Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going to the cinema on your own

• 31-10-2005 9:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19

I really wanted to see a film that no-one else wanted to see, so decided to go on my own.
    Really enjoyed it, but noticed I was the ONLY person on my own.
    Is it 'taboo' to go on your own??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

hell no, i prefer to go on my own, no gf talking into your ear or getting you to go for drinks/snacks or whatever when all i want to do is watch the f#cking film...

so no it's cool to go on your own

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Who gives a toss if it is or not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Depends on the time of the day... during the day a good proportion go solo from my experiences

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

My wife hates going on her own.

Why?

You are not going to be talking to each other while the film is on so you might as well be on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Prescient

I didnt think twice about going on my own. But even when I bought the ticket, the girl at the desk asked me 'just one ticket??' in an incredulous tone.
    and ...yes, i did enjoy it more on my own

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

I went to a film by myself for the first time last tuesday. It was grand, everyone else there was solo too.
    Felt a bit odd when getting the ticket "eh..one student for serenity" and the actual entering the cinema but got over it quickly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

Why would it be a problem to go on your own? I prefer to go to the cinema with friends because it's good to meet up with them and it means that I won't have to skip a trip because I've already seen the film. I've no problems going to something on my own if there is no one else around to go with. Bar a bit of discussion about the cinema afterwards it's no different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

I often go on my own, as does my other half. We don't always want to see the same things, so what's the point in going together, if one of you doesn't want to see the film?
    Sometimes we go together if it's something we both fancy seeing, but as has been said, it's not like you're going to be talking to the other person when the film is on, unless you're the kind of ninny who can't follow the plot -and neither of us have that problem - so I've never quite understood why some people think it's a big deal to go on your own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

I go to the cinema on my own a lot. Why not??? I don't see a problem with it.

I agree that you do normally notice the people on their own though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

ive done it. i like it. i dont feel the need to discuss the film afterwards, and i can just think about it and go on my way.

besides, its a lot cheaper when you dont bring anyone!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

No problem with it,have never done it though.Prefer to go with friends and talk after.but if nobody else wanted to go I would have no problem going on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,544 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

No, see what you darn well like..why are you even asking this?
    If you feel lonely in the cinema, why not try try a little self loving ..(down with this kind of thing).

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

People think im odd for doing it but i love my films too much... that said, i do prefer to discuss the film afterwards with a person rather than in my head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Longfield wrote:
    If you feel lonely in the cinema, why not try try a little self loving ..(down with this kind of thing).
    He's just asking for bloody opinions, stop getting so defensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Longfield wrote:
    Pee Wee Herman got arrested for that

I thought self lurve in the darkened cinema was pretty offensive ;)

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

chump wrote:
    Depends on the time of the day... during the day a good proportion go solo from my experiences

It actually was in the evening. Lots of couples. I suppose the type of film makes a difference too.
    The film was 'Broken Flowers' with Bill Murray. Maybe they all thought it was going to be a romantic comedy.....it was not (thankfully) :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Been to the cinema a couple of times on my own, never really thought about it, but since you mention it, I can understand why you might feel a little uncomfortable, there probaly is some sort of "taboo", but that's only if you really care about that ... I don't, and I don't think you do either, so it's all good :)

DubGuy wrote:
    Been to the cinema a couple of times on my own, never really thought about it, but since you mention it, I can understand why you might feel a little uncomfortable, there probaly is some sort of "taboo", but that's only if you really care about that ... I don't, and I don't think you do either, so it's all good :)

Thats it in a nutshell DubGuy, good post !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭DoctorEdgeWild

Bring a notepad and a pen with you and people will think you are some kinda reviewer! That's if you REALLY care about what others think about you.

I've never done it here in Ireland but did it quite a bit while I was travelling. Enjoyed the films each and every time as well.

