Going to the cinema on your own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I do it a lot. Usually at odd times when cinemas are quiet and I just want to be alone for a while. It's nice and peaceful. I find it very relaxing :)

That said I do enjoy going to see a film with a few friends. They are different things though in my mind. One I'm going to relax and enjoy a film myself and the other I'm going to be social and meet friends as well as to enjoy the film.

I've never felt a taboo about it. I just enjoy doing things on my own sometimes. Like most people I know tbh.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Done it plenty of times. I live really close to the cinema, so I'd often decide on the spur of the moment to go see a flick - I can leave about 5 minutes before it's due to start and sit down as the trailers are on. That way I don't have to worry or plan in advance.

Then there's also certain pictures that I can't get people to go see - such as Strings or Palindromes. These I have to see by myself as a result. Never a bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

I have, I went to kill a couple of hours before I met my friends for drinks. However the projector for the only film I wanted to see was broken, so that was the end of that little experiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Franky Boy

I like going on my own.Gives me a chance to watch the film in perfect silence,and be able to analyse it properly without people whispering in my ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

can't say id ever go to the cinema on my own. it just seems wrong to me unless you are a filim critic and its your job...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Anyone who goes to the cinema on their own is a ****ing degenerate filth bag, a brown stain on the y-fronts of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Whenever I see someone by themself at the cinema I just feel really sorry for them, so no, I suppose I don't think it's alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

i probably wouldnt go to the cinema at night on my own, but during the day its grand, nobody about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Pencilant

I've done both the things you aren't supposed to do alone at the same time,
    go to the pictures alone and drink, don't see any reason why anyone sees a problem with it

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

i rarely go on my own but i would if there was something i wanted to see. not a big deal either way i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

I'll entertain ye with my story of the one and only time I went to the cinema on my own. I was waiting for ages to see this movie and noone seemed to want to go, some one evening after having a particularly bad day in college I decided to go and see the movie myself. I ventured off to this brand spanking new cinema near me for a mid-week showing around 8pm. Thought surely all the other students will be out drinking and I won't look too sad.

So up the counter I go, buy my ticket, and ask for a small popcorn and small drink... only to be told 'that is only for kids'... so I got the medium popcorn and medium drink. the *lovely* lady behind the counter then passed me this MASSIVE BUCKET of popcorn and a huge drink which I could barely carry. So.. off I go up to the lady who takes the tickets, feeling a little self-conscious to say the least... I decide to make some small talk as I hand over my ticket and said to the lady (about the popcorn).. 'i didnt realise it would be so big'.... her reply:
    'well, that is because it is made to share.. and well you dont have anyone to share with'.
    CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? I ran into the movie and just sat there feeling totally crap... never again!!! Poor me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

what a bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Yeah, that is what I thought.. but it does make for an entertaining story... always good when you can laugh AT someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Have gone on my own just once, but would have no problem doing it again. Nothing was on TV and the cinema is a 5 minute walk away. I did like the lack of interruption. A few mates always start talking through it, also if people are talking near you it is easier to get up and just move by yourself.

Another time we went and the film was sold out so we were trying to pick another. We ended up going to different films and just meeting after in the pub, no problems with that either, but maybe a bit odd for a partner rather than mates!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭misswex

Don't see a problem with it all, never done it myself though as I personally would feel a bit self-conscious.

This "self-consciousness" seems to be a common disease. Has it something to do with the famine, or the civil war, or something? Why do Irish people creep around in this scared manner, afraid of what strangers might be thinking of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Because they're *shock*... human? You think it's only Irish people who feel self-conscious? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭ArthurDent

Seeing that my trips to the cinema usually involve at least 3 kids 4 drinks, 4 bags of popcorn, 6 trips to the loo, 2 "can we go home now!".and generally a film that makes me want to gnaw my own arm off (Lava girl and shark boy anyone?!).....

