Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Iron Maiden/Manson/TurboNegro

• 01-09-2005 1:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭

Have to say missed Turbo. Was not bothered. Caught the very end, but crowd didnt seem all too lively either.

Thought Manson was fantastic.

Iron Maiden, well, I hate them, I hate their music, but there's no denying that they were quite good tonight....

Yeah, talk about crap reviews of the night. But I'm wrecked. Will check in the morning to see what everyone thought though.... :)

And also - so many hot women there, it was unbelieveable.

Also - also unbelievable how many filthy disgusting greasy unwashed teenagers there were present :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

I for one would like to point this out especially to all those who were going to boo Maiden during the Trooper - if they had waved the Union Jack

"Interestingly enough, bruce didnt wave the flag during the trooper and at the end of the song said that last time they were in ireland a few people objected to the flag waving, he explained that the band has no political motivation and that the song related to events 200 yrs ago. He went on to say that next time they play he will wave the flag and hope people will accept it is simply part of the maiden show. Not one boo from the crowd- just a great reaction. "

Now lets hope next time they play, and they do indeed wave the Union Jack, the cretins in the crowd understand why he is doing it

"There were in fact 673 men in the Light Brigade, of whom 114, or nearly 20%, were Irish. During the charge 118 (including 21 Irish) were killed, 127 (including 16 Irish) were wounded and 45 (including 7 Irish) were taken prisoner by the Russians. Some 360 horses were also killed. Of the Light Brigade's five regiments, the Royal Irish Hussars had the most Irishmen; after returning from the Crimea in 1856 they were based in Dundalk. "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

A lot of people were booing but Im not sure if they were booing at him for NOT waving the flag, booing at the people whod previously booed at the Point or booing because theyd waved the flag previously.

I think generally people were happy he made his explanation though I dont think they should have changed their show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Only decided to go yesterday at lunchtime. I rang two others, and they agreed to go, and when a 3rd guy came home from work at 5:30, we asked 'want to go to maiden?', to which he said 'why not'.

We had just bought 3 tickets in empire music in limerick, so we decided to go up there and find a tout. We left Limerick at 5:45. There were countless roadworks and other delays holding us back, but we made our way there by 9:15. We couldnt find our way to the rds, so we found the general area (somewhere around irishtown/sandymount???) and parked in a church car park near a tesco somewhere, listened carefully, heard The Trooper, and followed the sound and the lights. We couldnt find a tout, the ticketmaster van was closed, so i asked some manson fans if we could use their ticket stub for the 4th guy to get in, but they said there was no point, so we explained to one of the stewards that we had 3 tickets, one guy had his stolen, and we were after driving up from limerick to get in. The guy let us in (in case youre reading, youre a legend, thanks) for the middle of Run To The Hills.

From what we saw, it was a fantastic gig, and there were great women there. Since they played stuff off their first 4 albums only, it was brilliant, but the crowd were still demanding Fear Of The Dark.

Since i only saw Run To The Hills onwards, what else did they play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭lampsie

You know you're enjoying a class act show when Brucie Dickenson is playing the 1812 Overture on his face while waiting for the bass to be repaired :)

Seriously, FANTASTIC gig...when their back I'll be first in line :)

- lamps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

Brilliant gig, although the sound (where I was) was piss-poor. I'm never letting anyone buy me seated tickets for the RDS again. :(

On the subject of The Trooper, there was definitely booing, but it was hard to know exactly what it was for, as Ph3n0m mentioned. I am glad that Dickinson made a point of mentioning the issue however, as a two-fingers to the absolute morons (some of whom post and moderate here). He even used short words to explain his position so that even the hairiest-palmed member of the knuckle-dragging fraternity could understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,307 ✭✭✭ionapaul

It was actually the William Tell Overture he played, not the 1812 Overture. Just to be picky!

Some idiots booed, but only a small minority of the crowd. I saw a few howyas in Celtics jerseys (!!! at a Maiden gig!!!) in the crowd, they probably heard the words 'Union Jack' and the booing was instinctive. Like when they hear the words 'dole' or 'child benefits' and automatically buy a 6-pack of Dutch Gold. Pavlov's dog, etc...

Maiden rule.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I saw a few howyas in Celtics jerseys (!!! at a Maiden gig!!!)

I noticed that as well, knacks in tracksuits, celtic jerseys, bleached hair and earrings?? Was wondering what an earth they were doing around.... and its not like they were any older then 18 or 20...

