Iron Maiden/Manson/TurboNegro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 thomas.oleary

I just skiped all that talking just to say the one problem about Iron Maiden was that out of 9 or 10 songs they played (if not more) i only knew 3 of them but had a right laugh moshing to the rest of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Dude, you gotta listen to the early stuff, it's some of their best work! I <3 22 Acacia Avenue, shame they didn't play it.

Oh, my only other gripe:

The beer on offer was less than piss. I should have had another few in the pub before coming out, tbh. Next time, next time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

HEY SARKS!
    Last night was excellent! I nearly broke my arm but it was great!

Turbonegro were a great show, first thing I did when I seen them was the YMCA dance! They do a great show but they need stronger songs and to get their name out there more.

Manson rocked to the high heavens! I was there for manson, and he was fabulous! It was so surreal, I couldn't believe that oe of my idols was there standing like 100ft away from me! During the fight song (I think it was) was the first time I got trampled, and thrown to the back of the crowd, having been just the behind the barrier, and had to mosh my way back up to the front.

Maiden were great, not really a huge fan but they were great. Reminded me of REM the way Dickenson uses the stage. Towards the end of The Trooper and into the beginning of the next song, it got really violent jsut where we were and I and my Antrim rescuers (thanx guys if your out there) headed of to the right side where we had a way better view and less chance of being killed!

Sorry didn't get to spend more time Sarky! The lads wanted to go so yeah! Great meeting ya though! You rock!
    Anyone else see me? I was one of the mere two/three girls there wearing a large amount of pink! A bright pink shirt with plum-ey hair? Although the shirt did prove to be a slight problem, the buttons opened during the begingg of Manson with all the movement and wouldn't stay closed so I had to go around for the night with 'em hanging out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

Was at the gig myself. Little disappointed that Manson didnt finish with something like The Dope Show, not a huge Maiden fan and have to say I have seen better gigs in the RDS and elsewhere. Metallica last summer were much better with a longer set but with **** support..Slipknot anyway Maiden are pretty good live got the crowd goin. Some amount of weirdos there some lad tried it on with my mates bird while we were beside her funny stuff.

Maiden..there no Slayer!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Anyone else see me? I was one of the mere two/three girls there wearing a large amount of pink! A bright pink shirt with plum-ey hair? Although the shirt did prove to be a slight problem, the buttons opened during the begingg of Manson with all the movement and wouldn't stay closed so I had to go around for the night with 'em hanging out!

Unfortunately not, think I'd definately remember that! :p

I tell ya, there was some people giving me looks that they'd definately remeber me if they seen me again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Eye

was too far back up in the stands to have seen that :mad:

saw about 6 or so people being stretchered off by the paramedics, first guy we spotted must have been in a pretty bad state coz at one point we counted 12 paramedics grouped around him.

from our vantage point we could see a fairly rough crowd during the manson set, think there was 4 or 5 guys escorted out of the grounds that i could see anyway, every so often we would just spot security draggin some shirtless guy off to the back and then out towards to gates ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭seanironmaiden

Maiden were amazing. especially as they were only playing from about 1/4 of their back catalogue. Sound wasn't great at all, the vocals were really low which is ridiculous seein as Bruce is so high pitched and loud usually.

Manson wasn't the best IMO and I am a fan.. the encore was like, the worst possible choice but he carried the whole "puppet" thing really well. The setlist was a bit ****e in fairness with about 4 covers and not enough from Anti-Christ and Mechanical Animals. can't believe he didn't play "I don't like The Drugs" , Coma White or Last Day on Earth

Turbo-Negro were brilliant I thought. "Viking Prostitution Ring" lol!! they'll be better with more albums but I really enjoyed them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Little disappointed that Manson didnt finish with something like The Dope Show

But he finished with Antichrist Superstar, what could be better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Missed the first band, Manson was alright. Don't like most of his sh|te, but the circus act was good. Without it, he'd be lost IMO.

Maiden was woh! Un-f*ckin-believable! Can't believe he's (Bruce) still running around (he must be at least 40) that would put some 18 year olds to shame.

