Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thieving Bastards

• 06-05-2005 3:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭

my bike just got robbed from where it was leaning beside the front door of my house, i suppose it serves me right, i was very dismissive a romany gypsy who came begging to the door earlier.

the romany gypsys who come around here tend to favour the tactic of intimidating and frightening the elderly, however this time it was me (not my elderly relative who lives here) who answered the door....i had absolutly no time for their banging on the window, screaming through the letterbox tactics so i dispached them.

i guess this is karma?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,608 ✭✭✭breadmonkey

my shoes were stolen from my front porch once :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

ferdi wrote:
    i guess this is karma?

That is definitely not karma mate. That's just scumbags being scumbags.

In all fairness if somebody is "banging on the window, screaming through the letterbox" to try and beg some cash from you, you have every right to tell were to get off!

B.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

bastards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

never experienced the letterbox beggars phenomenon before, I would inform them where to go, then inform the guards where to find them.....

Seriously, how common is it for someone to be just so rude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 995 ✭✭✭sinjin_smythe

I came home one day and saw one of my neighbours (very scary guy, never give him a dirty look) chasing after one of those beggers with a can of beans, he threw it about two inches away from the guys head ! Very funny moment you had to be there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,335 ✭✭✭rugbug86

my shoes were stolen by the sea one night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

Those f*cks.
    I recall working in a nearby estate a few months ago; 4 romany women got out of a van on the corner and proceeded to take out pushchairs and kids. They then took turns to call up to doors begging. When they turned up at the door of the house I was working in, the owner answered it. She was handed a small card bearing some words in english. These sh*ts can't even speak english and they have the gall to come begging in a council estate? Off home, the lot of yas!

Getting a bike nicked sucks...especially from your front door....I won't leave moine down for a second without it d-locked to something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

If some beggar came to my door and started shouting in the letter box and banging the windows I'd beat the sh!t out of him with his leg ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

Wertz wrote:
    These sh*ts can't even speak english and they have the gall to come begging in a council estate? Off home, the lot of yas!

huh? :rolleyes:

RuggieBear wrote:
    huh? :rolleyes:

Que?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 778 ✭✭✭Only Human

I had a similar experience. I arrived home from school on my bike and left it beside my side passage door. I went through the front door and around to unlock it from the back because I don't have keys for the side door. It took me no longer than 35 seconds and when I came out the side door my bike was gone. I look up and there's some scumbag in a celtic shirt cycling off on my bike out the gate. I chased after him for a couple of meters before he got away. I managed to call him a sly bollox before he sped off. Where I'm sitting right now which is overlooking Terenure college swimming pool entrance gate (for those who know it) I've lost count of how many people I've witnessed being robbed of their bikes. Most of the robberies I've seen involved the cyclist actually being kicked of his bike while still moving. It's discracefull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭Magic Monkey

rugbug86 wrote:

They were washed away? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

Those romany gypsies have some f*ckin neck on them. One of them called to my home before begging, with the note scrawled in english, the usual. So i thought fair enough, and gave her all the change i had on me (it wasnt much, 2 euro or so, but all i had), but of course this wasnt enough for her and she kept whining saying 'more, more!'. F*ck off you gypo bastard, i just gave you all i had.
    A while ago too, one came begging with her kid in a pram, so i thought fine, youre hungry, have some food, and gave her some spare cans of food i had...but oh no thats not good enough for these f*ckers, she looked at me like id just taken a sh!t in a bag and given it to her, and whined that she wanted money :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 240 ✭✭Ms Beanbag

ya, well you know for the next time dontcha!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Curious, you actually saw them do it? Or just blaming them.

I had a bike stolen one time.. it was a neighbour who did it.

I don't even think he's blaming them, just commenting how he was rude (though rightly so) to a gypsy earlier in the day, and that deed was coming back to bite him on the ass...somehow.

What goes around comes around etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Wertz wrote:
    Those f*cks.
    I recall working in a nearby estate a few months ago; 4 romany women got out of a van on the corner and proceeded to take out pushchairs and kids.

I saw 4 or 5 getting out of a Land Rover type Jeep the other day. Unfortunately for them the Jeep had a big Gardai sign on it and they were marched into Pearse St. Garda Station.

D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Hector stole my little brother's catchphrase. The thieving bastard.

dazberry wrote:
    I saw 4 or 5 getting out of a Land Rover type Jeep the other day. Unfortunately for them the Jeep had a big Gardai sign on it and they were marched into Pearse St. Garda Station.

