Thieving Bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

The real travesty is that while the damage caused in getting into the car and yanking the stereo, and the cost of replacing the unit itself, usually amounts to at least 10-20X the price the unit will command when it is sold on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Wertz wrote:
    The guy said he turned one away from the door a little earlier.
    It wouldn't stand up in court but if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and has feathers...
    i know its no politically correct for me to suggest it but there is absolutley no doubt in my mind that it was the romany gypsies who stung my bike. this is a very quiet area, dead quiet, as in these gypsies were literally the only people who dont live on this street who walked down it today bar the postman.

what they do here is:

young female gypsy(usually with baby)comes to door and rings, bangs on the window and calls through the letterbox.

when you answer she spurts the usual incoherent plantiff whining

if you give her less than 5euro she complains and whines until you give her more or you slam the door in her face (politley telling her you dont have any more will not work)

all the while a male gypsy (usually between 17 - 22 years of age) is waiting just out of sight up the street - if you are old or inferm and you entertain the girl for too long, the guy will join her on the doorstep to ad 'weight' to the situation.

i know this probably makes me a big racist nazi but people who do this, especially targeting old folks are scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

ferdi wrote:
    i know its no politically correct for me to suggest it but there is absolutley no doubt in my mind that it was the romany gypsies who stung my bike. this is a very quiet area, dead quiet, as in these gypsies were literally the only people who dont live on this street who walked down it today bar the postman.

what they do here is:

young female gypsy(usually with baby)comes to door and rings, bangs on the window and calls through the letterbox.

when you answer she spurts the usual incoherent plantiff whining

if you give her less than 5euro she complains and whines until you give her more or you slam the door in her face (politley telling her you dont have any more will not work)

all the while a male gypsy (usually between 17 - 22 years of age) is waiting just out of sight up the street - if you are old or inferm and you entertain the girl for too long, the guy will join her on the doorstep to ad 'weight' to the situation.

i know this probably makes me a big racist nazi but people who do this, especially targeting old folks are scum.

Politically correct? lol
    If this country spent more time worrying about the real issues facing it, than what is politically correct we'd all be a lot better off.
    These romany are not wanted in their own f*cking country let alone here; yet we let them in, pay them a wage for doing nothing and this is what they end up doing.

Just to add to your doorstep scenario; the guy waiting down the street can also be found at the backdoor or window seeing if he can gain easy access to the house whilst the owner is distracted. While there he may spot other consumables such as lawnmowers, garden tools or bikes (!). Rest assured that if he can't carry them , that he'll take a few pals back later to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

4Xcut wrote:
    They go to every other house on my road except mine, i think they told each other about me either that or they can sense not to come

i can unfortunately confirm this statement....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Last week a pair of gypsies stole my grandmothers shopping from her doorstep. It had been delivered half an hour earlier than usual and she didnt get back from town in time. As the bus passed her house near the bus stop she noticed a man and a woman (who she said looked foreign) scurrying down the road with a load of shopping bags. She got home to only find the 1 bag left outside her door (which is off the road). She rang Dunnes Stores who told her that they delivered all the shopping and fair play to them, invited her back into the store for her to pick out her shopping again and have it redelivered for free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,392 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Fast_Mover wrote:
    2days ago my cousins car was broken into outside his own house...expensive cd player/radio taken!!! scumbags is ryt!!! what is the world coming to with ****faces lik that!!!

his friends was up at 4am to go to work and he said the car was fine at that time and my cousin had goten up at 6am to go to work and had come out to find that nice surprise waiting for him...so obviously between those times it happened.

They knew what they were looking for coz my cousin has all tools and what not in the back and even his work mobile phone in the dash, al untouched!

So now on top of that he had to get a new window! he also nw contemplating an alarm!! :D

so funny coz when we talking about it he saying...jesus if i only f**king heard them..i wudnt even had put on underpants.. :D (had to be there!lol)

maybe coz i decent honest person i just cant understand how people can do that sort if thing!
    u have the likes of ye earning money through a hard days work and those assholes doing that sort of thing earning same money but for only 10seconds work and we left with a bill..paying for the damage they did to our property!!

as im on a rant here...last thing il say, if i did turn my hand to that kind of stuff i know it wudnt last long as id get f**king caught by the guards and the likes on them still on the go, eyeing up their next job!!!

