Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taxi Driver

• 31-05-2005 11:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭

Yesterday coming out of St James' Hospital a taxi driver hit my car. There were two lanes coming out of the hospital I was in the right hand lane with my indicator left I pulled up to the line when the taxi driver pulled out from behind a car in the left lane and but his car between my car and the car he pulled out from behind of. He then put himself into the junction box trying to cut me off. So I then pulled into my lane position and was not blocking anything and was squarely in my lane. He then inched forward until he hit the front left of my car with the front right of his car creating 2 nasty dents above my wheel well. He then looked at my own car and started shouting abuse at me saying he wasn't moving. I rolled down my window and said I am squarely in my lane what are you doing? He started shouting and I rolled up the window. He looked at what he did to my car then pulled off in the left lane.

I reported him to the garda by the taxi reg number as a hit n run?

The garda basically said if I want the damaged fixed they will get his name for me and I can deal with it.

But if I want to get him for a hit n run then they will get involved.

The husband says prosecute for hit n run. I say HELP what would you do?

hit n run or no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

He left the scene of the accident regardless that it was minor. I agree with your husband.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭bill_ashmount

get them for hit n run, why should he get away with it.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Prosecute for hit and run. Hopefully he'll lose his job. One less scumbag driving around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭skibum

If the "shoe was on the other foot" I bet that he would have no problem for doing you for a hit and run. Go for it and don't let him get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

he knew what he done, he drove off...something so blatent and aggressive deserves the book thrown at him.Doesn't matter if its two small dents, principle is the same

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

get him for hit n run,god only knows how many times he has did this kind of thing before

If you feel bad about doing something which could damage his livliehood, think of it this way - if you were caught stealing, imbezzeling, or otherwise doing something grossly illegal in your work, do you think anyone would have any qualms about firing you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,494 ✭✭✭✭Alun

I was in the right hand lane with my indicator left

?????????????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭Souperfreak

Here is the damage - see attached - file is too large....I will have to have the hubby help me compress it later. I will post it after work today.

Alun wrote:
    ?????????????

There were two lanes to pull onto two lanes on the road. I was in the right lane to get into the right hand lane on the road. He decided that even though I had an indicator on showing I was turning into the right hand lane that he was going to make a third lane between the left hand lane and the right hand lane. When I took up the lane position I had waited for and indicated for he got pissed off and started nugging his way forward when I showed I wasn't moving to let him in he kept inching forward until he hit my car. Once he hit the car he and I heard the crunch. He strained his head upward looked at what he did shouted at me and pulled off in the left lane.

Is that a better explanation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Get a solicitor and contact the Carriage office for this muppets details. Get the damage sorted and at the very least have the cops go to his house and caution him. He sounds like the sort of nob who would buy a neck brace and sue if that happened to him.

'c

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

Wait a few weeks.
    Then keep an eye out for him. Book him to take you to the airport and have a friend go ahead of you and wait at the airport roundabout. When he is ditting at the lights of the airport roundabout, tell him he's a bollix, hop out, kick all his lights in and leggit to your friends car and drive off giving him the fingers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,179 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Well you won't need to get a solicitor involved for any prosecution, just report the facts. But definetely go for the hit and run, he knew what he did and deserves it.
    In fact, since it is a criminal not a civil charge then the Gaurds actually don't need your permission to prosecute but obviously have because you'll have to make a short court appearance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Citizen Jake

He's in the wrong, he ran away from the scene, prosecute because it's all you can do right now. If it was anyone else even if who's in the right or wrong was disputed, they would hang around to swap insurance details and a guard would be brought to the scene.

This cowboy shouted a load of abuse - probably assumed he'd intimidated you into doing nothing - and drove off. You could have been injured, and certainly you're wallet will be injured if you have to pay up.

If he's successfully prosecuted, does that actually mean the victim's insurance company has the ground to pursue for costs for damage or does that require a separate civil case?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭Paul (MN)

I actually think that prsectuing for hit and run is the wrong thing to do.

You have to stpe back and look at the reality of the situation.

1) He's a boll1x
    2) There is small damage to your car

Now look at the consequences of your planned action

Go after him for damages:
    - you get your car fixed
    - you are proved to have been in the right

Go after him for Hit and Run:
    - you get your car fixed
    - he might lose his job

So what if he is a boll1x. If he loses his job then his innocent family (kids) might suffer too.

