Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

spirit niteclub

• 09-04-2005 10:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭

Full of posers or full of scum? Thinking of going.

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,891 ✭✭✭Jammer

bit of both. bit of a ghetto aswel

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

Full of people. Don't mean to be smart there but seriously it's just a normal night club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

a normal nightclub full of posers and scum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,937 ✭✭✭fade2black

yes, like any normal nightclub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

not really.

it all depends what you want from a night out, its your looking for a laugh and that it then spirit will be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭alantc

looking to dance the night away, but likemost of us, have a deep hatred of the friendly locals (scum). Ive only ever been there on student nights which dont really show me what its like on 'real' nights out.

andrew's lane theatre. anybody any opinion on the bar here. pretty much gaurnteed not to be scum but i'd like to know more about it too.

W.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

if in doubt, try it

Dats me moto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

well if you go in with a negative view it will be hard to enjoy yourt self , but as tunes and dance go its good, not really a "sit down and chat" type of place, you can buzz off people and it is a bit nicer than alot of other clubs.
    give it a shot, it won't hurt!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

its ok but its a mixed crowd
    if your a poser you'll hate the scobes...if your a scobe, you'll hate all the posers, its a lose / lose situation

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

Its who your with, not where yea are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,889 ✭✭✭Third_Echelon

full of scum.

Been there twice. Been robbed twice. Never going again. :mad:

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I got taken into a room with bouncers and got a punch in the face for dancing with the dancers! Jerks barred me too

Thats assault. Go to the garda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,963 ✭✭✭SpAcEd OuT

Yeah theres alot of dodgy stories going around about the bouncers at Spirit.

I think Spirits good and i have never had any trouble from scum at all there,but then again never in my life have I ever had trouble with scum,maybe there attracted to certain people.Anyways I think you should you go its a good laugh and plays good music.
    Borderline sausage fest last time I went though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

The bouncers in Spirit are cool in my experience, they just laughed at me dancing with the dancers. I went out with one of the barmaids from there for a while too. Never thought it was a great club though. Bit too big for my liking but Im a n old fogey these days I reckon, I just like a decent pub with a live band.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭plenderj

What's it like? Strict to mythological stories or purely neauveau fantastical?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,745 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Thats assault. Go to the garda.
    Nah, same happened in a prominent Carlow club one night. The bouncers kicked the **** out of some guys for v.little, guards arrived, handcuffed the guys, and the bouncers brought them to some backrooms and practically tortured them ie, hitting them int places where no marks would be left, bending back their toes etc. and nothing was done about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Cavman

its good if your not out to pull and you like dance music, plenty of knacker's
    and knacker's who think there loaded. only go on thursday,

i was so giddy they just kicked me out after, my mate who was up with me just got pused off, it was odd, i gave them hell outside and police came over and did nothing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Hash Boy

What's a "scobe"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭jimi_t

Scobe - knacker, tinker, scum. All the same.

Never had any trouble in spirit, nice place and you can talk fine on the lower levels. The music on the top level gets pretty good around midnight and the dancers etc are always a laugh. That said we used to get free passes so it wasn't like we were actually paying the 20 odd euro it is on saturdays... Unbelievably easy to get into as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I like it, its cool. You can change places depending on your differing moods.
    Start off on the lower level, get drunk, start fun dancing on the middle level, then as the night goes on head on up to the top level for some heavy dancing, then finish on the lower level relaxing on the coachs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

ColHol wrote:
    Nah, same happened in a prominent Carlow club one night. The bouncers kicked the **** out of some guys for v.little, guards arrived, handcuffed the guys, and the bouncers brought them to some backrooms and practically tortured them ie, hitting them int places where no marks would be left, bending back their toes etc. and nothing was done about it

God bless the Gardaí. Sounds a bit fishy though, a bit three eyed fishy to be honest. Deja-moo.

ColHol wrote:

stories like that really p1ss me off... who the hell do these guys think they are??? its not like its fcuking LA of Las Vegas or something like that... Carlow FFS!!!!

If that was me... revenge would be dealt...

stories like that really p1ss me off... who the hell do these guys think they are??? its not like its fcuking LA of Las Vegas or something like that... Carlow FFS!!!!

If that was me... revenge would be dealt...

Isnt that why yerman was shot in the head last week, a disgruntled customer he had thrown out a week or two before.

I do agree by the way, boucers are scum, although that is another thread altogether.

joejoem wrote:
    Isnt that why yerman was shot in the head last week, a disgruntled customer he had thrown out a week or two before.

I do agree by the way, boucers are scum, although that is another thread altogether.

When talking about revenge i wasn't really talking about that style of revenge... thats a bit much, but i suppose when bouncers are doing this type of thing, they dont really know who they are dealing with. It could be some nutcase who would have no problem shooting someone in the head, as it turned out to be in this scenario, or it could be a regular joe...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

The bouncers in Spirit are f**king w**kers. End of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

pretentious hole

paperclip wrote:
    pretentious hole

Thats what I call the Bird

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I thought spirit was very good the 1st time I went, wasnt like other nightclubs in Dublin at the time in that it had male and female dancers and "holistic therapy rooms" etc and it originally opened till 4 or 5 am but after going a few times it all became very repetitive and boring same dance routines, same music, same mile long que to get ur coat, and they only open till 3 now for some reason... Also a lot of dodgy looking characters inquiring about the availability of "yokes".....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

Plenty of toffy nose comments (Full of knackers etc)

It's a good spot and you wont get trouble unless you are looking for it. The top floor is usually brilliant.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

I didn't enjoy it the one time I went with people from my secondary school about a year, if not more, ago.

But then I don't like clubing.