I was at the very back of the crowd against the barriers underneath the seated people, with my girlfriend. Had a great view and could see everything.

the William Tell overture was great :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭John

Crackin' gig but the sound for Maiden wasn't the best. I enjoyed all three bands last night but I think Turbonegro would be better suited to a smaller, sweatier venue with far more beer (as in some beer, not that sorry excuse they attempted to peddle last night). Manson was better then I expected but not as good as he could have been. I felt he was a bit intimidated by not headlining that he didn't really get into character. Still, nice selection of songs from him. Apart from the slightly dodgy sound Maiden rocked like bastards. Definite booing during the Trooper but **** that ****. Great setlist and I'm kicking myself for never going to see them before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Eye

Great gig it has to be said, well worth seeing Maiden live (my first time). Manson was'nt too bad either but i think he needs to lay off the smoke a bit on stage, god damn i could barely make him out half the time and the drummer was completely hidden....and i was in the stands :eek:

Have to say though the sound was a little dissapointing at times, bass, guitar and drums were fine but the vocals were a bit hit and miss, dodgy for the first few songs then picked up for the middle section and again got a bit dodgy near the end, at times it was hard to make out what bruce was saying....other than that though a class night :)

and the women..... wow :eek: i love goth's :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

you guys must have a low standard of women i thought the women there were terrible only seen about 5 that were any way decent. :)

i thought turbonegro were terrible, didnt like them at all.

not a fan of manson either and i found him very dull and boring and i just wanted him to finish up, the fact that the crowd had a really poor vibe during him didnt help either, did anyone see the boot nearly hitting him that was some shot.

As for Maiden, the crowd went mental, i was up right at the front and there was more people on the ground than standing up at some stages at the start!
    As for the trooper, its a song about a war the british fought 200 years ago does he really need to wave a flag that has been despised by irish people for 800 years?
    I mean it neither adds or takes away from the song whether he has he flag or not.

If you despise a piece of cloth you need a serious change of perspective. I'm sure Maiden feel the same way about the Union Jack that despite some atrocities that were done by people who carried it is no different to my view of the Tricolour despite the fact that scum like the IRA have done atrocities in its name. I don't give a toss whether he waves it on stage or in my face, it's just a flag. It's the people who commit the atrocities who are the monsters. Now, can we move on from the Union Jack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Thought the sound was very disappointing - with the particular setup Bruce Dickinson sounded very weak.

Re. The Trooper - and the booing.
    It's not just a case of the booing of the British flag (which IMHO is pathetic) but I'm very glad Bruce Dickinson is aware of, and made reference to, the fact that the image of Eddie bearing the flag is well used in Loyalist murals in the North, in which he wreaks havoc and death on Catholics.
    ( http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/bibdbs/murals/slide4.htm )
    Fair play to him for speaking up about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,705 ✭✭✭ciaran76

ionapaul wrote:
    I saw a few howyas in Celtics jerseys (!!! at a Maiden gig!!!) in the crowd,

Didn't know there was a dress code for the concert :rolleyes: :p

And no I don't support Celtic !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭Mr Rivers

Anyone got setlists for Maiden and Manson?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,834 ✭✭✭Toast

I thought the sound was excellent for an outdoor gig. Far better than any of the mcd gigs last week. I was standing practically in front of the soundstage so I guess the balance would have been best there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Shazbot

Great gig, was sitting down not paying attention for Turbonegro. so can't really make a comment on their performance.

Same for Manson , I was at the bar.

Maiden , great setlist , only playing songs from the first 4 albums was great.
    Godo show aswell , Janick Gers was excellent to watch weather it be constantly spinning his guitar around or joking around when Eddy came out.

Toast wrote:
    I thought the sound was excellent for an outdoor gig. Far better than any of the mcd gigs last week. I was standing practically in front of the soundstage so I guess the balance would have been best there.

I don't know, I've been to a lot of outdoor gigs and I wouldn't say it was good for an outdoor gig. Even recently the sound for the Chemical Brothers and Sonic Youth was far better. I was beside the soundboard too. Curious.

el tel wrote:
    Thought the sound was very disappointing - with the particular setup Bruce Dickinson sounded very weak.

Re. The Trooper - and the booing.
    It's not just a case of the booing of the British flag (which IMHO is pathetic) but I'm very glad Bruce Dickinson is aware of, and made reference to, the fact that the image of Eddie bearing the flag is well used in Loyalist murals in the North, in which he wreaks havoc and death on Catholics.
    ( http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/bibdbs/murals/slide4.htm )
    Fair play to him for speaking up about it.
    Exactly. Even before last night, I doubted very much that Maiden had approved of their image being re-used in this manner, however there wasn't really a lot they could do about it.

