Legend or not?

• 15-09-2005 04:27PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what people think about this. In your opinion can a person eg. famous sports star be regarded as a legend?

eg. Paul McGrath is an irish legend for his achievments in soccer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

Could probably fall into the highlighted definition.
    leg·end
    n.

1. An unverified story handed down from earlier times, especially one popularly believed to be historical.
    2. A body or collection of such stories.
    3. A romanticized or popularized myth of modern times.
    2. One that inspires legends or achieves legendary fame.
    1. An inscription or a title on an object, such as a coin.
    2. An explanatory caption accompanying an illustration.
    3. An explanatory table or list of the symbols appearing on a map or chart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

deisedevil wrote:
    Just wondering what people think about this. In your opinion can a person eg. famous sports star be regarded as a legend?

Differnt use to the one I commented on by the way and you must differenciate between spoken word and correct English. The preceeding word (Irish) changes the meaning of the word slightly. Like calling Guarda a "guard" it is still incorrect but commonly said in spoken language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭deisedevil

Do a search in google for paul mcgrath legend, there's loads of references to him being a legend coming up, that's why i started this thread, it seems to have become acceptable these days to call famous people or hero's legends. may not be correct english but to hell with correct english, if enough people use it and recognise it to mean something then fair nuff,leave it off. Not much point going through boards looking for incorrect use of the english language and posting about it, could take weeks,maybe years,lol.

Could probably fall into the highlighted definition.
    Where is the myth to make a sportsmans achievements legendery? Maradonna might have had it by the myth of him handling the ball or not but as we know it is true it is no longer a myth and he is no longer legendary!

deisedevil wrote:
    Do a search in google for paul mcgrath legend, there's loads of references to him being a legend coming up, that's why i started this thread, it seems to have become acceptable these days to call famous people or hero's legends. may not be correct english but to hell with correct english, if enough people use it and recognise it to mean something then fair nuff,leave it off. Not much point going through boards looking for incorrect use of the english language and posting about it, could take weeks,maybe years,lol.
    You posted a thread on it and I pointed out you amazing point in the original thread. 10000 idiots agreeing on a point doesn't make them right. Ever hear somebody say "it is litterally raining cats and dogs". Unless there are cats and dogs falling from the sky they are using the words incorrectly. Spoken English is different to correct use. If you don't care you will find you may never be able to hold a conversation out of you scoil group where misuse is acceptable. You just end up sounding stupid to others, ever hear somebody mispronounce a word and think they are stupid? If not others do. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I have an Oxford English dictionary right here and one of the definitions for 'Legend' reads:
    a famous or remarkable person or event

That would make Paul McGrath a legend in my book. Uh...literally.

You posted a thread on it and I pointed out you amazing point in the original thread. 10000 idiots agreeing on a point doesn't make them right. Ever hear somebody say "it is litterally raining cats and dogs". Unless there are cats and dogs falling from the sky they are using the words incorrectly. Spoken English is different to correct use. If you don't care you will find you may never be able to hold a conversation out of you scoil group where misuse is acceptable. You just end up sounding stupid to others, ever hear somebody mispronounce a word and think they are stupid? If not others do. :D

Ever hear of slang words being used and eventually they are used so much they are incorporated into the dictionary? I wouldn't be bothered talking to people who might think i am an idiot because of the way i might speak or if i used a word in the incorrect way which is widely misused anyway and accepted by most(of us lower class and less educated,lol.).I have many friends who are highly educated and more with very little education and thank god neither group could care less if they are using the correct terms or words,would be bothered to point it out or would think any less of someone for doing so. Do you have a go at friends when they get their english confuddled(oops so thick i couldn't think of a real word) All i am saying is when you know what the post is really about why not just leave it off instead of showing your superiority in the speaking of the english language to the poster. Peace out! (African American slang,widely used by rappers,not used by those in upper class society) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Maximilian

Pointless trivia: Paul McGrath is my neighbour! Has an apartment in the same development as me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Ruffty^

I agree McGrath is definitely a legend in terms of irish footy.

