Guys Thoughts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

yea flirting is cool, just wish i could understand guys!!! then it'd be perfect *sigh*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 combat_sombo

ferdi wrote:
    sort of - for most guys a smile from a girl can be taken two ways:

lust or pitty.

its usually pitty.

roffle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Le Rack wrote:
    When it comes to flirting and the like what do guys like/see/consider/whatever in girls? I can't really fully explain what I'm asking but hopefully you get the idea!

I dunno I kida noticed in myself that I end up flirting with anything with three legs and a nice smile ya know, but then never have the balls to do anything further than the initial smiley/eye contacty stuff, sometimes I will and am on the most part fairly successful.

So basically where do things stand with flirty-ness from both sides....?

Men want what they can't have...
    If a man knows he can have you at any moment, then its game over.
    If he thinks he has a chance, then he'll pursue.... Less is more and all that ****e...

Flirting, well I suppose you have to click.
    Back in my single days, If I spoke to a girl but we ran out of words after 5 minites then its see ya later....

yea flirting is cool, just wish i could understand guys!!! then it'd be perfect *sigh*

Understand guys?

give me an example....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

besty wrote:
    funny thing is, you're flirting right now! ;)
    I know! See that's me! Sometimes more subtle, depends but yeah!
    In real life I'm really like that maybe just tone it down a notch maybe not even that! And when the ball really gets rolling it's really fun but it's getting there!

Ferdi, I don't do the hoky poky, and who said I even shop in tescos!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

well i smile at guys too!! even if i dont fancy them! ..

I do that too... :eek: I mean, I smile at the guys I like too... but still... I guess we had better be more careful? Hehe...
    yeah and if you avoid them or don't smile they think "bítch" or "nah too quite"

Le Rack wrote:
    yeah and if you avoid them or don't smile they think "bítch" or "nah too quite"

Yeah, isn't it awful.. haha. And when they don't smile back, we think, "Oh just typical guys...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 148 ✭✭Ragazza

If only I could find a guy worth flirting with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Heres my( a guys) thoughts:

Hot girl makes eye contact and smiles at me - Most likely in there, may aswell go for it.
    Ugly girl makes eye contact and smiles at me - What are YOU looking at?You f*cking wish.

Hot girl flirts with me - All systems go :D
    Ugly girl attempts to flirt with me - Stop wasting my aswell as your own time, no matter how much I drink tonight you'll never become attractive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

It's always good when someone lollers at you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭chrismon

alot of us guys(espically me) dont realise a girl is smiling at us, I dont no how many nights a friend has had to tell me "that girl has been smiling at you all night" I think you have to let the guy no for definate you are interested and not just smiling for the sake of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

Keyzer wrote:
    Understand guys?

give me an example....

i dont know, thats the problem!! like how do i know that he fancies me, or is just being friendly / polite!!

I do that too... I mean, I smile at the guys I like too... but still... I guess we had better be more careful? Hehe...

yup looks that way!! its tough being a girl ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

yeah us men just dont GET IT.
    I have been told on occasions, that the girl over there has been smiling or looking at me for ages, and i wouldnt have a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Remember the good oul' days when we were younger and we showed someone we liked them by hitting them?

Ah, to be sixteen again...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Remember the good oul' days when we were younger and we showed someone we liked them by hitting them?

twas cheaper too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Sparky_S wrote:
    twas cheaper too :D

And 'cause you were a minor, you couldn't be charged with assault :D

Sparky_S wrote:
    I have been told on occasions, that the girl over there has been smiling or looking at me for ages, and i wouldnt have a clue.

Haha... and then of course the girl is thinking, "He's totally rejecting me..." and half the time, the guy doesn't even realize what he's doing! :rolleyes: It's kind of interesting to see how different the male and female brains work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,462 ✭✭✭ando

Piste wrote:
    In my (limited) experience I find it easier to flirt with someone I dont like than with someone I do.

bingo, same with me. The thing is I dont realise I do it either and end up leading the girl on that I have no interest in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭pdunno

That's still the way I work!!

I thought 'no' meant 'yes', didn't wash with the gardai though. Thank heavens they have the internet in the 'joy

i dont know, thats the problem!! like how do i know that he fancies me, or is just being friendly / polite!!

Well, here's what not to do...
    Your in a bar and you get talking to a bloke. He asks you if he can buy you a drink and you say yes. Then to test him you disappear, if he comes to find you he's interested etc. Now Im not saying girls do this but in this day and age it won't work cos men have changed. The bloke from my example will come back, find the girl gone and down the drink himself and go back to his mates, unless he's a hornball or the girl is a supermodel....