What impressed me about the gig was the number of (very) young kids there, obviously brought by parents who are long standing Maiden fans (this was probably more evident in the stands, admittedly). There was one guy just behind us with his little girl who couldn't have been any more than six, complete with her Iron Maiden shirt! Talk about breeding the future generations of fans... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭pedro_el_killio

blastman wrote:
    Talk about breeding the future generations of fans... :)
    yea to a sh1t band.

manson stole the whole show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

yea to a sh1t band.

manson stole the whole show

Manson was useless! how even fans of manson can say he was better than maiden i do not know he was so boring.

lets hope the new maiden album is better than dance of death i hate that album and hopefully see them back in a year or so, would rather see them at marley park or even landsdowne road i dont like the rds for gigs the place just doesnt feel right somehow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Manson was excellent IMO, really put on a great show. Shame we will never see him headline a gig.

Not a real fan of Maiden, so didn't know some of the songs. Thought they had great presence though although the sound was so so in comparison to Manson's.

Had a great time overall, Manson really made me stand back in awe. Could only imagine what his stage show would have been like 4 or 5 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Manson is nothing more then MTV hype and parents hysteria - and he isnt even that good

For all his preachings, for all his "excesses" he is simply a frontman, a ringmaster of a circus, a vaudeville performer - just not a very good one

Just glad he announced his retirement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭kazaam

I loved the gig, turbonegro were very weird tho not exactly sh1t music, manson realy got the crowd going and the atmosphere during iron maiden was something else altogether! what a gig!

Not Lansdowne Road, please!! It's a terrible venue for gigs, IMO.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

tought it was a great gig, arrived about just after turbonegro finished, we (me, my mates da, my mate, my 10 year old lil bro and my mates little bro and mate) got 6 pit passes of a security guard for a packet of fruit pastels (what a ledgend), had fun booing and slagging manson during his set, it was my first maiden gig and i have to say it was class, their presence and interaction with the crowd are great and they handeld it perfectly when steve's pre-amp blew up, and bruce was fairly funny, i was kinda dissapointed that they didn't bring out the union jack but oh well, it was a great gig, janick gers really started to annoy me prìcking about with his guitar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

That was good.

I missed Turbonegro, and from what others told me when I arrived, I wish I hadn't. Manson was... Interesting. Wasn't expecting his voice to do as well as that live at all, but, not-my-cup-of-tea-ness notwithstanding, he was decent enough.

Maiden were excellent. Some songs I never expected to hear live at all, like Die With Your Boots On, or Remember Tomorrow. Pure showmanship, Dickenson had the crowd going nuts. I don't know whether it was because it was open air, because I so much further from the speakers, or because of dodgy sound, but they could have been louder, to my mind. Still, it was a minor gripe.

I thought it was quite the gesture not to have the Union Jack waving for The Trooper. In my own opinion, it's not something he had to do, but he did it, and more power to him for it. He then explained what myself and others have been trying to explain for God only knows how long. I was placed just behind the front pit, and heard nothing but positive response from the crowd.

Shame the residents forced it to be over by half ten, I hope the next gig will be somewhere less built up. Ooh, the next four albums, I can't wait...

/me gives thumbs up for a good solid gig.

And sorry, Ronan|Raven, I tried to meet up, God how I tried...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,095 ✭✭✭OLP

on the note of the instrument sound being good and the vocals being bad, i think that might just be that because bruce jumps around and is very energetic, at times the ic might not be positioned so good so the vocals decress in volume or something like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Ph3n0m wrote:

Just glad he announced his retirement

He did??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,148 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Sarky wrote:
    That was good.

And sorry, Ronan|Raven, I tried to meet up, God how I tried...

I will forgive you the lack of mobile network solidness :) I managed to get myself into the pit at the front. Thanks to those who know who they are ;)

Great gig, Iron Maiden at their best. Fantastic set of songs they chose and was great to see songs I didnt think I would get to hear live. Saw a bit of manson. Fell asleep after the 2nd song and decided beer was in order. Each to their own I suppose.

Roll on the next one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

Turbonegro sucked righteous amounts of balls. They were like the worlds worst Alice Cooper tribute band. At the end, when the singer and guitarist in white were doing the dance loads of people in the pit were shouting "You Suck!" at them and the guitarist pointed into the crowd and said "Oh look, theres a potato!" (!?)