Go after him to a point but after that.... let it go. Life's too short.

If you were personally injured in an accident that is a different story. But in this case.... it's just a bit of metal.

Paul (MN) wrote:
    - you get your car fixed
    - he might lose his job

So what if he is a boll1x. If he loses his job then his innocent family (kids) might suffer too.
    He should have thought of that. You can't protect someone from damaging their livliehood if they've already made the mistake. As I said earlier, if you were found stealing from your company, do you think there would be any qualms about prosecuting you and firing you, despite how your children might suffer? No, **** him, he must live with the consequences of his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,220 ✭✭✭20 Times 20 Times

hit and run , he would do the exact same thing if he was in ur position

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Saturnine

**** him let the gaurds pursue it.One less maniac taxi driver on the roads can only be a good thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭kdevitt

You can't prosecute him - you're not the DPP. You can file a complaint, I doubt it will go very far, in fact the last time I tried the Guards wouldn't take a statement. They will more than likely contact the guy and tell him to contact you with his insurance details, if he fails to do this they may follow up on it. You can contact the carriage office as mentioned below to report him too, not sure what the procedure is there though.

He merely needs to say that he didn't realise he hit you, and that he was shouting at you because you were blocking his way - this will end up being your word against his.

Phone your insurance company, register the details of the accident with them. If you're fully comp, you can probably get the damage sorted now, he can either pay himself to avoid affecting his insurance, or will put it through the insurance if its not that much.

I am fully comp, but will this affect my premium when I go to renew? Even if he hit me?

I currently have no 'no claims bonus' so would it matter then? This would be my first year as a no claims bonus.

Should I bother getting it fixed if it will affect the insurance? Or should I get the driver to sort it out privately? but judging from his attitude he wouldn't because I obviously thought I was in the wrong until he saw the damage he did to the car.

I am fully comp, but will this affect my premium when I go to renew? Even if he hit me?

I currently have no 'no claims bonus' so would it matter then? This would be my first year as a no claims bonus.

Should I bother getting it fixed if it will affect the insurance? Or should I get the driver to sort it out privately? but judging from his attitude he wouldn't because I obviously thought I was in the wrong until he saw the damage he did to the car.

Your insurance shouldn't be affected in any way. In all likelihood, the gardai will ensure he passes on his insurance details. You are obliged to inform your own insurance company or the accident under the terms of your policy though.

The other guy can sort it out privately if he so wishes, what can be done is that his insurance company sort it out, and then he pays them back - which won't affect his insurance, or he can make out a cheque to you or the garage that repair your car without going near his insurance company at all - if he goes with the second option, be sure that the amount you get covers the necessary work.

Out of interest, do you have any witnesses?? It could get messy if he decides to blame you for the accident.

If you claim off your insurance without chasing him, your no-claims will probably be affected*.
    If you claim off your insurance, and supply his details to them, they should chase him up for the money, though your no-claims may be suspended until it's ironed out.
    If you chase him up privately, you're still technically obliged to inform your insurance company of the collision, but it shouldn't affect your no-claims.

*Some policies allow you one claim under a certain amount in three years without affecting no-claims

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭ando

hit and run.. what are yas like :rolleyes: we only have one side of the story here

kdevitt wrote:
    Out of interest, do you have any witnesses?? It could get messy if he decides to blame you for the accident.

Plenty of witnesses, but I didn't stop in traffic to get information ya know? Similarly I didn't get their reg plates.

But surely from the placement of the damage on my vehicle it could be proved no?

He hit me above the left wheel well.

with the front right of his car.

Plenty of witnesses, but I didn't stop in traffic to get information ya know? Similarly I didn't get their reg plates.

But surely from the placement of the damage on my vehicle it could be proved no?
    Not necessarily. All that proves is that his car struck yours. It doesn't say, for example, that you didn't turn into his lane and hit him.

If you don't have any photographic or other evidence you may be better off leaving it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭css

What do you say if he denies ever being in the area at the time? You are screwed without a witness I'm afraid..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

go after him. From the experience of others, they would AT LEAST do that to you if it was your fault. Also from the experience of others, if you do go after them with any sort of officialdom, they relent very quickly, taxi drivers are either very wary of having the spotlamp swing in their direction or else are more keen than joe public not to have any points on their license or other endorsements.

