Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fighting at your debs

• 21-09-2005 3:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭

I work in a hotel and i'm just after finishing a debs and everything was great all night untill the very end of it when a fight started and it escalated into a free for all and gardai were called and people were taken away and others were brought to the hospital. It was the same last wed night at the end of the night. I was just wondering is this the done thing now?? I don't want to sound like an old fella but "back in my day" :rolleyes: I don't remember anything like this happening at any of the debs.
    It's sad .
    So was your debs like this??? :confused:

• Site Banned Posts: 152 ✭✭Resurrection

SirIrish wrote:
    I work in a hotel and i'm just after finishing a debs and everything was great all night untill the very end of it when a fight started and it escalated into a free for all and gardai were called and people were taken away and others were brought to the hospital. It was the same last wed night at the end of the night. I was just wondering is this the done thing now?? I don't want to sound like an old fella but "back in my day" :rolleyes: I don't remember anything like this happening at any of the debs.
    It's sad .

Young people mixed with all day drinking and raging hormones. Of course there are going to be fights. "I'll never have to see this guy again after this. He wont be in my school. I've always hated him"

Teenagers + alcohol = fights, so don't seem so shocked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

no fights at my debs but i remember only me and my best mate (who i don't talk to know) we're the only ones awake and singin our hearts out...great night...but no not a bit of fighting (and people say ballyfermot is a kip !!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Beekay

No,there were no fights at my one either,everyone was too busy gettin a free little fry up at the end of the night at my one to bother fightin.....me included :D:D:D Damn it was a good fry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

scores were settled...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭cuaifeadh

No fighting, but I had the after party in my house and suprise suprise there were gate crashers. Some of my big scary friends who had offered to do bouncer for the night chased them around the house, lost them...and then found them chatting away to my father who was offering them beer!! >.<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

No fights but some of my school mates stole stuff from the hotel and where we had breakfast. Not small things either tv and speakers.

Which schools or areas were the debs people from? I remeber my school was not allowed organise a debs one year because of the year before.

Been a long,long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Ruffty^

Not small things either tv and speakers.

:D souvenir !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭Nukem

Teenagers + alcohol = fights, so don't seem so shocked.

???????????? Thats kinda painting all teenagers who drink in a bad light isnt it. A tad harsh.

My Grads was fairly usual just everyone having a laugh but there was one gom who decided he would be the big man and try start a fight with a few fellas of the rather large varietys. needless to say he wasnt liked by majority of my year and was tossed out on his ass from the Grads. Heard of some Debs/Grads getting outta hand alright!

Know a guy who organizes them and he had some stories but generally if the bouncers are fast enough nothing more comes of it.

Nukem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'll let you know in a week's time ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

a girl in my class asked some guy to go to the debs with her, he said he couldnt get the time off work. but then he went with my friend, after the meal the first girl walked over and poured a pint all over him.
    that was about it..
    oh and someone pushed me onto the principals lap...but that was purely accidental....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Mine had a few fights and three arrests/cautions by cops, 2 arrested for drunbkeness etc and my mate cautioned for hash posession

tbh alot quieter than probably a majority of debs. Most debs I know of end in near riots. All have a row or two, but some descend into the realms of forehead-beerbottle combat

Stuff robbed or the venue completely wrecked.....yes, its pretty common

Is it more common now? I dunno, alot more people would be coked up along wth drink these days compared to a few years ago, but afaik debs have always been pretty violent venues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78 ✭✭Alli Babba

I went to an all girls school and when our debs came around there was allot of bitching in the toilets it got so bad that my friend went to the mens toiets to avoid it all

but I still had a great night though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭magpie

Stupid parents give stupid teenagers too much money to spend on booze that they can't handle - you end up with fights.

In my day we never had more than enough for a couple of pints, not 18 litres of Fat Frog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

It's funny actually, from my experience you always get more fights at an all-girls school debs that at an all-boys' one.

At the guys' debs you'll find that the lads who can't stand each other wll be sitting at different tables and will be able to avoid each other and just get on with enjoying their own night. At the girls' debs, however, it's the girls who'll obviously be the ones dicatating the seating arrangement so the two guys can end up sat at the same table...Plus you've got the fact that the lads are most likely from a mix of schools so you can get things like sports rivalries kicking off trouble too.

