Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attack in Nightclub

• 23-02-2005 10:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭

My story - I have felt bad about this for the last few days, but now Im kind of proud about it. Basically a guy hit me in a nightclub as I was putting on my jacket to leave (Sober) for no reason, I was a bit shocked but bigger than him, so I grabbed him turned him around and pushed him out the door to the bouncer and said he just smacked me, can you take him outside. With this the bouncer grabbed me in a headlock, the other bouncer ripped off my jacket and pushed me onto the street. Next I saw the bouncer shake the guys hand and push him onto the street, out of the corner of my eye I saw him running at me and he smacked me again, the two bouncers stood back to watch and nobody was standing in. I grabbed him by the back of the head and started to punch him, I moved from left eye to the right eye, to the nose. Each time it got bloody I would move to another part of his face. I kept saying stop trying to hit me but he wouldnt. So I moved to the top of his head and eventually someone separated us. I didnt really get hurt, a litle bruise on my cheek, but his face was in bits. When I got home I looked at my arms and my jeans and they were covered in blood. This is why I felt guilty, but thinking back now, all I did was defend myself and I let him punch me twice before I retaliated, and all through it I gave him the option to back off. I still feel a bit bad since its not in my nature, and I feel like I'm too old for this school yard ****, but it only seems to happen in Ireland, I never see it when I travel. Anyway thats my story, I guess I felt bad because I knew I wasnt hurt, just a swollen hand and small bruise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 ceedee5

:mad: Thats disgusting, You have NOTHING to be proud of , and you should be be disgusted with yourself. The guy was smaller than you! why feel the need to do that. why not just laff at him, call him a fool and walk off!! You sound like your proud of what you did! You sir, are nothing but a moron.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

ceedee5 wrote:
    :mad: Thats disgusting, You have NOTHING to be proud of , and you should be be disgusted with yourself. The guy was smaller than you! why feel the need to do that. why not just laff at him, call him a fool and walk off!! You sound like your proud of what you did! You sir, are nothing but a moron.

Shut it tbh.

I think you gave the guy what he deserved providing you told us the truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭Chalk

fair play to mate.
    kick the **** out of the little knacker.
    if the story went exaclty as you say and in dublin i wouldnt doubt then youve nothing to be ashamed of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

I'd have to disagree with you there ceedee, I have also been started on in a similiar situation, I tried to walk off but eventually I had to stand up for myself. If some body wants to start on you for no reason and they hit you well then you have every right to defend yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

ceedee5 wrote:

Anyone has the right to self-defence the guy was attacked for no reason and hit back telling the guy to stop. Even the most soft of pacifists has to see this right.
    Just cos the guy was smaller doesn't mean he should not have thumped him. One of the most dangerous people I ever knew was small, didn't stop him being a scumbag murderer who got his come-uppance with a bullet to the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

ceedee5 = gobshíte. You are the moron.

Well done joejoem, pity there aren't more like you around. What was the name of the niteclub this happeded in? I'd make a formal complaint to the Gardaí about the bouncers there if I were you. Most clubs have security cameras outside too so it probably shows the bouncers giving the guy the OK to attack you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

nice one, best to speak to them in their own language!

" I grabbed him by the back of the head and started to punch him, I moved from left eye to the right eye, to the nose. Each time it got bloody I would move to another part of his face"

Ok so your proud of what you did. Fine you have to defend yourself, why be so violent about it?? If your bigger than him, why not give him a full force push and knock him onto the ground?? Thats just too violent for my liking :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭ohandels

In fairness if i walk up to a guy in a club thats bigger than me and hit him, i dont expect him just to stand there and do nothing. Its his own fault for starting on you, you did the right thing. But dont be proud to you knocked the crap out of him, but be proud that you stood up for yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

ceedee5 wrote:
    " I grabbed him by the back of the head and started to punch him, I moved from left eye to the right eye, to the nose. Each time it got bloody I would move to another part of his face"

Ok so your proud of what you did. Fine you have to defend yourself, why be so violent about it?? If your bigger than him, why not give him a full force push and knock him onto the ground?? Thats just too violent for my liking :(

If you read on, while I was punching him I kept telling him to back off. Im willing to defend myself, but there is a big difference between hitting somene to cut & hurt them and hitting someone full force. Look at what happend outside annabelles, or the purty Kitchen a few years ago - a guy waws hit full force, fell back, hit his head and died. This is what went through my mind, and the reason I held him while I hit him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

ceedee5 wrote:
    If your bigger than him, why not give him a full force push and knock him onto the ground?? Thats just too violent for my liking :(
    So he can split his head open on the pavement and die? And that's not violent then is it?

