best way not to let a bouncer ruin your nite out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,446 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Sure start a new thread about it!!

Then some moany **** will bitch at you for doing that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

I would now.
    Not if he done if before dragging this one up though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Once.. I went up to the bouncers at fireworks.. locked.
    So hey says 'Had a few tonight lads?' Me thinking this is my new best buddy who wants to know all my escapades ..

So I tell him my tale 'Well ! We started off in Dorans had two pints upstairs then about 4 downstarirs. Then! we went off to Voodoo and had about another 4 or 5 there! Sure then on the way down the quayes we stopped into Zanzibar and had about 3! Then we went back to Dorans and had 2 more there.. but got bored and figured sure let's go down to fireworks! And a few shots here and there ya know'
    'not tonight lads..'
    'Oh'
    I went back to Dorans and fell down the stairs insted.

Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

If the bouncers aren't letting you in, it's because of 3 reasons: 1: you're an asshole, 2: they're in a bad mood; 3: you're an asshole. One of these is not the same, that one is not true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

sceptre wrote:
    Love it! LMAO

You do? :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

Musashi, you see the fight against O'Haire last night?

No,I missed it dlofnep.Was it the K1 bout? Did he draw Jerome Le Banner ?
    And who won? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭littleninja

One time myself and my housemate were on our way to meet up with another friend inside the Red Box and lo and behold, we were hit with the line "Sorry it's regulars only" so we turned and walked away, not really knowing why we had been refused as we weren't in any way drunk at that stage and we were both dressed relatively respectfully as we had met friends earlier on playing pool on Camden Street.

We went into the Bleeding Horse for a few drinks and then decided to try again getting into the Red Box. I wandered up to the guy on the door and went "excuse me, is this the Red Box" he just said "Yeah, go on in" and the two of us strolled in. It was the same guy on the door too.

The excuse of regulars only is pretty pathetic really, and definately just used when someone doesn't like the look of one/all people trying to gain entry. Only thing is they just have one very quick look and then judge people on their clothes (in this case it was my mate's long leather jacket). They should be more bothered about people actually giving them lip outside or something instead of hassling people who are just going in for a few quiet pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

Some class stories there.
    The weirdest I've experienced is a bouncer IDing me when I was in the pub, with a pint. I felt like going "What the ****?", but thought the better of it and just showed him my ID.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,626 ✭✭✭smoke.me.a.kipper

seen a group of lads come into one of the busier pubs in clonmel in the run up to christmas. they were inside, i was at the bar at the time, and the bouncers came over to them and threw them out. on lad said 'why?' and the bouncer said 'id?' yer man said 'ah **** this' and was herded out.

the other group was asked to leave, and one of them pulled out a passport, and was told. 'no, your being kicked out because you and yer mates are scumbags.'

they were scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Suaimhneach

When I was underage I used to arrive at the pub having left my mates around the corner. Stand with the bouncer, make general chit chat, "busy tonight? Cold out here!" etc. Then I'd ring my mates, and ask if they'd gotten off the bus or out of the taxi etc. They'd come round the corner. I'd give it loads of "finally" etc and then we'd walse in. Most of the time we'd get a "have a good night" and wahtnot.

Though, now with the law of "if you look between 18-21 you have to carry id" it's pretty hard to bluff your way in anywhere. As it _is_ the bouncers job on the line if he lets you in and they get raided or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 339 ✭✭country_gurl

we were on a big night out (bout 40 of us) in waterford and we had all descided to meet in ruby's and go our seperate ways for the pubs. So when we strolled up to the door, bouncer checked I.D.'s , he made me show them my bank cards and health cards - anything i had with my name on it. I got in! But some of my friends and others in the group were still outside tryin 2 get in(they were all over 18!! and had the cards etc. to prove). Wouldn't let them in so as i hadnt paid i walked right back out and brought the other people who hadnt paid with me i turned to the manager and said the bouncer on the door has just lost you 40 people worth of profit hope your happy, we then walked up to another nightclub and everyone got in no hassle. I also remember one of the group going up to people in the street saying dont go into ruby's and they didnt either! And out of principle i'll never go back there again. The bouncer was rude and ignorant even to those he left in.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

