Guy with microphone who tells jokes top of Grafton St and at the square in Temple Bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Papschmir

Fishing desperately for compliments and attention…it’s him alright!

But don’t be too disheartened Dave, as the comedy isn’t really working out for you, you could always start a family musical act with yourself on guitar and your dad on the fiddle.

Or if the musical act failed, I could always just register as "DublinMusicalAct" to make me feel better about my lack of ability in that field.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭shelsfan

Did anyone ever see the crazy Scottish religious dude in that area preaching?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭JP Mulvano

Papschmir wrote:
    Or if the musical act failed, I could always just register as "DublinMusicalAct" to make me feel better about my lack of ability in that field.

Ha look there he is admiting he's Mc****!! Caught in your own lies!! hahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

shelsfan wrote:
    Did anyone ever see the crazy Scottish religious dude in that area preaching?
    Yes. And the Hare Krishnas are a complete hoot when they do that conga-line thing down Grafton St. Actually, the last time I saw them they were really good and had almost a drum n bass thing going on!

Does anyone remember Holy Mary of O'Connel St.? I'm showing my age, but she was always in the island in the middle of O'Connell St. just where Henry St. began. She was middle aged and used to walk up and down holding out the Rosary and singing in an operatic style. Quite well turned out for a looney. She was there from the mid-70's to the mid-80's. At the end, her voice was completely shot and he used to just 'mime' the words. Quite sad really. I heard she was once an up and coming opera singer who had some tragedy and just went nuts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

holy mary was back for a while not so long ago, she was "vogueing" way before madonna
    i dont think the opera story is true but aparently she was very wealthy & went a bit religion nuts .drove her husband mental too with all her bead jiggling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭Papschmir

JP Mulvano wrote:
    Ha look there he is admiting he's Mc****!! Caught in your own lies!! hahaha

?

Kingsize wrote:
    holy mary was back for a while not so long ago
    You're kidding! I thought she died ages ago.

The other mad auld one is that one that dresses in black with the tricolour ribbon.

The interesting story about her is that her picture was on the first Hothouse Flowers LP ("People") as part of a collage of photos.

The only problem was that they forgot to clear it with her first. Apparantly she went nuts when the LP was released and she saw herself plastered all over the window display at Golden Discs!

They had to recall and redesign all the covers/posters for the LP.

Here's the original: http://gilliver.net/hothouse/pix/people_alt.jpg
    Revised version: http://gilliver.net/hothouse/discog/people.html

i always thought it had something to do with the international release of that album (anyhoo way off topic )
    yeah holy mary was back late lat year maybe even more recently she still looks the same age as she did when i was a kid so maybe shes doing somethin right.
    i think the other old dear died.
    anyone remember the(frequently drunk) priest who used to drink in the neptune bar??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Papschmir if you really are Dave McSavage! High 5 man!

I think he is really funny. The tourists idolise him and the skangers hate him but everybody hates skangers so **** them too!! I remember one time I was watching him with my friends and a bottle was thrown at his general direction(a plastic one)!

He just looked over and said something(which i can not remember) but it was really funny and everyone was throwing looks at the dodgy skangers! I think he is funny. Really funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,423 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Papschmir wrote:
    ****bag
    Are you still here?

Banned.

Just thought I would add that i wish Dave MacSavage was in my college! I would be best mates with him!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Having had the severe misfortune to have dealt with McSavage once or twice in my life, I can safely say that in my opinion, he is one abusive and horrible person.

Every time I see him I swear I start to twitch. And I've only ever seen his "comedy" routine once, where he ridiculed handicapped and blind people - classy. And not even in a vaguely humourous fashion - just a litany of abuse.

In my book, he's filed under 'w@nker'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,192 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

I've never heard of this McSavage fellow...but im reliably informed he's crap, not funny, annoying, and a twat. I dont know. Or at least i didn't untill he came along as Papschmir and confirmed all of the above.

I no longer care. Enjoy your "career". I hope for my sake i never hear from or about you again, and i've a funny feeling i wont.

Harsh harsh harsh!

Why the hatred lads!? Friday is not that far off...just relax!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

I think he's pretty funny. Typical Irish humour slagging off people generally...

I know his show at this stage is pretty repetitive, but his market is tourists, and if a tourist sees his performance once and enjoys it, well thats good from his perspective. He makes a bit of cash. We all have to.

Some of his routines with the scumbags are very funny. In temple bar a few times ive seen scumbags come up to him and give him **** and he's talked his way out of situation through comedy and you have to admire him for that...