It's better to give him a few thumps and send him on his way. The amount of blood on joejoem could just be from a nose bleed and not because the guy was seriously hurt. A punch in the nose can result in a lot of bleeding without much damage.

I've nothing else constructive to say, so im going to stay quiet. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭Nuttzz

consider yourself luckly, if the cops were passing you would be done for assault defending yourself or not.

I've seen many fights in the middle of town, and many people getting pushed over. I have never seen someone split their head on the pavement and die. Apologies if the rest of you have, but i havent. anyway, thats my 2cents. Back to work now :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Something simular happend to me but involved my friend also, two guys in reynards were saying sh*t to us all night, calling us names and imature stuff like that...even on the dance floor they were messing pushing eachother into us...then when i was pulling a girl, i got shoved in the back...all of this with little or no retaliaton...nothing more than a f*ck off! Anyway, when we were leaving my mate got a smack to the back of the head and i pulled one of them out through the door, and the bouncers saw everything and did nothing...anyway they were looking for a fight all night, so when me and my mate were outside, and these two knackers were outside, we gave them a good fight, and kicked the sh*t out of them...only problem was a gaurd walking passed , who saw the fight, and me and my mate got arrested...we had to go to court and pay them money from a fine!!!

I was never so annoyed, but nothing i could do, they gave a story completely contradicting ours, our word against theirs....but when the guard told what he saw, which was them getting a hiding, and since we hadn't a scratch and their faces were in bits we were presumed guilty. I would have even got a criminal record for assault only it was my first (and last) offence.

So i say fair play for doing it and getting away with it! Got what he deserved!!
    I learned the lesson that if there are absolute scum out there, there is nothing you can do but walk away, even if they smack you, because you're taking a risk that isn't worth it. Like me, i was unlucky, also they could have a knife or whatever.

The salt in the wounds was we went back to get the bouncers as witnesses, but they weren't interested, said they saw nothing which was a lie..and the guards got the cctv, which only showed us fighting them...didn't show them throwing the punch which happend in the doorway.
    There's my story..the moral, great if you get away with it, but i would advise against risking it. Gaurds were also very unsympathetic either on the night, or in court because we were drunk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 183 ✭✭uum

I never start fights but if some guy hit me for no reason and unless there was a good chance id get killed id give him my best. An eye for an eye.
    Fair play to ya. Those bouncers are pr!cks.
    F*ck yer man. Only thing was he was prob off his head so he wasnt feeling any pain. thats why he didnt stop coming back for more. When the buzz wore off then id love to see the pain he'd be in!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Rossonero

I'd just laugh at the thought of how pathetic and pointless the lives of people who start fights for no reason are.

if I was being attacked I'd just sqeeze the shoulder muscle, paralyzing his arm as you hold, grab his other arm and restrain him. If that doesn't work, hell for leather and may God have mercy on his soul.

Everyone has the right to defend themselves.
    I only have one life, and life is short enough and hard enough. No stranger is going to come along and cause me harm or injury without a fight.

As for the Guardai, leave them do the beat, my body is mine and I'll police it how I feel fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭karlh

no need to mess up the guys face but you were dead right to defend yourself. by the sounds of it "I grabbed him by the back of the head and started to punch him" you were really trying to hurt him.

you could stop him attacking you by taking him down if you're a biggun and legging it imo.

no doubt that there are too many random attacks going on around this kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

what club was it? name and shame. what your saying the bouncers did doesnt make any sense, either your lying to rationalise it, or their complete knackers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

no need to mess up the guys face but you were dead right to defend yourself. by the sounds of it "I grabbed him by the back of the head and started to punch him" you were really trying to hurt him.
    On the contrary - every time the shi1t looks in the mirror he'll be sorry he picked a fight.... maybe it'll put him off doing it again.

