Old Wesley Disco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

skywalker wrote:
    Isnt fireworks closed?

Probably i've only went there once and that was years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

Originally Posted by Blisterman
    Wesley sucked. Remember Maniac 2000?

I was actually just listening to that song as I was reding this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭bullock

Manic 2000 is a Temple Theatre song .... I think no other nightclub should be allowed to play it!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

seeing as i never go to temple theatre i gree completely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭Bubba

just to make the distinction between what i remember was called "the wezz" and old wesley.

the wezz is on fridays and doesn't server alcohol and i think it's 2nd year and under. probably some 6th class at it. i'm sure there will be someone who says " i know a girl who was 3 and a half that went there." but those are typical ages above.

old wesley is on saturdays and has a full bar license. the kids here are about 16 and up.

Your living in the past man! I left the place a few years ago and they stopped people from going upstairs to the bar on a sat because they eventually copped on and realised that everyone even with 'age cards' or 'passports' was still u18. They also got in S**t from the cops too!

egan007 wrote:
    In my day we got the ****e knocked out of us and walked to school in the snow in bare feet, for 12 miles - 12MILES and it did'nt do us any harm now did it.

A disgrace i tells ya a disgrace.

Ya little spoilt pup ya, in MY day we walked 15 miles just to get to school. The snow was even thicker where I lived. Jesus, you're beside the school if you only walk 12 miles.

Kids these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭conical

DAEDULUS wrote:
    They also have a website now.. www.thewezz.com

How disappointing that the "Gallery" section is empty :(

The whole thing is a sinister money-making racket... but you gotta love dem skirts ;)
    Those were the days... enjoy it while you can kids!

-C

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

I went to Wesley once or twice back in the day when I was fairly young. Used to go with a crowd from terenure. To be honest, aound that time I had been to tin pan alley, itchy feet and other places, that would seem to be labelled "scumbaggish" at the time. But I NEVER encountered the stuff that went on at Wesley. It was a mess!

It seems that even though the place had a label of being "posh" it was the place were I saw the most sluttish behaviour going on. The women were a disaster. You had girls going around with D4 accents acting like prostitutes.

I wouldnt even insult prostitutes, by comparing. You'd wonder what they are like now a good few years later. *shudder*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

bug wrote:
    It seems that even though the place had a label of being "posh" it was the place were I saw the most sluttish behaviour going on. The women were a disaster. You had girls going around with D4 accents acting like prostitutes.

Guess what? Girls like getting laid too. They're young, what's your problem with them having fun!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

Piste wrote:
    I know a daughter of a well known MEP whom will not be named and although they live in a big house in Donnybrook/Ballsbridge and they are a wealthy family, the girl in my year is a pure and utter scumbag with a D4 accent. She's racist and she drinks and smokes.

IQUOTE]

Disregarding the racist bit (coz that's open to debate, could be hear'say etc) if she drinks and smokes then she must be a scumbag. Of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 182 ✭✭the jew

Giles wrote:
    Piste wrote:
    I know a daughter of a well known MEP whom will not be named and although they live in a big house in Donnybrook/Ballsbridge and they are a wealthy family, the girl in my year is a pure and utter scumbag with a D4 accent. She's racist and she drinks and smokes.

Disregarding the racist bit (coz that's open to debate, could be hear'say etc) if she drinks and smokes then she must be a scumbag. Of course.
    That's not what Piste said, try reading it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

What would you say of a 14 year old guy going around scoring a ****load of girls?
    What would you say of him getting head off 6 different girls?
    Does that make him a slut or something?
    In most guys books he'd be a legend, and he isn't a prostitute or anything.
    Girls like sex just as much as guys do, and they should do what the guys do.

The majority of people in the world went to these types of discos when they were young, and its not the end of the world.
    Infact out of the majority of people I know, nearly all of them drink sensibly because of an experience of them or their friends at places like Wesley.
    Its part of growing up, and it was fun.
    Sure 14 is quite young, but if you ensure your kids are brought up with the right ideas and proper sex ed, you've really got nothing to worry about.

p.s. Tabloid sensationalisation to the fullest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

In fairness when the music blaring out at them is about sex or promiscuity what do we expect them to do? I ****ing hate that some by Kellis - "lets get it on in public" but you can bet that all those kids love it and any song like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Tabloids, tabloids, tabloids.
    When will people ever learn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

The stories about snowballing were the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,078 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Kingsize wrote:
    surely printing these pictures is against the law,if not a bit dubious?
    The sunday world itself made a meal of "Pervert" chef Tim Allen.
    From what we are led to believe the "sick Kiddie Porn" he had on his pc was similar in content to the cover of this week's Sunday world.
    Its a Fukking rag anyway but the hypocrisy gets me fukkin riled!