Listen, you know when you know.
    How do you make someone know that you like them?

Jaysus I dunno at all anymore, right well my story from the weekend.

Was introduced to this guy on the Friday evening, all night we kept bumping into eachother, the usual smile and pleasantries were exchanged. Grand. (Although everytime we seen him I was here saying to my friend "there he is" or "he's so hot" or something)

Anyway, didn't go out the Saturday night, cuz of floods so no one was around. Sunday went back out again, the continual encounters went on. A few hours later was in a pub having a drink with a friend. We were sitting at one end, he was at the other. We were in plain sight of eachother and were catching fleeting glimpses for ages.

Finally I said "Right we're moving" two reasons to be able to see the band and to be nearer "The bad man" (He was introduced to me as this). I sat with my back slightly to him but my friend could see him and was telling me he was continually watching me. Every so often I threw a glance at the door which happened to be behind him so he got a smile too.

A little while later he gets up with his drink, and I'm told is coming over to us. He comes up beside me and asks if he can sit. So grand, he sits, introduces himself, apparently barely remembering me from Friday. We chat for a while, and it turns out he's playing a set in another venue. He continually makes reference to there not being much to do in the town and how he's staying in a little rented cottage.

He leaves for his own gig a while later, promising to see me after, unfortunately I have to go and miss him entirely. But during our conversation he asked "All back to normal tomorrow?" i.e. back to work and that, I say no, heading to Cork for a week, and when he asks why I say, just for a break. Me having said this he says, "oh yeah.. might head down there myself for a bit" (He's from Canada and only here for a few weeks)

So tha's my story, but here's the killer bit, the hot sexy fcuker who I could have ended up in "a little rented cottage" with for the night is famous!!! Really famous, I thought he was just another guitarist but no, he's huge in America and has an album out and is "destined for fame"!!!

My thought on the whole thing : RAGING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Le Rack wrote:
    So tha's my story, but here's the killer bit, the hot sexy fcuker who I could have ended up in "a little rented cottage" with for the night is famous!!! Really famous, I thought he was just another guitarist but no, he's huge in America and has an album out and is "destined for fame"!!!

My thought on the whole thing : RAGING!
    Don't be raging.Pighead reckons it was a fortunate escape for Le Rack.
    Keith Richards is not sexy.hes a bag of wrinkles who is at least 27 years past his sell by date.Oh and by the way they've loads of albums out.

Darling darling darling pighead, don't be jealous of your dear Le Rack, for the bad man was Blair Harvey, who is as far as is known in his twenties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Le Rack wrote:
    Darling darling darling pighead, don't be jealous of your dear Le Rack, for the bad man was Blair Harvey, who is as far as is known in his twenties.
    Apologies to you.Pighead wrong.You right
    Just googled him.Not bad Le Rack not bad at all.
    www.workingtv.com/images26/urbanabo-200.jpg

actually http://www.waterfordartsfestival.com/music_jordans.htm
    Terrible pic of him though, he doesn't do cowboyhats and wooly jumpers!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Sparky_S wrote:
    I hate that...afterwards I go home and my female friends are like who was that girl that was practically raping you....I'm just like '....who?' sigh...
    Maybe more girls should be more agressive for the dozy ones out there(me)

Le Rack wrote:
    actually http://www.waterfordartsfestival.com/music_jordans.htm
    Terrible pic of him though, he doesn't do cowboyhats and wooly jumpers!

I wouldnt worry bout it.
    He looks like a gimp and his name is ridiculous...
    I mean for gods sake, Blair? what kind of parents does he have....

He's from Newfoundland, it's a typicaly american name.
    He was really nice and had a nice accent, and seriously doesn't look like that pic, he's way more indie kid.
    I'm not too bothered he was really nice and all but the other night I as good as bagged a guy I've liked for about four years so yoy, and I am doing cork for the week, so hey guys!
    It was just the fact that if he did end up being really internationally famous I could sit there with a big smug grin and be all like "Oh yeah. I had him. Yes I did"

I hate that...afterwards I go home and my female friends are like who was that girl that was practically raping you....I'm just like '....who?' sigh...
    Maybe more girls should be more agressive for the dozy ones out there(me)
    Yeah but we think that if we do the aggressive thing then the guys will be thinking "Oh gaud she's desperate get her away from me!"