Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old Wesley Disco

• 27-06-2005 12:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭

Jsut got a look at the Sunday World today. I never realised that these discos were that bad. Girls of 15 and 16 with no knickers on and being hammered drunk. Did anyone see the article on the front page?? It must be really bad for the girls that caught showing their bare bum!!!!

Would you let you child go to Old Wesley disco now?? 39 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 39 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Whens it on again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭scuba steve

What the hell is the Old Wesley Disco??

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

ColHol wrote:
    Whens it on again?
    lol :D:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

Fair play to the Sunday world for sending their photographers out to take pictures of underage girls with no knickers on.
    Veronica guerin didn't die in vain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

15 and 16? Eh, younger tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭hussey

they prob had a thong on and the shot they took just looked like that.
    why couldn't they have thongs when I was 15 :(

surely printing these pictures is against the law,if not a bit dubious?
    The sunday world itself made a meal of "Pervert" chef Tim Allen.
    From what we are led to believe the "sick Kiddie Porn" he had on his pc was similar in content to the cover of this week's Sunday world.
    Its a Fukking rag anyway but the hypocrisy gets me fukkin riled!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,455 ✭✭✭weemcd

worst written article ever. complete trash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

is it a fearmongering all children should be tagged sort of article? or is it just an excuse to be controversal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 974 ✭✭✭MooShop

missed that article, definitely wouldnt let a kid of mine go out like that, if its as bad as ye say it is. is the article online??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

any know if the article is online or could someone scan it and upload it.

I have seen people going to the Wesley discos - and one thing I know the Sunday World did get right is that most of them are piss drunk

From what i could see it was a mix of "all children should be tagged" - "posh girls get pissed" & "phwoar look at the arse on that"
    drunk kids at a saturday night disco is hardly frontpage news at any time even in the sunday world -especially on a sunday when they couldve been licking bonos hole!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

I just heard the person who wrote the article on the radio. From what she was saying I am no more shocked or stunned than I was last week.
    I remember going to the Grove 20 years ago and the same stuff was going on. I knew there were other places doing the same all over the city. If the wess is that old I am sure it was mentioned.
    I read a study on parents concerns and teenagers views.
    Parents were worried about drugs most of all yet the kids thought it was sex their parents were worried about. Teenagers also didn't think drugs were so bad. The study suggested that parents drug exagerations and lack of knowledge on modern drugs made the kids not trust their parents concerns.
    I think I would let my kids go as they have to get to grips with peer presure and the rest anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

MooShop wrote:
    missed that article, definitely wouldnt let a kid of mine go out like that, if its as bad as ye say it is. is the article online??

Thing is they don't leave the house in that gettup....they tend to change in pub toilets or at a friends house whose parents are out....

According to a 13 year old source i used to babysit....

And for my shame i've gone to wesley and bective a good few times in my teens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

RuggieBear wrote:
    Thing is they don't leave the house in that gettup....they tend to change in pub toilets or at a friends house whose parents are out....

According to a 13 year old source i used to babysit....

And for my shame i've gone to wesley and bective a good few times in my teens...
    Me too i went to marys and wesleys, great when your a 15 or 16 lad, but not when your a dad etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭PADDYPOKER

Mate lives around the corner and the stories he could tell......
    Girls and boys having sex in the Park around the corner.
    Girls going into the bushes in the Shell petrol station and taking their knickers off. Boys and girls drinking their loafs(?) off, getting sick in peoples gardens, throwing used condoms into peoples gardens etc etc.
    It's been happening for years there but the rugby club should take some responsibility as it's happening on their premises.
    I'd say there will be a large amount of fellows there next week but no girls!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭amazingemmet

Its nothing new going on there according to my ma its been happening since she was young and she and her friends used to go. Twas probably just a slow news day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,811 ✭✭✭*Page*

its the same in most kids disco's. I went to the no name in the spa once and it was the same the kids would be having sex on the chairs around the dance floor!! or up against the walls

*Page* wrote:
    its the same in most kids disco's. I went to the no name in the spa once and it was the same the kids would be having sex on the chairs around the dance floor!! or up against the walls

actually at bective, i remember seeing a young one giving oral sex to a queue of boys in the mens toilet....pretty gross stuff

ye thats why i only ever went to the "no name" once.. the "hitcher" was just as bad maybe even worse. but to be quite honest not all the girls or boys do be getting up to that sort of thing. there will be the few that are there to dance and have fun.. Parents need to shaparone(sp) these sort of events for kids.

I remember being hated though because at a school social my dad caught the most popular girl having sex out side the hall. but the whole school found out and slagged her off so for years i got sh!t over it...(she was12 at the time first years school social)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

RuggieBear wrote:
    actually at bective, i remember seeing a young one giving oral sex to a queue of boys in the mens toilet....pretty gross stuff

Not if you were first in the queue. Why did I miss all this?

joejoem wrote:
    Not if you were first in the queue. Why did I miss all this?

