How to tell when you're in love!

• 11-09-2005 03:28PM
    Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭

Peeps, i went out with the most magnificent girl some time ago for a number of months. She was the best thing that ever happened to me to the point where i was a new man! (without selling out if u know what I mean!)

All my previous relationships were incomparable to it blah blah. Things were deadly for us both (or so it seems) then she threw me away like a cold bag of chips. I havent had the balls to face her since cos it still hurts months later even though im considered a very funny outgoing bloke. Dont hate her either which is weird. Her reasons for splitting up changed a few times but all in all she blames herself!?! (LOL) Problem is now we see each other regularly for one reason of another which doesnt help. I miss her rather than missing being with someone which is spooky!

Ive tried seeing other women, rampant sex with others etc etc but its not the same.

Anyway point of the story is i believe you really dont know how much u love someone until its over and you weigh things up.

Discuss!

Anyone for pavalova?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Gazza22

Yeah i agree, when everything is finished, you tend to evaluate the relationship and most of the time have happy memories and start to see it wasn't all that bad...

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

gazza22 wrote:
    But i can't help but to feel that you are trolling....

eh whats that supposed to mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 jazzbandit

I think we all know (and certainly its been discussed with friends of mine who use this site) that gazza is himself a troll. Trying to abuse ppl like the faceman, who appears to be facing a tough time is just cruel and childish, and I would suggest to the moderators they ban gazza before this site becomes a laughing matter.

Kind regards,

The jazzman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

yeah, sometimes you dont know quite how much someone means to you until theyre not there anymore.

:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

jazzbandit please do not post if you are going to post off-topic drivel like that. gazza - the fact that you think a post is a troll is irrelevant to the discussion. Definition of troll.

Back on topic please or there'll be bannings.

I didnt post no off topic drivel. I was just sticking up for the faceman.

Anyone been to South Africa lately? Is it best to go in their summer (or is it too hot?) or should I go in the winter when it's quieter?

The jazzman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

I can't see any personal issue here. "Discuss"? Take it to AH please.

Not your ornery onager

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,691 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Of course its a personal issue, its about my relationships and views on them. My terminology "discuss" is an abbreviation for ppl's opinions. Just like ur request to take it to "AH". With all due respect, i have no idea what AH is??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

ah is after hours its like a general forum about blah blah chit chat kinda things...anyway love is accepting everything but a person faults and all...so do accept everything about her or is it too soon to tell..if it is try spendin some time with her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

jazzbandit banned from PI.

Good point, this isn't a personal issue as it's more a general discussion. I'll move this to AfterHours.

jcoote wrote:
    ah is after hours its like a general forum about blah blah chit chat kinda things...anyway love is accepting everything but a person faults and all...so do accept everything about her or is it too soon to tell..if it is try spendin some time with her

Thanks dude. im usuaally confident but for some reason havent got the guts to tee myself up for further rejection from her. Sad i know...

well put it this way your damned if u do and your damned if u don't but at least if u approach her you'll get closure or hopefully a date etc etc ;)....either way you'll know where u stand !!

jazzbandit wrote:
    I think we all know (and certainly its been discussed with friends of mine who use this site) that gazza is himself a troll. Trying to abuse ppl like the faceman, who appears to be facing a tough time is just cruel and childish, and I would suggest to the moderators they ban gazza before this site becomes a laughing matter.

Kind regards,

The jazzman

Care to backup with some examples? Your talking rubbish...
    faceman wrote:
    eh whats that supposed to mean?

