Fighting at your debs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭Love

I'll let you know after next Saturday :)

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Mine was a couple years ago; there was no trouble at the event, but on the way back on one of the buses some gob****e got off his head on yolks, went to the bus driver (while still driving along the m50) punched him, kicked out the front windshield and ran off into the night! :confused:

Needless to say, he was arrested. Nobody wants to be associated with mongs like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭kluivert

I bet that was in Jurys Inn Ballsbridge.

I was at a conference there Monday or Tuesday nite and there was a debs crowd coming in and there was security guards there everywhere.

Nothing like that at my debs back in 01.

Kids nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

never had a debs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

It does seem to becoming popular actually. It happened at mine tho I didn't go since I was only in the school 6 months but how and ever there were fights. As someone said earlier it's lads settling old scores since they'll never see them again undoubtedly.
    Ry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Nothing like a free for all to sort out your anger! Violence solves some things. As long as all parties want the violence then no problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

My school didn't have a debs... so I had to make one up in my imagination... but there was lots of fighting in that as we battled to stop an evil wizard from taking over the universe.... ah... good times....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Closing Doors

There was a bit of talk from a few lads a couple of days beforehand of "settling old scores" and rubbish like that...thankfully the night was incident free - well fight wise anyway ;) We had our Debs out in the Pavilion and I've a hazy recollection of races around Leopardstown racecourse at the end of the night :D

No fights at Graduation either though a few guys got thrown out for being off their heads (and now that I think of it, started a fight with a few scumbags on Grafton St.) but the story that sticks in my mind from that night is 2 guys hiring out one of those rickshaw things (bear in mind we were in a club on Leeson St.) and getting the "driver" to take them out to RTE! They then proceeded to leg it in opposite directions without paying for it :eek: :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

Had my Debs last nigh. I finally found out what debs was short for. No fights, just many drunk people and one attempted escapee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I never went to my debs and i heard afterwards there was loads of fighting, horrible food, and of course rip-off tickets, Only in Ireland, Only in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

There was a bit of talk from a few lads a couple of days beforehand of "settling old scores" and rubbish like that...thankfully the night was incident free - well fight wise anyway ;) We had our Debs out in the Pavilion and I've a hazy recollection of races around Leopardstown racecourse at the end of the night :D

No fights at Graduation either though a few guys got thrown out for being off their heads (and now that I think of it, started a fight with a few scumbags on Grafton St.) but the story that sticks in my mind from that night is 2 guys hiring out one of those rickshaw things (bear in mind we were in a club on Leeson St.) and getting the "driver" to take them out to RTE! They then proceeded to leg it in opposite directions without paying for it :eek: :eek: :D

lmao, bad bastads :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

we had a food fight at ours, and i threw a pint of guinness at someone, i remember sitting on the steps of the central bank with oragne juice all over my tuxedo and hair...beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

We had a food fight at ours too. Well, me and another guy throwing food at everyone else. Good times.
    The sink in the toilet got broken, I can't remember if someone fell on it by himself or if he fell on it after getting boxed. And a few people slipped on the wet floor and cut their hands and stuff on the broken sink. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,947 ✭✭✭D-Generate

netwhizkid wrote:
    I never went to my debs and i heard afterwards there was loads of fighting, horrible food, and of course rip-off tickets, Only in Ireland, Only in Ireland.

Even if there was fighting, horrible food and the tickets were a rip off I still guarantee you that they had a better time than a night at home.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭SirIrish

hmmmmm....looks like it's the done thing .... :mad:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

sounds like the engineering ball every year!

Apparantly a load of people got arrested in mine... someone for grievous bodily harm or something (hit somebody with a bottle), some people for fighting, some people for doin coke... and the school is banned from the place now!

I don't know how true any of that is, though, cos I didn't see any fights or any coke whatsoever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

I've gone to 4 debs and never saw any fights or trouble. Jurys has pretty tight security.
    Goin to a debs in a few weeks infact...don't wanna go tho!

We were all searched going into Newgrange... wallets, pockets, crotch, legs, armpits, shoes. It were crazy! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,173 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

The secondary school in Mountmellick,Co. Laois has decided never to hold one again because the principal does not think it is right to condone under age drinking etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Why does it have to have anything to do with the principal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 728 ✭✭✭randomfella

No fights at the last one i was at but then there was the year before. Twas a fight between 2lads and bouncers if that still counts?

You get the odd eejit everywhere i suppose. Don't think that the debs is an occasion renowned for fights, its just a place full of people loaded with drink and in any situation like that the chances of hassle are likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,817 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I don't remember any huge fights at mine but there was the odd punch thrown and bloody nose here and there, it's bound to happen. Actually my school would like to have thought of itself as one of the more prestigious in Dublin. I went to a debs at the same venue a week before my one held by a less prestigious school and they gave us plastic pint glasses. At my debs they gave us proper pint glasses, and then some gob****e got thrown out for throwing one at the band. He was a proper dickhead.

ColHol wrote:
    Why does it have to have anything to do with the principal?

Well I think his whole attitude is that he doesnt wasnt the school looking bad or getting a bad name i.e. promoting under age drinking!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I'd imagine most, if not all the students would be over 18, by the time the debs came around.

Ahh well see thats not the case for everyone,there will always be a few under-age that will manage to get themselves noticed!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭Burago

My debs was back in 03 and as far as I can remember there were no fights. It was a really messy drunken night but no real hassle. Expensive but well worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

Been to 4 or 5 debs. Never saw a fight. Been a few years though. :)

"Settling scores" is a boll*x reason tbh. Settle them elsewhere if you really want to have a row with someone. Don't go ruining their night and yours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭BobTheBeat

There was a ban on debs in my school because years ago, a few c*cksmokers threw a teacher down the stairs and made bits of his back.
    But they did come up with the ole 'You can organise a debs,but the school will have nothing to do with it'. Thats a smart idea,if you can get some savvy heads on the organising committee,but alas, it was not to be the year I graduated.