Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Names

• 15-05-2005 11:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭

After discovering a giant spider in my sisters room, i have put off sleep for awhile, so instead am browsing boards.

Anyway, I was thinking about it today.

Irish names. Like Seamus, Paddy, Mick, Ciaran, etc.

Thing is, I love female Irish names. Aisling, Grainne, Cloda, whatever.

I really have some strange dislike of the male ones for some reason, quite often they conjour images of farmers or country people with rosy cheeks and thick accents. Although some of them are ok. The ones I named above, I really dislike.

Don't ask why? :confused:

Anyway again, just wondering, what do people generally think of Irish names?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

There was a thread on this like a week ago wasn't there?
    However,I don't like em much. And as I said in the last one,anything with "og" after it is always terrible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

Irish names. Like Seamus, Paddy, Mick, Ciaran, etc.

Thing is, I love female Irish names. Aisling, Grainne, Cloda, whatever.

I really have some strange dislike of the male ones for some reason, quite often they conjour images of farmers or country people with rosy cheeks and thick accents. Although some of them are ok. The ones I named above, I really dislike.

Don't ask why? :confused:
    I think you are confused. Whats wrong with farmers or country people?

Oh no OP,you've angered the farmers!
    Lock your doors tonight! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭KnowItAll

LadyJ wrote:
    Oh no OP,you've angered the farmers!
    Lock your doors tonight! :D
    Ha Ha, I'm not a farmer. I live in the middle of a town near Cork! Is that too far outside the pale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Some of them are ok. I don't like the sound of some of them, like Sorcha or Aine.

(Apologies in advance to people with those names)

Some of them sound really nice, like Ciara and Ronan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Blisterman wrote:
    Some of them are ok. I don't like the sound of some of them, like Sorcha or Aine.

Agreed, those names and many ones like them are actually nice. Its just this thing I have about some of them..... :eek:

Apologies to anyone with these names.

I actually just realise now that one of the AH mods is called Seamus.

Eek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Blisterman wrote:

Sorcha-Aine is my name :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

You can't fool us interweb hackers!

Its Soccer Ball!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Mine too :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

embee wrote:
    Sorcha-Aine is my name :(
    And ronan is mine..

Have some nyaah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

You can't fool us interweb hackers!

Its Soccer Ball!

Amen to that, brother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

Argh i have me an irish name i do. And i love it. So bugger you if you dont like cause i do.

(course its not any of the above named so nyeahhhh!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Irish names are fine, as long as they dont get too... i dont know the word to go next but it refers to names such as Gobnait and that ilk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

After discovering a giant spider in my sisters room, i have put off sleep for awhile, so instead am browsing boards.

Wuss?

And why you sleep in your sisters room? Is there a PI post coming?

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Is it just me or do hardly any old people have Gaelic names but loads of young people?

As for me I suppose theres more irish names that dont float my boat than do. Clodagh, Aine, Fiona, Aileen.....despite knowing some incredibly hot birds with some of those names they just dont do it namewise (not that it would be an object to gettin ma thang on with them of course, theyre just not names id pick :) )

Really like the names Niamh and Naoise (pronounced Neesha), quite like Ciara too, and to a lesser extent Siobhan, Orla and Sinead

I sorta know a girl called Sorcha, she went out with a mate of mine briefly. Occasionally when i meet her out on the lash i always try to address her by name and fail on pronounciation
    I can never remember if she is Sorsha or Sor-ka :D ALWAYS get it wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

KdjaC wrote:
    Wuss?

And why you sleep in your sisters room? Is there a PI post coming?

kdjac

Sorry to spoil whatever fantasty has built up in your head, but her room is right next to mine, and after hearing horror stories about spider colonies feasting on discard crumbs and such under beds I avoided upstairs for awhile :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Tha Gopher wrote:

Really like the names Niamh and Naoise (pronounced Neesha)....

You do know Naoise is a lad's name don't you?

I know you are probably aware of this but given that every other name you mentioned was that of a girl's I had to check!

There are some cool Irish lads' names; Diorraing (prenounced "DERRING"), Diarmuid, Cathal, Rionn, Naoise (;)), Eimhin...

There are more I'm sure.. can't think of em now..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

^^^^

Is it bollix, i only heard of it once, some absoloutely stunning blonde on that TG4 dating show was called it

Mans name me bollix

*sweats*

*gets nervous of what people think of him*

*logs out so as to post a "a guy on the net said im gay and I dont know what to do" message on Personal Issues*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

quite partial to Peadar myself....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭su_dios

well no one has mentioned mine so far..it's breffni. i don't really like it but love having an irish name. would def give my kid an irish name! sean and all are nice irish names but can be a bit cliché..especially in an irish school

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭Hester

Neil3030 wrote:
    You do know Naoise is a lad's name don't you?
    I know a few girls called Naoise but I've seen it listed in a book of Irish names as a male name.

