Attack in Nightclub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,098 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

You should make a complaint to the manager, that is really terrible. You didnt do anything wrong if your account is accurate, kicking him while he was on the ground would have been wrong... but not what you did. scumbag.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I think the OP deserves one hell of a pat on the back. Bouncers are suppose to stop this from happening. I had an incident two years ago in a night club where the bloke I was with was puched for no reason, I jumped up and restrained the fool that started the fight and two bouncers came rushing in and took him away. the bouncers asked everyone around what happened and was ok that we had no part to play so to speak. about 20 mins later I went to the bar to get a drink and the little thug was back in following me and swung a punch at me, i dodged it and cracked him with a right across the bridge of his nose and the bouncers saw that I was only defending myself. they threw him out and after ten mins of talking to the bouncers one came up behind me twisted my arm as much as he could resulting in a broken finger and sayed he never laid a finger on me even though there were cameras and many witnesses. most bouncers are knackers.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Self defence can be pre-emptive because assault includes attacking someone and the fear of being harmed by someone. Previously known as the separate defences of assault and battery where battery was the actual harm itself and assault was the threat. They don't even have to threaten you explicity as long as a reasonable man (objective approach) would have felt his body threatened then it is assault.
    The law isn't blind, it will protect people who know if they don't do something they will be attacked.
    Of course the big issue is proportionality, basically once you can get away you have to...that can include running.

Obviously the bouncers didnt get involoved for liabilities and their own personal safety reasons. Good on ya though, always great to see a knacker getting his **** ruined because he started it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

I read every post in that thread and you still haven't named the place!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 19,071 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

yeah thats never a good sign i'm curious as to where it is myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Bloody hell.
    Did you get your jacket back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

jor el wrote:
    ceedee5 = gobshíte. You are the moron.

Well done joejoem, pity there aren't more like you around. What was the name of the niteclub this happeded in? I'd make a formal complaint to the Gardaí about the bouncers there if I were you. Most clubs have security cameras outside too so it probably shows the bouncers giving the guy the OK to attack you.

Just to say dont have a go at them because they have an opinion.

I agree with the author, he gave the guy time to defend himself. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,784 ✭✭✭Puck

ceedee5 wrote:
    why not just laff at him, call him a fool and walk off!!
    Oooh just a guess now but could it be because the smaller guy was actually hitting him?! It doesn't matter how small someone is if you don't defend yourself. Pretty hard to laugh at a little **** when you have a mouthful of blood and broken teeth. Admittedly though there are better ways to defend yourself than making a bloody mess of somebody's face. I don't think it's something to be proud of but the guy did what he had to do to defend himself.

NOBODY has the right to hit you, unless in defense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Lu

That's an amazing story Dub Guy. What bothers me about all this is that bouncers always seem to just stand by and do nothing... I've seen it far too often. They just don't care once it's outside the doors of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,915 ✭✭✭StupidLikeAFox

Exactly, if its outside and they get involved theyre not insured or anything and they may be brought up in court etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

ColHol wrote:
    Exactly, if its outside and they get involved theyre not insured or anything and they may be brought up in court etc
    I've seen them do nothing inside as well - but it was a biker gang of 8. I'd need a grand a night before i'd have considered taking them on with 11 other bouncers - there were just 3!

JoeJoe reckon when you are on the ground you are going to resort to extreme violence (survival instinct). You beat the sh!t outta the guy, while offering him an option not to look so bad next day. Nothing to be proud of tbh.

However, you have probably converted a stupid skanger aggressive drunk - to a stupid skanger more passive drunk -> real reason to be proud!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

ceedee5 wrote:
    :mad: Thats disgusting, You have NOTHING to be proud of , and you should be be disgusted with yourself. The guy was smaller than you! why feel the need to do that. why not just laff at him, call him a fool and walk off!! You sound like your proud of what you did! You sir, are nothing but a moron.

Let me guess, you're a female who doesn't live in Dublin?

Its alright calling him a moron if you've never witnessed the scum in Dublin that go around looking for a fight with any random guy they can find. What’s he supposed to do, stand there and take it? If it happened to me I'd try and break his ankles and take the battery from his phone so the scumbag would have to crawl to the nearest hospital

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭D!ve^Bomb!

where was it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 978 ✭✭✭bounty

people always lie about the circumstances of a fight, and now he wont say where or when it happened...

i agree that he did go a little too far with giving the guy a REAL beating... but the guy was a scumbag, so, do we care?

nope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

Jesus lads I wasnt online. It was Wax off grafton Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Gothic Warrior

ceedee5 wrote:
    " I grabbed him by the back of the head and started to punch him, I moved from left eye to the right eye, to the nose. Each time it got bloody I would move to another part of his face"

Ok so your proud of what you did. Fine you have to defend yourself, why be so violent about it?? If your bigger than him, why not give him a full force push and knock him onto the ground?? Thats just too violent for my liking :(
    Nerd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 614 ✭✭✭dent

Well done JoeJoem, you have done nothing to feel guilty about. You gave him the option to back off and he didn't. He deserved the consequences and hopefully learned from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Someone should give Ceedee6 an unprovoked box and see how he reacts to it

Personally speaking, you have the right to defend yourself and then some in an unprovoked assault. As for all this "beat him in a way that he wont crack his head off the ground"....**** THAT!!!

