Pretentiousness in Dublin

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

yes, you have hit the 'oh my god, what a cúnt this poster is' nerve with people.

Heh, agreed. Are you (original poster) a scanger? Maybe that explains your distaste for those whose leanings are a little less mainstream.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 172 ✭✭[InsertHandle]

Depends on your outlook on life.

pretty much what it boils down to

you can do all those things and get away with it if you genuinely have that outlook on life ... goddamn hippies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 215 ✭✭spiderbeast

Pet wrote:
    Heh, agreed. Are you (original poster) a scanger? Maybe that explains your distaste for those whose leanings are a little less mainstream.

Are you implying that people whose leanings are mainstream are "scangers"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,579 ✭✭✭Pet

No, it was sarcasm, directed at you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,457 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Sigh another opinionated teenager! Just what we need :rolleyes:

I find it really sad that so many people on here worry so much about other people and their lifestyles. If they aren't doing anything to affect your life, what's it to you? Just because you don't like doing any of those things, people who do must be pretentious tossers? Says more about you than anyone else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭mycroft

That's got to be the worst example ever. You are suggesting that to look at art or listen to jazz need an ability. (as in your example).

Well things have changed when I was a teenager there was no greater
    insult than calling someone prententious. :rolleyes:

As for the "look at art or listen to jazz needs a ability" yes it, does, and the people that do are called critics.

People with a knowledge and background who understand the history and etimology of a piece of music, a film, some art, and who are able to translate and explain and communicate their view of the artists intention, and place it in it's proper context.

Now theres a catch some people can do this and be sh*te, and some people can do this and be brillant, thats the difference between good and bad.

As for the "working class people are the most intelletual" comment it displays frankly that you are talking out of your hole. People are people. The scumbag who mugs grannies, is not more intellectual than me. Paul Abbott who wrote things like shameless, state of play etc, and grew up in rough estate, is. Some blackrock arsh*le drinking henio and spouting sh*t about how Pete Dotherty is the new cobain, the tragic brillance that shone too brilliant was gone too soon, is talking out of the same orifice you are.

Let me break it down to you, some people go the IFI to watch intelligent off beat films because they like to, and they gain something from them. Some people who go to IFI because they're prententious tossers. Some people sit outside the bagel bar, because they like bagels, and fancy a smoke. Some people wear anti war badges, because hey get this some people are opposed to the war. And some people wear hats in Dublin, even in the summer cause their heads are cold, or to shade themselves from the sun.

And some people are twats. like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭Chalk

lmfao

tbh i agreed with you earlier as i thought i got what you were you saying.

relaistically you come across as a cock with Nothing to say about his point other than "I am right".

welcome to the "intarweb/real world"- where smarter people undermine idiots all day long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

mycroft wrote:
    As for the "look at art or listen to jazz needs a ability" yes it, does, and the people that do are called critics.

People with a knowledge and background who understand the history and etimology of a piece of music, a film, some art, and who are able to translate and explain and communicate their view of the artists intention, and place it in it's proper context.

No you don't. You don't have to be able to compare the piece of art to the earlier works of that artist, or see where he derived his style. You can however like the look of it. You can listen to jazz and think "that sounds cool", but you don't have to mention the inspiration behind the style, and the years of hard work the artist has put in.

Are you saying you can only appreciate (take a long hard look at that word) art/music if you're a critic?
    mycroft wrote:
    Now theres a catch some people can do this and be sh*te, and some people can do this and be brillant, thats the difference between good and bad.

Did anyone mention good or bad? Is there a competition? "I'm better at liking this piece of art than you because i've seen the work that's come before". :rolleyes:
    mycroft wrote:
    As for the "working class people are the most intelletual" comment it displays frankly that you are talking out of your hole. People are people. The scumbag who mugs grannies, is not more intellectual than me.

Yeah probably, but working class are the ones that get to display their intellect through doing their job. I can't think how someone who is a master at chemistry can show this without doing something with it. What are they going to do? Sit back and recite random bs all day long?
    mycroft wrote:
    Let me break it down to you, some people go the IFI to watch intelligent off beat films because they like to, and they gain something from them. Some people who go to IFI because they're prententious tossers. Some people sit outside the bagel bar, because they like bagels, and fancy a smoke. Some people wear anti war badges, because hey get this some people are opposed to the war. And some people wear hats in Dublin, even in the summer cause their heads are cold, or to shade themselves from the sun.

And at what point were you or any one else appointed the official pretentious police? Does this really bother you enough to push this point so much? Can't you get on with your life without worrying about how others aren't as 'cool as you' but are pretending to be.

(btw i'm loving this thread because I get to reply to all these muppets :D)
    mycroft wrote:

Actions with rocks in glass accommodation?*

*btw all of the above is meant in jest except for the serious points - work which out for yourself

' wrote:
    [cEMAN**']No you don't. You don't have to be able to compare the piece of art to the earlier works of that artist, or see where he derived his style. You can however like the look of it. You can listen to jazz and think "that sounds cool", but you don't have to mention the inspiration behind the style, and the years of hard work the artist has put in.