I can understand peoples annoyance with him, but i think its good to have entertainers like him around dublins streets....

On another note has anyone else ever seen that guy at the stephens green end of grafton st that kills beatles songs all day??? long curly hair, big round john lennon glasses.... I thought it had to be from a hidden camera show or something like that, but ive seen him a few times now... he's brutal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭JackKelly

not funny in the slightest. What's worse is he's had the same routine for at least a year and a half. His "jokes" are always at the expense of some randomer which is pretty sad. Also, he seems like a total prick. Any time i've seen/heard him off the mic, he has been an absolute sap. Ripping it out of kids that come up to him with money.

"i wish Dave MacSavage was in my college! "

MATURE STUDENT ? TUTOR OR JANITOR ?

Lecturer!

touche! actually that i would pay to see :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

He sounds dreadful.

Think I passed him a few times but like lots of people in big cities I am good at "not seeing" stuff that doesn't concern me.

Jack Dee said that if a comedian is going to slag people off, they need to always let the last laugh be on themselves. Tom Green was the butt of his most outrageous comedy, and Bill Hicks certainly would put himself down in funny manners.

I think a lot of his apparent popularity is because he is performing in places where there are lots of tourists, and I'm guessing they make up the most appreciative element of his crowd. Tourists are on holiday, want to find things funny, and are going to be more appreciative of what might come across as "genuine irish" things while they are here.
    I remember the Bok playing trad in T & H Doolins in Waterford, which was packed with polite Euroipean tourists. Usually he would be virtually backgorund noise, but the tourists were listening to him as though he was a masterful performer, and gving big appreciative applause at the end of his songs.

I can think of a few other examples where a performers crowd size and interest was more down to context than talent. A juggler in Boston at this street arts festival had a huge crowd acting like he was great. There was nothing he could do that several people I know of (and myself) couldn't, and a few more besides.

McSavage does sound fairly childish, and crap really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,475 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

pwd wrote:
    I remember the Bok playing trad in T & H Doolins in Waterford, which was packed with polite Euroipean tourists. Usually he would be virtually backgorund noise, but the tourists were listening to him as though he was a masterful performer, and gving big appreciative applause at the end of his songs.

feckin hell, The Bok!! I remember he used to play upstairs in the Roxy back in the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Who's the Bok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,284 ✭✭✭pwd

he's a fat guy in his forties or so who plays trad music in pubs in Waterford on a guitar. Seems drunk most of the time and wears sweatbands.

reactor :way off topic but whats the story with "On the 15th February 2003 100,000 Irish People were ignored by Fianna Fáil"( & why does it not surprise me??)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,534 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Was that the Nice Treaty?

Kingsize wrote:
    "i wish Dave MacSavage was in my college! "

MATURE STUDENT ? TUTOR OR JANITOR ?
    You forgot 'Specimen in a Jar' as the fourth option.

I think we should all get 'Death to Papschmir' tee-shirts printed up and go along to his 'gig' in Temple Bar this Saturday. Now that he's got a lifetime ban from AH we can hatch our fiendish little plans...muaw haw haw!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 229 ✭✭ExOffender

I don't really object, (particularly if he is McSavage), but why exactly was Papschmir banned?

i think it was the fact that he couldn't actually engage in a debate
    but instead proved to be a mater of repartee i.e. he was calling everyone who interacted with him a tw@

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Kingsize wrote:
    i think it was the fact that he couldn't actually engage in a debate
    but instead proved to be a mater of repartee i.e. he was calling everyone who interacted with him a tw@

You know something? If Papaschmir (or whatever) is McSavage, maybe this is simply the way he talks. Maybe when he is standing in Temple Bar insulting everyone he isn't actually doing comedy - he is just a crazy man with a microphone insulting people.

It's the best explanation yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Son_of_Belial

I am MAN wrote:
    If you're talking about David McSavage I disagree with you
    Yeah, I like him. Honestly, get a sense of humour! He actually does the warm-up for the Late Late Show! If you actually speak to him in person he's a really cool guy. Look, he has a massive crowd around him, if you skirt the crowd, chances are he won't see you. If however you stroll happily by right in front of him, you're asking for trouble. I made this mistake and he gave the following, which I thought was quite funny. I laughed:
    DMcS: OK, you just walk on through my show then... Tosser... How would you like it if I walk through your bedroom tonight... When you're trying to perform...
    Priceless. You have to laugh. Honestly, he really is a lovely chap and he never means any offence to anyone personally.