Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

how honest are you

• 20-11-2005 5:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Here's the situation:

You are sitting down the back of the bus and you come across a wallet with a load of cash in it. The question is do you keep it or do you hand it in

I would love to hear people's reactions on this subject.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,284 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Hand it in to the nearest Garda Station.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,020 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

A while ago I was on a bus and found 20 euro on the ground. Me and my friend split it. If it was anything larger, I would have given it back. But as a wiser man than I once said "the bus driver will probably keep it for himself / herself anyway". Wise, insightful words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

If I found a wallet I'd hand it in. If I found a twenty I'd take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I found a wallet under the nightlink once. Looked up the name on the Lasercard in the Phonebook but couldn't find anything. Don't think there was any point handing it in to the garda station because I lived in Shankill and found the wallet in town at night so it could have come from anywhere in Dublin. Lucky girl had a doctor's receipt in her wallet that had her address written on it and was from around Dun Laoghaire. Parents were on there way out to Blackrock so I gave it to them to drop in. The girl was very suprised and happy that the wallet just turned up at her door the next day.

When it comes to notes just keep them, what the hell else are you going to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Having lost my wallet and digital camera before id certainly hand it in if i found a wallet,etc,unfortunately whoever found my wallet and camera didn't and for that i wish them eternal bad luck:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

I remember finding a 20 box of Marlboro with only two missing.
    It was 1995. Donnybrook.

Didn't hand them into the Garda Station - instead I smoked them. Marlboro was always my cigarette.

Often wonder if I should have done the decent thing. :confused::confused::confused::( :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

If it was a wallet or something of value like that id hand it in to a garda station or if i was in somewhere (bus station/strain station/shopping centre) into the lost & found... cash under €50 is mine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

oh i hand in the wallet, if i found one, even if it has money in it, but if i found just money id take it.
    I wouldnt leave it there for the person behind me to pick it up and keep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭bagdaddy

tbh i think i'd keep it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭bungeecork

When I was a kid I found 10 pounds and thought all my Christmases had come together.

Now if I find any money I give it to charity. Always do this since a friend and I found 50 quid on Grafton street. She put it straight into a charity collectors box and I was so impressed I've done the same since (but have only found money once).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I'd hand it in or try and track down the owner.
    Probably more so because someone has done it for me.
    Stumbled out of taxi one night.. woke up next morning feeling well hungover.
    Got phonecall in the afternoon from someone in an estate nearby who claimed she had my wallet... she was out walking her dog that morning and found the wallet across the road from my house... it must have dropped out as I stumbled out of the taxi, but I didnt even know I lost it!!
    She found my name from bank cards and checked for surname nearby in phonebook.
    Needless to say, a big box of choccies was in order for her.
    Moments like that restore my faith in mankind :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

bungeecork wrote:
    When I was a kid I found 10 pounds and thought all my Christmases had come together.

Now if I find any money I give it to charity. Always do this since a friend and I found 50 quid on Grafton street. She put it straight into a charity collectors box and I was so impressed I've done the same since (but have only found money once).
    I found a wallot with with €670 in it once. Handed it in to the nearest gardaí station. Turned out the guy who lost it was wanted for assault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 255 ✭✭ratboy

keeping=thief

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

ah, interesting thread, I meant to make this a while ago... :)

I found €50 lying on the ground about a week ago, and I pocketed it.

I'm gonna give some of it to charity, though. That'd be a decent thing to do... At least something good came of the person losing money.

There's a homeless guy in college (UCD) that I might give it to, actually. Except I dunno how I'd go about giving it to him :confused:

"Here, erm, you look like you could use this..."
    "I AINT NO STINKIN BUM!!! :mad:"

Don't want that sh*t... I'm sure he'd feel like sh*t if I made him seem like a charity case, too.

Any ideas? I actually wanna do that now... lol

• I consider myself very honest. I'd def give a wallet in to a Garda station. Cash is different, no point giving it in cos it's not gonna get back to the owner. I'd consider myself lucky to have found it (I've had a lot of things stolen and my share of bad luck) and treat myself. I'd give some to charity as well.

