Gift Grub not funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

RedorDead wrote:
    Just a question: for people that do not like gift grub, what amuses you or makes you laugh? Something has to!
    Looking at monkeys... now that's comedy gold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

Looking at monkeys... now that's comedy gold!
    Monkey Tennis...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,820 ✭✭✭deisemum

I like gift grub and hope to buy the CD during the coming week. I think Killinascully is very funny, also the Panel and Podge and Rodge. I cannot see anything amusing in The Office but each to their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,965 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Can't say Gift Grub does anything for me (the one exception being the Mourinho sketches) - most of them drag on so long that any humor in them is very quickly lost.

I prefer FM104 in the morning myself. Much funnier all round I think. :)

(Incidentially I HATE Killnaskully (Pat Shortt in general). Podge and Rodge (and RTE's other puppets - Zig and Zag, Dustin etc) just come off as ignorant and unfunny to me, and the Panel has it's moments until they bring out the guests).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,773 ✭✭✭Binomate

The voice guy is on Tubridy tonight right now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

dont find it that funny at all to be honest, i dont think i've ever lol'd at it even

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭arac

ah c'mon lads it is very funny..granted some mornings are funnier than others, but its the best thing to give you the oul lift in the morning on the way to work..
    plastic sheeting. priceless
    eddie hobbs
    ronan fair play keating!
    micheal noonan "do you know what you remind me of?"
    that said I would nt go and buy the album coz I think its more of an in the moment thing..still just heard there a while ago that its knocked westllife off the top spot and that has to be a good thing!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭Dilly1

Gift Grub has outstayed its welcome, its not funny anymore, I change channels now when I hear these guys, they are just annoying now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Neuro

Am I the only one who thinks this?

You're not alone. I amazed at what passes for 'humour' on breakfast radio these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

arac wrote:
    still just heard there a while ago that its knocked westllife off the top spot and that has to be a good thing!:eek:
    And as someone texted in this morning, is that one group of impersonators knocking off another?

I think Gift Grub is very funny, most of the time. The one character I hated was Liam Lawlor, he had an irratating voice that just went through me. Plastic Sheating, Dobbo, Mary Coughlan and co always crack me up. Did anyone hear Brian Dobson almost say Plastic when introducing Pascal Sheahy on the news one evening? They mentioned it on the radio one morning.

If you don't like Gift Grub then it's very easy to avoid it, just listen to 2FM or some other radio station (or none at all).

And for all the nay sayers, don't forget "Dry your eyes mate", one of the best parodies of all time, and within a day or two of that game aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Dont see how this many people dont like it to be honest
    everyone i know loves the show
    im a huge fan especially dr bill who is actually voiced by tom dunne believe it or not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 254 ✭✭sandyg

Have to say i quite enjoy it myself. Lately i find M & 50 trolls (98fm at 8.20) put a smile on my face. Some of the things they come out with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

I don't really find it funny either..
    Used to like FM104 back in the day when Joan used to be on it, but its not really that funny anymore.
    Don't like The Panel or Killinascully either & can't understand anyone finding Dara O'Brian remotely funny! I can't abide him..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭The Song Thrush

I agree, Gift Grub ain't funny. But as long as it keep Westlife off the top of the charts then I'm a happy bunny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭cashback

sandyg wrote:
    Have to say i quite enjoy it myself. Lately i find M & 50 trolls (98fm at 8.20) put a smile on my face. Some of the things they come out with.

Jaysus they are BRUTAL! Couldn't think of their names. Had the misfortune to hear them a couple of times and promised myself never to turn to 98fm again.

Gift Grub is funny more for the accuracy of Rosenstocks impressions rather than the writing. Although he does come up with some hilarious situations now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

some of gift is funny, some just wreckes my head... i love plastic sheeting, he's my fave ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭Fey!

I have to say that I don't hear GG that often, but i have liked what I've heard (especially the "I like the way I move" by Mr Bill "Renault" Cullen). Podge & Rosge aren't my cup of tea, but I used to love Zig & Zag (anyone else remember them being pulled off air for their rendition of "Old McDonald had a Farm"???). The panel has it's moments, and both Dara O'Brin and Colm Murphy (dat's dem, isn't it?) are both fantastic when you see them doing live stand up. Blizzard of Odd is, to me, Odd! Dustin was a PITA, and Soky a poor replacement for the Z brothers.

All that said, each to their own. None of them would survive if nobody liked them; we just all have different senses of humour.

If we didn't, wouldn't life be dull............