When the magic flute was preformed there where riots. People didn't comphrend bitches brew, nor understand breathless, or the outrage of Synge's work.

It helps to put a piece in context and in perpective. Esp with modern jazz, which is as much about the notes you don't play as much as the notes you do. There's a history and organic development that requires understanding.
    Are you saying you can only appreciate (take a long hard look at that word) art/music if you're a critic?

For starts I'll apply the st paddys day rule to spelling.

Anyone and everyone is a critic, it's just i'll apply a weight and intelligence to certain critics. Much in the same way I don't spend all watching movies or music etc....I vouch on the opinion of people i do, friends, family and a collection of critics, like I agree to disagree with philip french in the observer I'll note his opinion, I dislike O Carroll and O'Dweyer in the Iris times i'll review their point of view. I live a live I can't see listen and read everything so I have a body of individuals who I can reject or accept to help me gauge my opinion.
    Did anyone mention good or bad? Is there a competition? "I'm better at liking this piece of art than you because i've seen the work that's come before". :rolleyes:

Lets just assume you know nothing about art and filmaking and the reviewing of the same. Theres a evolution off music and the gallagher brothers, and tarreninto agree with it. They have infulences and those infulences have an effect on themselves. To subscribe to art as a vacum is an insult to the people that inspired the artist.
    Yeah probably, but working class are the ones that get to display their intellect through doing their job. I can't think how someone who is a master at chemistry can show this without doing something with it. What are they going to do? Sit back and recite random bs all day long?

Whats your point here?

The orginal poster said all working class people are more profound than working class people. It's crap funny and intelligent people exist on all strata of society decieding that yis mates are funnier then any of yis bollocks makes a mockery of wilde shaw and joyce n yeats while suggesting any bollo*ks on Moore street deserves a noble prize.

And at what point were you or any one else appointed the official pretentious police? Does this really bother you enough to push this point so much? Can't you get on with your life without worrying about how others aren't as 'cool as you' but are pretending to be.

(btw i'm loving this thread because I get to reply to all these muppets :D)

And at what point did the original poster decide and assume the mantel of pretentious police. He launched the broadside, I'm part of the rebuttal and you're swigging off some arrogant "where do you get off" response. I go to films in the IFI, i have the odd bagel (the phili cheese, and thai chicken chili are recommended in georges st arcade) he made the accusation a blind double barrelled wild accusation ignorant of the broad history of the IFC supporting banned populiste films. FFS find me a cinema in this country that once a year opens its door to any films and gives free cinema tickets. Last year you or I could wander into the IFI and get free tickets to Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory.
    Actions with rocks in glass accommodation?*

*btw all of the above is meant in jest except for the serious points - work which out for yourself

Defending some oboxnious sh*t and then flinging things back at me Justin Barrett needs a press secretary, need a thankless job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

mycroft wrote:
    When the magic flute was preformed there where riots. People didn't comphrend bitches brew, nor understand breathless, or the outrage of Synge's work.

In no way relevant to this conversation. Are you just trying to show what you know for the sake of making yourself look smarter? Isn't that being pretentious?
    mycroft wrote:
    It helps to put a piece in context and in perpective. Esp with modern jazz, which is as much about the notes you don't play as much as the notes you do. There's a history and organic development that requires understanding.

Are you one of these people who talk to hear their own voices? It might help but it's not necessary. I didn't mention anything that would help - I was being direct. You're just dancing around the topic to try and make a nonexistant point.
    mycroft wrote:
    For starts I'll apply the st paddys day rule to spelling.

And this would be?
    mycroft wrote:
    Anyone and everyone is a critic

Now this is just semantics. You don't really want to go down that road do you? Cause you're just going to waffle on for about 3 more pages about nothing. It'll help your post count but bore away people who find this banter entertaining.
    mycroft wrote:
    It's just i'll apply a weight and intelligence to certain critics. Much in the same way I don't spend all watching movies or music etc....I vouch on the opinion of people i do, friends, family and a collection of critics

Nice to see you think for yourself. Who's got their hand up your butt while you're replying to this thread?
    mycroft wrote:
    like I agree to disagree with philip french in the observer I'll note his opinion, I dislike O Carroll and O'Dweyer in the Iris times i'll review their point of view.

Are you trying to impress to us the idea of what being pretentious is? If you are, it's unnecessary as I and others have already explained it and given examples. But please feel free to drop names and try to make out you're an intellectual.
    mycroft wrote:
    I live a live I can't see listen and read everything so I have a body of individuals who I can reject or accept to help me gauge my opinion.

Maybe you should try 'living' and not just 'following'.
    mycroft wrote:
    Lets just assume you know nothing about art and filmaking and the reviewing of the same.

Assumptions are a strong point with you aren't they? Have you ever heard the term "assumption is the mother of all fu(k ups"?
    mycroft wrote:
    Theres a evolution off music and the gallagher brothers, and tarreninto agree with it. They have infulences and those infulences have an effect on themselves. To subscribe to art as a vacum is an insult to the people that inspired the artist.