Tbh....i had to step over her to get to the urinal...trust me there was nothing even remotely arousing about it (and i was a horny 16yr old at the time)....semen everywhere and her with a breast exposed getting groped....ugh.

nah that sounds sick... reminds me though of something i was talking about at the weekend!

a girl claimed this guy raped her at a party. he didnt touch her. She had been giving every guy head etc and the rest but when he told he that she was acting like a hore she got really pi$$ed off... then reported him to the gards..b!tch! just because he wouldnt have her she tried to ruin his life!

*Page* wrote:
    nah that sounds sick... reminds me though of something i was talking about at the weekend!

a girl claimed this guy raped her at a party. he didnt touch her. She had been giving every guy head etc and the rest but when he told he that she was acting like a hore she got really pi$$ed off... then reported him to the gards..b!tch! just because he wouldnt have her she tried to ruin his life!

she should serve prison time for accusations like that....

RuggieBear wrote:
    she should serve prison time for accusations like that....
    You can. It's an extremely serious matter afaik.

she got kicked out of school.. we were all in the same year when it happened and her family had this big name aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 304 ✭✭Dagnir Glaurung

The Spin disco at the Leisureplex is worse tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Christ why were the girls not that loose when i was going to teenage discos. *sigh

Anyway, most of them will grow up to be southside arseholes like their parents, wearing dior shoes and matching friggin bags to a teenage disco!!!!!! All the ruggie lads with more blonde peroxide on their heads then in dolph lungruns bathroom.

Funny how its all the private schooled kids portrayed here?, a couple of my cousins are in private school, they go to the 'old wes' (prob not after this, although dont think their parents would be caught dead reading the sunday world). i fear that although they my be getting a great education, the enviroment they are in is making them develop all the wrong qualities in a person. If i was to become successful like my uncle i would not turn into a pr!ck like he did and forget what he came from, i would'nt pack my kids off to a boarding school a 1/2 hour down the road just because i could, a good public school of which there are plenty help develop a good cross section of day to day common sense and a worms eye view of the world as opposed to the kids who look down their noses at the rest of us from the moment they are born (in private hospitals)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭The General

Oh my god underage drinkers, every under age disco has underage drinkers, just because your rich doesn't mean you don't drink

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Oh my god underage drinkers, every under age disco has underage drinkers, just because your rich doesn't mean you don't drink

does every underage disco have girls taking their knickers off before going in?

To be perfectly fair to these places, 99% of the stuff that goes on there is just guys and girls "getting off" with eachother, perhaps the odd tit feel or a little more. It's a minority who have sex on the side of the dancefloor, and suck off lines of guys in the toilets, but they're so public about it (and ****ed off their heads) that they make it seem like everyone is doing it.

That said, I did know a guy who used to go to young wesley (on the friday) when he was 18....*shudder*

while it was clear numerous of the girls in my private school were complete whoes...(except when it came to me) but the stories here make me worry about the girls who i thought were uhhh not whoes...god my childhood has been destroyed.

thank you seamus for savingmy childhood...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

It was a rather intersting piece that, There wouldn't be half the goings on if the brainless parent's didn't give their kids so much money, €12 just to get into the place, its €8 where i go and it's not a teenage disco. These teenager girls were acting a little odd to be honest, Like you'd see nearly always see people openly "shifting" in the corner and stuff but never like this. It said the boys were acting almost behaved by gulping beer and that they needed "Dutch Courage" to handle literally those temptresses ! thats what the paper said. Society is to blame really we have a drink and booze culture and younger people and becoming more and more permissive, which is not a good thing. Have people any morals ? Although i bet 9/10 of those kids would condemn that carry on as it was the affects of the beer/ alcho pops made em do it. I blame the parents to be honest, most of these Upper class's hardly ever see their kids (the old snobs) only dosh em out hundreds as if it were a subsitute for parenting, They then proceed to act brainlessly and blow it on Christian Dior handbags etc. Fellas that age tend to go for gadgets PS2's xboxes etc but they do like a bit of "bling bling". Probably the main thing relating to this is Mobile Phones, kids as young as 9 and younger are getting these Radiation producers every day and then have unlimited communications with friends and boy/gilrfriends etc. Before in my time and i'm only 18 as a 12 to 14yr old mobile less teenager, if you called someone it was by landline and i was afraid someone was listening in ! E-mail was the big thing then before txts for teenyboppers arrived.

Unfortunatly this is the way things will go in the future like it or lump it.

Wasn't the Junior Cert finished the day before then and half of them were celebrating if you could call it that.

I would leave my kids go to a disco like that if i had any (thank goodness i don't) because you can't let wrapped up in cotton wool forever and if they experienced this without actually participating it would give them a lesson i think .

Regards netwhizkid

I just want to say its not just upper class kids that go there. I went to de la salle churchtown and all the lads in my year used to go old wesley( i liked metal a bit too much to go)

never been the old wesley but i noticed amazingemmet mentioned he didnt go to la salle because he perferred heavy metal music. Was wondering old wesley plays primarily *popular* music right?