At my own debs, I can only remember one punch being thrown and that was given to a guy who'd spent the whole night looking for a fight (until someone actually gave him one!). At a girlfriend's debs I remember the place being a feckin' battleground. There was a whole load of fights and someone got their head put through a window...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Me and 4 of my mates went to a Debs with 5 girls from a local girls school, we didnt get in any fights as such, but we did have a Royal Rumble type event amongst the 5 of us in a corner of the room while the women ate dinner.

Jesus, its amazing what seemed a good, funny idea when I was 17. Black Tie were unimpressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

magpie wrote:
    Stupid parents give stupid teenagers too much money to spend on booze that they can't handle - you end up with fights.

In my day we never had more than enough for a couple of pints, not 18 litres of Fat Frog.
    In my day, we worked hard, earned our money, and got drunk on it. No fights in my debs, and no fights when we went back to the football field to continue drinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

my debs was deadly, no fights as far as i recall. everyone just got completely loaded on various substances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Yeah - I was in an all-boys school and there were no fights at our debs, just lots of general drunkenness and people staggering down the road and blocking traffic.

When I went to the girls-school's debs there were 3 or 4 fights - which I found quite funny.

Neither of them were fantastic nights though, I have to admit - not worth the few hundred euro they cost between them, for sure!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Femmy wrote:
    a girl in my class asked some guy to go to the debs with her, he said he couldnt get the time off work. but then he went with my friend, after the meal the first girl walked over and poured a pint all over him.
    that was about it..
    oh and someone pushed me onto the principals lap...but that was purely accidental....

I love how humilation or violence (slap in the face) by woman is acceptable if against a man. If a bloke did that for a girl sleeping with his best friend he wouldn't get away with it. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

Mine was a complete laugh ... I remember 2 punch ups that kicked off over the same girl ... but the best was when someone lumped the principal (he was so pissed that he couldn't tell who did it)! We all wanted to do it, but I think it was someone from outside the school who did it in the end :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

no fighting at mine, just lots of happy and intoxicated people

• Site Banned Posts: 152 ✭✭Resurrection

Nukem wrote:
    ???????????? Thats kinda painting all teenagers who drink in a bad light isnt it. A tad harsh.

My Grads was fairly usual just everyone having a laugh but there was one gom who decided he would be the big man and try start a fight with a few fellas of the rather large varietys. needless to say he wasnt liked by majority of my year and was tossed out on his ass from the Grads. Heard of some Debs/Grads getting outta hand alright!

Know a guy who organizes them and he had some stories but generally if the bouncers are fast enough nothing more comes of it.

Nukem

As was mine. My point was that you shouldn't be shocked to the point of starting a new thread. These things happen all the time with teenagers. And it's fact that teenagers are known to drink more and obviously with the lack of maturity you will get more fights breaking out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,644 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I vaguely remember one guy causing a bit of trouble at my debs. If I recall correctly he got kicked out and everyone got on with their night.

There was an ambulance called, but that was because someone over indulged on the drink rather than any fighting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

the boyfriends of some of the girls in my year got into a big fight and there was people arrested for assault. Then the cops found drugs, so more were arrested for possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭Stompbox

Jesus Christ!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Young people nowdays eh!!

I have been to 3 debs and my own grads and not one fight did I see.

Maybe people are more civilised when I was younger and im not talking about 20 years ago, im talking more like 5!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

SirIrish wrote:
    It's sad .
    Same here mate my debs passed off without a hint of trouble despite everybody being hammered drunk it was all good natured,it just goes to show you how violent society has become roday unfortunately. :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

mine was 4 years ago. the trouble at mine was caused by the scumbags that were accompanying the skangers in my year. Not a true reflection of the LC Class of 01 in my school, cos most of 'em were snobs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

In the last Debs that I worked for, there was plenty of security there and they were quick to react to anyone starting on one another and simply threw them out straight away!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Had my grads last night and not a spot of trouble. Everyone was merry and had such a laugh. We were pretty much out from 6 to 6 and not one fight happened and I didn't see anyone even throwing up.