More pointless waffle to try and pad an empty point. Please, feel free to list your top 10 everything while you're at it. You might get a reponse from someone who shares your perfectly selected and critically acclaimed likes and dislikes.
    mycroft wrote:
    Whats your point here?

I've given up on you understanding much if any of what i'm saying. I don't see the point in explaining myself further.
    mycroft wrote:
    The orginal poster said all working class people are more profound than working class people. It's crap funny and intelligent people exist on all strata of society decieding that yis mates are funnier then any of yis bollocks makes a mockery of wilde shaw and joyce n yeats while suggesting any bollo*ks on Moore street deserves a noble prize.

Did someone strike a nerve with you here? Do you wish to tell us how intelligent you are, and then how well off you are, so that we might realise that we are incorrect in a point which holds as much strength as your own?
    mycroft wrote:
    And at what point did the original poster decide and assume the mantel of pretentious police. He launched the broadside, I'm part of the rebuttal and you're swigging off some arrogant "where do you get off" response. I go to films in the IFI, i have the odd bagel (the phili cheese, and thai chicken chili are recommended in georges st arcade) he made the accusation a blind double barrelled wild accusation ignorant of the broad history of the IFC supporting banned populiste films. FFS find me a cinema in this country that once a year opens its door to any films and gives free cinema tickets. Last year you or I could wander into the IFI and get free tickets to Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory.

Ah here we go. Finally the truth of the matter - you feel hurt by his comments. That's ok. Want a shoulder to cry on?
    mycroft wrote:
    Defending some oboxnious sh*t and then flinging things back at me Justin Barrett needs a press secretary, need a thankless job?

Who's defending who? I don't care either way tbh - though I do prefer to point out both sides of the story. Besides, I just like pissing off people like you who have more opinion than sense.

Now, by all means, feel free to reply to this and quote some more public figures who wish to name drop that you're aware of. I'm sure while in conversations, they often drop your name in as well as a leading authority in being pretentious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

mycroft wrote:

*snigger*

The St Paddys day spelling rule is simple, don't correct someone's spelling on a tiny issue, after they've had a pint or two.

Now this is just semantics. You don't really want to go down that road do you? Cause you're just going to waffle on for about 3 more pages about nothing. It'll help your post count but bore away people who find this banter entertaining.

You think you're entertaining, and you accuse me of being pretentious?
    Nice to see you think for yourself. Who's got their hand up your butt while you're replying to this thread?

I don't know but I'm beginning to think you enjoy getting regularly fisted by Jim Henson.
    Are you trying to impress to us the idea of what being pretentious is? If you are, it's unnecessary as I and others have already explained it and given examples. But please feel free to drop names and try to make out you're an intellectual.

I don't think I'm an intellectual, I don't particularly like Jazz, modern classical music, modern art etc....
    Maybe you should try 'living' and not just 'following'.

I am living a life. Which means I can't listen to all the music, watch all the films, go see all the plays, etc that I want. My time is limited and valuable, therefore I use the recommendations of friends, and a group of critics I like, and who's view I agree with, to help me wade through the chaff.
    Assumptions are a strong point with you aren't they? Have you ever heard the term "assumption is the mother of all fu(k ups"?

Ah but the cliche sounds so fresh coming from your lips, and seeing as my point is the author is just assuming things, I can safely assume the point flew so far over your head that you can see the vapour trail.

Like for example, why don't you assume, because when you assume, you make an ass out of u and me. Idiot.
    More pointless waffle to try and pad an empty point. Please, feel free to list your top 10 everything while you're at it. You might get a reponse from someone who shares your perfectly selected and critically acclaimed likes and dislikes.

My point you twat, is, my opinion likes and enjoyment are just as valid as the next persons, and the original posters wide ranging dismal is as ignorant as you

Did someone strike a nerve with you here? Do you wish to tell us how intelligent you are, and then how well off you are, so that we might realise that we are incorrect in a point which holds as much strength as your own?

Nope I'm comfortable with who I am and where I'm from. Someone saying "working class class people are more intellectual" is someone with issues.
    Ah here we go. Finally the truth of the matter - you feel hurt by his comments. That's ok. Want a shoulder to cry on?

No I think he's ignorant, and offered my opinion, I'm no more hurt by his comments, than the weak barbs you've flung at me.
    Who's defending who? I don't care either way tbh - though I do prefer to point out both sides of the story. Besides, I just like pissing off people like you who have more opinion than sense.

Hate yourself do you?
    Now, by all means, feel free to reply to this and quote some more public figures who wish to name drop that you're aware of. I'm sure while in conversations, they often drop your name in as well as a leading authority in being pretentious.

The author was flinging insults left n right, I was putting him in context, its' not like I'm going 'so I was in Renards with Andrea Corr and Bono"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

OK, so that's the "Bash the newbie and get all the abuse out of our system" thread over for this week.