Heh

find it funny most parents get worried when their child listens to obscure heavy music (or similarily punk etc) yet from my own experiances the most extreme cases do not happen in places or groups focused around these sort of fringe interests, any theories on why?

just doesnt attract a big enough crowd?

Its all percentages ith the group of people i hung around ith there were some girls who were right slappers but only one or two but there was only a smallish group of us, scale it up as it is at the wez (tm) and there's a good few. Also teenagers + hormones + booze = the above actions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

Talk about generalisation. When I was there for my Junior Cert night it wasn't just the "Rich upper class" sterotpye that were there. That was the only night I've ever been to that place and I never returned. They were like bunny rabbits there, they were doing it in hte car park and everything. The supervisors wouldn't let anyone out of their sight in the outside part of the place incase they'd be off having a shag. People were spiking each others drinks with esctacy and the like. It has always been a s-hit hole and it always will be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

RuggieBear wrote:

Interesting!

Ah I and a couple of friends tried to get in Wesleys,"Sorry boys not tonight".Haha when I think of it now.Used to go up to Marys rugby club of a friday.

I remember going out to Wesleys,but stopped of to buy a Super can of Coke and drink half of it and then pour in the naggin of vodka.We went undetected from the Garda radar.

Anyone remember the super cans? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Wesley sucked. Remember Maniac 2000?

ColHol wrote:

Haha,no no no no no Col.Those were the ones were you experimented with sniffing or under arm treatment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,753 ✭✭✭qz

Blisterman wrote:

!

Blisterman wrote:

An extremely annoying and over played song up there with the frog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Oh sweet zombie Jessu that article was trash, even for the Sunday World. All the ''little darlings'' from Private schools, sons and daughters of Lawyers, Businessmen and Politicians going out and getting pissed. Now I have never been, nor do I want to go to Wesley. The majority of my year go on a regualr basis though and I can tell you that there is as much scum as there are ''little darlings'' there. I know a daughter of a well known MEP whom will not be named and although they live in a big house in Donnybrook/Ballsbridge and they are a wealthy family, the girl in my year is a pure and utter scumbag with a D4 accent. She's racist and she drinks and smokes.

I was suprised to see that the article came as such a suprise to the 'reporter' (a 19 year old who went undercover as a 16 year old :rolleyes:) I've always known what goes on there: Young teenagers like to think they're grown up by slapping on a pair of high-heels, drinking any alcohol they can get their little hands on and having sex or performing/receiving sexual acts. It's nasty, it really is, but if we had no places like Wesley they'd just be out knacker drinking in bushes and fighting on the street even more than they are now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Kevin_rc_ie

just to make the distinction between what i remember was called "the wezz" and old wesley.

the wezz is on fridays and doesn't server alcohol and i think it's 2nd year and under. probably some 6th class at it. i'm sure there will be someone who says " i know a girl who was 3 and a half that went there." but those are typical ages above.

old wesley is on saturdays and has a full bar license. the kids here are about 16 and up.

i've went to Old Wesley lots and lots of times and the sex isn't rampant, but like all places densely populated with drunk teenagers there are sordid shenanigans.

they're both in Old Wesley rugby club function room/bar in donnybrook.

concerning the kids that go. a lot would be from private schools. lots of guys from rugby schools, fee paying and non fee paying, the majority from the southside. the kids, again, a lot from MA and LOTG and all those other schools. Plenty of non posh kids too.

Well just a note and a bit off topic,does anyone remember "The Apartments" as it was called in Temple bar some years ago?. I never went but heard it was a mad kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

One can spot yours truly on page 30 of said newspaper ;)
    But dont worry, its nothing to do with teenage disco frolics.
    heh
    EDIT: Just realised there are two Cians on that page! I'm not the little guy with the fishing rod!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Posh knackers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭unklerosco

I remember the days when i used to go there... Best moment was when they turned the floodlights on the pitch... Dear god it was a sexfest, my mate was getting oral sex right in the middle of the pitch, never seen a man(kid actually) run so fast with his trousers round his ankles.... Id never let my kids go to that place, its f***ed up... When i was 16 i went to the POD, greatest nights of my life. Went there for years, went for the music.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

ColHol wrote:
    Whens it on again?

LOL ya legend :p

Out of curiousity, whatd Dublins best over 18s spot when it comes to depravity?
    Im a prick like that see. Seriously, tell me

The Sunday World seems very obsessed with the goings on of southsiders in terms of sex, drug use and criminal behaviour. Like when the rugger set were done for kickin that lad to death outside the Burlington. They hold youth discos in town that, because of their location, would attract a large northside crowd, but the SW isnt arsed taking their pictures
    Tbh alot of those girls probably have **** for parents. Personally, when my daughter is like 10 or whatever, Id tell her the truth: dont pass it around even if all your mates do. No man respects a bird like that. Dont get me wrong, if I get my hole after a night on the piss its a good thing, but Im not going to call the bird am I (unless i fancy another ride). Im certainly not going to go spending money on her. Every man may want to get laid, but so to every man wants a bird who has good looks, personality and respect for themselves.

Anyway, if some young lad is gettin some with some slapper, if shes not related to me good luck to him