Manson was pretty good, would have liked to see early stuff but Dope Show and Nobodies were good. Wish he had played Last Day On Earth.

Maiden were Maiden. Absolutely classic from start to finish. Highlights of the set were Phantom Of The Opera and Hallowed Be Thy Name. Murders was a brilliant opening. Only wish they had played Flight Of Icarus but apart from that, brilliant. An excellent gig!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 thomas.oleary

I just skiped all that talking just to say the one problem about Iron Maiden was that out of 9 or 10 songs they played (if not more) i only knew 3 of them but had a right laugh moshing to the rest of them.

Dude, you gotta listen to the early stuff, it's some of their best work! I <3 22 Acacia Avenue, shame they didn't play it.

Oh, my only other gripe:

The beer on offer was less than piss. I should have had another few in the pub before coming out, tbh. Next time, next time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Le Rack

HEY SARKS!
    Last night was excellent! I nearly broke my arm but it was great!

Turbonegro were a great show, first thing I did when I seen them was the YMCA dance! They do a great show but they need stronger songs and to get their name out there more.

Manson rocked to the high heavens! I was there for manson, and he was fabulous! It was so surreal, I couldn't believe that oe of my idols was there standing like 100ft away from me! During the fight song (I think it was) was the first time I got trampled, and thrown to the back of the crowd, having been just the behind the barrier, and had to mosh my way back up to the front.

Maiden were great, not really a huge fan but they were great. Reminded me of REM the way Dickenson uses the stage. Towards the end of The Trooper and into the beginning of the next song, it got really violent jsut where we were and I and my Antrim rescuers (thanx guys if your out there) headed of to the right side where we had a way better view and less chance of being killed!

Sorry didn't get to spend more time Sarky! The lads wanted to go so yeah! Great meeting ya though! You rock!
    Anyone else see me? I was one of the mere two/three girls there wearing a large amount of pink! A bright pink shirt with plum-ey hair? Although the shirt did prove to be a slight problem, the buttons opened during the begingg of Manson with all the movement and wouldn't stay closed so I had to go around for the night with 'em hanging out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭merlinsmerryman

Was at the gig myself. Little disappointed that Manson didnt finish with something like The Dope Show, not a huge Maiden fan and have to say I have seen better gigs in the RDS and elsewhere. Metallica last summer were much better with a longer set but with **** support..Slipknot anyway Maiden are pretty good live got the crowd goin. Some amount of weirdos there some lad tried it on with my mates bird while we were beside her funny stuff.

Maiden..there no Slayer!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Anyone else see me? I was one of the mere two/three girls there wearing a large amount of pink! A bright pink shirt with plum-ey hair? Although the shirt did prove to be a slight problem, the buttons opened during the begingg of Manson with all the movement and wouldn't stay closed so I had to go around for the night with 'em hanging out!

Unfortunately not, think I'd definately remember that! :p

I tell ya, there was some people giving me looks that they'd definately remeber me if they seen me again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Eye

was too far back up in the stands to have seen that :mad:

saw about 6 or so people being stretchered off by the paramedics, first guy we spotted must have been in a pretty bad state coz at one point we counted 12 paramedics grouped around him.

from our vantage point we could see a fairly rough crowd during the manson set, think there was 4 or 5 guys escorted out of the grounds that i could see anyway, every so often we would just spot security draggin some shirtless guy off to the back and then out towards to gates ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭seanironmaiden

Maiden were amazing. especially as they were only playing from about 1/4 of their back catalogue. Sound wasn't great at all, the vocals were really low which is ridiculous seein as Bruce is so high pitched and loud usually.

Manson wasn't the best IMO and I am a fan.. the encore was like, the worst possible choice but he carried the whole "puppet" thing really well. The setlist was a bit ****e in fairness with about 4 covers and not enough from Anti-Christ and Mechanical Animals. can't believe he didn't play "I don't like The Drugs" , Coma White or Last Day on Earth

Turbo-Negro were brilliant I thought. "Viking Prostitution Ring" lol!! they'll be better with more albums but I really enjoyed them

Little disappointed that Manson didnt finish with something like The Dope Show

But he finished with Antichrist Superstar, what could be better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Missed the first band, Manson was alright. Don't like most of his sh|te, but the circus act was good. Without it, he'd be lost IMO.

Maiden was woh! Un-f*ckin-believable! Can't believe he's (Bruce) still running around (he must be at least 40) that would put some 18 year olds to shame.