Oh, if I found a wallet, I'd try find the person myself (phonebook) and give it to them, or if I couldn't, Garda station.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

I'd hand it in. Money, unless it's something very large and/or I could be fairly sure it would get back to the owner (say they dropped it in front of me without noticing), I'd probably keep. Even then, I'd make sure there was no way to find whoever lost it. I'm really horribly honest. It's probably a big character flaw that'll get me nowhere in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Linoge

DaveMcG wrote:
    There's a homeless guy in college (UCD) that I might give it to, actually. Except I dunno how I'd go about giving it to him :confused:

"Here, erm, you look like you could use this..."
    "I AINT NO STINKIN BUM!!! :mad:"

Don't want that sh*t... I'm sure he'd feel like sh*t if I made him seem like a charity case, too.

Is that the man who eats in the canteen? Hes defo homeless, I dont think he'd mind you giving it to him at all. But at the same time, you know what he'd probably end up spending it on...

If you're gonna give it to charity give it to Trocaire maybe.

I'd hand back in a wallet, defo. But an envelope of cash maybe??? Now thats totally different. A couple of grand in an envelope, you know that no one will report that stolen, its probably drug money. Besides, that would last all of about 5 minutes in the Garda station:v: :v: :v:

Sarky wrote:
    I'd hand it in. Money, unless it's something very large and/or I could be fairly sure it would get back to the owner (say they dropped it in front of me without noticing), I'd probably keep. Even then, I'd make sure there was no way to find whoever lost it. I'm really horribly honest. It's probably a big character flaw that'll get me nowhere in life.

Yeah, you better cut that shit out right now.

Linoge wrote:
    Is that the man who eats in the canteen? Hes defo homeless, I dont think he'd mind you giving it to him at all. But at the same time, you know what he'd probably end up spending it on...

If you're gonna give it to charity give it to Trocaire maybe.

Yeah, that's the fella.

My dad said that he might spend it on booze too, but I dunno... I've never seen him drinking, and he's in college all day isn't he? If he was drunk, he'd probably be kicked out at this stage. How long has he been there? Does he sleep on the campus?

My dad also mentioned giving it to a charity like Saint Vincent de Paul, but to be honest, I'd rather give it to someone and see them have it, and smile and stuff. I like that kinda instant gratification, I'm selfish like that, lol. If I give it to a big charity, I'll never see the money do any good... It mightn't have made a difference at all, maybe it pays for the electricity in the Concern offices or something. If I gave it to yer man, he could have dinner for 10 days or so (not that he'd want canteen food, lol). They probably give him food for free, actually. Would you say they do? It'd be a bit stingey not to, one meal a day isn't much to ask.

I'm gonna post a thread about this guy actually... (in the UCD forum)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

swingking wrote:
    Here's the situation:

You are sitting down the back of the bus and you come across a wallet with a load of cash in it. The question is do you keep it or do you hand it in

Look for a number in it, and dial it. If there is no number or anything in it but money I would go to eurobilltracker.com, there is a slight chance that the guy registered them there. that's a last ditch attempt tho. If not, as much as I would not like to do it (not cos i wanna keep it, but because my respect for the guards is not enough to trust them with it)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

DaveMcG wrote:
    Just hang around him for a little while and he might ask for some spare change. Then you say that you have no change and give him a fifty.

To answer the OP, would hand in a wallet if I couldn't track the person down, would either keep a tenner I found on the ground, buy some drinks for my friends or use it if I really needed money then :) or else likely give it to charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭Feenikusu

Crucifix wrote:
    If I found a wallet I'd hand it in. If I found a twenty I'd take it.
    Yep, I would do the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,645 ✭✭✭Shrimp

If I didn't want to hand it to th gaurds or dus depot, and I knew there was no way in getting it back to the person who owned it, I'd do somethign good with the money, such as give it a charity I thought was most fit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 449 ✭✭Airblazer

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    I remember finding a 20 box of Marlboro with only two missing.
    It was 1995. Donnybrook.

Didn't hand them into the Garda Station - instead I smoked them. Marlboro was always my cigarette.
    ( :eek:

mmmmmnnnnnnn Marlboro lights......off the cigs 2 years but would quite happily kill everyone here on boards.ie to be able to smoke just one cigarette and then stop....:mad:

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Having lost my wallet in the past (with my weeks wage in it!) I would definitely either find a name and address for the owner of the wallet from a license, or hand it in to the Garda station.

I actually got back the wallet I lost (it was handed into Gardai) but minus all the money! :(

Luckily, it still had my credit card and driving license (which is how they knew how to contact me).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

If you hand it in to the guards you could get a reciept and after a year and a day it's yours. Best to choose one of those garda stations that isn't open all the time.