we were on a big night out (bout 40 of us) in waterford and we had all descided to meet in ruby's and go our seperate ways for the pubs. So when we strolled up to the door, bouncer checked I.D.'s , he made me show them my bank cards and health cards - anything i had with my name on it. I got in! But some of my friends and others in the group were still outside tryin 2 get in(they were all over 18!! and had the cards etc. to prove). Wouldn't let them in so as i hadnt paid i walked right back out and brought the other people who hadnt paid with me i turned to the manager and said the bouncer on the door has just lost you 40 people worth of profit hope your happy, we then walked up to another nightclub and everyone got in no hassle. I also remember one of the group going up to people in the street saying dont go into ruby's and they didnt either! And out of principle i'll never go back there again. The bouncer was rude and ignorant even to those he left in.

its my 18th in 5 days i know where im not going :D, cheers for the heads up always had a look of gob****e about them in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭Cactus Col

Have never complained to a bouncer about not getting into a pub. Usually because they were right to not let me in (i.e. I was plastered), and any other time because I don't really care where I go as long as I have a decent enough time. As far as I can see, those gimps who stand around arguing with a bouncer for half an hour don't do anyone any favours, bouncers don't care that much (at least the decent ones don't) what you call them, and their mates just get pissed off.

That said, I haven't been stopped going into a pub / club for last few years. But I always laugh when someone tells me they got stopped for not having shoes on .... that's right up there with regulars only as a crap reason for not letting people in.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,814 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

forgot about this im not 18 yet was heading into a really nice pub a while back with my brother who was 23 at the time and is doing a post-grad phd yoke anyway they were asking for my ID not my brothers i took out my wit student card doesnt even have my DOB on it then my brother takes out his which says somthing about post-grad on it and he starts rambling on as if him being a post-grad makes me above 18 then the 2 bouncers looked at eachother obviously confused or not arsed trying to stop us, and let me in.

never been in since

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭elivsvonchiaing

There are 2 places in Dublin I will never revisit. Club M and Fitzsimons (both in temple-bar). I have over the years re-directed/applied vito over these establishments over parties of 10+.

Club M - the guy (G) who put in our coats got 5 tickets back for 6 coats was not to blame - I was grand until I used the f word. These cúnts coulnd't see reason especially when its being explained to them slurred :D Still think their handling was woeful!

Fitzsimons - Party of 2 pissheads - no let in - we had only a couple of pints on us - the theory was they were gauging females to males admitted!

[Edit] we were going to be a party of 15+ which we tried to explain to dickheads on the door [/Edit]
    I will never darken the door of these establishments ever again. I have stopped friends/aquaintances from doing so. The people that run these establishements are just greedy bastards anyhow - they have given the doormen the power without any discernement - they may prosper still...

...But never from me or anyone I'm with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,081 ✭✭✭Musashi

I've never been out in Dublin or Cork where there were doormen,I frequent classy establishments!
    Any place I ever had hassle getting in a bit of a chat with the doormen either got me in or a definite "No". I think being into weight training and Martial Arts means you are probably on the same wavelength as most doormen and will see you left in unless in the company of utter gob****es who **** it up for everyone!
    Door staff have a job to do,and a thankless one at that! Be friendly and open to the guy on the door and you'll get further than the tosser who hurls abuse at them! Of course, there is no accounting for the guy on a power trip, but he won't be working there for long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭mad m

I and a few mates were going by a place on Dame St(Mercantile i think).So went up to bouncer and he promptly said sorry lads booked out for christmas parties! To which i said sorry mister bouncer man but there is no way you can book out a PUBLIC bar!!!So i said hey tell me while i video tape you with my Video phone why you are refusing me and my friends tonight so i can put it in with my complaint to the proper authorites.....

So he said while i video phoned him"So lads you have had toooooo much to drink tonight and i dont like your attitude" I broken into laughter and said thats not what you said???.....

So just walked on.....i still have it on phone so ill upload it tomorrow if someone wants to see... :D well needless to say his face was classic when i said i wanted to video his reasons for refusing us....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Mad m, see previous comment as to why he wasn't letting you in.
    "Huh huh mr bouncer i've got a videophone. Huh huh you'll be on marion finucaine." Did you also ask him if he knew who you were or that your daddy is a regular?
    Note to refusees: I can pretty much guarantee the bouncer couldn't care less.