MorningStar you remind me of linguo (the grammar robot lisa made in the simpsons). Perhaps if I use too much poor grammar you will Xplode too...
    so shup`u`face 4 I smack ya upside yer head.

MorningStar: "overload, poor grammar overload...!"
    .....Boom!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I am a legend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Like calling Guarda

That would be a "Garda" yes?

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    That would be a "Garda" yes?

Lol, now morningstar has been put in his place on the correct use of the irish language,lol. Go hiontach,lol.

I have an Oxford English dictionary right here and one of the definitions for 'Legend' reads:

Quote:
    a famous or remarkable person or event

That would make Paul McGrath a legend in my book. Uh...literally.

Thanks Mr.Nice, that clears it up then, in the correct use of the english language a soccer player like Paul mcgrath can be referred to as a legend.

If you don't care you will find you may never be able to hold a conversation out of you scoil group where misuse is acceptable. You just end up sounding stupid to others, ever hear somebody mispronounce a word and think they are stupid? If not others do. :D

It's ok Morningstar, unlike you i don't look down on people who make grammar mistakes, it's much too petty. In the words of Michael Jackass "shamon muddafuka, heeeee heeeee"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭electric69

Brian O' Driscoll is such a lege!more of a "god" actually..up there with the best like Willie-John Mc Bride and Keith Wood.

Only a matter of time before a statue is erected of him in the middle of O' Connell street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

Where is the myth to make a sportsmans achievements legendery? Maradonna might have had it by the myth of him handling the ball or not but as we know it is true it is no longer a myth and he is no longer legendary!
    Nothing todo with Maradona being one of the greatest footballers ever, did you see what he done 2 minutes after scoring the hand of god goal??

That and win the World Cup and Serie A more or less on his own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Morning Star, if you are going to point out someone else's misuse of the English language, please try to spell correctly and use English correctly in your post. Oh and be polite please.

Cheers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mindurownbusnes

deisedevil wrote:

Yes, it is common nowadays to hear such a person is a legend. Its a good term to be honest, but it depends on which you prefer using eg. some places say class instead of legend.

If a word is used a lot, it will become a word in dictionary. I mean sms(whatever that stands for) is a text message. Its widely used 'is it in the dictionary?

As for using proper english, who cares. I still say youz,yiz and yeez, dont mean there's anything wrong with ya depends on where you are rared up.

Maximilian wrote:
    Pointless trivia: Paul McGrath is my neighbour! Has an apartment in the same development as me.

Did ya ever bump into him? I hear he's very shy and keeps to himself. Everytime i hear he's been seen on a bender again i can't help feeling sorry for him. Not nice to see anyone with a alcohol addiction. He's had a seriously tough life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Should this thread be on after hours or the soccer forum?
    Personally i dont think he deserves legend status. Famous:beyond a doubt, Legendary: not a chance.
    Would it be fair to say that legends become more popular after their death?

Ruaidhri wrote:
    Should this thread be on after hours or the soccer forum?
    Personally i dont think he deserves legend status. Famous:beyond a doubt, Legendary: not a chance.
    Would it be fair to say that legends become more popular after their death?

Nope it ain't a thread about soccer(maybe ya should actually read through it before posting an opinion on it), the fact that i threw Paul McGrath in as an example might be throwin ya off and i did say that Paul is an IRISH legend for his achievments in soccer which is true imo.In discussions about who was the greatest irish soccer player ever he would be at least top three in most peoples lists. Maybe you don't regard him as one of irelands greatest players or as an irish legend,that's fair enough if it's the case but like i said i was just throwin in an example to find out if a famous person hero or remarkable person can be called a legend.(and the answer to this was yes they can)
    Not tryin to get at ya Ruaidhri just clearing it up :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

i think it threw you off that i
    a) know sfa about Paul and
    b) think that a legend becomes a legend after their death. the stories from their lives being retold over and over again, becoming more than the person until it's the stuff of legends
    think Irish mythology for legends :)