I thought it was too big, too loud, too many weirdos.

But thats just apposed to too small/bad music system/ and not enough weirdos.

*shurg*

Go see for yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Captain Trips

xzanti wrote:
    I thought spirit was very good the 1st time I went, wasnt like other nightclubs in Dublin at the time in that it had male and female dancers and "holistic therapy rooms" etc and it originally opened till 4 or 5 am but after going a few times it all became very repetitive and boring same dance routines, same music, same mile long que to get ur coat, and they only open till 3 now for some reason... Also a lot of dodgy looking characters inquiring about the availability of "yokes".....

Yes, it used to be very good. The lower basement floor was non-alcohol and no smoking quite a long while before the ban came in.

The second floor was like standard dance/pop and has since become RnB central for the people with too much bling for The Vaults.

The third floor used to play good trance and dance. A side effect was that there was very little drinking and lots of drugs. Currently, it's a bunch of drunk yobs and the atmosphere of the place is nothing c/t what it used to be.

It used to have a theatre license for 4am and closing by 5am. It went past that on occasion.

However, the drugs led the gardai to object to it's theatre license. They had that basically by having the stage show - the trapeze artists, etc., . Last few times I was there there was none of this at all. It seems to be just a regular club now (or at least, it's much less of an event that it used to be).

I think that and Gaiety had the only theatre licenses but I may be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 mozak

ok .
    Loooking .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Im with Zane, the bouncers are the worst i ever saw. Fair enough, i tried gettin in just after i turned 18 completely locked and they turned me away, and remembered the very minor insult id hurled when i went next night :D

But the third time was outrageous. Twas after Snoops concert and we had been given free passes at the point so said feck it lets head up. I go in the door, the guy in the lobby asks to see my pass. A girl behind me had already paid in and, seein as i was havin trouble finding my pass, i moved a foot forward to let her through

Bouncer fcuks me out and tells me Im barred for a half hour. Unbelieveable

Anyway, got back in after the half hour. Place is overrated as fcuk. For a start i dont even think its that big. Maybe it was just my intoxicated drugged state but it felt very small and cramped. I love my rap, but the tunes playing in the rap area were for the most part terrible. Such as Akons Locked Up. Good tune, but its as much of a clubanger as N.Y State of Mind. And they were playing the radio edit of In Da Club! The DJs down in The Vaults and Redbox know their rap, remixes, bootlegs the whole shabang. Spirits rap tunage was youth disco standard

In conclusion, very average place. Glad they wouldnt let me in those nights-id be a pointless 20 or 40 euro short right now. The place and many of its customers suffer delusions as to its importance, with both groups thinking the place is as important as the Hacienda to Manchester or Studio 58 (or 54, or 57, whichever it was) to New York

Bollix is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,844 ✭✭✭✭cormie

I like the place. We got refused one time because my friend had a rugby jersey on. The bouncer explained very politely saying come back again without it and you'll have no problem etc. That was fine so we walked away. It's a pitty it's not open till 5 any more.

Thursday (student) nights are terrible there, just like any other nightclub really. I think the real nights are Fri/Sat. Again, I haven't been there in a while.

There is a mixed crowd which is great, never had any trouble with anyone there.

As I remember it, it's definitely worth double the price of a normal club as it's more than twice as good. That's from what I remember now, I haven't been there in a year or two on a proper night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Captain Trips

cormie wrote:
    As I remember it, it's definitely worth double the price of a normal club as it's more than twice as good. That's from what I remember now, I haven't been there in a year or two on a proper night.

Twice as good? As soon as I found the Wally World remix of Just a Little More Love *online* and it was identical to the one the "DJ" plays or "mixes" in Spirit, I was done with the place. Might as well have my own nightclub if they can do that!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,432 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peteee

Lenny wrote:
    Its who your with, not where yea are

Too true, and I wish more people would realise it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭Scruff101

Scum...try Traffic next door.....not as much scum but unfort more posers!! D3 around the corner can be good fun though!!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I haven't been to Spirit in about a year (I've been in Oz) but before that I used to go about once or twice a month and loved it. Usually went friday nights as saturdays were totally jammed. I thought the bouncers there were some of the best around. Very well presented, extremely polite and quick to deal with anyone causing trouble. A couple of times I went there at about 2 or 3am to find a big crowd of scumbags trying to get in cause most other places were closed. The bouncers were telling them it was full and they were not letting anyone in, but I politely asked them if there was any chance, and when he looked at us and saw were were respectible and let us in no problem!

There was actually a thread in here a few years ago where one of the managers in Spirit asked for feedback on the club, but got mostly a lot of idiotic replies and grief. I sent him an email saying he should ignore the stupid comments, and I gave him my honest opinion of the club and a few suggestions for improvement etc. He wrote back the next day thanking me for my input, and from then on he put me on the guest list any time I wanted! He even let me bring a load of my friends up to vip for my going away party! Sound Guy, i should see if he is still around...

I liked the place cause there was generally a good crowd (even the scumbags were friendly while yolked out of it) and the music on fridays and saturdays was good qualtiy house. I like the added touches they have like stage shows etc (Are they now gone?) and the fact that their are 3 levels with something different for whatever mood your in.

I haven't been clubbing much since I've been back, went to the 'SweatBox' to see Groove Armada a few weeks ago and it just reminded me how it has 'lost it's Spirit' since the refurb. Pitty its used to be such a good club...

I'll have to go back to Spirit soon and see how it has changed. Basically, if your not into dance music or not used to a druggy crowd, don't bother I'm sure you'll hate it. But if you're looking for a club that has a bit of variety and some decent music, you could do a lot worse...