Wasn't there a male Naoise in some old Irish story? I vaguely remember doing it in Leaving Cert Irish... Deirdre fell in love with him I think.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

ya he was the hero!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

Neil3030 wrote:
    There are some cool Irish lads' names; Diorraing (prenounced "DERRING"), Diarmuid, Cathal, Rionn, Naoise (;)), Eimhin...

There are more I'm sure.. can't think of em now..

Well thank you!!! My name happens to be listed above, so does my eldest brothers name. I like Irish names. All of us four kids in my family have Irish names, as does my dad, he's Padraig.

What really annoys me is double barrell names, like anne-marie, carol-ann, mary-kate, marie-gerard, michael-john, tim-joe, john-michael, john-simon, john-paul, I think ye get the point!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 915 ✭✭✭ArthurDent

Hester wrote:
    I know a few girls called Naoise but I've seen it listed in a book of Irish names as a male name.

Wasn't there a male Naoise in some old Irish story? I vaguely remember doing it in Leaving Cert Irish... Deirdre fell in love with him I think.

here's a link :)
    http://www.shee-eire.com/Magic&Mythology/Warriors&Heroes/Warriors/Males/Naoise-Mac-Uisnech/Page1.htm

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 11,362 ✭✭✭✭Scarinae

I think there are good and bad Irish names - I like names like Aisling, Seán, Diarmuid, Sadbh, Rónan, Niamh, Caitríona etc; however, I'm not too fond of the names Bríd, Máire (they're old woman names!), Peadar, Pól, Micheál, Úna, etc
    I think the worst Irish name of all time is Pádraigín - I mean, it's a girls name! What's with that? In fairness though, a guys name with a random ending stuck on it to make it female doesn't usually work in any language - think Patricia, Nigella, Roberta (ugh). Nicola works though. Hmmm.

Ok, I'm aware I may have offended anyone reading this who has one of those names - sorry, it's just personal opinion!

Speaking as someone with an Irish name (Ailbhe, pronounced 'Alva'), it's a really annoying thing to have in many respects. People either pronounce it wrong when they're trying to read it, or they spell it wrong when they're trying to write it. I've been called everything from Al-vee, Ail-buh-huh and Alpha to Aoife and Abigail (?); I've received Christmas cards and party invitations with everything from Alva to Albha to Aiolbhie. I mean, it's six letters! It's not that hard!!

Well I'm a Dónal. I used to hate my name cos I didn't know any others but I can't say I don't like it now. Viva.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭Oral Slang

Fishie wrote:
    Speaking as someone with an Irish name (Ailbhe, pronounced 'Alva'), it's a really annoying thing to have in many respects. People either pronounce it wrong when they're trying to read it, or they spell it wrong when they're trying to write it. I've been called everything from Al-vee, Ail-buh-huh and Alpha to Aoife and Abigail (?); I've received Christmas cards and party invitations with everything from Alva to Albha to Aiolbhie. I mean, it's six letters! It's not that hard!!

Yeah have to agree with you there... My name is Lasra & I spell on average 40 times a day on the phone... Everyone in works knows the origins of it inside out & they all burst out laughing when I have to explain it to the millionth person. That said I'd much prefer having an unusual name and not one that loads of other people have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

LadyJ wrote:
    However,I don't like em much. And as I said in the last one,anything with "og" after it is always terrible!

yeah, people called "og" are the lowest of the low
    very annoying

losers! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I've always liked Setanta.

Yeah,Setanta is a great name! I thought it was Satanta though....
    Not quite Santa,not quite Satan....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

memphis wrote:
    What really annoys me is double barrell names, like anne-marie, carol-ann, mary-kate, marie-gerard, michael-john, tim-joe, john-michael, john-simon, john-paul, I think ye get the point!

a sure sign of selfish and greedy parents

also double-barrelled surnames - people with these are bound to be hassle

Yeah,jesus,double-barrell names are a curse!
    I heard of a guy who's last name was Gibson-Brabson.
    I mean how ****ing hard is that to say?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Nice Irish names for girls would be Sinead and Niamh .

Good Irish names for lads are Ciaran and Setanta .

My name in Irish is Tadhg , im happy enough with it but I don't know I would be if it was my proper name .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭smileygal

I find that foreigners generally make more of an effort to spell my name.
    Websites and mobiles that don't accept a fada are sooo annoying I don't bother anymore.

