Aer Lingus sponsors Racism

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,592 ✭✭✭Ro: maaan!

jonny68 wrote:
    True he should be lined up against the wall and............... ;)
    How do you line up one person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

How do you line up one person?

in a gun sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

jonny68 wrote:
    True he should be lined up against the wall and............... ;)
    ... given a rolling contract to work for the British Broadcasting Corporation?
    seansouth wrote:
    Now imagine a radio show in Ireland running a competition for the best "Traveller" joke?
    Would it be run by a radio station aimed at traveller ex-pats and sponsored by Traveller Airlines? (given that the radio station in is aimed at Irish and British ex-pats and is running a competition sponsored by Aer Lingus)

Could have been Willie Walsh's final finger to AL. Given that he's moved to BA, who knows what he may come up with. A tea-drinking competition, a use the young kids in the boarding school as a crumpet toast-rack competition, a digestive dunking competition perhaps.
    simu wrote:
    A country's national holiday is coming up - so you mock its citizens???

I can't see British Airways or any other airline having a British jokes competition for St. Gerorge's Day.
    You mean "English jokes" rather than "British jokes" I hope. Wouldn't want to offend the Welsh and St David or the Scottish and St Andrew. Not that the English (apart from the BNP and a few old dears who read the Telegraph and warble on about how life was better during the war and while corporal punishment was still officially available) give a rats rear about St George's Day. It's not a day off for most and there's no evidence that the reputed dragon slayer ever visited the island or anywhere near it. There aren't any British jokes - that's why they elected the Tories for most of two decades to give us all plenty to chortle about.

As for Irish jokes the only two I find funny are the one that finishes with "jaysus you haven't got a set of golf clubs down there as well have you?" and the one that closes with "because I've just seen Paddy Englishman come over the hill carrying a hundred pineapples". Pretty much all the others are rubbish. Those two, however, are hilarious. And you can rearrange the nationalities if you feel like making Mr Irishman look smarter/dumber, respectively.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,388 ✭✭✭Kernel

Dr. Loon wrote:
    The little red triangle/exclamation thingy on the left of the post is to report it to a mod. If I get a ban so be it.

Anyhoo.... you're very sensitive. You should lock yourself away and die peacefully. The world will be better without you, and your over PC sensibilities + there's far worse things going on in the world than crap Irish/black/Scottish/English/Pakistani/etc... etc... jokes that 90% of the population can laugh off.

It's called a sense of humour, and the ability to detect malice when it's intended... and even if it is intended, if you can laugh it off you're the better person.

PS - Sorry, I went a bit mad there and said black. I meant to say coloured. :rolleyes:

Like I already said, I have a sense of humour, I'm not as bitter as you are anyway; I don't come onto boards and insult people for having a different opinion. You may think that offensive jokes are funny, but most people with any intelligence don't. But, hey, keep watching your Roy Chubby Brown and Bernard Manning videos while the rest of us enjoy some decent comedy.

I'm also not PC at all, you make too many assumptions. I just have some pride in myself, and some lingering pride in my country, despite all the problems with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Kernel wrote:
    Like I already said, I have a sense of humour, I'm not as bitter as you are anyway; I don't come onto boards and insult people for having a different opinion. You may think that offensive jokes are funny, but most people with any intelligence don't. But, hey, keep watching your Roy Chubby Brown and Bernard Manning videos while the rest of us enjoy some decent comedy.
    You were complaining about personal attacks? Double standards, non?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Kernel wrote:
    You may think that offensive jokes are funny, but most people with any intelligence don't. But, hey, keep watching your Roy Chubby Brown and Bernard Manning videos while the rest of us enjoy some decent comedy.

I just seen Roy Chubby Brown for the first time recently on TV. He's cráp. I've never seen Bernard Manning.

I assure you. You don't have a sense of humour if you let these jokes affect you. Again, I will say - if they were told by an ásshole with malicious intent, then I might get a little irritated, but I've rarely come across this, and as I've said above you're the better person if you can laugh it off. Turn the other cheek.

I have a little pride in my country, mainly from our (slowly dying it seems) relaxed attitude to life and not always taking ourselves too seriously, as you seem to be doing.

By the way, I asked you to fúck off. I say this to friends all the time. You however, insulted my intelligence.

Dr. Loon wrote:
    You however, insulted my intelligence.

haha.. now that is a good one. See, I have a sense of humour. Best joke I've heard in ages.

seamus wrote:
    You were complaining about personal attacks? Double standards, non?

Not really Seamus, I didn't tell him to **** off, and didn't tell him to go to a room and die etc. I grew out of that playground nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

sceptre wrote:
    ... boarding school ...... digestive .... competition
    Ah dude, save us the imagery. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

Well, i've had a great laugh reading all the post to this thread, and in the end, isn't that what really matters?
    kernal wrote:
    Just because you don't have the self respect to protest at having an ethnic stereotype of you being a thick pig farmer thrown at you, doesn't meant that those who do have that self respect are whinging bitches.

Getting offended by bad paddy irishman jokes implies a serious inferiority complex and lack of self respect IMO.

get confident stupid!

theCzar wrote:
    Well, i've had a great laugh reading all the post to this thread, and in the end, isn't that what really matters?

