Can I get a bagel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Don't you mean 'Would you like some mayonnaise on your bagel, sir?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Shabadu wrote:
    Don't you mean 'Would you like some mayonnaise on your bagel, sir?'

Please don't hurt me supreme bagel god! I repent! I repent!:

?Qué mayonnaise sen(with squiggle)or?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,287 ✭✭✭NotMe

I say "Can I get a bagel?" .. actually I've never bought a bagel. I say "Hi can I get chicken fillet on white with lettuce and mayo please." I don't think it's an Americanism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,432 ✭✭✭Peteee

I think it's a dumbening down of the English language and we'll soon be speaking in Yank accents if something isn't done. Anyone else notice this?

Dumbening?

Is that a cromulent word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭Shabadu

Me fail english? That's unpossible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

I ask 'Can I get..?' Never thought it to be American.

People who say 'Like, roight, totally' in the same sentence, that would drive me mad. I was introduced to a friend of a friend who said outta the blue 'Like, for sure. Totally!' Grrr...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Maximilian

Please may I have a bagel, sir, yo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,652 ✭✭✭impr0v

Down with the highbrowization of this fine thread.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭BEAT

personally I'd never say...can I get a bagel

but then I think bagels are gross, so there ya go ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭Doper Than U

Peteee wrote:
    Dumbening?

Is that a cromulent word?

"Dumbening" is a perfectly cromulent Americanism, like "Romantical", "Genetical", "Scientifical" or "Winningest".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭DawnMc

I'm ridiculous when it comes to that like I say like after everything like. Think it's like a cork thing though. Like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

stoooooooory bud

scum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭cordelia

Yes, well, Americanism or not, if Angelina Jolie came towards any of you, two bagels hanging deliciously off her breasts, swinging suggestively back and forth, and said:

"Ask the right way and they're all yours, you sexy beast."

Every fella on this thread would reply:

" /gulp/ can I get a bagel?"

:cool: ;)

cordelia wrote:
    Yes, well, Americanism or not, if Angelina Jolie came towards any of you, two bagels hanging deliciously off her breasts, swinging suggestively back and forth, and said:

"Ask the right way and they're all yours, you sexy beast."

Every fella on this thread would reply:

" /gulp/ can I have a bagel?"

:cool: ;)

in an ideal world Angelina Jolie would be at least one, and possibly two, cup sizes bigger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭cordelia

nlgbbbblth wrote:
    in an ideal world Angelina Jolie would be at least one, and possibly two, cup sizes bigger

And dangle one, possible two, bagels more...

cordelia wrote:
    And dangle one, possible two, bagels more...

three bagels
    one from each nipple, the third placed provocatively between her breasts. A phallic symbol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭stagolee

this threads getting wierd...

anyway its not
    "may i have a bagel?"
    or
    "can i get a bagel?"
    its
    "gis a bagel" occasionally followed by the polite participle "ye ****"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ergo

personally I blame the programme Friends for the whole losing the accent , and the OC or (insert name here).....

and I suppose all the aussie soaps contribute to the raising of the intonation at the end of every sentence

I know some Dublin people who speak very American and remember one of them giving out to me about her own lack of accent and when she goes abroad people think she's American,

so watch out kids, ye future generations may not be greeted in US/AUS or even England with that old favourite "Oh, I love your accent" which has opened up many opportunites for us in the past and present ;) (and admittedly closed off some but that was more back in the day)

personally I would be of the "Can I have a chicken fillet roll with mayonaise and lettuce please" school but there you go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭ExoduS 18.11

Dave wrote:
    I never even realised that saying "Can I get" is an Americanism!
    Ahhh you have really!
    Can i get a.... hmmm lets see.... 2 Large Fries, 4 Chicken Royals and ehhhh.... 5 of those cookies you guys have? etc etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭gregos

Dave wrote:
    it's a regional way of speaking, which I found myself doing more and more having been hanging around with a few Kerry lads. Being Canadian you wouldn't know this.
    I'm not Canadian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

What's the deal with people and dodgy Jewish food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,422 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

The whole "Can I get" is typically American in that it it that slight bit more agressive than 'Can I have".

The other thing is...a survey done a few years ago found out that most young kids think that the emergency services are got at 911, not 999. That's scary (and potentially dangerous....)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

It's not dumbing down... It's just a cultural barrier between you and the younger generation, in the same way I go "what the fúck is this?" when I hear Depeche Mode or The Smiths.

We live in a world of TV, most of which is American. It's a shame that our colloquialisms are being washed away but you can't expect it and you can't say it's a sign that we're getting stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭nobodythere

The other thing is...a survey done a few years ago found out that most young kids think that the emergency services are got at 911, not 999. That's scary (and potentially dangerous....)

At least they're not living in the past Mr. Kazinski - It's 112! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Ahhh you have really!
    Can i get a.... hmmm lets see.... 2 Large Fries, 4 Chicken Royals and ehhhh.... 5 of those cookies you guys have? etc etc
    ...and a DIET coke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

In fairness.. most Americans I know speak very well. Sure there are some differences in grammar BUT listen to yourselves next time you speak and listen to those who speak to you.. Irish people I mean. While we do speak English better than most English people, we still have our OWN way of speaking English that is not correct and makes little or no sense to Americans.

Stop pretending our way of speaking is better than theirs.. although I make fun of my wife sometimes (she is American) but its all in good fun.. this serious talk about it is pointless and hypocritical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The whole "Can I get" is typically American in that it it that slight bit more agressive than 'Can I have".

I dunno about Ireland, but in England, both numbers work, I've heard.

Anyway, there's nothing American about a bagel, with Bacon, Sausage, Egg and White pudding. Delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

Blisterman wrote:
    Anyway, there's nothing American about a bagel, with Bacon, Sausage, Egg and White pudding. Delicious.

That's proper fusion cuisine there!! Sausages, bacon and pudding on a bagel! Oy vey! :eek:
    Not exactly kosher, is it?
    Delicious, though, I'd agree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

grasshopa wrote:
    At least they're not living in the past Mr. Kazinski - It's 112! :p

actually,

these are emergency numbers in ireland.

The newer numbers were added because so many people thought that they were the real numbers, due to the proliferation of American TV/cop shows....