Longfield wrote:

LOL...I really didnt feel 'lonely'. In fact, really enjoyed being able to see the film while not being distracted.
    The reason I asked was it taboo, was that I just thought it weird that I seemed to be the only person on my own.
    No big deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

Have done it before and will do it again, usually go to movies no one I know wants to see. It's the obvious choice, but it does feel awkward if you are there early or something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭Gaz25

I went to the cinema with my mates and saw my cousin there who is only a couple of years older then me. I don't think he was to happy when he saw me tho:mad: .I asked if he was here on a date and he was eeeehhhhhhhh...I guessed he was his own. The funny thing was he went to see The Dukes of hazzard.

I saw him in the pub and let it slip to his mates:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Went last month to the flicks by myself-mega humiliating experience-was in the savoy in Dublin and was passing the cinema so just decided to go in. Definatly wouldnt go again by myself which is annoying cos its nice to just sit with a big tub of popcorn and watch a film by yourself.The cinema was pretty packed cept it was pretty obvious i was all by my lonesome and a group of lads at the back kept on yelling at me if i wanted someone to keep me company-cringe.I often find in Ireland though if you go places by yourself your some sort of social pariah but i just like having lots of 'me' time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

panda100 wrote:
    it was pretty obvious i was all by my lonesome and a group of lads at the back kept on yelling at me if i wanted someone to keep me company-cringe.

I think it is probably a little harder for a woman than for a guy. I first went to the cinema alone as none of my friends would go see Stargate with me and I really wanted to see it. I was just 16 at the time and I found going in and leaving the cinema a bit embarrasing.

Nowadays it doesn't bother me. In fact I find that going to the cinema is a great thing to do when I'm having a fight with my bf!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭Hugh Hefner

I go to the cinema far too often and for far too long (3/4 films in a day) to expect there to always be someone to come with me. Maybe if I had siblings or lived close to my friends I wouldn't go alone so often, but I don't so...

Plus people don't always like the films I want to see.

Couldn't care less about going on my own. There are advantages to going on one's own...
    • It's nice to not have people sitting right beside you. I feel more relaxed, less body conscious. You can keep your legs nice and wide (important when you have man bits).
    • There's no temptation to mention something to whoever you might be with.
    • There's nobody to annoy you with questions and comments. ("Ere, that's yer man off Ballykissangel. Mus-must not be a priest... Must be an actor.")
    • You can leave if you feel like it (not that I would).
    • You don't have to share food...
    • ... or drinks.
    • Etc.
    So you see, there's 7 (:p) good arguments for going to the cinema alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭dundalk cailin

ive never gone to the cinema on my own, but wouldnt rule it out. i like spending time on my own, e.g. hate going shopping with other people :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Alana

Jaysus, it's grand. Only went on my own once, and that was to a foreign language film that no-one else I knu here spoke proficiently, or was interested in reading subtitles, madness (kids these days:rolleyes: ), but yea, it's grand. Was nice in that I didn't have to wait on someone to decide if they wanted to get popcorn or nachos or to get ice cream or something that's meant to resembl meat:p , but in a way it was a bit annoying at the end in that i didnt have anyone to talk to about it, but hey I enjoyed it. But I've often been tempted to bunk off college and go see some interesting ones in the ifi, but haven't-yet...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭NoDayBut2Day

I've never been to the theater alone before, but I don't see a problem with it. I think many people are just afraid of what others think about them, so they feel they need other people around them as a "security" thing. Hold your head high even if you're alone; who cares what other people think??

Hold your head high even if you're alone; who cares what other people think??

agree with that sentiment, if you want to see a film that nobody else is interested in seeing, you shouldnt miss out on it just cause you are too worried bout what people will say if they see you on your own in the cinema :eek: ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I do it a lot. Usually at odd times when cinemas are quiet and I just want to be alone for a while. It's nice and peaceful. I find it very relaxing :)

That said I do enjoy going to see a film with a few friends. They are different things though in my mind. One I'm going to relax and enjoy a film myself and the other I'm going to be social and meet friends as well as to enjoy the film.

I've never felt a taboo about it. I just enjoy doing things on my own sometimes. Like most people I know tbh.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,004 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Done it plenty of times. I live really close to the cinema, so I'd often decide on the spur of the moment to go see a flick - I can leave about 5 minutes before it's due to start and sit down as the trailers are on. That way I don't have to worry or plan in advance.