Honestly, as long as I got away with it, it wouldnt bother me in the slightest that I had killed or very seriously injured some scumbag who came up and hit me or one of my mates a box for no good reason. In the same way a soldier in a war accepts he has to kill or injure an enemy soldier, there are no moral qualms on my part for causing serious harm to a gobsh1te. The guy is obviously scum if he does an unprovoked attack like this. My problem is ive been to pacifist in the past, when some drunken tool decides he wants one, I used to negoitiate with him, tell him to calm it. Unfortunatel;y this sometimes lead to me recieving the first punch. Now, i say fook that tbh, im not takin the first. The British have the right idea regarding burglary at least, as long as you feel threatened everything is, as Wiggum would say, nice and legal (well,to an extent-you cant tie a burglar down and kill him over a period of 6 hours with scalding water gradually dripping onto his face, but you can shoot or stab the bugger at least)
    Case in point- Over christmas i was talkin to this bird, and this tit who had a row with her brother assumed i was some great mate of the family and so decides to attack the allies so to speak. He comes up talkin sh1te. Slaps me lightly once. I say "your pissed, if you walk away now Ill ignore that". He slapped me lightly again. Even Jesus diodnt have a 3rd cheek to slap, so knowing the third would be rather harder i tore into him proper. Of course, two cops accross the road just stood there watchin it till my cousin got involved and it all broke but thats a different gripe.....

I know full well some of the members of this forum who dont live in the real world will find my opinion on the life and death of a psychotic scumbag horrendous but thats life. He didnt care if my head cracked off the pavement, so why the hell should I about his?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭bohsboy

Well done mate, made my day reading that! :D

At least the runt will think twice about trying to assault someone else minding their own business again. As for feeling guilty, I can assure you that lowlife would'nt have felt too remorseful if he had of bashed you. Dont worry about it.

Should have thrown a few boots into him too.. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

Tha Gopher wrote:
    I know full well some of the members of this forum who dont live in the real world will find my opinion on the life and death of a psychotic scumbag horrendous but thats life. He didnt care if my head cracked off the pavement, so why the hell should I about his?

If you dont care then how do you differentiate yourself from said psychotic scumbag? Defence is defence but there is a thing called reasonable force, at the end of the day you would get time for manslaughter and him for murder. I did support his right to defend himself by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

I find it suprising that people find the existance of the level of violence suprising and shocking... considering the way some people on boards.ie attack each other for what seems like no reason other than Im right and you are wrong...

I come from the west of Ireland and people in my area would agree that there is a lot of violence commited by rough characters from a certain mobile community.. Now whats often been discussed at home is how thumping these aggressive people does not teach them to stop, they have been thuymped by their families from year 0, its just more training for them...

Violence begets violence as they say.....

Maybe slightly off topic, but If youwatch americas behavour, their attitude seems not to solve any of their or the worlds problems.. their attitude being you attack us with a hammer, we attack back with a Sledge hammer... does not seem to work..

Then If you look at South Africas Truth and Reconsilation seminars to end the fighting... a huge success..

I myself was attacked by the above mentoned people 2 of them, Pounded the crap out of me, put me in hospital, I didnt swing one punch, gardai came Arrested them and they both got Prison 5month and 9 months... Now isnt that the way its supposed to work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,923 ✭✭✭savemejebus

Well done to the OP, and i figure you should be proud in that you gave the guy every chance to back off AND made sure he didn't crack his skull.

As far as the people saying you went to far go I think its important to understand that hitting someone one box isn't going to make them back off (especially if they're pissed scumbags), it'll just piss them off and make them want to hurt you more. Hitting someone once (unless you've a knockout punch) is only good for one thing, dazing them so that you've the opportunity to hit them some more.

As for being lenient cos you're bigger than someone thats bull, just because someone is smaller than you doesn't mean that they can't kick the crap out of you (a swift knee to the balls and size won't be an issue for most people) or knock you down and kick you to death.

I think it's good that you made a mess of his face, maybe it'll teach him that his actions have consequences.

The first rule of the Dunning–Kruger club is you don't know you're a member of the Dunning–Kruger club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

delop wrote:
    I myself was attacked by the above mentoned people 2 of them, Pounded the crap out of me, put me in hospital, I didnt swing one punch, gardai came Arrested them and they both got Prison 5month and 9 months... Now isnt that the way its supposed to work?

fair play to you ghandi

delop wrote:
    I find it suprising that people find the existance of the level of violence suprising and shocking... considering the way some people on boards.ie attack each other for what seems like no reason other than Im right and you are wrong...

I come from the west of Ireland and people in my area would agree that there is a lot of violence commited by rough characters from a certain mobile community.. Now whats often been discussed at home is how thumping these aggressive people does not teach them to stop, they have been thuymped by their families from year 0, its just more training for them...

Maybe slightly off topic, but If youwatch americas behavour, their attitude seems not to solve any of their or the worlds problems.. their attitude being you attack us with a hammer, we attack back with a Sledge hammer... does not seem to work..

Then If you look at South Africas Truth and Reconsilation seminars to end the fighting... a huge success..

you think that's a fair prison sentence? a few months? so you took didn't hit back huh? was this by choice? do you think if you had defended yourself you would have ended up in hospital? what if you were killed? what then?

i expect an answer to each of these questions please:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

delop wrote:

To a degree delop .. being a martyr and taking it in your instance was a lucky situation. You could have been killed, lost yor teeth, ended with permanent scares. If they jumped on your back .. you'd be paralyzed. If you want to be a martyr and take a beating like that without defending yourself then fair play .. but I would be trying to protect myself.

Your also lucky it even got to trial!! If they'd have beaten the sh*t out of you then you could have been left unconsious.

Its got nothing to do with "Violence begets violence", its to do with self defence.

Way to go!! Just lie back and take the beating ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 18,072 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

What if the gardaí hadn't happened to be around?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭delop

They werent, After the two guys got a bit tired and it went on for about 10mins they were tired enough for their two girlfriends to drag them off me...

I called the Gardai after...

delop wrote:
    They werent, After the two guys got a bit tired and it went on for about 10mins they were tired enough for their two girlfriends to drag them off me...

I called the Gardai after...
    where are the answers to my questions? what if you were killed? how smart would you have been then?