Whats worse than some ignorant bstrd using a handicap space?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

all the gardai up there are a$$holes, my job got held up but gun point. when they came to question people what had happened my boss who was in a bit of a state was told to cop on and grow up( she had the gun in her face the whole time)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

ha ha thats good hmm which is worse stalin or hitler??

Neither, both forgetable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,303 ✭✭✭✭koneko

all the gardai up there are a$$holes

Wow, what a wonderful and sweeping statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gilgamesh

koneko wrote:

LOL

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

cujimmy wrote:
    The term disability has replaced the older designation of "handicapped" Today most people see people with disabilities as being DISABLED,However it is fair to say that they are handicapped as a result of societys lower expectations of them.

So should I be working on my golf disability?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Devious

BolBill wrote:
    Please Please lose the Stalin signature, the man was a c*nt.

Yea he was nasty. At least Linoge has replaced it with a picture of a lesser monster. Go Linoge!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

sorry if you write a post all in caps it turns out like my one,

Why would you write a post all in caps anyway? To píss people off?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,709 ✭✭✭BolBill

all the gardai up there are a$$holes, my job got held up but gun point. when they came to question people what had happened my boss who was in a bit of a state was told to cop on and grow up( she had the gun in her face the whole time)

Your signature may only be a signature but it does set the mind racing :)

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Why would you write a post all in caps anyway? To píss people off?

If Caj likes Caps, She likes Caps.
    I like black things.

Gilgamesh wrote:
    If Caj likes Caps, She likes Caps.
    I like black things.

Keep it up. Ya could be in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

koneko wrote:

I was thinkin the same thing myself there koneko, the world generalisation isnt general enough for a statement like that.

I actually new a garda who was more up his Sergeants asshole than his own by the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Kêrmêttê

ambro25 wrote:
    Some ignorant bstrd Gardai running at 30mph+ through Liffey Valley retail car park, siren & everything going, then making big gestures at my wife to f*** off, the very second she parked in a disabled car parking spot with her disabled mother (including disabled parking badge) and our 6-months old daughter in the car....which was on Brit plates, which might explain this or that :mad:

Jeez, that's terrible. I hope they let your wife leave her car there, especially as she had the right documentation.

The gardai should be more vigilant about scummers breaking into cars to steal stereos etc... I'm forever seeing smashed windows in cars in Liffey Valley carpark and nobody seems to take any notice of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Parent & Child spaces are designated on the same basis as Disabled Driver spaces - the spaces are wider, facilitating people who may be trying to get a wheelchair or a pushchair alongside the car. They are nothing to do with proximity to the store, security at night or anything else.

I think Parent & Child spaces are a good idea - if you've ever had some toddler sprint in front of your car while his parent's got the pushchair stuck behind the car and the side door open because they're trying to get the baby out of the pushchair and into the carseat and don't have eyes in the back of their head, you might agree...

I do think that parking spaces should be used on the basis of availability, and you should be permitted to park in a Disabled Driver or Parent & Child space if the rest of the carpark is full. Then again, someone would have to be employed to stand in the carpark and make sure people don't abuse that rule, because the general public are ba$tards...

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Keep it up. Ya could be in there!

could be where? in a handicap parking space, ROFL.
    first time I defended someone, and it was more a joke.
    then again, you're just jealous, :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

Linoge wrote:
    As requested.

DuJimmy.
    Stop being a PC asshole. Handicapped is a perfectly acceptable term. It is not in any way derogatory. You're the type of person who would say "of African origin" rather than just "black", or "sick" instead of "Downs Syndrome". I don't think anyone would appreciate you being so patronizing.

Physically challenged people do have a right to park closer. Just think of all the trouble they have to go to to do their shopping. If its one luxury we can give them, why should we begrudge? I'm sure anybody objecting here is not in a wheelchair, nor any of their family.

I don’t see myself as being “ a pc asshole” I do however subscribe to the social model of disability and not the medical model.

To explain: The medical model of disability sees the disabled person as the problem. They are to be adapted or “cured” to fit into the world as it is. If this is not possible, then they are to be shut away in some specialised institution or isolated at home, where only their most basic needs are met. The emphasis is on dependence, backed up by the stereotypes of disability that call forth pity, fear and patronising attitudes. Usually the focus is on the impairment, rather than the needs of the person. Other people's assessments of them are used to determine where they go to school, what support they get (or don’t get) and what type of education, where they live, etc etc, and indeed whether or not we are born at all, or are even allowed to have children of their own. Similar control is exercised by the design of the built environment making it difficult or impossible for needs to be met and limiting opportunities. Whether it is in work, school, leisure and entertainment facilities, transport, training, higher education, and housing or in personal, family and social life, too many common practices and attitudes disable them.