Still 'n all, you should have held him down and rang the gardai when you were finished... just to add insult to injury!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

scum like that guy who started the fight deserve everything they get. they take up valuable living space. if you had killed him he'd be no loss to society.

my bro had a similar incident on a bus where he caught a junkie pickpocketing a girl. he stopped the guy and then told the bus driver who tried to kick the junkie off the bus, this guy then goes for the bro. anyway they managed to bundle him off the bus, but he tried to get back on so my brother hit him a kick in the head which split his face from ear to mouth... the result... a round of applause from the other passengers.

i've no pity for these scangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

Gob****e + Alcohol = even bigger gob****e

been in these situations before. You try your best not to get into it, but if a guy is there swinging thumps at you, ffs you have to stand up for yourself. Maybe next time this ass wont think about doing it again.

Feck ringing the gardai. Hmm. You standing there with a small bruise covered in the other guys blood and him in pieces. And you cant really rely on a bouncers ete witness account of things. Leg it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 818 ✭✭✭idontknowmyname

bouncers think they are god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

ceedee5 wrote:

As pointed out by many before me, you're a fool. The poster clearly described how this knacker wouldn't stop attacking him. And you want him to try to walk off, turning his back on his attacker? I don't think a shove would dissuade somone who had already attacked twice (for no reason) And what has the size of an unprovoked attacker got to do with it? Should a mugger or rapist be treated differently if they are smaller than their victims? I don't think you've ever been a victim of a serious unprovoked assault.

To the original poster: well done, in this age of lawsuits many would be hesitant do react the way you did. Hopefully the next time this piece of sh1t thinks of attacking someone they'll remember what happened to them last time. I feel that if I get attacked by someone for no reason, I'm not only responsible for my own welfare - I almost have a duty to make sure the scumbag doesn't get away lightly to attack someone else. I think you should also make a formal complaint against the bouncers, especially if you have any witnesses or there are cameras nearby. Dirtbags like this are why I hate this city.
    skywalker wrote:
    what club was it? name and shame.

Yep, I want to know as well, to make sure I don't set foot in the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭Tobias Greeshman

To the OP, you seem to have restrained yourself fairly well, and you deserve to be proud of yourself. This guy unprovoked attacked you, you were just defending yourself. A lot of other people woulda beat this guy unconscious yet you didn't.

And to the people who feel sickened by this guy feeling proud with himself. Id like to see ya put in his situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Name the place. That sort of stuff isint really on, no matter where it is.

This sort of stuff I've only ever seen happen in the UK or Ireland. Its not just drink related, but its also because there is a large amount of gob****e's about who just get worse with alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

ceedee5 wrote:
    I'm inclinded to agree
    I moved from left eye to the right eye, to the nose. Each time it got bloody I would move to another part of his face.
    There's no f*cking need for that, that's not defending yourself, that's a cowardly attack, he clearly wasn't a match for you.

You could have blocked his punches and walked away, that was nothing short of a savage attack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭I am MAN

azezil wrote:
    I'm inclinded to agree

There's no f*cking need for that, that's not defending yourself, that's a cowardly attack, he clearly wasn't a match for you.

You could have blocked his punches and walked away, that was nothing short of a savage attack.

Maybe he didnt want to get his hands dirty :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 648 ✭✭✭landser

azezil wrote:
    You could have blocked his punches and walked away, .

this isn't the matrix. the other guy looked for a fight, and got one. simple supply and demand. do you reckon that the OP should've had a discussion with him first, " oh, you wanna fight, and what sort of fight are you looking for, oh a bit of a slap only. fair enough, there you go, now away with you, you little scamp...."

if anything the OP was restrained... many is the attacked man that would've pummelled the f*cker into oblivion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

I've had many people take swings at me, i either side step or just ignore it and walk on, I don't get into fights that way...

He grabed the guy "turned him around and shoved him through the doors", that started the fight. We're not f*cking animals we're supposed to be able to resolve our differences without the need for physical violence.

I agree the other guy is at fault, he initiated the attack however I believe the thread starter went way over the top "defending himself", that's what i find repulsive... the other guy was drunk and smaller than him, he could have handled it better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭CTU_Agent

bouncers think they are god

How did you reach this conclusion? Id prefer the term Doorman rather than bouncer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Spalk0

ceedee5 wrote:

Your talking crap!