D.
    LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Tbh,it coulda just been some local scumbag.
    I think travellers get blamed for a lot of stuff they don't do and most of them are actually ok people.
    It's disappointing to think that prejudices like this are still so common.
    In saying that,I realise people who hassle you for money at your door can be annoying but assumption is the mother of all **** ups so give them the benefit of the doubt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭yeraulone

rugbug86 wrote:

So were mine. This reeeks of alien activity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Originally Posted by Deadwing
    Those romany gypsies have some f*ckin neck on them.

I completly agree with you on that one, just a little common sense here and you may just get your bike back, I have had experience with having things stolen from me.

1) Report the theft of your bicycle to the Gardai, don't laugh, they probably havent a 0.1% percent chance of finding it, but anyway.

2) If you live in a built up area, ie have you got many neighbours, if so ask around someone may have just seen something.

3) If you suspect, that romany gypsies have stolen it, then get a freind or relative from out of town to visit them pretending to be sympathetic to them and looking to buy stuff, if they stole your bike, chances are they'l want to flog it rather than keep it.

4) Have you any enemies or dopey friends ? it may just be hidden and youre the victim of a practical joke, get the gaurds out to take a statement and if theres any jokers amongst ye it'll soon be back.

5) If you don't it back consider CCTV or actually locking up your belongings.

Well it sucks but thats life, still if you find them you SHOULD prosecute,
    Best of luck,

Regards netwhizkid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

They go to every other house on my road except mine, i think they told each other about me either that or they can sense not to come

LadyJ wrote:
    Tbh,it coulda just been some local scumbag.
    I think travellers get blamed for a lot of stuff they don't do and most of them are actually ok people.
    It's disappointing to think that prejudices like this are still so common.
    In saying that,I realise people who hassle you for money at your door can be annoying but assumption is the mother of all **** ups so give them the benefit of the doubt.

The OP wasn't talking about travellers, they were on about romany gypsies; ie the immigrants that have seemingly given every other non-national in this country a bad name.
    Irish travellers rarely if ever turn up at your door expecting a handout. OK they might turn up selling dodgy gear or pirated DVDs, but it's a big step up from the aggresive begging tactics of the romany.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Wertz wrote:
    The OP wasn't talking about travellers, they were on about romany gypsies; ie the immigrants that have given every other non-national in this country a bad name.
    Irish travellers rarely if ever turn up at your door expecting a handout. OK they might turn up selling dodgy gear or pirated DVDs, but it's a big step up from the aggresive begging tactics of the romany.
    Well I agree that they really are aggrivating but I just don't think it's fair to assume that they stole from the OP,if that is in fact what was implied.

LadyJ wrote:
    Well I agree that they really are aggrivating but I just don't think it's fair to assume that they stole from the OP,if that is in fact what was implied.

The guy said he turned one away from the door a little earlier.
    It wouldn't stand up in court but if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and has feathers...

Not fair, I know, and of course it could be the local 12yr old crimelord...let's face it there's more of them than there are romany...

Wertz wrote:
    but if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and has feathers...

IT'S A WITCH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,372 ✭✭✭The Bollox

Myth wrote:
    IT'S A WITCH!
    LMFAO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,880 ✭✭✭Raphael

Burrrn Her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭Fast_Mover

2days ago my cousins car was broken into outside his own house...expensive cd player/radio taken!!! scumbags is ryt!!! what is the world coming to with ****faces lik that!!!

his friends was up at 4am to go to work and he said the car was fine at that time and my cousin had goten up at 6am to go to work and had come out to find that nice surprise waiting for him...so obviously between those times it happened.

They knew what they were looking for coz my cousin has all tools and what not in the back and even his work mobile phone in the dash, al untouched!

So now on top of that he had to get a new window! he also nw contemplating an alarm!! :D

so funny coz when we talking about it he saying...jesus if i only f**king heard them..i wudnt even had put on underpants.. :D (had to be there!lol)

maybe coz i decent honest person i just cant understand how people can do that sort if thing!
    u have the likes of ye earning money through a hard days work and those assholes doing that sort of thing earning same money but for only 10seconds work and we left with a bill..paying for the damage they did to our property!!

as im on a rant here...last thing il say, if i did turn my hand to that kind of stuff i know it wudnt last long as id get f**king caught by the guards and the likes on them still on the go, eyeing up their next job!!!

apologies...but it just makes my blood boil...!! :mad:

The real travesty is that while the damage caused in getting into the car and yanking the stereo, and the cost of replacing the unit itself, usually amounts to at least 10-20X the price the unit will command when it is sold on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

Wertz wrote:
    The guy said he turned one away from the door a little earlier.
    It wouldn't stand up in court but if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck and has feathers...
    i know its no politically correct for me to suggest it but there is absolutley no doubt in my mind that it was the romany gypsies who stung my bike. this is a very quiet area, dead quiet, as in these gypsies were literally the only people who dont live on this street who walked down it today bar the postman.