Refused by a bouncer? get over it, it's just a bar. If you're that desperate for a pint that you'd bother arguing with a bouncer, you can always find a friendly crowd with a few cans round stephen's green.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭mad m

Mad m, see previous comment as to why he wasn't letting you in.
    "Huh huh mr bouncer i've got a videophone. Huh huh you'll be on marion finucaine." Did you also ask him if he knew who you were or that your daddy is a regular?
    Note to refusees: I can pretty much guarantee the bouncer couldn't care less.

Refused by a bouncer? get over it, it's just a bar. If you're that desperate for a pint that you'd bother arguing with a bouncer, you can always find a friendly crowd with a few cans round stephen's green.

I think you took my post a bit too serious yourself as to getting into the place i mentioned i couldnt careless either.As to my going to stephens green for few cans i think those days are over for me but not for you i think...

have a good one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

mad m wrote:
    I and a few mates were going by a place on Dame St(Mercantile i think).So went up to bouncer and he promptly said sorry lads booked out for christmas parties! To which i said sorry mister bouncer man but there is no way you can book out a PUBLIC bar!!!So i said hey tell me while i video tape you with my Video phone why you are refusing me and my friends tonight so i can put it in with my complaint to the proper authorites.....

So he said while i video phoned him"So lads you have had toooooo much to drink tonight and i dont like your attitude" I broken into laughter and said thats not what you said???.....

So just walked on.....i still have it on phone so ill upload it tomorrow if someone wants to see... :D well needless to say his face was classic when i said i wanted to video his reasons for refusing us....
    Yes, please upload the video :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭DoesNotCompute

DEmeant0r wrote:
    Yes, please upload the video :D

So where's the video?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Holy thread resurrection Batman!

DeabBankClerk, Shinji, Phobos, SheroN and a few other blasts from the past (maybe some of these guys are still around but I haven't seen them).

Also, in before lock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

Ah, five year old dog fellatio threads, where would we be without them?

Hey

resurrecting old threads is my day job in the TcN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

If the bouncers aren't letting you in, it's because of 3 reasons: 1: they're an asshole, 2: they're in a bad mood; 3: they're an asshole. One of these is not the same, that one is not true.

Just fixed that up for you there.. be careful with those typos :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Orange69 wrote:
    Just fixed that up for you there.. be careful with those typos :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Orange69

Kenny 5 wrote:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

The doormen in Spirit have never liked me for some reason, always would get hassle (havent been in a year now). I remember one Thursday we went, they looked at my ID and stared me up and down, asking had I been here before with a tone, asking where I was from (when it comes to bouncers, Im from Castleknock :D ) until his colleague said "No, I thought it was yer man as well, its not him" (obviously some dashingly handsome dude that I bear striking resemblence to was causing trouble previously :D )

Anyway, the reason I remember this is that about a half an hour later at the corner of the floor I saw a group of 6 lads, some in Celtic jerseys, all in trackers, off their tits on pills pullin faces the whole lot, and one of the lads was drinking a can of Dutch lon the floor (I swear Im not exaggerating). And Im thinking "eh, ive just been given the third degree and these ****ers were waved in?" Never mind the clothes, it was early in the night, theyd come in after me so they had to be out of it approaching the doors. Either they are pretty ****in good at playin it sober and cool infront of doormen or they knew them and waved em through.

As for not getting in with no good reason,probably the most pointless thing to ask is "excuse me, can I speak to the manager please?". There is one thing Ive never understood about bouncers, and thats not giving the reason. People hanging around for ages at the door asking "why ya not lettin me in" seems to wreck their heads. If rather than replying ad naueaum with "the management reserves the right to refuse admission" they replied with "you`re too drunk/boss man told me not to let people in wearing clothes like yours/whatever" theyd get rid of them alot faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Lemming wrote:

Or the time I got asked for ID (on one of those rare occasions) by a bouncer and I looked at him, laughed, and walked past him.

mmm, I'd say that works a treat. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

The-Rigger wrote:
    mmm, I'd say that works a treat. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

ask a bouncer a question, any question. the monkeys are not trained to, nor have the inelligence to, answer your question

example: monkey: sorry, regulars only. punter: how can i become a regular if i cant get in. monkey: eh..move along

edit: dont know why i quoted you, the rigger, sorry, i must have hit he quote button by mistake