Getting offended by bad paddy irishman jokes implies a serious inferiority complex and lack of self respect IMO.

get confident stupid!

Why are you calling me stupid? Is there anyone here who doesn't post insults when people disagree?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Kernel wrote:
    Why are you calling me stupid? Is there anyone here who doesn't post insults when people disagree?

Nope. That includes yourself it seems. I think the topic is pretty much dead, and we'll have to agree to disagree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Kernel
    The most material and central part; the core: “that hard kernel of gaiety that never breaks"

Don't think i'm gonna mess with the kernel anymore and i'd advise everyone else to follow suit.The guys unbreakable.RESPECT TO THE KERNEL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 121 ✭✭Debyaka

Hell yea 1 - 0 to the kernel!!!

Kernel wrote:
    Why are you calling me stupid?
    Well you're a paddy aren't you?

Victor wrote:
    Well you're a paddy aren't you?

Good old mods being insulting and getting away with it!!
    Nothing new there i suppose!! :mad:

Shame on you!!

Debyaka wrote:
    Good old mods being insulting and getting away with it!!
    I'm not a mod **here**, I'm just a user.

Right so you wouldnt be upset if i reported that last post would ye??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Unpossible

Im not racist but I find a lot of racist jokes funny. Im a kerryman and am used to hearing/reading jokes about kerrymen, just the other day I read a discription of kerry people which read; "Stupid but loveable", it had me in tears* for about 5 mins.
    Since moving here Im after finding that Irish are known for their sense of humour and ability to laugh at anything (even themselves) & of course for our laid back nature & party attitude. I have no problem with these jokes about Irish people and I think that if we all started taking offence (or showing it) then we would come accross as petty.

PS it is hard to not show offence when someone is being malicious (sp ?), but Ive always found that just laughing it off will deter the joke teller or at least take some satisfaction from him/her

*edit; tears of laughter

Debyaka wrote:
    Right so you wouldnt be upset if i reported that last post would ye??
    Go right ahead, here's a link
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/report.php?p=2505371

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MrPinK

Next people will be saying that the Simpsons are racist too
    Milhouse wrote:
    Look out Itchy! He's Irish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,607 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Unpossible wrote:
    just the other day I read a discription of kerry people which read; "Stupid but loveable", it had me in tears* for about 5 mins.
    *edit; tears of laughter
    Too right. They're not very loveable.
    Victor wrote:
    sceptre wrote:
    ... boarding school ...... digestive .... competition
    Ah dude, save us the imagery. :eek:
    You sir are a master at out of context quoting. I doff my hat to you. And lest anyone thinks so, I'm not being sarcastic. I laughed.

So on the original topic, we've all pretty much reached agreement that the Aer Lingus food is crap lately yeah?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

For anyone interested the joke competition was won by a Scot.
    The joke was shyte.
    II wasn't even a real Paddy joke they just "dressed it up" to enter the competition.
    Anyone who knows me or my posting history will know that I tell the most outrageous jokes from time time to time. In terms of humour I take no prisoners.

I rang the station and complained live on air and in fairness after I did there was a big reaction both for and against the competition.
    If anybody is offended, and many were, by a piss-take of a race of people then racism was involved.
    I am most dis-appointed by Aer Lingus associating itself with a competion that could and did cause offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

MrPinK wrote:
    Next people will be saying that the Simpsons are racist too

"Cheese eating surrender monkeys" in reference to the French springs to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,078 ✭✭✭theCzar

theCzar wrote:
    get confident stupid!
    Kernel wrote:

It's a quote from simpsons, troy mclure...

see it's funny because it's a contradictory expression, there's a grammatical term for it that escapes me at the moment. you know, haha

oh sorry, eh, you doody head.

sceptre wrote:
    You sir are a master at out of context quoting.
    Hey, all the key words are yours. :p I suppose thats what I get for speed reading. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 mrhankey88

who cares if there making jokes about the irish? As long as there not offessive, its not like theres not dj's in ireland making jokes about other countrys?!

Come on man, 'aer lingus sponsors racism'?! a bit over the top there my policially correct friend.. Its not like they were jokes about blacks or jews? In that case it would be 'racism' and probably front page news.. Just goes to show.. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭Attol

I'm not offended by all those stupid jokes, but honestly, try living in England with an Irish accent. I'm not even Irish ffs! You have no idea how annoying that **** gets. I have a South Dublin accent yet when someone talks to me they put on this huge culchie/leprechaun accent. It gets old real fast. I love Father Ted, don't get me wrong, but hearing quotes from it everywhere I go? Ugh. It's been 8 months since I moved and they're still not over it?!?!

I'm Finnish you morons. At least get the jokes right!

LadyLotts wrote:
    I'm not offended by all those stupid jokes, but honestly, try living in England with an Irish accent. I'm not even Irish ffs! You have no idea how annoying that **** gets. I have a South Dublin accent yet when someone talks to me they put on this huge culchie/leprechaun accent. It gets old real fast. I love Father Ted, don't get me wrong, but hearing quotes from it everywhere I go? Ugh. It's been 8 months since I moved and they're still not over it?!?!

I'm Finnish you morons. At least get the jokes right!

Yes, it's really annoying.. had that with the Americans I used to deal with..

You'd have thought they would have Finnished that leprechaun thing long ago.
    :p