what they do here is:

young female gypsy(usually with baby)comes to door and rings, bangs on the window and calls through the letterbox.

when you answer she spurts the usual incoherent plantiff whining

if you give her less than 5euro she complains and whines until you give her more or you slam the door in her face (politley telling her you dont have any more will not work)

all the while a male gypsy (usually between 17 - 22 years of age) is waiting just out of sight up the street - if you are old or inferm and you entertain the girl for too long, the guy will join her on the doorstep to ad 'weight' to the situation.

i know this probably makes me a big racist nazi but people who do this, especially targeting old folks are scum.

ferdi wrote:
    i know its no politically correct for me to suggest it but there is absolutley no doubt in my mind that it was the romany gypsies who stung my bike. this is a very quiet area, dead quiet, as in these gypsies were literally the only people who dont live on this street who walked down it today bar the postman.

what they do here is:

young female gypsy(usually with baby)comes to door and rings, bangs on the window and calls through the letterbox.

when you answer she spurts the usual incoherent plantiff whining

if you give her less than 5euro she complains and whines until you give her more or you slam the door in her face (politley telling her you dont have any more will not work)

all the while a male gypsy (usually between 17 - 22 years of age) is waiting just out of sight up the street - if you are old or inferm and you entertain the girl for too long, the guy will join her on the doorstep to ad 'weight' to the situation.

i know this probably makes me a big racist nazi but people who do this, especially targeting old folks are scum.

Politically correct? lol
    If this country spent more time worrying about the real issues facing it, than what is politically correct we'd all be a lot better off.
    These romany are not wanted in their own f*cking country let alone here; yet we let them in, pay them a wage for doing nothing and this is what they end up doing.

Just to add to your doorstep scenario; the guy waiting down the street can also be found at the backdoor or window seeing if he can gain easy access to the house whilst the owner is distracted. While there he may spot other consumables such as lawnmowers, garden tools or bikes (!). Rest assured that if he can't carry them , that he'll take a few pals back later to help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭grimloch

4Xcut wrote:
    They go to every other house on my road except mine, i think they told each other about me either that or they can sense not to come

i can unfortunately confirm this statement....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

Last week a pair of gypsies stole my grandmothers shopping from her doorstep. It had been delivered half an hour earlier than usual and she didnt get back from town in time. As the bus passed her house near the bus stop she noticed a man and a woman (who she said looked foreign) scurrying down the road with a load of shopping bags. She got home to only find the 1 bag left outside her door (which is off the road). She rang Dunnes Stores who told her that they delivered all the shopping and fair play to them, invited her back into the store for her to pick out her shopping again and have it redelivered for free!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,388 ✭✭✭d22ontour

Fast_Mover wrote:
    2days ago my cousins car was broken into outside his own house...expensive cd player/radio taken!!! scumbags is ryt!!! what is the world coming to with ****faces lik that!!!

his friends was up at 4am to go to work and he said the car was fine at that time and my cousin had goten up at 6am to go to work and had come out to find that nice surprise waiting for him...so obviously between those times it happened.

They knew what they were looking for coz my cousin has all tools and what not in the back and even his work mobile phone in the dash, al untouched!

So now on top of that he had to get a new window! he also nw contemplating an alarm!! :D

so funny coz when we talking about it he saying...jesus if i only f**king heard them..i wudnt even had put on underpants.. :D (had to be there!lol)

maybe coz i decent honest person i just cant understand how people can do that sort if thing!
    u have the likes of ye earning money through a hard days work and those assholes doing that sort of thing earning same money but for only 10seconds work and we left with a bill..paying for the damage they did to our property!!

as im on a rant here...last thing il say, if i did turn my hand to that kind of stuff i know it wudnt last long as id get f**king caught by the guards and the likes on them still on the go, eyeing up their next job!!!

apologies...but it just makes my blood boil...!! :mad:

Sorry to say this but you should tell your cousin it's 2005 and to leave an expensive cd player in a car with no alarm is kind of dumb,had it not got face-off ? While it's sad to hear it was whipped in all honesty if you make it easy for them they will take the opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

I always have to try damn hard to resist the temptation to take off my belt and hit the gurning old woman a whack when those Romanian Gypsies come around. What beats me is that they don't try their stuff in more upmarket areas, like Stillorgan, instead of out in the arse end of west Dublin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

i hate scum like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

those Romany Gypsies sound like losers

next time you see them shout LOSERS! LOSERS! at them

One of my mates friends brother from longford had loads of trouble with a bunch of gypsies. They tried to break into his big metal shed probably to get a lawnmower or something. They did this unsucessfully two nights in a row only to wake up the my friends brother and get a chase from him. The next night he hooked the door of the shed up to the mains and when they came around and tried to get in again they were hospitalised. He was prosecuted and ended up with a couple of months in jail. He also had to pay the gypsies alot of money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,584 ✭✭✭Diarmsquid

I made the mistake of giving them €2 once and then they asked for a bottle of 7up, i sed i dont have 7up so they sed fanta? coke? anything?
    i sed soory i dont have any.
    They sed "its 4 da baby"
    Da fat baby who looks like hes had enough to eat and drink already?
    And u wanna give him coke?