There was this Japanese guy who found suitcase full of money at a train station and it wasn't claimed so he got to keep it. Only problem was that they considered income tax and for a while it looked like he was going to have pay out more because they were going to take that as the basis for the rest of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭The General

[pissingoffeveryoneinthisthread]

I'd keep the money leave the wallet there

[/pissingoffeveryoneinthisthread]

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

nah just the person who owns the wallet, at least you left it there for somebody else to do the decent thing. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I'd look for ID in the wallet, check the phone book and google for the owner, and if there's no luck there, and there's some sort of bank cards within - phone the bank in question and get it posted to them. They'll very happily return the wallet to a customer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭lazylad

I think I would feel guilty if I kept it.
    You dont know the person whos wallet it is, you dont know what home life any one has and you should return it.what goes around comes around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,702 ✭✭✭bounty_hunter

I have to be honest and say it would depend on the situation at the time. If I was really badly in need of some cash I would probably tell myself the whole "nobody is going to claim it anyway" thing and keep it for myself. If I was in a particularly good mood and felt that all was well with the world I would probably hand it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭Love

Wallet: Hand it into the Garda station, definitely.

Money: Below €50: give it to charity
    €50+: either hand it into the Garda station or give it to charity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

phone the bank in question and get it posted to them. They'll very happily return the wallet to a customer.

Unless its AIB... Thieving so and so's.

I don't know what I'd do, but if it ever happens I'll certainly root out this thread and let you all know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Wallet on the bus I'd probably look through it for a means of identifiying the person and then, if none is found, consider giving it to the Guards. Although I say 'consider' and I do mean that -- I'd have a hefty suspision that they'd just throw it in a room until someone claims it.. ie. forever. Not much point in that.

If I found it on the street I'd hand it into the nearest shop or pub.

If I found loose money I'd keep it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭katiegordon

a wallet, id hand in to garda if it was on the street.for money, if i was on a bus, in a shop or car park or something id hand it in.If it was on the street id probably keep it.i left my wallet on atable and 5 mins later it wasgone derwas about 150 in it and no identification so please people hand things in!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 589 ✭✭✭MrSinn

I did find a big fat purse on a dublin bus one day,it had loads of cards in it and about £70.
    I almost passed the test,i took the money out and gave the purse to the driver on the way out....Well i was broke,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

DaveMcG wrote:
    Yeah, you better cut that shit out right now.

Yeah, that's the fella.

My dad said that he might spend it on booze too, but I dunno... I've never seen him drinking, and he's in college all day isn't he? If he was drunk, he'd probably be kicked out at this stage. How long has he been there? Does he sleep on the campus?

My dad also mentioned giving it to a charity like Saint Vincent de Paul, but to be honest, I'd rather give it to someone and see them have it, and smile and stuff. I like that kinda instant gratification, I'm selfish like that, lol. If I give it to a big charity, I'll never see the money do any good... It mightn't have made a difference at all, maybe it pays for the electricity in the Concern offices or something. If I gave it to yer man, he could have dinner for 10 days or so (not that he'd want canteen food, lol). They probably give him food for free, actually. Would you say they do? It'd be a bit stingey not to, one meal a day isn't much to ask.

I'm gonna post a thread about this guy actually... (in the UCD forum)
    AFAIK he's allowed to live in the college as he does because he doesn't drink (ergo doesn't wander around drunk) and doesn't interfere with anybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

if I just found money I would never hand it in - no point they wont find who owns it. a wallet - I would cos of credit card / laser etc i know I woul dbe gutted if I lost mine. even th elittle things like your xtra vision card and stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭Richelieu

Much though I'd love to be one of those step-over-your-own-granny's-body types, don't reckon I could live with myself if I tried keeping that wallet.
    Siogfinsceal is totally right. It's all the little cards and mementos. I have a photo of my uncle in mine from when he was still alive. Money is just money but there's always more than that...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Angels

swingking wrote:
    Here's the situation:

Im not going off the point or anything but my dad found €500 quid in a wallet outside a petrol station, he went in & gave his details to the guy in the shop in case the person came back lookin for it. So the person came back to the station got my dads details & called him. THis guy called to our house with a bottle of wine & box of chocolates. My dad gave him his money back safely ( this guy had the money for a mortgage repayment he meant to lodge) so my point is you don't know a persons situation with a large amount of money like that i would definitely give it back to the person but not to the shop especially when is comes to cash like that, the guy in the shop could just pocket it. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭tripper

I once saw a guy drop 40euro in front of me. So i ran up and gave it back to him and expecting a "thamks alot" all he did was snatch it from me and walk off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Prior Of Taize

if i found angelina jolie on the ground in the street i would keep her.