I heard Joejoem saying before that he is quite a big guy!So he should only defend himself against people his own size!? Rubbish!

Joejoem, fair play mate!he deserved it and sometimes just walking away is not enough for these scumbags!I was in a nightclub myself when i got punched on the back of the head by someone!And before i even realised what happened i was being dragged out by two bouncers who somehow though i was causing trouble!Anyways the other lad was thrown out aswell and kept coming at me with punches!I never like to fight even though i can easily defend myself!So this bloke wasnt getting the message so i floored him and punched him a number of times after that!Pretty sure i also broke his nose!Initially i felt guilty aswell as his blood was on my face and everything but when it boils down to it i did pretty much all i could to avoid and in the end i was just defending myself!The fact that this scumbag was smaller than me doesnt make the slightest difference!he was defineately older than me and should have known better!

The fact is they are stupid enough to start a fight with a big bloke they should be prepared the get a hiding in return!

Fair play man! he deserved what he got!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

the other guy looked for a fight, and got one. simple supply and demand.

classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

azezil wrote:
    He grabed the guy "turned him around and shoved him through the doors", that started the fight. We're not f*cking animals we're supposed to be able to resolve our differences without the need for physical violence.

No offence, i see where youre coming from here, but really come on...resolve thier differences?? What was he gonna do?
    Scumbag:"okay well the problem is i think you look like a tw@"
    OP:"Hmm well i AM wearing 'tw@ for men' by Alvin klien, i see what you mean. If i stop wearing it will you stop slapping me in the back of the head?"
    Scumbag:"Thats an arrangement suits us both, youll look less like a tw@, and ill stop hitting you, everyone s a winner!"

lol i get what your saying, I just dont like violence :D

ceedee5 wrote:

Sometimes you dont have a choice!.......can boil down to, be beaten up or fight back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

While the law wouldn't see what you did as self-defence, landser said it best - " the other guy looked for a fight, and got one. simple supply and demand."

I've never been started on, ever. If someone did, my primary concern would be making sure they were incapable of continuing their attack. Pushing someone away, walking away or telling someone to stop will rarely work if they've already swung for you, and/or are coming towards you. Broken limbs or severe beatings will usually make them think twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

I've had many people take swings at me, i either side step or just ignore it and walk on, I don't get into fights that way...

I agree the other guy is at fault, he initiated the attack however I believe the thread starter went way over the top "defending himself", that's what i find repulsive... the other guy was drunk and smaller than him, he could have handled it better.
    How? What would you do? Hit him a slap and hope he gets the message? No matter what size, one lucky punch is enough to daze someone and then what happens.? While your getting your bearings the nacker will have you on the ground and proceed to kick the crap out of your head...
    Long and short, if someone attacks you you hit hard, hit fast and keep hitting until you're sure he wont get up and come at you when your back is turned. If the other guy gets hurt then its his problem - your ONLY concern in this situation is your safety.

Ever trying to explain to a drunk guy that he's no match for you so he should just go away?!?! Don't work.

ceedee5 wrote:
    Welcome to the real world. Its filled with violence....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,424 ✭✭✭joejoem

azezil wrote:

Ok, Im just trying to understand your point. So he punches me in the face while Im not looking and my hands are behind my back putting my jacket on, as he is going to swing again i turned him around and pushed him out the door instead of hitting him back. So what would you have done? Honestly I respect your opinion, but that is the last part I thought someone would pick on. I thought my only other option was to hit him back or get the bouncer (who's job it is to maintain the peace) and ask him to deal with it so I could go home.

joejoem wrote:
    So what would you have done?

Raped him in the ear.....

That would teach him.

Winters wrote:
    Raped him in the ear.....

That would teach him.

ROFL! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Mixed feelings on this. This sounds like an unprovoked attack on a guy getting his coat to go home from a night club.

As usual, the bouncers stand back and watch!! Heard this before and hotels have actually been sued for thousands over their indifference. Fact!

Now, if I was in that situation, I would not let a stupid knacker beat me up. I would defend myself. If that meant thumping in his face, to protect myself then so be it. In the end of the day, its the lads fault for starting a scrap in the first place. Might teach him to control the amount of drink he ingests in clubs (if indeed drink is at fault, could just be a psycho looking for trouble).