Ruaidhri wrote:
    i think it threw you off that i
    a) know sfa about Paul and
    b) think that a legend becomes a legend after their death. the stories from their lives being retold over and over again, becoming more than the person until it's the stuff of legends
    think Irish mythology for legends :)

Ah for god sake, like i already said read through the bloody thread!!!!!!
    The whole point of it was to show that the word legend no longer applies to Mythology or mythological characters anymore or has anything to do with the fact that they have to be dead to be known as a legend. as was pointed out in the thread(if you read the bloody thing!) from the oxford dictionary a legend applies to a number of different things and people one of which and i quote: " a famous or remarkable person or event"
    So there ya go,end of story or maybe you'd like to dispute what the oxford dictionary has to say never mind the crap i might come out with(i ain't perfect but the oxford dictionary is as close as you can get!)
    As for knowing sfa about Paul McGrath it doesn't matter, as i already told you(getting sick of repeating things for you and writing out again what has already been written) i threw him in as an EXAMPLE,doesn't matter if he was a good one or not,that would be just nit picking.
    Wow, i can't make it any clearer than that for you.
    I hope ya realise i ain't looking to have a go at you but tis fairly annoying having someone come out with the same arguement that was proven wrong earlier in the thread.

deisedevil wrote:
    It's ok Morningstar, unlike you i don't look down on people who make grammar mistakes, it's much too petty. In the words of Michael Jackass "shamon muddafuka, heeeee heeeee"
    You might not but other people do and if you are unable to interact beyond your social circle and are happy with that feel free. If every second word out of a person mnoth is incorrect and/or a expletive I will look down on them as they show me and themselves no respect. Other people do this too and everybody from all walks of life do it both ways. I am pretty sure you rate me as a snob now for example

I explained from the start on the other thread that common use can change the meaning of a word or acceptable use. You seemed to miss this. Written English conforms to different standards than spoken word. Forums can be considered spoken word.

Either way sports personality being worshipped for achievements are by far overratted. Anybody who spends there working life basically acting like a walking advertisement is a bit pathetic.
    I think it is so silly that people spend a ton of money on team kits for the privledge to advertise the sponsor of the football club.
    There are people calling Beckham a religious icon, I don't remeber the bible mentioning Jesus' sponsorship deals from a donkey dealership. JC says Grant's Donkeys for me! :D

Sheesh, what is the problem here MorningStar? I swear plenty and use slang a lot, and you are saying that because of this you "look down" on me? Chill out!

Or does the Oxford dictionary definition of "chill" and "out" not relate to relaxing the self?

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Sheesh, what is the problem here MorningStar? I swear plenty and use slang a lot, and you are saying that because of this you "look down" on me? Chill out!

Or does the Oxford dictionary definition of "chill" and "out" not relate to relaxing the self?

I am very chilled out. If you talk to a complete stranger in that manner expect people to look down at you. It just shows ignorance of language and manners. It really doesn't bother me that much at all it depends on the situation. If you talk that way all the time you won't be acceptable in certain social situations. It goes both ways, if you don't fit in your surrounding you don't fit. If you want to speak using words incorrectly you just indicate education and social economic group. If you are happy than fine but people will think less of you and it is one of the reasons why scumbags are so violent.

I dislike the prasie heaped upon sports personalities who don't really contribute much for the attention.

Your a Liar MorningStar!!!!! Here's what you said in reaction to one of my posts. you said that a famous sporting person could not be called a legend. for gods sake it's no big deal,it's there for everyone to see,just accept you got it wrong and leave it go.

Quote:
    Originally Posted by deisedevil
    Take note of the usage:

Today a legend can also be a person or achievement worthy of inspiring such a story—anyone or anything whose fame promises to be enduring, even if the renown is created more by the etc...