Sorry faceman if i took it up wrong, my apologies but i just got the feeling that your post wasn't serious...i think the pavalova thing threw me off! ;)

Gazza I think you're posting about Nell McAndrew and urself was just the tip of the iceburg, but I'm not gonna give ur other posts the oxygen of publicity by drawing attention to them. My taxes pay for the upkeep of the internet, and im quite affronted that ppl like u use it in such a way.
    Anyway, facemen, hope things r starting to work out with that burd, all our thoughts im sure are with u at the minute.
    Chin up big guy

jazzbandit wrote:
    Gazza I think you're posting about Nell McAndrew and urself was just the tip of the iceburg, but I'm not gonna give ur other posts the oxygen of publicity by drawing attention to them. My taxes pay for the upkeep of the internet, and im quite affronted that ppl like u use it in such a way.
    Anyway, facemen, hope things r starting to work out with that burd, all our thoughts im sure are with u at the minute.
    Chin up big guy

Ok fine...whatever, talk about imaginary postings all you like

I'm just going to chant in my mind Lemming's sig now and not argue with you because i'll end up with a ban when i finished

"Dont argue with an idiot, they will bring you down to their level and beat you
    with experience"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

Personal Issues tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 599 ✭✭✭Cabelo

It's a hard knock life. Don't worry chief, someday you'll look back with the "We had a good time but I'm happy now too" tinted glasses and it'll all be cool again.

And, while I'm here...
    jazzbandit wrote:
    Chin up big guy

Jazz: When in the name of Jesus did you pay an internet tax? I don't believe nobody else pointed this out. That is one of the most spanner things I've ever heard. You don't get to call anyone else a troll and say shi-ote like that, y'know?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

When you can look at her and think 'I'd do anything to bone her', thats an old fashioned romantic feeling, man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Ya just know when true love®(t.m.) hits ya. I did anyway! Can't be any more specific than that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Ya know your in love when she grabs the cheeks of your arse and whispers, "Are ya in, love?"

ColHol wrote:
    Ya know your in love when she grabs the cheeks of your arse and whispers, "Are ya in, love?"

****in brilliant man...:D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

faceman wrote:

Ive tried seeing other women, rampant sex with others etc etc but its not the same.

i know how you feel there,it just means nothing to you...damn empty experienxes that just make you feel like crap later if you ask me.
    faceman wrote:
    Anyway point of the story is i believe you really dont know how much u love someone until its over and you weigh things up.
    basically when you can't have it you know how much you want it.when you have it you don't realise how great it is..ah well,the usual...

simu wrote:
    Ya just know when true love®(t.m.) hits ya. I did anyway! Can't be any more specific than that!

Sorry dude, you're going to have to elaborate on that otherwise everyone will think ur making it up to look cool!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,808 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

simu is cool, faceman isn't. Discuss.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭bacon?

i hear ye.

it's a real head fcuk.

you take em for granted when you're with em, then miss em/love em like mad when you've lost em.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

faceman wrote:
    Sorry dude, you're going to have to elaborate on that otherwise everyone will think ur making it up to look cool!!!

Ahh yee of little knowledge ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

i know how you feel there,it just means nothing to you...damn empty experienxes that just make you feel like crap later if you ask me.

basically when you can't have it you know how much you want it.when you have it you don't realise how great it is..ah well,the usual...

Nail....head.

And this is a personal issue IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

Farls wrote:
    Nail....head.

And this is a personal issue IMO

The OP phrased it as a general discussion, so not really a PI from the original post.

It could be, very easily, rephrased as one though.

Oh and tar, I'd disagree, it can feel very good when you are in love with someone too. Although yes, it does feel terrible if you lose them for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

nesf wrote:
    The OP phrased it as a general discussion, so not really a PI from the original post.

It could be, very easily, rephrased as one though.

I agree with you on that....the "discuss" put it off track a kind off.
    nesf wrote:

Oh and tar, I'd disagree, it can feel very good when you are in love with someone too. Although yes, it does feel terrible if you lose them for some reason.

Your right nesf it normally does feel very good when you are in love but after a long time in the relationship you can forget that feeling and if neither party makes the effort to blow the dust off it then you fall into the trap Tar was on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

well I've never loved and lost...but theres no explaining how to know when one is in love. its something that only the person involved knows. As long as they are mature enough to understand the difference between love and lust, that is...