BUT .. nightclub bouncers .. get your thumbs out of your ass and do something. I know a club that refused to get an ambulance for someone who was attacked. Imagine .. bouncers refusing to get an ambulance. Not mentioning any hotels .. but that happened!
    Not surprising people get killed in hotel carparks!

PS: AND before anyone jumps .. I am NOT an advocate of violence. If hotels create these drink induced situations then they should bloody well take responsibility for the f*ckin piss heads that leave and cause havoc in the car parks. You cannot just shut your door and say "Oh look its Beruit again, ah well, we have our money thats all that matters".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 741 ✭✭✭michaelanthony

joejoem wrote:
    My story - I have felt bad about this for the last few days, but now Im kind of proud about it. Basically a guy hit me in a nightclub as I was putting on my jacket to leave (Sober) for no reason, I was a bit shocked but bigger than him, so I grabbed him turned him around and pushed him out the door to the bouncer and said he just smacked me, can you take him outside. With this the bouncer grabbed me in a headlock, the other bouncer ripped off my jacket and pushed me onto the street. Next I saw the bouncer shake the guys hand and push him onto the street, out of the corner of my eye I saw him running at me and he smacked me again, the two bouncers stood back to watch and nobody was standing in. I grabbed him by the back of the head and started to punch him, I moved from left eye to the right eye, to the nose. Each time it got bloody I would move to another part of his face. I kept saying stop trying to hit me but he wouldnt. So I moved to the top of his head and eventually someone separated us. I didnt really get hurt, a litle bruise on my cheek, but his face was in bits. When I got home I looked at my arms and my jeans and they were covered in blood. This is why I felt guilty, but thinking back now, all I did was defend myself and I let him punch me twice before I retaliated, and all through it I gave him the option to back off. I still feel a bit bad since its not in my nature, and I feel like I'm too old for this school yard ****, but it only seems to happen in Ireland, I never see it when I travel. Anyway thats my story, I guess I felt bad because I knew I wasnt hurt, just a swollen hand and small bruise.

You were right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Togmeister

No story there mate.

You needn't feel guilty or proud. You handled the situation and gave the hoodlum a taste of his own medicine.

He'll think again before trying it and you can forget about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,193 ✭✭✭[Jackass]

Boggle said it best.. a punch is a punch...and if you get a fist flung in your face at reasonable force by a fully grown man, it's gonna sting, and it's going to daze you...if you get 5, 6 , 7 of them to the face you're on the floor, on the floor you can get your head stamped on, and worse case scenario, die.

Now i'll be FU<KED if i'm going to let a scumbag put me in that position!! 1 punch in the head is enough for me (or anybody) to retaliate with such force that this guy is not going to want to ever meet you again, never mind throw another one...i said it before, and i'll say it again to the OP, fair play mate! Next time that little sh*t is out he'll think twice about starting trouble!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Kingsize

yeah fair play to you & **** the little Cu_nt.
    A bouncers main concern is to keep trouble away from the premises thats why they Throw people out & ask no questions,if they really were skilled at conflict resolution they wouldnt be freezin their nuts off for a few extra quid & the chance of getting the SH_it kicked of them.they aren't getting paid enough to give a crap about who started what.not nice but i think youll find thats the atittude most of em have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

When people punch other people they get punched back thats the way life works. I mean maybe you didn't have to give him such a kicking, but, tbh he hit you you hit him fair game end of story.

EDIT

I should add that this is the reason I don't punch however, too much damage to both parties. Usually a knee to the ribs or twisting a knee or elbow I prefere. That way its over quick and any chance of further problems are avoided. Although I should also point out that I don't condone violence in any shape or form if I can leg it I will, but, some times you have to defend your self.

DubGuy22 wrote:
    Now i'll be FU<KED if i'm going to let a scumbag put me in that position!! 1 punch in the head is enough for me (or anybody) to retaliate with such force that this guy is not going to want to ever meet you again, never mind throw another one...i said it before, and i'll say it again to the OP, fair play mate! Next time that little sh*t is out he'll think twice about starting trouble!

Hear hear!

I'll avoid a fight at all costs!but if someone punches me, god help the F*cker as i'll have no hesitation in flooring him!(unless he's bigger than me) :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

OP - Im curious as to why you wont name the club?