand it in. If I found a twenty I'd take it.
    Yep, I would do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

If I didn't want to hand it to th gaurds or dus depot, and I knew there was no way in getting it back to the person who owned it, I'd do somethign good with the money, such as give it a charity I thought was most fit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    I remember finding a 20 box of Marlboro with only two missing.
    It was 1995. Donnybrook.

Didn't hand them into the Garda Station - instead I smoked them. Marlboro was always my cigarette.
    ( :eek:

mmmmmnnnnnnn Marlboro lights......off the cigs 2 years but would quite happily kill everyone here on boards.ie to be able to smoke just one cigarette and then stop....:mad:

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 19,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Having lost my wallet in the past (with my weeks wage in it!) I would definitely either find a name and address for the owner of the wallet from a license, or hand it in to the Garda station.

I actually got back the wallet I lost (it was handed into Gardai) but minus all the money! :(

Luckily, it still had my credit card and driving license (which is how they knew how to contact me).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If you hand it in to the guards you could get a reciept and after a year and a day it's yours. Best to choose one of those garda stations that isn't open all the time.

There was this Japanese guy who found suitcase full of money at a train station and it wasn't claimed so he got to keep it. Only problem was that they considered income tax and for a while it looked like he was going to have pay out more because they were going to take that as the basis for the rest of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭The General

[pissingoffeveryoneinthisthread]

I'd keep the money leave the wallet there

[/pissingoffeveryoneinthisthread]

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

nah just the person who owns the wallet, at least you left it there for somebody else to do the decent thing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I'd look for ID in the wallet, check the phone book and google for the owner, and if there's no luck there, and there's some sort of bank cards within - phone the bank in question and get it posted to them. They'll very happily return the wallet to a customer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 294 ✭✭lazylad

I think I would feel guilty if I kept it.
    You dont know the person whos wallet it is, you dont know what home life any one has and you should return it.what goes around comes around