If you want the easy way out, get the Gards to give you his details, get an estimate for your repairs and then press a small-claims-court action. It's automatic after that, they'll pursue him.

Or... call the Garda Trafficwatch every 30 mins with his number and say that he's acting the goat on Dame Street, speeding/cutting up traffic/not signalling/weaving in and out of lane/breaking red lights :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Are there any CCTV cameras at that junction? If so you could check them.

Regarding insurance, be very wary of telling them anything. I crashed my car once, but wasn't going to claim. I just let the insurance company know in case it got back to them. Next time my premium was due, it had more than doubled!

K.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

seamus wrote:
    Not necessarily. All that proves is that his car struck yours. It doesn't say, for example, that you didn't turn into his lane and hit him.

If you don't have any photographic or other evidence you may be better off leaving it.

But would the fact that he never stopped not go against him?

The way I'd see it is, she went to the police to log a complaint about somebody not stopping to exchange details, if she was the one that hit him surely he would've stopped to get her details, no?

ando wrote:
    hit and run.. what are yas like we only have one side of the story here

:rolleyes: And as she's the one asking for advice here, would it not be courteous to assume that she's telling the truth?

B.

Your best bet is to let the Gardai contact him to get his insurance and personal details. Get your husband to phone him. See if he will settle without going through the insurance. Without firm witnesses you're going to find it hard to prove anything. Perhaps stick an ad in the free papers in that area - have seen it done before - and see if any witnesses will come forward.

For this to go smoothly you're relying on this guys good character I'm afraid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭comanche

Are there any CCTV cameras at that junction? If so you could check them.

Regarding insurance, be very wary of telling them anything. I crashed my car once, but wasn't going to claim. I just let the insurance company know in case it got back to them. Next time my premium was due, it had more than doubled!

K.

St James may have cctv that covers the exit. It would be in your interest to chase down that avenue before the write over the tapes with new recordings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭ando

BaZmO* wrote:
    And as she's the one asking for advice here, would it not be courteous to assume that she's telling the truth?

B.

i'm not disputing that, I'm trying to say that its her word against his. There's no recorded witnesses and she has no NCB (possibly learner drivers word? against a professional drivers word)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

seamus wrote:
    If you claim off your insurance without chasing him, your no-claims will probably be affected*.
    If you claim off your insurance, and supply his details to them, they should chase him up for the money, though your no-claims may be suspended until it's ironed out.
    Tread very carefully here. A no claims bonus is normally just that - a bonus for not having a claim. It's not a 'no blame' bonus. If you make a claim off your comp policy regardless of who is at blame, you may lose your bonus. Check the terms & conditions of your policy and/or talk to your insurance company before deciding to make a claim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

At the end of the day A TAXIMAN left the scene of an accident. Taximen don't do that unless they know it was their fault. Nail the smart a$$. He'd do it to you without even thinking about it.

ando wrote:
    i'm not disputing that, I'm trying to say that its her word against his. There's no recorded witnesses and she has no NCB (possibly learner drivers word? against a professional drivers word)

You could ask what my driving experience or license is....before making an assumption.

FYI

American license for the past 9 years.

FULL Irish license for the past year. Which I sat all your tests to obtain as an american license is worthless in Ireland. And sat an advanced driving course and would love to do a skid school ::hint:: hubby prezzie please!

IN all reality does your license status make you reputable? Just because he is a taxi driver and had to get a specific license does not make him less liable or less likely to be the person at fault. In the eyes of the court he may be seen in a better light but my hunch is that any judge would have driven in Dublin and know what pricks taxi drivers are.

Divers wrote:
    At the end of the day A TAXIMAN left the scene of an accident. Taximen don't do that unless they know it was their fault. Nail the smart a$$. He'd do it to you without even thinking about it.

I keep oscillating between the above theory and the insurnace problem. I am waiting to hear from the gardas, though I fear that may be for some time! Meanwhile I am going to find out if there was a camera there!