apologies...but it just makes my blood boil...!! :mad:

Sorry to say this but you should tell your cousin it's 2005 and to leave an expensive cd player in a car with no alarm is kind of dumb,had it not got face-off ? While it's sad to hear it was whipped in all honesty if you make it easy for them they will take the opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I always have to try damn hard to resist the temptation to take off my belt and hit the gurning old woman a whack when those Romanian Gypsies come around. What beats me is that they don't try their stuff in more upmarket areas, like Stillorgan, instead of out in the arse end of west Dublin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

i hate scum like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

those Romany Gypsies sound like losers

next time you see them shout LOSERS! LOSERS! at them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

One of my mates friends brother from longford had loads of trouble with a bunch of gypsies. They tried to break into his big metal shed probably to get a lawnmower or something. They did this unsucessfully two nights in a row only to wake up the my friends brother and get a chase from him. The next night he hooked the door of the shed up to the mains and when they came around and tried to get in again they were hospitalised. He was prosecuted and ended up with a couple of months in jail. He also had to pay the gypsies alot of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

I made the mistake of giving them €2 once and then they asked for a bottle of 7up, i sed i dont have 7up so they sed fanta? coke? anything?
    i sed soory i dont have any.
    They sed "its 4 da baby"
    Da fat baby who looks like hes had enough to eat and drink already?
    And u wanna give him coke?

Give em a yard and they'll take a mile!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Diarmsquid wrote:
    Give em a yard and they'll take a mile!

yep,

losers alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Only Human wrote:
    One of my mates friends brother from longford had loads of trouble with a bunch of gypsies. They tried to break into his big metal shed probably to get a lawnmower or something. They did this unsucessfully two nights in a row only to wake up the my friends brother and get a chase from him. The next night he hooked the door of the shed up to the mains and when they came around and tried to get in again they were hospitalised. He was prosecuted and ended up with a couple of months in jail. He also had to pay the gypsies alot of money.

As I said already, beat them with there own legs !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Quball15

Only Human wrote:

bwhaahah that is bloody hilarious! hooking the door up to the mains...ingenious :D its a shame that such ingenuity was punished, feckin robbin bastardos :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Only Human wrote:

It's stories like this that make me jealous of Texans.

At least they have some of their priorities straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 travelergirl2k

:mad: Im a gypsie. My dad owns 2 carpet shops so we got our money leggaliy. one of my grandads is an irish gypsie we go to vist them all the time i cant anser for ever gypsie but they dont delibritly set out to harm people. I am cause trouble a few times but no of us are angels all the time. U think where bad what about rapists,murders and peadophiles aint they worse than us. Some of us are just try to live our lives we wonty sum were to live and sum were for the kids to go to skool we dont ask for nuthin more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭goin'_to_the_PS

:mad: Im a gypsie. My dad owns 2 carpet shops so we got our money leggaliy. one of my grandads is an irish gypsie we go to vist them all the time i cant anser for ever gypsie but they dont delibritly set out to harm people. I am cause trouble a few times but no of us are angels all the time. U think where bad what about rapists,murders and peadophiles aint they worse than us. Some of us are just try to live our lives we wonty sum were to live and sum were for the kids to go to skool we dont ask for nuthin more.
    i feel there is a very unfair steriotypical view on travelers....
    off topic/ reminds me of a few years ago when those travelers camped next to the Rathfarnham shopping centre for over a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

If someone is honestly poor, and in need of help, then I don't mind them asking for some help.

Once I was in town though and a romany woman asking me for money had to stick out the hand of the arm she was holding her baby with, cause the other one was holding a mobile to her ear.

One thing I do hate though are agressive beggars. They have absolutely no entitlement to the money you work hard for, but rather than be gratefull that you gave them some of your money, they give out that it's not enough.
    If it's of no use to them, might aswell take it back, see what they say about that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭goin'_to_the_PS

BizzyC wrote:
    If someone is honestly poor, and in need of help, then I don't mind them asking for some help.

Once I was in town though and a romany woman asking me for money had to stick out the hand of the arm she was holding her baby with, cause the other one was holding a mobile to her ear.

One thing I do hate though are agressive beggars. They have absolutely no entitlement to the money you work hard for, but rather than be gratefull that you gave them some of your money, they give out that it's not enough.
    If it's of no use to them, might aswell take it back, see what they say about that!
    There is one lady in town that goes around temple bar and she is very agressive in the way she confronts you. I never give money to foreigners, the other busker but not foreigners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,423 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Argument by anecdote just doesn't work.