The Social Model of Disability would say that the position of disabled people and the discrimination against them are socially created. This has little to do with their impairments. Disabled people are often made to feel it's their own fault that they are different. The difference is that some part, or parts, of their bodies or mind are limited in their functioning. This is impairment. And this impairment does not make them any less suitable to participate in society.
    The problem is that most people have not been brought up to accept disabled people as they are. Through fear, ignorance and prejudice, barriers and discriminatory practices develop which disable them.
    The “social model” believes the “Cure” to the problem of disability lies in the restructuring of society. Unlike medically based 'cures', which focus on individuals and their impairment, this is an achievable goal and to the benefit of everyone. This approach, suggests that disabled people's individual and collective disadvantage is due to a complex form of institutional discrimination.

Incidentally Linoge someone of African origan is more likely to be brown than black and someone with Downs Syndrome has a "learning difficulty" and is most definitely not sick

So should I be working on my golf disability?

No
    The dictionary definition is
    hand·i·capped, hand·i·cap·ping, hand·i·caps
    Sports & Games. To assign handicaps or a handicap to (a contestant).
    To cause to be at a disadvantage; impede.

[From obsolete hand in cap, a game in which forfeits were held in a cap.]

man CU, are you sitting in a library or something, or do you spend your days memorising Encyclopedias?

Gilgamesh wrote:
    man CU, are you sitting in a library or something, or do you spend your days memorising Encyclopedias?

No just looked out some of my old training materials

I knew that old stuff would have been good for something.
    Doh!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭cajun_tiger

i'm in work and the data i'm inputting at the mo needs to be in caps oops half way through when i noticed i didn't want to rewrite it

These may help to explain my thinking on disability

cujimmy wrote:
    I don’t see myself as being “ a pc asshole” I do however subscribe to the social model of disability and not the medical model.

To explain: shíte, shíte, waffle etc.

Jaysus. Give it a rest would ye? You are being a bit over PC here.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Shouldn't the word "disabled" be applied to the inaccessible buildings etc. then?
    If access was enabled, everyone could get in.

Shouldn't the word "disabled" be applied to the inaccessible buildings etc. then?
    If access was enabled, everyone could get in.

Heh?

think my brain just fried :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭Blub2k4

Dr. Loon wrote:
    Jaysus. Give it a rest would ye? You are being a bit over PC here.

Yeah shut up cujimmy, PC is so non-boards.

You just have to be a non-caring asshole like the rest of them and you'll fit right in.

Blub2k4 wrote:
    Yeah shut up cujimmy, PC is so non-boards.

You just have to be a non-caring asshole like the rest of them and you'll fit right in.

No need to resort to insults. There's PC and then there's stupidly annoying PC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i can think of many things worse than parking in a disabled persons parking space.

being killed in a car accident
    being raped
    having a leg amputated
    having both parents killed ina freak boating accident
    losing one of your children
    getting divorced
    being robbed at gunpoint
    getting into some osrt of stupid discussion over the term handicapped
    getting worked up by an image of someone famous
    getting worked up over an dimage of someone else famous
    using caps in your post
    being unable to put together a grammatically correct sentence, even partially correct would be a good start
    being **** at spelling
    cancer
    angsty teenagers
    5 year olds who do that insane screaming thing beause they are spoilt
    my brother (the anti christ)
    tsunamis in aisa
    homelessness in dublin
    still being in work at 6.01

gosh, there are many things that i concider to be worse than parking your car in a disabled persons parking spot, but we all have different priorities in life.

so there you go!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

cujimmy wrote:
    These may help to explain my thinking on disability

but not everyone wants, needs or has to think of these things like you do.
    its your right to get annoyed over something like that, the same way i get annoyed over teen angsters who think they should cut themselves, but hey, what can you do
    chill out, and let people have their own opinions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭Chick

flyz wrote:
    Personally I wouldn't like to have a handicapped persons car in a normal parking space next to me! *ding ding ding* nice bit of paint chipped off there!

That's not fcuking funny one bit. :mad: