Boy/girl racers what do you find acceptable?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

It proves that some boy/girl racers are d!cks and the rest want nothing to do with them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭Borzoi

kaimera wrote:

Oh no you don't - if this thing comes over to motors, it will only be only a brief stop on its way to the bin.

This particular topic has been done to death there - and there no need to go pouring salt on old wounds :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,518 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Kiera wrote:
    It proves that some boy/girl racers are d!cks and the rest want nothing to do with them!
    most.

Well that’s my opinion GreeBo! You cant tar everyone with the same brush! Even the Boy racers in that link are saying that some eejits give them all a bad name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭IANOC

id save your breath kiera.
    the only sound they hear is a full scorpion exhaust system :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,720 ✭✭✭Praetorian

Noise making exhausts (with no performance benefit whatsoever) do my head in. Ooh your making more noise than I am, wow weeee!

IANOC wrote:
    id save your breath kiera.
    the only sound they hear is a full scorpion exhaust system :D
    yeah well I can get a peg and a bit of cardboard and stick it against my spokes and ta-da Im cool like you are.

If it was just pathetic and sad I wouldnt really care, but these people are on the same roads as the rest of us, thats my problem.
    You dont need to do 40 in an estate, you are nearly there, slow the fúck down 'tard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Kiera wrote:
    Well that’s my opinion GreeBo! You cant tar everyone with the same brush! Even the Boy racers in that link are saying that some eejits give them all a bad name.
    What do you drive??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Hay Boys U Wana Race My Twin Cam???????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

My mum and dad are getting me a car/insurance for my 17th birthday. So woooo!!!
    noisey car for me to play with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭chrismon

:mad: whats the problem with someone trying to make their car look different?
    I wonder how many people drive like lunathicks in general? Im not talking about boy racers. Iv had so much more problems with people driving 05 Mercs driving me off the road. Im sick of it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

chrismon wrote:
    :mad: whats the problem with someone trying to make their car look different?

The fact that it ends up looking identical to everyone else who tried to make their car look different. Boy racers are the new gothlings. Only more offensive.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Well I figure live and let live, but I do agree with the whole noisy exhaust without any performance benefit at all. Personally, I like the idea of a sleeper car. Looks boring and ordinary with a lot going on under the bonnet(cue flaming from some think about the children gobdaw about speeding :rolleyes: ). The oily bits interest me far more than the huge drag inducing wings, spoilers and such TBH. Now a quad cam V10 with two superchargers squeezed into a grey uno with a rusty door. That perversly appeals.

PS. jezza. When your sig has more words in it than your replies, time for a rethink.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

I personally have nothing against someone doing up their car-I think its their own choice to waste their money making a car look ridiculous. however they make it so easy for the rest of us to stereotype them. The VAST majority of them in my town speed, tailgate other drivers, use the road outside my house as a racetrack at night, during the day they drive up and down the main st all day with the windows down and their music up really really really loud...
    sad really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,227 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

jezza wrote:
    My mum and dad are getting me a car/insurance for my 17th birthday. So woooo!!!
    noisey car for me to play with.

You Lucky bastard, id love to be given a car for my 20th birthday never mind my 17th, either your a girl which means your insurance will be kinda ok, or your parents can afford to throw 3000- 4000 euros at the insurance company if your male.

Anyway good for you, and happy driving ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭Delta_ie

I think people mix up different people that are some times associated.
    The Boy Racers and generally the readers of Max Power (don't mean to insult any readers here, but the mag does my head in) are the ones that generally do the above things like, neons, 8' exhaust, big spoilers more suited to aeroplanes, etc.

But then there are the car enthusiasts the tastefully change things on their cars to improve preformance, handeling and looks. They generally have nice cars and respect the law and other car drivers but get tarred with the same brush by the public and Gardi.

It would be good if people could stop tarring everyone with the same brush but it is funny when people complain about other peoples ignorance when they are ignorant about the subject themselves.

Sparky_S wrote:
    You Lucky bastard, id love to be given a car for my 20th birthday never mind my 17th, either your a girl which means your insurance will be kinda ok, or your parents can afford to throw 3000- 4000 euros at the insurance company if your male.

Anyway good for you, and happy driving ;)
    Im a girl.
    My insurance is only 2,700 yoyos for the year.
    Peugot 206.. so excited. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 25,000 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

If the car didn't cost 10k in the first place, it's highly doubtful that throwing 10k into it will result in a decent looking car. A tastefully done modded car can be a thing of beauty (think the cars from the fast and the furious movies etc.), a clapped out Punto with holes drilled in the exhaust to make it louder is just sad and an eyesore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

My boyfriend has a 04 Ford Focus, and has it "modified", in that he has a bodykit on it and alloy wheels. He also had it lowered a little. He doesn't have a stupid spoiler on it, there are no max power or "no fear" stickers all over it and he doesn't have a banging sound system or a loud exhaust. To my mind, its modified tastefully, because it still looks like a Focus, albeit a lower one with bigger wheels.

My next door neighbour, on the other hand, has a 91 Toyota Starlet, and he has had the works put into his car. He has those nitrogen (I think.. its a propellant gas of some sorts) cylinders in the back, three chrome dials indicating I don't know what on the dashboard, a DVD player and two screens, alloys that spin, neon lights on the underside of the car, an obnoxiously loud sound system, a very loud exhaust, blacked out windows, bucket seats and a godawful spoiler that looks like a snowshovel. His car is a complete joke.

Oh yes, thought I'd just add... my insurance is a mere 825 euro. Fully comp. On a provisional. And I'm only 24. Tee hee.

My cousin had a citrion saxo, that he bought for 6,000, he had the body kit, the roll bars, spoiler, alexis lights(sp?), double exausts, a ps2, alloys, neon lights underneath, and cd player and those bucket seats.
    He sold it for 16,500 euro and it was a 00.
    So sleepy, it looked sh!t when he got it, but it was soo cool when he sold it.

jezza wrote:
    My cousin had a citrion saxo, that he bought for 6,000, he had the body kit, the roll bars, spoiler, alexis lights(sp?), double exausts, a ps2, alloys, neon lights underneath, and cd player and those bucket seats.
    He sold it for 16,500 euro and it was a 00.
    So sleepy, it looked sh!t when he got it, but it was soo cool when he sold it.
    how much did he spend making it "cool"?
    Time AND money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

joejoem wrote:
    Instead of spending 4000 on a car and 10,000 on modding it, why not buy a really nice car for 14k?
    Instead of buying a car for €800, and getting insurance worth €3000 for it, then put €7000 body work on it, you want them to get a car worth €7800, and get insurance then? Are you stupid, or are ye a woman (who doesn't know how much a lad (under the age of 22) has to pay to get insured)?
    I don't see people in their 40s+ driving suped up cars at speed with music blaring.
    Alot of them (people older than 35), tho, think they own the road, that they're "respectable", and thus won't be pulled over.
    I cycle and as such break lights and cycle on the path
    Its bas7ards like ye that give us cyclists a bad name. The traffic lights are for all road users!!!

And for all those tards who cycle on the footpath: slow down, and go around me, and I'll get out of my way. Cycle into me, and I don't move. You can chicken out, or I'll sue you for cycling into me.
    magpie wrote:
    unce unce unce music?
    Did ye see that Samuari Jack episode?

=-=

Last muppet mobile I was in, was about 2 months ago: supped up 3 door car (t'was red. Dunno the car's name), and blasting something nice and heavy (could have been Machine Head). Non of your rap sh|t, mind you.
    embee wrote:
    my insurance is a mere 825 euro. Fully comp. On a provisional. And I'm only 24. Tee hee.
    I hope ye, and all those (low insurance women) like ye, burn in hell for eterniteeeeee...!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

the_syco wrote:

Alot of them (people older than 35), tho, think they own the road, that they're "respectable", and thus won't be pulled over.
    Well I see bad drivers everywhere what I mentioned was particular behaviour that seems common in a certain group. I don't see 35+ people behaving in the manner I described, I would ecpext anybosy speeding, blaring music to be pulled over no matter what age.
    the_syco wrote:
    Its bas7ards like ye that give us cyclists a bad name. The traffic lights are for all road users!!!