I kill for the chance for me and a cup of coffee and a film of my choice! The joy of not hearing anyoe calling me for a couple of few hours - worth its weight in gold.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 chelle2ie

As someone who goes to the cinema on her own regularly, I have to say I couldn't give a feck what anyone else says or thinks. It's great being able to chill out and leave a crap day and annoying people outside the door for a few hours. It was a bit weird the first time and def not something to do at the late shows as its couplesville which can be annoying to have to listen to but people can think what they like as I know I have friends but we don't have to do everything together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

If you are an old creepy man wearing a trenchcoat going to childrens films = not cool

otherwise its a. o. k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 combat_sombo

i go to films on my own all the time. mainly because i have no mates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭positron

I have done it many times before - some might think you are sad or what ever, I couldn't care less to be honest - some good movies deserves your full attention - don't want your gf going nuts for 'ignoring' her for the length of the movie etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

DaveMcG wrote:
    Because they're *shock*... human? You think it's only Irish people who feel self-conscious? :confused:

It's not only Irish people; I know quite a bit of Americans with the same problem. It's a common "disease". People just want to be accepted, that's all. That's normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Scraggs wrote:
    If you are an old creepy man wearing a trenchcoat going to childrens films = not cool
    Hey! That's not fair... I'm not old...

I probably go to the cinema alone about 80% of the time... if it's a film I can ge my eight year old nephew in to then I'll bring him along too.. god bless 15A...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

i've always intended to go to the IFI alone some time but then who'd i discuss the film with afterwards?

i would go to "normal" theatres alone but well... you all read the story above

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

440hz what you should of done was snotted all over that stupid bitch,
    anyway never been to the cinema alone but am not against the idea by any means.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,427 ✭✭✭Roar

i have absolutely no problems going to the cinema on my own, my days off are during the week so everyone else is at work so i go then...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

440Hz wrote:
    I'll entertain ye with my story of the one and only time I went to the cinema on my own. I was waiting for ages to see this movie and noone seemed to want to go, some one evening after having a particularly bad day in college I decided to go and see the movie myself. I ventured off to this brand spanking new cinema near me for a mid-week showing around 8pm. Thought surely all the other students will be out drinking and I won't look too sad.

So up the counter I go, buy my ticket, and ask for a small popcorn and small drink... only to be told 'that is only for kids'... so I got the medium popcorn and medium drink. the *lovely* lady behind the counter then passed me this MASSIVE BUCKET of popcorn and a huge drink which I could barely carry. So.. off I go up to the lady who takes the tickets, feeling a little self-conscious to say the least... I decide to make some small talk as I hand over my ticket and said to the lady (about the popcorn).. 'i didnt realise it would be so big'.... her reply:
    'well, that is because it is made to share.. and well you dont have anyone to share with'.
    CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? I ran into the movie and just sat there feeling totally crap... never again!!! Poor me!

I would have taken them to the cleaners. It's called discrimination. That is, they can't refuse to sell you a product based on your age, unless the law prohibits selling it to you.

Name and shame the cinema. The managers probably tell staff to embarrass customers into buying bigger food.

I've gone alone a couple of times when there's no-one else to see a movie with (usually when herself doesn't want to see it, and my mates decided to go without telling me!). It's great when the cinema's half empty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 combat_sombo

seamus wrote:
    I would have taken them to the cleaners. It's called discrimination. That is, they can't refuse to sell you a product based on your age, unless the law prohibits selling it to you.

Name and shame the cinema. The managers probably tell staff to embarrass customers into buying bigger food.

I've gone alone a couple of times when there's no-one else to see a movie with (usually when herself doesn't want to see it, and my mates decided to go without telling me!). It's great when the cinema's half empty.

nuke them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭[InsertHandle]

I've done it, mostly during the day

I don't see anything wrong with it but sometimes getting your ticket can be a bit weird.... it's easy to say "who cares what anybody else thinks" but sometimes i'd like to be the guy with the hot date instead of the guy making his way out trying to look interested at the posters :o