Irish Names

• 16-05-2005 12:15AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭

After discovering a giant spider in my sisters room, i have put off sleep for awhile, so instead am browsing boards.

Anyway, I was thinking about it today.

Irish names. Like Seamus, Paddy, Mick, Ciaran, etc.

Thing is, I love female Irish names. Aisling, Grainne, Cloda, whatever.

I really have some strange dislike of the male ones for some reason, quite often they conjour images of farmers or country people with rosy cheeks and thick accents. Although some of them are ok. The ones I named above, I really dislike.

Don't ask why? :confused:

Anyway again, just wondering, what do people generally think of Irish names?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

There was a thread on this like a week ago wasn't there?
    However,I don't like em much. And as I said in the last one,anything with "og" after it is always terrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

Irish names. Like Seamus, Paddy, Mick, Ciaran, etc.

Thing is, I love female Irish names. Aisling, Grainne, Cloda, whatever.

I really have some strange dislike of the male ones for some reason, quite often they conjour images of farmers or country people with rosy cheeks and thick accents. Although some of them are ok. The ones I named above, I really dislike.

Don't ask why? :confused:
    I think you are confused. Whats wrong with farmers or country people?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Oh no OP,you've angered the farmers!
    Lock your doors tonight! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

LadyJ wrote:
    Oh no OP,you've angered the farmers!
    Lock your doors tonight! :D
    Ha Ha, I'm not a farmer. I live in the middle of a town near Cork! Is that too far outside the pale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,535 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Some of them are ok. I don't like the sound of some of them, like Sorcha or Aine.

(Apologies in advance to people with those names)

Some of them sound really nice, like Ciara and Ronan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Blisterman wrote:
    Some of them are ok. I don't like the sound of some of them, like Sorcha or Aine.

Agreed, those names and many ones like them are actually nice. Its just this thing I have about some of them..... :eek:

Apologies to anyone with these names.

I actually just realise now that one of the AH mods is called Seamus.

Eek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Blisterman wrote:

Sorcha-Aine is my name :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

You can't fool us interweb hackers!

Its Soccer Ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Mine too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

embee wrote:
    Sorcha-Aine is my name :(
    And ronan is mine..

Have some nyaah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

You can't fool us interweb hackers!

Its Soccer Ball!

Amen to that, brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

Argh i have me an irish name i do. And i love it. So bugger you if you dont like cause i do.

(course its not any of the above named so nyeahhhh!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Irish names are fine, as long as they dont get too... i dont know the word to go next but it refers to names such as Gobnait and that ilk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

After discovering a giant spider in my sisters room, i have put off sleep for awhile, so instead am browsing boards.

Wuss?

And why you sleep in your sisters room? Is there a PI post coming?

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Is it just me or do hardly any old people have Gaelic names but loads of young people?

As for me I suppose theres more irish names that dont float my boat than do. Clodagh, Aine, Fiona, Aileen.....despite knowing some incredibly hot birds with some of those names they just dont do it namewise (not that it would be an object to gettin ma thang on with them of course, theyre just not names id pick :) )

Really like the names Niamh and Naoise (pronounced Neesha), quite like Ciara too, and to a lesser extent Siobhan, Orla and Sinead

I sorta know a girl called Sorcha, she went out with a mate of mine briefly. Occasionally when i meet her out on the lash i always try to address her by name and fail on pronounciation
    I can never remember if she is Sorsha or Sor-ka :D ALWAYS get it wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

KdjaC wrote:
    Wuss?

And why you sleep in your sisters room? Is there a PI post coming?

kdjac

Sorry to spoil whatever fantasty has built up in your head, but her room is right next to mine, and after hearing horror stories about spider colonies feasting on discard crumbs and such under beds I avoided upstairs for awhile :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Tha Gopher wrote:

Really like the names Niamh and Naoise (pronounced Neesha)....

You do know Naoise is a lad's name don't you?

I know you are probably aware of this but given that every other name you mentioned was that of a girl's I had to check!

There are some cool Irish lads' names; Diorraing (prenounced "DERRING"), Diarmuid, Cathal, Rionn, Naoise (;)), Eimhin...