• Subscribers Posts: 8,322 ✭✭✭Scubadevils

Maybe it was the monk :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,559 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

BaZmO* wrote:
    But would the fact that he never stopped not go against him?
    True. Leave it to the Guards, hit 'n' run is a serious offence.

They should now be persuing him on your behalf and not just offering to give you his name and address.

Make sure you cc all correspondance with the Garda station to the Carriage Office (also a Garda function).

Keep us posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭DubTony

The carraige office is the best place to go. I've seen the contempt some taxi drivers are treated with there. Some of the cops there hate taxi drivers with a real passion. Make the complaint to them in person. It might help to be a little distraught if you can manage it. (My husband had a fit. I'll lose my bonus etc.) And don't be put off by thinking about his family and his livelihood. Obviously he didn't give a crap about you, your car or your no claims bonus. While a prosecution is eventually decided by the DPP's office, it's got to get it past the top cop in the station first. He decides what goes to the DPP.

In a case like this insurance companies will usually decide between themselves where the fault lies. The fact that he left the scene is in your favour. Taxi drivers are old pros at screwing people who hit them. Car damage, personal injury, and loss of earnings while the car is being fixed / they're out sick. His insurance comapny will be curious as to why he didn't want to make a claim against you if he claims it was your fault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Paul (MN) wrote:
    I actually think that prsectuing for hit and run is the wrong thing to do.

You have to stpe back and look at the reality of the situation.

1) He's a boll1x
    2) There is small damage to your car

Now look at the consequences of your planned action

Go after him for damages:
    - you get your car fixed

- he might lose his job

Go after him to a point but after that.... let it go. Life's too short.

If you were personally injured in an accident that is a different story. But in this case.... it's just a bit of metal.

pure BS, get him for a hit and run, this is dublin not iraq.
    hopefully he will lose his job/ license. also most taxi drivers are muppets and deny liability or an accident even happened unless there is a third party.
    go to the cops today and ask them to file charges against him, dont delay as he might get away...............

all this over a small piece of bent metal.................

I think I know what is really going on here.... pride. It seems to me that nobody can bear the thought that an idiot got one over them.

Who gives a flying fluck if there is a piece of bent metal on a car. There are worse things in the world. I've no problems with suggestions about getting his insurance to sort it out etc, you shouldn't be out of pocket, but I don't agree with going after somebody for "hit and run", even if they were to blame.

And a response along the lines of "all taxi drivers are bastaards" so you so GET THEM BACK would be a bit infantile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

I think it's irrelevant that he's a taxi driver to be honest. The fact is he left the scene of the accident and gave abuse. How many times have you come back to find scrapes and dints on your car and the person who did it long gone? In this case it's a fact that he knew what he did and had no regard for the law. I would not let this go as a matter of principle because of this. If he had of stopped and apologised etc. I'm sure this would not be the issue it has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

Paul (MN) wrote:

I think I know what is really going on here.... pride. It seems to me that nobody can bear the thought that an idiot got one over them.

Who gives a flying fluck if there is a piece of bent metal on a car. There are worse things in the world. I've no problems with suggestions about getting his insurance to sort it out etc, you shouldn't be out of pocket, but I don't agree with going after somebody for "hit and run", even if they were to blame.

And a response along the lines of "all taxi drivers are bastaards" so you so GET THEM BACK would be a bit infantile.

Before I start, for everyone's info, im the "hubbie" (isnt that sweet)

Paul I have a suggestion: Since it’s so insignificant, I guess you will pay for the damage then? Personally I dont feel the need to shell out 300euro-ish because of some turd! Not to mention the time wasted sorting this out!

I give a flying fúck! Regardless of hit and run, its vandalism! I’m a reasonable bloke in general, but this is pure pi$$ takery here!

If it was an accident, I would be more forgiving. This was cheeky, calculated, and deliberate.

This guy knows full well he's in the wrong and is chancing his arm. I think as a taxi driver he should be made an example of, not from a "all taxi drivers are to$$ers" POV but from the facts of the incident and how it occurred.

He may be a driver by profession, but he is not a professional driver judging from his behaviour. I think its fair to expect a level of decency from any driver on the road, especially "professional" ones. We (wife and I) have an opportunity here to at least get him a proverbial clip round the ear, from either the carriage office or the Gards.