Debs thursday week now and apparently the knackers in the school made a list of who they want to fight. I can't wait to go, looks an exciting night :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 407 ✭✭Love

I'll let you know after next Saturday :)

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Mine was a couple years ago; there was no trouble at the event, but on the way back on one of the buses some gob****e got off his head on yolks, went to the bus driver (while still driving along the m50) punched him, kicked out the front windshield and ran off into the night! :confused:

Needless to say, he was arrested. Nobody wants to be associated with mongs like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭kluivert

I bet that was in Jurys Inn Ballsbridge.

I was at a conference there Monday or Tuesday nite and there was a debs crowd coming in and there was security guards there everywhere.

Nothing like that at my debs back in 01.

Kids nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

never had a debs :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Ry

It does seem to becoming popular actually. It happened at mine tho I didn't go since I was only in the school 6 months but how and ever there were fights. As someone said earlier it's lads settling old scores since they'll never see them again undoubtedly.
    Ry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

Nothing like a free for all to sort out your anger! Violence solves some things. As long as all parties want the violence then no problem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

My school didn't have a debs... so I had to make one up in my imagination... but there was lots of fighting in that as we battled to stop an evil wizard from taking over the universe.... ah... good times....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭Closing Doors

There was a bit of talk from a few lads a couple of days beforehand of "settling old scores" and rubbish like that...thankfully the night was incident free - well fight wise anyway ;) We had our Debs out in the Pavilion and I've a hazy recollection of races around Leopardstown racecourse at the end of the night :D

No fights at Graduation either though a few guys got thrown out for being off their heads (and now that I think of it, started a fight with a few scumbags on Grafton St.) but the story that sticks in my mind from that night is 2 guys hiring out one of those rickshaw things (bear in mind we were in a club on Leeson St.) and getting the "driver" to take them out to RTE! They then proceeded to leg it in opposite directions without paying for it :eek: :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,132 ✭✭✭Dinner

Had my Debs last nigh. I finally found out what debs was short for. No fights, just many drunk people and one attempted escapee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I never went to my debs and i heard afterwards there was loads of fighting, horrible food, and of course rip-off tickets, Only in Ireland, Only in Ireland.

There was a bit of talk from a few lads a couple of days beforehand of "settling old scores" and rubbish like that...thankfully the night was incident free - well fight wise anyway ;) We had our Debs out in the Pavilion and I've a hazy recollection of races around Leopardstown racecourse at the end of the night :D

No fights at Graduation either though a few guys got thrown out for being off their heads (and now that I think of it, started a fight with a few scumbags on Grafton St.) but the story that sticks in my mind from that night is 2 guys hiring out one of those rickshaw things (bear in mind we were in a club on Leeson St.) and getting the "driver" to take them out to RTE! They then proceeded to leg it in opposite directions without paying for it :eek: :eek: :D

lmao, bad bastads :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

we had a food fight at ours, and i threw a pint of guinness at someone, i remember sitting on the steps of the central bank with oragne juice all over my tuxedo and hair...beautiful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭MadPatrick

We had a food fight at ours too. Well, me and another guy throwing food at everyone else. Good times.
    The sink in the toilet got broken, I can't remember if someone fell on it by himself or if he fell on it after getting boxed. And a few people slipped on the wet floor and cut their hands and stuff on the broken sink. Good times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

netwhizkid wrote:
    I never went to my debs and i heard afterwards there was loads of fighting, horrible food, and of course rip-off tickets, Only in Ireland, Only in Ireland.

Even if there was fighting, horrible food and the tickets were a rip off I still guarantee you that they had a better time than a night at home.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭SirIrish

hmmmmm....looks like it's the done thing .... :mad:

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

sounds like the engineering ball every year!

Apparantly a load of people got arrested in mine... someone for grievous bodily harm or something (hit somebody with a bottle), some people for fighting, some people for doin coke... and the school is banned from the place now!

I don't know how true any of that is, though, cos I didn't see any fights or any coke whatsoever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭Blondie86Star

I've gone to 4 debs and never saw any fights or trouble. Jurys has pretty tight security.
    Goin to a debs in a few weeks infact...don't wanna go tho!

We were all searched going into Newgrange... wallets, pockets, crotch, legs, armpits, shoes. It were crazy! lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

The secondary school in Mountmellick,Co. Laois has decided never to hold one again because the principal does not think it is right to condone under age drinking etc....