Upside is that an Irish name is a good icebreaker when you're abroad :cool:

Would not inflict a child with a Gobnait-type irish name tho..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭JimboPope

Man I hate them Irish names, I went to an all irish primary and secondary school with a bunch of lads named Fiachra, Oisín and Cáca Milish and rubbish names like that, I pitied the poor blokes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭memphis

A cool Irish name for a lad is Fionn (as in McCual) please feel free to correct the spelling for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

JimboPope wrote:
    Cáca Milish

Best Irish name ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Hanginthere

Insulting my name................... Ciaran. Even though some of my strange friends in college call me "Quabe" "After Aberham which I like and quagmire which is just genius :D"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Setanta is always spelt "Setanta" in books anyway. It was Cuchulainn's original name before he killed the hound of Culainn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭marshmallow

My name is Odharnait. (Pronounced Or-nith)
    Anyone ever heard of it? Most people haven't and it's so hard for people to say it correctly even though it's not hard to pronounce! It's just the spelling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Irish names are some of the nicest sounding ones you could have tbh, names like Níamh and Ciara and Aishling for females and Caomhín [sp?], Oisín and Padraig. I would have liked to be given my Irish name after birth ( Dara ) but oh well :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

is there a website anyway that gives meanings for Irish names?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

So Naoise is now a girlie name? Deirdre of the Sorrows is now a lesbian romp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

My name is Cormac. I like my name :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Funk Daddy

KnowItAll wrote:
    I think you are confused. Whats wrong with farmers or country people?
    lol - they are smelly, inbred, behind the times with fashion, music and popular culture, they have fat heads, they have 4 TV channels, their accent is stupid and sounds inbred, their lives suck (of course, they don't realise, nor will they ever admit it), they live in crappy small towns with nothing to do except drink, they cant 'choose' their mates because only 6 people live in the town - not exactly spoilt for choice with women either, they have to travel ages to a supermarket, the younger boggers think music from 1992 is still hip (e.g. whigfield and "Alice! Alice! Who the f*ck is Alice?"), they can't dance, they wear naff clothes, their life's ambition is to get tickets for The Late Late Show or get on Winning Streak, they drink too much tea and say "aaaaah" after their first sip, they wear big clunky dock martins, they LIVE for GAA, they all have a chip on their shoulder about Dublin people (pure jealousy - although they'll never admit it, of course).

An another note - I think girl's Irish names are cool, but bloke's sound tacky. There are a few exceptions in both cases, but that's a fair generalisation IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

My name is Odharnait. (Pronounced Or-nith)
    Anyone ever heard of it? Most people haven't and it's so hard for people to say it correctly even though it's not hard to pronounce! It's just the spelling!

Yes, i have a cousin with the same name. it's pretty cool.
    Yes i have an irish name, and i'd not change it at all. i pity all the poor fools who have to try spell it/ pronounce it tho ( Yes, it's Ruaidhrì ). Other irish names that are cool are Sìofra, Èanna, Deirdre, Fionn.. list goes on.

I think irish name are cool, because they actually mean something! like fionn = fair ( as in fair hair ) Sìofra = miscevous fairy ( yes, really! ) Ruaidhrì = Red king / King of Ireland.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Mossy Monk wrote:
    is there a website anyway that gives meanings for Irish names?
    www.babynamesofireland.com is the best I found.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

LadyJ wrote:

True, but I once knew a girl called Saileog pronounced "Salyoge" and thought it sounded nice. She was pretty hot though, may have swayed my opinion.

I also knew a girl called Naoise, if thats the one pronounced "Nassa"

I was christened Ruairi and disliked it so much I reinvented myself as Rory, (Queen loving prick I know)

Ruaan I quite like. Niamh and Sorcha too. Have a friend called Iseult and the shortened version "Izzy" is good.

Caoimhin is such a horrid name, no way I'd trust someone with that name!

Funk Daddy wrote:
    lol - they are smelly, inbred, behind the times with fashion, music and popular culture, they have fat heads, they have 4 TV channels, their accent is stupid and sounds inbred, their lives suck (of course, they don't realise, nor will they ever admit it), they live in crappy small towns with nothing to do except drink, they cant 'choose' their mates because only 6 people live in the town - not exactly spoilt for choice with women either, they have to travel ages to a supermarket, the younger boggers think music from 1992 is still hip (e.g. whigfield and "Alice! Alice! Who the f*ck is Alice?"), they can't dance, they wear naff clothes, their life's ambition is to get tickets for The Late Late Show or get on Winning Streak, they drink too much tea and say "aaaaah" after their first sip, they wear big clunky dock martins, they LIVE for GAA, they all have a chip on their shoulder about Dublin people (pure jealousy - although they'll never admit it, of course).

An another note - I think girl's Irish names are cool, but bloke's sound tacky. There are a few exceptions in both cases, but that's a fair generalisation IMO.

Eh.... Get yourself laid you bitter bitter man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭GUBU

Funk Daddy wrote:

I love it when Dubliners display just how arrogant and ignorant they are (and believe me, I'm not jealous). Congratulations on insulting just about everyone outside the Pale.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand....I love most Irish names and there's quite a few in my family, as first or middle names. (Niall, Aoife, Dónal, Ciaran, Oisín, Siobhán). They're very common in my school and in the area in general, usually fairly traditional ones like Seán, Tadgh, Seamus, Aoife, Ciara, Maedhbh, Eoghan, Aisling etc.

I agree that some names are a bit over-the-top, sound made up or are just plain ugly - Gobnait? Odhran? You'd scar a child for life with a name like that! I also don't like some Irish names for reasons unknown - Fionnuala and Fiona are two that I instinctively dislike - no offence to anyone with those names of course.