There are more I'm sure.. can't think of em now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

^^^^

Is it bollix, i only heard of it once, some absoloutely stunning blonde on that TG4 dating show was called it

Mans name me bollix

*sweats*

*gets nervous of what people think of him*

*logs out so as to post a "a guy on the net said im gay and I dont know what to do" message on Personal Issues*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

quite partial to Peadar myself....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭su_dios

well no one has mentioned mine so far..it's breffni. i don't really like it but love having an irish name. would def give my kid an irish name! sean and all are nice irish names but can be a bit cliché..especially in an irish school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Hester

Neil3030 wrote:
    You do know Naoise is a lad's name don't you?
    I know a few girls called Naoise but I've seen it listed in a book of Irish names as a male name.

Wasn't there a male Naoise in some old Irish story? I vaguely remember doing it in Leaving Cert Irish... Deirdre fell in love with him I think.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

ya he was the hero!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Neil3030 wrote:
    There are some cool Irish lads' names; Diorraing (prenounced "DERRING"), Diarmuid, Cathal, Rionn, Naoise (;)), Eimhin...

There are more I'm sure.. can't think of em now..

Well thank you!!! My name happens to be listed above, so does my eldest brothers name. I like Irish names. All of us four kids in my family have Irish names, as does my dad, he's Padraig.

What really annoys me is double barrell names, like anne-marie, carol-ann, mary-kate, marie-gerard, michael-john, tim-joe, john-michael, john-simon, john-paul, I think ye get the point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭ArthurDent

Hester wrote:
    I know a few girls called Naoise but I've seen it listed in a book of Irish names as a male name.

Wasn't there a male Naoise in some old Irish story? I vaguely remember doing it in Leaving Cert Irish... Deirdre fell in love with him I think.

here's a link :)
    http://www.shee-eire.com/Magic&Mythology/Warriors&Heroes/Warriors/Males/Naoise-Mac-Uisnech/Page1.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I think there are good and bad Irish names - I like names like Aisling, Seán, Diarmuid, Sadbh, Rónan, Niamh, Caitríona etc; however, I'm not too fond of the names Bríd, Máire (they're old woman names!), Peadar, Pól, Micheál, Úna, etc
    I think the worst Irish name of all time is Pádraigín - I mean, it's a girls name! What's with that? In fairness though, a guys name with a random ending stuck on it to make it female doesn't usually work in any language - think Patricia, Nigella, Roberta (ugh). Nicola works though. Hmmm.

Ok, I'm aware I may have offended anyone reading this who has one of those names - sorry, it's just personal opinion!

Speaking as someone with an Irish name (Ailbhe, pronounced 'Alva'), it's a really annoying thing to have in many respects. People either pronounce it wrong when they're trying to read it, or they spell it wrong when they're trying to write it. I've been called everything from Al-vee, Ail-buh-huh and Alpha to Aoife and Abigail (?); I've received Christmas cards and party invitations with everything from Alva to Albha to Aiolbhie. I mean, it's six letters! It's not that hard!!

Well I'm a Dónal. I used to hate my name cos I didn't know any others but I can't say I don't like it now. Viva.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Fishie wrote:
    Speaking as someone with an Irish name (Ailbhe, pronounced 'Alva'), it's a really annoying thing to have in many respects. People either pronounce it wrong when they're trying to read it, or they spell it wrong when they're trying to write it. I've been called everything from Al-vee, Ail-buh-huh and Alpha to Aoife and Abigail (?); I've received Christmas cards and party invitations with everything from Alva to Albha to Aiolbhie. I mean, it's six letters! It's not that hard!!

Yeah have to agree with you there... My name is Lasra & I spell on average 40 times a day on the phone... Everyone in works knows the origins of it inside out & they all burst out laughing when I have to explain it to the millionth person. That said I'd much prefer having an unusual name and not one that loads of other people have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

LadyJ wrote:
    There was a thread on this like a week ago wasn't there?
    However,I don't like em much. And as I said in the last one,anything with "og" after it is always terrible!

yeah, people called "og" are the lowest of the low
    very annoying

losers! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,252 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I've always liked Setanta.