I couldn't have put it better mysef mate. A rag paper for a rag audience. It always has been...They are just as guilty of perversion as these paedophiles they are supposedly exposing....But I guess that is what seems to sell to the public these days....lack of standards is the problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Blisterman wrote:
    Wesley sucked. Remember Maniac 2000?

A guy in my year in school used to get up and rap along to the (original) Maniac at the underage disco (well it was over 18s but it was all <18s there) back when I was in 5th year. Everyone thought he was great. ehehehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

I know maniac off by heart :(

Anyway, this craic wasnt goin on at any of my teenage discos, all of 2 years ago, if i ever have a son i'll move close to that old wesley place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

ColHol wrote:

Anyway, this craic wasnt goin on at any of my teenage discos, all of 2 years ago, if i ever have a son i'll move close to that old wesley place

you'll want some amount of money considering it's right in the middle of D4 :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

/me sticks on a linkin park tshirt, baggy jeans and a backwards baseball cap and heads down to the old wes :D

Jaysus i wish that sh!t had gone on int he grove when i went there lol...tho when we migrated to fibbers after the grove closed it was pretty bad tbh, some seriously debauched nights in that place, that im not gonna recout here..lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Cormic

joejoem wrote:
    The stories about snowballing were the worst

Snowballing? What is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭kermit_ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭Gael

So a few spoilt rich girls happen to be sluts(that drink). is this really a revelation to anyone? Paris Hilton anyone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭bullock

Snowballing .... Has anyone actually ever done it???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭zinc

Im not shocked at all, as a Tallaght boy going out with a girl who used to go to the Wezz, we arent that much diffferent even though our schools are worlds apart (hers is 4000 a year) it seems we got up to much the same stuff, its just they were better dressed probably.

Although its not good, its always going to be there and I learned a few things about not drinking like an idiot, how to approach girls and how to defend myself at those discos, even had a few dances!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

I just feel sorry for the girls and lads who go to wesley and dont carry on like that, who's parents are gonna stop them going and look at them in an entirely different light now.

I havent been to wesley in about 4 or 5 years and that sort of stuff did go on but there were also a lot of perfectly normal kids there who would never carry on like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

the jew wrote:
    That's not what Piste said, try reading it again.

Then why mention the drinking and smoking bit then? Maybe Piste didn't "say it" but he certainly implied it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

Guess what? Girls like getting laid too. They're young, what's your problem with them having fun!?

No problem.
    Just the poll say would you be comfortable with your kids going to old wesley now. and the answer is no.

Nothing got to do with tabloids, just I remember thinking at the time, being the ripe old age of 15 and all that, that it was a bit out of order.

to expand... I have no problem with people having fun. But for example, I would have a problem with someone saying "quote" if you buy me a drink inside then I'll give you a blojob"...
    ..funny I dont think she even got that drink at the end of the night.

My point was that wesley was a bit of a hole full of underage sluts who had no idea of the consequences of any of their actions, and it was all uneducated and underprotected...feck all got to do with fun really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 vexediter

the wesley story is really really over blown , im sure not all the girls go there wearing no knickers or clothes their parents dont want them to wear. i feel the story is biased against private schools a lot , dont think the papers like the type of schools these kids go to ( the annabel trial ) i think that if we look into these schools and compare them to less well off schools in relation to drop out rates and teen pregancy's they mite do a lot better. i'll admit i went to wesley a few times ( almost 8 years ago now ) and people are drunk , guys and girls are fondleing each. but my point is that they are not goin to under age clubs in disadvantged areas and take the same photos. they just show its the rich kids doin this and that , but most kids are doin this. also i'd like to point out i did go to a southside private school , and only 1 of my friends have a chold together , they are 24 tho and were 24 when the child was born . my girlfriend went to a school in a so called disadvantaged area (tho they have a lot more they i have near me) and of her friends 5 have children , one at 13 and another at 15 . so i dont think private schools are to blame .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭weemcd

vexediter wrote:
    also i'd like to point out i did go to a southside private school , and only 1 of my friends have a chold together , they are 24 tho and were 24 when the child was born .
    lol and chold is exactly how they'd pronounce it!
    also, that sentance makes no sense