Run to the Hills, oh man, f*ck that, the entire gig, was f*cking amazing! Wish I brought a camera: phone camera didn't like all the bright lights :(

=-=

Found it funny that Maiden noticed the bass guitar amp was broken after the first song, but Manson never copped on.

Also, what the f*ck was the story with the pr*ts in the stands. As the guy in Soundcellar said "who wants to sit down in a Maiden gig?".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Ciaran*

the_syco wrote:
    Found it funny that Maiden noticed the bass guitar amp was broken after the first song, but Manson never copped on.

They would have been psychic if they had noticed.

the_syco wrote:
    Also, what the f*ck was the story with the pr*ts in the stands. As the guy in Soundcellar said "who wants to sit down in a Maiden gig?".

For the record, I didn't, but just because some people did doesn't make them pr@ts. A lot of the people around me were parents with small kids. I don't think they particularly wanted to subject them to the mosh pit that early in life.

the_syco wrote:

Tim Skold wouldn't have been using Maiden's bass amp, he would have been using his own.

Maiden..there no Slayer!!

And not a day goes by without me thanking Christ for that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

I don't know where some of you complaining about the sound were, but I was about halfway back, and the sound was great there. Turbonegro were alright in fairness, but people's attentions were more on shouting things and watching the moshpits than actually watching the stage. And what the hell was up with the front guy slagging the famine? Arg, weird.

Manson was AMAZING! Got a video of the intro on my phone, even from that it sounds cool. Disposable Teens, The Beautiful People, Personal Jesus, mOBSCENE and The Nobodies were the highlights in the pit- my friend wouldn't let me go in for The Fight Song- it got so much crazier for that. Manson didn't have much interaction with the crowd though, and thanks to the smoke I could only see him when I was on someone's back/shoulders.

Maiden were ****ing legend, WOW. Although I missed parts towards the end, thanks to almost fainting a few times. Hallowed Be Thy Name, Wrathchild, Beast, Run To The Hills and The Trooper rocked a lot....amazing night, tbh.

yeah yer man talking about the famine was a bit much to be honest.... But when Bruce started his speech about how we had to respect the ground we were on, and so for the next song I want you to pound your feet into it! That was fairly darn cool! I was inthe middle of the front mosh, behind the barrier for a part of Maiden and we couldn't see a thing, as soon as we moved out we could see so much better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭evillive

never heard much of turbonegro before and didnt plan on getting in as early as i did, but for the opening band they pretty much rocked, kind of like wolfsbane with the inane banter in between songs but i was well impressed

manson was deadly, he's obviously lost some of his tendencies to be more violent and sexually explicit on stage but i suppose thats a mixture of old age, and restricted time and stage effects

i saw some recent live footage from the one of the european festivals and he wasnt up to much but i was dying to see him and the performance was much improved on the day, his voice held up big time and you could tell he was putting a lot into his singing and had pretty decent sound

the willy wonka intro was cool, the fight song and tourniquet were excellent and the whole 'puppet politician' act on antichrist superstar was brilliant

the big bad manson aint so bad anymore but it was still a good show for his fans

the last time i saw someone play a song by slapping their cheeks was on bosco and he's a fricking muppet so make your own conclusions,
    any band i've seen before worth their salt who has had gear go down on them have some sort of back up jam or song, bruce dickinson just wittered on about the bonzo dog doodah band and rule brittania the guitarists just picked their butts until the problem was fixed, cmon guys you are supposed to be musicians, improvise!!!

i gave em til after the trooper the sound was still dull so i made my excuses and left, in all honesty turbonegro had probably the best sound on the night

evillive wrote:
    cmon guys you are supposed to be musicians, improvise!!!

That's exactly what they did. Pay attention. I hope you made some damn fine excuses, you missed a blinder of a show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Amen sarky! :D I was in the pit, pretty much right up front for a lot of the night and I thought thew sound was great, except for the fact that the vocals were too low. If the vocals had been higher it'd have been excellent. Whta a show though! Was very impressed by Manson to be honest. I thought he had a great show. Turbonegro just sucked ass in my opinion. I really didn't like them. The guy trying to be controversial with famine jokes and stuff was quite sad, like being slagged by an illiterate skanger...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Hey le rack im pretty sure i was near where you were,fancy that, thats pretty wierd.i dont think i saw you though.

I have to say im pretty pissed of cause i was in the pitt behind the barrier that blocks off the actual front pitt. and the whole time that manson was on i was moshing,so now i cant really remember manson all that well which is really pissing me off as he was the one i went to see.