spirit niteclub

• 09-04-2005 11:49PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭

Full of posers or full of scum? Thinking of going.

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Jammer

bit of both. bit of a ghetto aswel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

Full of people. Don't mean to be smart there but seriously it's just a normal night club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

a normal nightclub full of posers and scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,936 ✭✭✭fade2black

yes, like any normal nightclub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,320 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

not really.

it all depends what you want from a night out, its your looking for a laugh and that it then spirit will be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭alantc

looking to dance the night away, but likemost of us, have a deep hatred of the friendly locals (scum). Ive only ever been there on student nights which dont really show me what its like on 'real' nights out.

andrew's lane theatre. anybody any opinion on the bar here. pretty much gaurnteed not to be scum but i'd like to know more about it too.

W.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

if in doubt, try it

Dats me moto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

well if you go in with a negative view it will be hard to enjoy yourt self , but as tunes and dance go its good, not really a "sit down and chat" type of place, you can buzz off people and it is a bit nicer than alot of other clubs.
    give it a shot, it won't hurt!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

its ok but its a mixed crowd
    if your a poser you'll hate the scobes...if your a scobe, you'll hate all the posers, its a lose / lose situation

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Its who your with, not where yea are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

full of scum.

Been there twice. Been robbed twice. Never going again. :mad:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I got taken into a room with bouncers and got a punch in the face for dancing with the dancers! Jerks barred me too

Thats assault. Go to the garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,962 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Yeah theres alot of dodgy stories going around about the bouncers at Spirit.

I think Spirits good and i have never had any trouble from scum at all there,but then again never in my life have I ever had trouble with scum,maybe there attracted to certain people.Anyways I think you should you go its a good laugh and plays good music.
    Borderline sausage fest last time I went though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

The bouncers in Spirit are cool in my experience, they just laughed at me dancing with the dancers. I went out with one of the barmaids from there for a while too. Never thought it was a great club though. Bit too big for my liking but Im a n old fogey these days I reckon, I just like a decent pub with a live band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭plenderj

What's it like? Strict to mythological stories or purely neauveau fantastical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Thats assault. Go to the garda.
    Nah, same happened in a prominent Carlow club one night. The bouncers kicked the **** out of some guys for v.little, guards arrived, handcuffed the guys, and the bouncers brought them to some backrooms and practically tortured them ie, hitting them int places where no marks would be left, bending back their toes etc. and nothing was done about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Cavman

its good if your not out to pull and you like dance music, plenty of knacker's
    and knacker's who think there loaded. only go on thursday,

i was so giddy they just kicked me out after, my mate who was up with me just got pused off, it was odd, i gave them hell outside and police came over and did nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Hash Boy

What's a "scobe"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭jimi_t

Scobe - knacker, tinker, scum. All the same.

Never had any trouble in spirit, nice place and you can talk fine on the lower levels. The music on the top level gets pretty good around midnight and the dancers etc are always a laugh. That said we used to get free passes so it wasn't like we were actually paying the 20 odd euro it is on saturdays... Unbelievably easy to get into as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I like it, its cool. You can change places depending on your differing moods.
    Start off on the lower level, get drunk, start fun dancing on the middle level, then as the night goes on head on up to the top level for some heavy dancing, then finish on the lower level relaxing on the coachs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

ColHol wrote:
    Nah, same happened in a prominent Carlow club one night. The bouncers kicked the **** out of some guys for v.little, guards arrived, handcuffed the guys, and the bouncers brought them to some backrooms and practically tortured them ie, hitting them int places where no marks would be left, bending back their toes etc. and nothing was done about it

God bless the Gardaí. Sounds a bit fishy though, a bit three eyed fishy to be honest. Deja-moo.

ColHol wrote:

stories like that really p1ss me off... who the hell do these guys think they are??? its not like its fcuking LA of Las Vegas or something like that... Carlow FFS!!!!

If that was me... revenge would be dealt...

stories like that really p1ss me off... who the hell do these guys think they are??? its not like its fcuking LA of Las Vegas or something like that... Carlow FFS!!!!

If that was me... revenge would be dealt...

Isnt that why yerman was shot in the head last week, a disgruntled customer he had thrown out a week or two before.

I do agree by the way, boucers are scum, although that is another thread altogether.

joejoem wrote:
    Isnt that why yerman was shot in the head last week, a disgruntled customer he had thrown out a week or two before.

I do agree by the way, boucers are scum, although that is another thread altogether.

When talking about revenge i wasn't really talking about that style of revenge... thats a bit much, but i suppose when bouncers are doing this type of thing, they dont really know who they are dealing with. It could be some nutcase who would have no problem shooting someone in the head, as it turned out to be in this scenario, or it could be a regular joe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

The bouncers in Spirit are f**king w**kers. End of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

pretentious hole

paperclip wrote:
    pretentious hole

Thats what I call the Bird

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,464 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I thought spirit was very good the 1st time I went, wasnt like other nightclubs in Dublin at the time in that it had male and female dancers and "holistic therapy rooms" etc and it originally opened till 4 or 5 am but after going a few times it all became very repetitive and boring same dance routines, same music, same mile long que to get ur coat, and they only open till 3 now for some reason... Also a lot of dodgy looking characters inquiring about the availability of "yokes".....