:v:

+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+_+
    tripper wrote:
    I once saw a guy drop 40euro in front of me. So i ran up and gave it back to him and expecting a "thamks alot" all he did was snatch it from me and walk off.

thats exactly the kind of people you want to lose their money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Saw someone dropping a purse/wallet infront of me years ago, they didn't notice... so I picked it up and ran after them to give it to them... ooh the filthy look I got, as if I'd pickpocketed them and then changed my mind or something. :(

The correct thing to do when you find a wallet is to take the cash as a finders-fee and return the remains to the owner / lost & found.
    If I'm going to save their lost wallet from the hands of someone dishonest, I deserve some compensation for my efforts... and it just so happens that my lost-wallet consultancy fee is 100% of cash assets :v:
    Sorry, it's the law.

Seriously though, I really couldn't say... if it was some wallet with a bunch of scabby old fivers and a OAP bus-pass, then you've got to return it whole.

From 2nd hand experience I'd say handing it into shops is a big mistake... my bro handed in a decent amount of lost cash into a shop, and the next time he was there, he asked had anyone claimed it, nobody knew wtf he was talking about. :rolleyes:
    Unless you're going to track down the owner yourself, you have to rely on the intentions of every person along the chain, right back to the owner... no matter how much people want to do the right thing, eventually someone on the chain will be overcome by the thought of the next person pocketing it anyway, so they themselves do a pre-emptive pocket of the lost cash.

I'd say if I could track down the original owner myself I'd return it in full, but if the only other option was a shop or garda station, then screw it... that cash will never see its owner again either way. (no need to point out the irony here)

Or you could just look at it like karma is giving back to you for all the things you've lost yourself... drawing from the pool of lost and found... ballancing it all out ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

Friend of mine lost a wallet on the bus, only realised it when she got off. She was fairly annoyed, presuming she wouldn't see it again.

About half an hour later she was in a clothes shop talking about the wallet to a couple of my friends, when the security guard overheard and asked her what bus she lost it on. Turns out the guard heard it over his radio: somebody had given it to the bus driver who handed it into Dun Laoghaire Garda Station. She has the wallet to this day. Mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

Angels wrote:
    he went in & gave his details to the guy in the shop in case the person came back lookin for it.
    Aaah, now there's a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭trishh

If I lost something, I would like to think it would be handed in somewhere and retrieved. I would do the same for anyone else. As has been said by Angels above, you don't know the other person's situation. But, having said that, I would NOT hand it into the guards. I would try to trace the person myself.

I did lose my handbad one night recently. The only valuable thing in it was my mobile (not valuable moneywise, but had all my contact numbers, messages, etc). I went back to the pubs/ clubs where I'd been.. nothing.. tried ringing mobile.. nothing.. It was worse than losing money.. That afternoon a gentleman rang my home from my mobile ! It was a cab driver that had found my bag in his cab which I had taken the previous night. Needless to say, I was very grateful to get the mobile back.

I also picked up a mobile from the ground at the drivers door of my car one day. Thinking it was my mobile (identical Nokia), opened my bag putting mobile in my bag (wondering how I lost it but glad I found it) only to realise my mobile was already in my bag ! I held on to the mobile until a call came, which was the girl's boyfriend. He directed me to her and I handed it back to her. She was delighted to have her mobile back too !

MOTTO: Do onto others as you would have done onto you !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

I'd cancel everything in my wallet within minutes of realising it was gone to be honest. If you hand something into "officialdom" they have more chance of finding out who it belongs to than you might have.

If I find cash, I'll keep cash. If I find a wallet or a bag, I'll return it straight or give it to the police or to a bank. And I'll do it asap after I find it - it could be the difference between someone shelling out to get the locks changed on their home for instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭Siogfinsceal

yeah its all abuot the karma! once lost my wallet and it was handed in so I always do the same for the next person

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

If I found it on a bus, I'd hand it to the driver, not give it to the guards.
    The VAST majority of bus drivers are OK, and in fairness, if I thought I'd left something on a bus, I'd ring the garage, not the guards.

Taking cash out would not occur to me - that would be stealing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭Dale

Half of me will say "Keep it", the other half will say "Hand it in".

I'd obviously check the contents and then make a disision.

I remember a few months ago on the bus, I found a "still valid" £65 travel pass, I madly handed it in. I new I should have kept it.