Then there's also certain pictures that I can't get people to go see - such as Strings or Palindromes. These I have to see by myself as a result. Never a bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭YeatsCounty

I have, I went to kill a couple of hours before I met my friends for drinks. However the projector for the only film I wanted to see was broken, so that was the end of that little experiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,816 ✭✭✭Franky Boy

I like going on my own.Gives me a chance to watch the film in perfect silence,and be able to analyse it properly without people whispering in my ear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

can't say id ever go to the cinema on my own. it just seems wrong to me unless you are a filim critic and its your job...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Anyone who goes to the cinema on their own is a ****ing degenerate filth bag, a brown stain on the y-fronts of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭Funkstard

Whenever I see someone by themself at the cinema I just feel really sorry for them, so no, I suppose I don't think it's alright

i probably wouldnt go to the cinema at night on my own, but during the day its grand, nobody about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Pencilant

I've done both the things you aren't supposed to do alone at the same time,
    go to the pictures alone and drink, don't see any reason why anyone sees a problem with it

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

i rarely go on my own but i would if there was something i wanted to see. not a big deal either way i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

I'll entertain ye with my story of the one and only time I went to the cinema on my own. I was waiting for ages to see this movie and noone seemed to want to go, some one evening after having a particularly bad day in college I decided to go and see the movie myself. I ventured off to this brand spanking new cinema near me for a mid-week showing around 8pm. Thought surely all the other students will be out drinking and I won't look too sad.

So up the counter I go, buy my ticket, and ask for a small popcorn and small drink... only to be told 'that is only for kids'... so I got the medium popcorn and medium drink. the *lovely* lady behind the counter then passed me this MASSIVE BUCKET of popcorn and a huge drink which I could barely carry. So.. off I go up to the lady who takes the tickets, feeling a little self-conscious to say the least... I decide to make some small talk as I hand over my ticket and said to the lady (about the popcorn).. 'i didnt realise it would be so big'.... her reply:
    'well, that is because it is made to share.. and well you dont have anyone to share with'.
    CAN YOU BELIEVE IT? I ran into the movie and just sat there feeling totally crap... never again!!! Poor me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

what a bitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,424 ✭✭✭440Hz

Yeah, that is what I thought.. but it does make for an entertaining story... always good when you can laugh AT someone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Have gone on my own just once, but would have no problem doing it again. Nothing was on TV and the cinema is a 5 minute walk away. I did like the lack of interruption. A few mates always start talking through it, also if people are talking near you it is easier to get up and just move by yourself.

Another time we went and the film was sold out so we were trying to pick another. We ended up going to different films and just meeting after in the pub, no problems with that either, but maybe a bit odd for a partner rather than mates!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭misswex

Don't see a problem with it all, never done it myself though as I personally would feel a bit self-conscious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭MontgomeryClift

This "self-consciousness" seems to be a common disease. Has it something to do with the famine, or the civil war, or something? Why do Irish people creep around in this scared manner, afraid of what strangers might be thinking of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Because they're *shock*... human? You think it's only Irish people who feel self-conscious? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭ArthurDent

Seeing that my trips to the cinema usually involve at least 3 kids 4 drinks, 4 bags of popcorn, 6 trips to the loo, 2 "can we go home now!".and generally a film that makes me want to gnaw my own arm off (Lava girl and shark boy anyone?!).....

I kill for the chance for me and a cup of coffee and a film of my choice! The joy of not hearing anyoe calling me for a couple of few hours - worth its weight in gold.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 chelle2ie

As someone who goes to the cinema on her own regularly, I have to say I couldn't give a feck what anyone else says or thinks. It's great being able to chill out and leave a crap day and annoying people outside the door for a few hours. It was a bit weird the first time and def not something to do at the late shows as its couplesville which can be annoying to have to listen to but people can think what they like as I know I have friends but we don't have to do everything together!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Scraggs

If you are an old creepy man wearing a trenchcoat going to childrens films = not cool

otherwise its a. o. k.