Run to the Hills, oh man, f*ck that, the entire gig, was f*cking amazing! Wish I brought a camera: phone camera didn't like all the bright lights :(

=-=

Found it funny that Maiden noticed the bass guitar amp was broken after the first song, but Manson never copped on.

Also, what the f*ck was the story with the pr*ts in the stands. As the guy in Soundcellar said "who wants to sit down in a Maiden gig?".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Ciaran*

the_syco wrote:
    Found it funny that Maiden noticed the bass guitar amp was broken after the first song, but Manson never copped on.

They would have been psychic if they had noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭blastman

the_syco wrote:
    Also, what the f*ck was the story with the pr*ts in the stands. As the guy in Soundcellar said "who wants to sit down in a Maiden gig?".

For the record, I didn't, but just because some people did doesn't make them pr@ts. A lot of the people around me were parents with small kids. I don't think they particularly wanted to subject them to the mosh pit that early in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

the_syco wrote:

Tim Skold wouldn't have been using Maiden's bass amp, he would have been using his own.

Maiden..there no Slayer!!

And not a day goes by without me thanking Christ for that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

I don't know where some of you complaining about the sound were, but I was about halfway back, and the sound was great there. Turbonegro were alright in fairness, but people's attentions were more on shouting things and watching the moshpits than actually watching the stage. And what the hell was up with the front guy slagging the famine? Arg, weird.

Manson was AMAZING! Got a video of the intro on my phone, even from that it sounds cool. Disposable Teens, The Beautiful People, Personal Jesus, mOBSCENE and The Nobodies were the highlights in the pit- my friend wouldn't let me go in for The Fight Song- it got so much crazier for that. Manson didn't have much interaction with the crowd though, and thanks to the smoke I could only see him when I was on someone's back/shoulders.

Maiden were ****ing legend, WOW. Although I missed parts towards the end, thanks to almost fainting a few times. Hallowed Be Thy Name, Wrathchild, Beast, Run To The Hills and The Trooper rocked a lot....amazing night, tbh.

yeah yer man talking about the famine was a bit much to be honest.... But when Bruce started his speech about how we had to respect the ground we were on, and so for the next song I want you to pound your feet into it! That was fairly darn cool! I was inthe middle of the front mosh, behind the barrier for a part of Maiden and we couldn't see a thing, as soon as we moved out we could see so much better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭evillive

never heard much of turbonegro before and didnt plan on getting in as early as i did, but for the opening band they pretty much rocked, kind of like wolfsbane with the inane banter in between songs but i was well impressed

manson was deadly, he's obviously lost some of his tendencies to be more violent and sexually explicit on stage but i suppose thats a mixture of old age, and restricted time and stage effects

i saw some recent live footage from the one of the european festivals and he wasnt up to much but i was dying to see him and the performance was much improved on the day, his voice held up big time and you could tell he was putting a lot into his singing and had pretty decent sound

the willy wonka intro was cool, the fight song and tourniquet were excellent and the whole 'puppet politician' act on antichrist superstar was brilliant

the big bad manson aint so bad anymore but it was still a good show for his fans

the last time i saw someone play a song by slapping their cheeks was on bosco and he's a fricking muppet so make your own conclusions,
    any band i've seen before worth their salt who has had gear go down on them have some sort of back up jam or song, bruce dickinson just wittered on about the bonzo dog doodah band and rule brittania the guitarists just picked their butts until the problem was fixed, cmon guys you are supposed to be musicians, improvise!!!

i gave em til after the trooper the sound was still dull so i made my excuses and left, in all honesty turbonegro had probably the best sound on the night

evillive wrote:
    cmon guys you are supposed to be musicians, improvise!!!

That's exactly what they did. Pay attention. I hope you made some damn fine excuses, you missed a blinder of a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Amen sarky! :D I was in the pit, pretty much right up front for a lot of the night and I thought thew sound was great, except for the fact that the vocals were too low. If the vocals had been higher it'd have been excellent. Whta a show though! Was very impressed by Manson to be honest. I thought he had a great show. Turbonegro just sucked ass in my opinion. I really didn't like them. The guy trying to be controversial with famine jokes and stuff was quite sad, like being slagged by an illiterate skanger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Hey le rack im pretty sure i was near where you were,fancy that, thats pretty wierd.i dont think i saw you though.