If he does drive like this on constant basis (suspect this is not a once off), he should not be on the road. As for his livelihood, he obviously a cheeky devil, i'm sure he'll figure out a new job if it comes to that! I wont be loosing any sleep, ill be comforted by the fact that, at the very least, I have saved someone else (another victim) severe stress, injury or possibly death.

From his attitude so far, I think it would be fair to say that he has a habit of trying to imitate other drivers. His driving was nothing short of disgraceful! There is NO ambiguity about this.

If I have anything to do with it, he’s going down. Then again, i'm relying on the Gards here, whom I have no faith in....... Perhaps that will be restored?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭lomb

Paul (MN) wrote:

why dont u pay for the repair? cost at a main dealer would be about 700 euros, and she has every right for it to be done properly.

if you read my post correctly you will see that I have no problem with you wanting to go after him to get him to pay for the damage. You should not have to pay for the damage.

I have a problem with the attitute of "oooh it's a hit and run let's get the bacsktard" because the reality is that he is just a plonker who decided to chance things. The retribution that some many people seem to be advocating is that you "get him good" so that he will lose his job.

I disagree. You should get him to pay for the damage.

As a matter of fact it has happened to me. My car was crashed into and over 1k worth of damage was done to it. After much much work and coaxing I managed to find somebody who told me they knew who did it. I even informed the police.

The purpose of my hard work was to find the guy and get his insurance to pay for the damage to my car. It was not to demonstrate moral superiority, or get him to lose his job (and he would have as it happened while he was in a work vehicle).

In the end my informant denied all knowledge of the incident to the police (he was a work colleague of the person in question.)

And the person who hit my car had since left the company. So I made a comprehensive insurance claim.

maybe slightly off topic but the reason I am taking this viewpoing is that I have experience of meeting people from all walks of life and I feel

- that anybody who acts like that taxi driver probably has various aspects of his life that are not ideal
    - that you never know what is going on in somebody elses mind or why

Maybe I'm a bit soft, but this guy might have reacted as he did for a number of reasons. You are not giving him the benefit of the doubt. This might be the first time he has reacted like this. Perhaps he has just been told his job is on the line. Perhaps his marriage has just broken up. Perhaps he has been under stress for whatever reason for a number of years....... and in the heat of the moment he cracked.

This could be baloney of course, but you just never ever know.

So my approach is as I said..... go after him so you are not out of pocket.... but there is no need to GET HIM.

I'm actually quite surprised by the responses to this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,787 ✭✭✭prospect

I share Paul(MN)'s POV.

**EDIT**
    I'd still break his headlights though ;)

OK 2 things,

1) Paul: Your feelings or your personal life does not give you the right to deliberatley crash into someone's car. And it was deliberate. He may not have meant to do damage but I watched him inch his way forward until he hit the vehicle. I had a rough day at work too and I was in a rush to get home get my husband and get to work function in Drogheda that he crashing into me made me 45 minutes late for and I was the facilitator. But I was not driving and acting like a prick to get home. So I have no sympathy. But it is nice to see someone take his side because an overwhelming majority have not. If I knew how to do a poll I would create one. Maybe hubbie you will do that? I would be interesting. ;)

Second thing is back to topic:
    2) Thank you everyone who has given feedback about this.I spoke to the Carriage Office today and they won't give me his details and they won't take a complaint. They said since I was in an accident with him that I have to report it to the gardas and log the complaint with them. Which is done. Secondly I have not heard back from the Garda at all. I rang her twice yesterday and again today. So now it becomes a waiting game. In the mean time do I have to call my insurance?

How can you say "it was deliberate" and they say "he may not have meant to do damage"? I seriosuly doubt he deliberatly wanted to crash into you and cause damage or not. I guess he was being a bully and went one step too far and panicked?

I agree that there is NO reason for what he did. My point is that your reaction should, in an ideal world and IMO, be not be based on thoughts along the lines of "LETS GET THE BACKSTARD BACK AND SHOW HIM A THING OR TWO". Just because he has been a backstard doesn't mean you have to be one. Sort it out and move on. No point in causing extra grief for him, even if he is a plonker.

Of course, if he had caused severe damage, and there was the possibility of personal injury then my views would be different. But this was obviously just a little tip caused by idiocy.