I'd post on this, but I found a pretty good expression of the argument, so I'll copy and paste from [url=http://www.indymedia.ie/newswire.php?story_id=66108[/url]here[/url]:
    Every single person in Ireland has had many "bad encounters" with settled people, so what can we make of that? It is pretty racist to assign collective guilt to a whole culture on the basis of such anecdotal evidence.

"Everyone knows mainly through experience when growing up as a kid it is dangerous to even enter a Travellers camp or to walk past on the same side of the road of a major iternant encampment."

I don't know this and I had plenty of experience of it as a kid. Again, this type of argument by anecdote does little more than expose your own prejudices. Your fear and prejudices feed off each other.

And as for the rubbish; if you were to remove all sanitation services from any community, especially one as deprived and beset by social problems as the travellers are, and you will find that conditions deteriorate rapidly.

The truth of the matter is that most travellers have a far harder life than most of us. Statistics clearly show alarming differences in longevity, literacy and other basic indicators of poverty. When travellers have as easy a life as you have, you can start lecturing them on their manners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

Only Human wrote:
    Ah you see his problem was that he only half did the job. The second phase of the job, which he neglected, was to dig a big feckin hole and bury the bastards alive in it! And yes I am serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,423 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

The comment I posted above is the view I should hold, but I do catch myself holding a prejudiced view on occasions. I hope the travelling community (of all origins) in Ireland can present a more positive view of itself to help fight this prejudice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I don't agree with that comment about the traveller's rubbish build up.
    sanitation services haven't been removed, they never existed. There were never problems years ago, because travellers respected the land, and were more thoughtfull.
    These days a lot of aren't willing going through the tiny hassle of bringing stuff to a bin, they just throw it outside and forget about it.
    Plus, travellers don't have those aspects of a harder life because it's genetic, or just bad luck, it's due to the life they choose to live. If they stopped moving about, went to school regularly and got jobs, they wouldn't have those problems, they choose to live like they do. No point saying "it's well for you, you have an easier life", when they just don't want to make the effort involved with securing themselves one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭penguinbloke

Only Human wrote:

Simple Solution to that, for Future referrence.

Before applying current place a sign on the door of the shed saying

"Warning, Electrified Shed. For access to shed please inquire at house."

TBH I don't know if it would work for definate but at least you gave them a warning ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 SatanInside

Personally I detest travellers in any shape or form. Just look at the situation in Rathkeale in Co.Limerick. These smug little bast*rds are holed up in caravans outside half a million euro house that they own but are too fvcking tight arsed to pay taxes on. Travellers constantly look for trouble and think they have the right to intimidate anybody just because of they're background. The fathers and mothers should be neutered before they even have children so there will be no further generations of arrogant smug little sh!theads running around in nike tracksuits and irratating the fvck out of everyone. All travellers can burn in fvcking hell as far as I'm concerned...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

Never ever give beggers anything

Check out this tutorial video on how to deal with beggers: http://hotniss.com/page.php?id=248

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭blondie83

Romanians irritate me greatly - I don't mind giving ppl money, but their whole agressive asking for more thing just makes my blood boil. Yesterday the doorbell rang, and I walked out of the kitchen to answer it, but my mum was in the hall, and she turned and whispered to me " no dont answer it". After a few minutes she came in explaining that this Romainian woman has started dropping by twice a week looking for food and money, and my mum hates saying no to people. I wouldn't have had a problem though if she'd just let me answer th edoor to them! (Yes I'm bitter, one of them stole my handbag in McDonalds about 5 years ago - and it was a cool glittery bag!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

bounty wrote:
    Check out this tutorial video on how to deal with beggers: http://hotniss.com/page.php?id=248

holy **** :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

i had my wallet and mobile stolen, credit card was used, as was phone. reported it to the guards, if they wanted to catch em, they could, he's on cctv, and he rang a load of his mates.

i hope he dies in a fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Anyone who gives money to these Romanian gyppos are dumbasses. Give them **** all, they play on your weakness and good side. If noone gives them anything, they'd soon stop begging.

I was in Paris a while back, and the bloody Romanians were going around with the piece of card just like here......