I have to say im pretty pissed of cause i was in the pitt behind the barrier that blocks off the actual front pitt. and the whole time that manson was on i was moshing,so now i cant really remember manson all that well which is really pissing me off as he was the one i went to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

John2 wrote:
    Tim Skold wouldn't have been using Maiden's bass amp, he would have been using his own.
    Gotcha. The bit was unknown to me (most gigs I've been to: everyone uses the same amps).
    blastman wrote:
    A lot of the people around me were parents with small kids. I don't think they particularly wanted to subject them to the mosh pit that early in life.

Meh. Hope they had binoculars.

Hey le rack im pretty sure i was near where you were,fancy that, thats pretty wierd.i dont think i saw you though.

I have to say im pretty pissed of cause i was in the pitt behind the barrier that blocks off the actual front pitt. and the whole time that manson was on i was moshing,so now i cant really remember manson all that well which is really pissing me off as he was the one i went to see.
    Well I ended up with a few polish/norwegian/some foreign country or other guy, some Cork guys and some Antrim guys, hold on were you near the lesbians, with one had lights hair was BIG and had her tits pretty much out, with the others head burried between em the whole time? Other than that I was behind the pit barrier centre stage!

I missed lesbians?

Damn it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

But he finished with Antichrist Superstar, what could be better?
    Finishing with The Last Day On Earth :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

Ph3n0m wrote:
    "There were in fact 673 men in the Light Brigade, of whom 114, or nearly 20%, were Irish. During the charge 118 (including 21 Irish) were killed, 127 (including 16 Irish) were wounded and 45 (including 7 Irish) were taken prisoner by the Russians. Some 360 horses were also killed. Of the Light Brigade's five regiments, the Royal Irish Hussars had the most Irishmen; after returning from the Crimea in 1856 they were based in Dundalk. "

Then he should have waved an Irish flag.

Turnonegro were good, didn't know them at all but they gave a good show.
    Would definatly pay to see them again if it was in a small venue.

Manson's performance was a little sub-par in my opinion, but the show was still great.
    The songs were good though I'd have preferred if they hadn't played 'Tainted Love' and 'Personal Jesus'.
    'Suicide is Painless' was a god choice of outro.
    Cheffued that I finally got to see them.

I had an exam the next morning so I couldn't stay for Maiden, and I knew if I stayed for even one song, I wouldn't leave.
    I'll never forgive myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Gonzolas

Great gig. Half way through Iron Maiden me and my friends had a great mosh pit going in the middle of the crowd, then the damn security guys came in and just stood there in the middle of it. Guess it was getting a bit violent. The guitar and bass was way too loud though, at times I couldn't hear Bruce singing at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭Geranium

I thought that Turbonegro were a great opening act as they were fun and you didn't need to know any of their songs to sing along. Manson was terribly boring and didn't acknowledge the crowd at all. He could've been playing to a cardboard box. Maiden just left me speechless. Amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Le Rack wrote:
    Well I ended up with a few polish/norwegian/some foreign country or other guy, some Cork guys and some Antrim guys, hold on were you near the lesbians, with one had lights hair was BIG and had her tits pretty much out, with the others head burried between em the whole time? Other than that I was behind the pit barrier centre stage!

i didnt see any of that(wish i had)bacuase i was moshing the whole time and trying to stay upright! lol. although i was bahind the pitt barrier center stage as well.I was the tall guy with long blond hair and the manson t shirt that had mansons face on the front and back where he was wearing a tophat nad looked alot like willy wonka.

Gonzolas wrote:
    Great gig. Half way through Iron Maiden me and my friends had a great mosh pit going in the middle of the crowd, then the damn security guys came in and just stood there in the middle of it. Guess it was getting a bit violent. The guitar and bass was way too loud though, at times I couldn't hear Bruce singing at all.
    That was you???!!! you bastards you nearly broke my arm, thrice! The antrim guys and security people helped me out! I got really trampled there!

And Christophicus, I think I may have seen you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,453 ✭✭✭blastman

the_syco wrote:
    Meh. Hope they had binoculars.
    Some had, yeah. Amazing, huh?