MorningStars reply:

Note your website is american-english

Common use can change the use of a word but it still doesn't make it correct. It's a colloquialism that easily enters the more simple writting of sports reporting . The English language has no guardians unlike French but either way it is not correct English at present! AT best you can say sporting legend indicating it doesn't make the person a legend.

And yes you are a snob if you treat people like idiots for using a word in the wrong place etc.as you said earlier in the thread.you act like you are far more superior than most yet your posts are riddled with spelling mistakes and you obviously do not understand the english language as well as you think. And what the hell would you know about my social circle?? You don't know me so how in gods name do you get the idea that i can't interact with people outside my social circle? I have friends who are lawyers another good friend who is a dentist and a few friends who are now lecturing in college. Just because one person might be more well spoken and have a larger vocabulary than another does not mean they will look down on them or think they are an idiot, only d***heads do that!!(that's right a bad word, used by people in the real world!!

deisedevil wrote:
    Your a Liar MorningStar!!!!! Here's what you said in reaction to one of my posts. you said that a famous sporting person could not be called a legend. for gods sake it's no big deal,it's there for everyone to see,just accept you got it wrong and leave it go.
    Should not is what I suggested and it is point of opinion so I can equally call you wrong. I also siad I have a slight problem with spelling due to a disability. you want slag me over that fine.
    Your social manners are obviously flawed if you can't even discuss language use with out expletives.

If you don't think speaking in slang and curses doesn't effect how you are seen and treated than you are blind to society. I never said beat people for languae use just that it has an effect.

Again it really doesn't bother me that much but I certainly don't think sports people deserve such praise. Which was really my point you just decided to start another thread about language use. I still defend my situation and am able to do so with out resorting to insults like yourself. You no nothing about me either yet you can make all your decisions about me without controlling your temper.

Should not is what I suggested and it is point of opinion so I can equally call you wrong. I also siad I have a slight problem with spelling due to a disability. you want slag me over that fine.
    Your social manners are obviously flawed if you can't even discuss language use with out expletives.

If you don't think speaking in slang and curses doesn't effect how you are seen and treated than you are blind to society. I never said beat people for languae use just that it has an effect.

Again it really doesn't bother me that much but I certainly don't think sports people deserve such praise. Which was really my point you just decided to start another thread about language use. I still defend my situation and am able to do so with out resorting to insults like yourself. You no nothing about me either yet you can make all your decisions about me without controlling your temper.

STOP TELLING LIES!! At no point did you say you have a spelling disability!I would never slag somebody off just because they can't write properly,that's just childish. If you have a problem with writing the english language and are inept in this regard then why are you being such a hypocrite and saying you look down on those who cannot speak properly??? I would always choose not to speak to people who would look down on someone because they do not sound as educated as them. The use of slang or curses can be used in informal situations, it's not like every second word out of my mouth is an expletive,i know when and where i could say it without causing too much offence.
    In fairness there has been a lot of people posting here who have been very annoyed by your comments so maybe you should have a good look at the way you conduct yourself.
    Also of course you are most definetly entitled to your opinion that sports stars do not deserve to be called legends but that is not what you started out with, you said that it was incorrect in the english language to call them legends which is of course untrue.

MorningStar, perhaps if you do have a spelling disability then you should be more accepting of people who (either through choice or through education) are not as obviously well-learned in the use of language as yourself.

If I choose to speak using slang or swear words that is my choice and if it indicates an "education or social group" like you say it does, that is surely a problem on the part of the listener. If I am in conversation and happen to use slang, and somebody see's that as being indicative of my social status and/or education level, how is that my problem?

To be blatantly honest, your entire argument reeks of hypocrisy and I consider it overwhelmingly condescending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭Sifo

Other people do this too and everybody from all walks of life do it both ways.

Like a Bisexual? :D