Give em a yard and they'll take a mile!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Diarmsquid wrote:
    Give em a yard and they'll take a mile!

yep,

losers alright

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Only Human wrote:
    One of my mates friends brother from longford had loads of trouble with a bunch of gypsies. They tried to break into his big metal shed probably to get a lawnmower or something. They did this unsucessfully two nights in a row only to wake up the my friends brother and get a chase from him. The next night he hooked the door of the shed up to the mains and when they came around and tried to get in again they were hospitalised. He was prosecuted and ended up with a couple of months in jail. He also had to pay the gypsies alot of money.

As I said already, beat them with there own legs !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭Quball15

Only Human wrote:

bwhaahah that is bloody hilarious! hooking the door up to the mains...ingenious :D its a shame that such ingenuity was punished, feckin robbin bastardos :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Only Human wrote:

It's stories like this that make me jealous of Texans.

At least they have some of their priorities straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 travelergirl2k

:mad: Im a gypsie. My dad owns 2 carpet shops so we got our money leggaliy. one of my grandads is an irish gypsie we go to vist them all the time i cant anser for ever gypsie but they dont delibritly set out to harm people. I am cause trouble a few times but no of us are angels all the time. U think where bad what about rapists,murders and peadophiles aint they worse than us. Some of us are just try to live our lives we wonty sum were to live and sum were for the kids to go to skool we dont ask for nuthin more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭goin'_to_the_PS

:mad: Im a gypsie. My dad owns 2 carpet shops so we got our money leggaliy. one of my grandads is an irish gypsie we go to vist them all the time i cant anser for ever gypsie but they dont delibritly set out to harm people. I am cause trouble a few times but no of us are angels all the time. U think where bad what about rapists,murders and peadophiles aint they worse than us. Some of us are just try to live our lives we wonty sum were to live and sum were for the kids to go to skool we dont ask for nuthin more.
    i feel there is a very unfair steriotypical view on travelers....
    off topic/ reminds me of a few years ago when those travelers camped next to the Rathfarnham shopping centre for over a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

If someone is honestly poor, and in need of help, then I don't mind them asking for some help.

Once I was in town though and a romany woman asking me for money had to stick out the hand of the arm she was holding her baby with, cause the other one was holding a mobile to her ear.

One thing I do hate though are agressive beggars. They have absolutely no entitlement to the money you work hard for, but rather than be gratefull that you gave them some of your money, they give out that it's not enough.
    If it's of no use to them, might aswell take it back, see what they say about that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 869 ✭✭✭goin'_to_the_PS

BizzyC wrote:
    If someone is honestly poor, and in need of help, then I don't mind them asking for some help.

Once I was in town though and a romany woman asking me for money had to stick out the hand of the arm she was holding her baby with, cause the other one was holding a mobile to her ear.

One thing I do hate though are agressive beggars. They have absolutely no entitlement to the money you work hard for, but rather than be gratefull that you gave them some of your money, they give out that it's not enough.
    If it's of no use to them, might aswell take it back, see what they say about that!
    There is one lady in town that goes around temple bar and she is very agressive in the way she confronts you. I never give money to foreigners, the other busker but not foreigners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Argument by anecdote just doesn't work.

I'd post on this, but I found a pretty good expression of the argument, so I'll copy and paste from [url=http://www.indymedia.ie/newswire.php?story_id=66108[/url]here[/url]:
    Every single person in Ireland has had many "bad encounters" with settled people, so what can we make of that? It is pretty racist to assign collective guilt to a whole culture on the basis of such anecdotal evidence.

"Everyone knows mainly through experience when growing up as a kid it is dangerous to even enter a Travellers camp or to walk past on the same side of the road of a major iternant encampment."

I don't know this and I had plenty of experience of it as a kid. Again, this type of argument by anecdote does little more than expose your own prejudices. Your fear and prejudices feed off each other.

And as for the rubbish; if you were to remove all sanitation services from any community, especially one as deprived and beset by social problems as the travellers are, and you will find that conditions deteriorate rapidly.

The truth of the matter is that most travellers have a far harder life than most of us. Statistics clearly show alarming differences in longevity, literacy and other basic indicators of poverty. When travellers have as easy a life as you have, you can start lecturing them on their manners.