FIne I know what you are saying but I don't agree due to safety issues around irish road users but that's not the point.
    the_syco wrote:
    And for all those tards who cycle on the footpath: slow down, and go around me, and I'll get out of my way. Cycle into me, and I don't move. You can chicken out, or I'll sue you for cycling into me.

What's your point? If somebody cycle's into you they are in the wrong or that you are looking to play chicken with a cyclist? Your attitude suggests you are under 25, male and aggresive. Try for a second to not insult people and consider that you may have retarded children at some point in your life.
    The amount of cyclists killed by cars versus the amout of cyclists that killed pedestrians makes me pretty sure more people stay alive if I cycle on the path.
    the_syco wrote:
    Last muppet mobile I was in, was about 2 months ago: supped up 3 door car (t'was red. Dunno the car's name), and blasting something nice and heavy (could have been Machine Head). Non of your rap sh|t, mind you.

I have never been in a muppet mobile because I have respect for myself. One of the questions was why blar musiic what about all the people you are bothering? Maybe if they didn't play the music so loud people wouldn't notice them speeding or just wouldn't be so bother by them.

You do realise on Monday night people in a muppet mobile pulling donuts to impress some girls crashed into a person walking by. It was on the radio yesterday so I don't have the specifics.

Bear in mind the whole thread was to justify the behaviour that icertain types of drivers seem to see no problem with. The only reply that seems valid was "it'sssss rapiiiid"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

boy racers have really started to get on my tits !
    im a peaceful chap but when one of these **** passes my by breaking the speed limit ,on his mobile phone,with all his mates drinking in the back - i just wish for a giant anvil to drop from the sky!

I cant believe the pure ignorance of some of you people. Please stop tarring people with the same brush. Are all Northsiders – knackers? Southsiders – Stuck up?? No but I bet u people who are calling all boy/girl racers dangerous think so, eh???? Grow up or go back to the 60's where your small minded attitudes belong!!!

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

Kiera wrote:
    I cant believe the pure ignorance of some of you people. Please stop tarring people with the same brush. Are all Northsiders – knackers? Southsiders – Stuck up?? No but I bet u people who are calling all boy/girl racers dangerous think so, eh???? Grow up or go back to the 60's where your small minded attitudes belong!!!

Grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!!

What set you off?
    Maybe the only type of people referred to as boy/girl racers are not people who mod their cars but people who mod their cars, speed and generally act like idiots. I am willing say there are car enthusiasts who like to mod there cars and are safe drivers. At the same time there are at least six cars that I would class as boy racers because they drive too fast, blare music, aggresive to other road users and have modded crap cars.
    It's all a bit odd as half the time the spend driving from one green to another to chat to their mates. In my day one guy had a scooter and getto blaster and you made do. :D
    The problem is I have yet to see a a person under 30 driving a modded car driving responsibly not saying they are all like that and the noise of the music etc... might just bring attention to them.

MorningStar - What set you off?
    You did "in your day" oh my god wake up man!!

“people who mod their cars, speed and generally act like idiots” I mod my car so you’re calling me an idiot? You’re really showing your age here. Its fuddy duddys like you who give people like me a bad name. Like I said b4, I drive a golf, I cant do much to it without making it look stupid but I have nice lexus lights and alloys and a few bits a pieces on it. So in your words I’m an “idiot and not a safe driver” because of this???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

De Hipster wrote:
    I always thought that cycling on the footpath was prohibited...you dangerous lunatic, think of the pedestrians! :rolleyes:
    Check this thread out...

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=273526

The Rules of the Road aren't arbitary, it's quite simple really, if you're a road user you obey the Rules of the Road. That applies to pedestrians, cyclists and motorists all.

Back on topic, the name says it all - boy racer.

I saw a modded 94 Fiat Punto on the NCR the other day. Wrong, on so many levels.