Leaving Cert --- : )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

I repeated so its Fooking massive important i do ok!...from what i can mind of last year the results will b in schools ready for opening around 10am and they'll be on the net at 12pm. The net wasn't an option last year.

1800 26 51 65 is the number to ring if you want advice or anything its free also and i dont want to give EIRCON a plug here but it has to b said.

have to agree with the comment about teachers who tell you its the biggest thing in your life ever should be shot...my ideas for tomorrow is....check out the score on the net see how i done...if i done anything respectable i'll go into the school and b the bad bast*rd they spent the last 6 years making me out to be!

good luck ppl

Farls

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

Lads when you get into college youll realise how **** easy the LC is.

Nothing to worry about, if you do get in to college do sixth year again, repeat the leaving cert and youll get into medicine guarenteed.

College is far different from learing about
    x^2-8x+12.

ffs you have proffessors lecturing you talkin absolute shi^te.

Chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Hehe, two of my friends had their 18th tonight!...went out on the beer, but not enough.
    need more oney for tomorrow night...or tonight rather.
    I'm fairly well-on atm, so excuse any tpos.

Bloody lesbian ***** in the Alley....5 fúckin women walts right in in front of us, not a word said. i lok fairly ols, i'd pass for 19ish, and the other lads all had ID of some sort. This sexist ***** just got all high-and-fookin-mighty and wouldn't let us in.
    The Alley is a knacker whole anyways..... (so there).
    Ended up in the GPO. Good craic, some proper music. Goin on the day-long steam tomorrow/today though. getting a crate in the afternoon, leaving it in the fridge at a mate's house...mighty craic. **** the results. if I get what I want It'll be because i''m a grade A bullshít artist when it comes to any non-,aths subject.
    Reckon i'll do well in maths a physics to though..and acconting.
    Good luck, there's gonna be a mighty ****up around Eyre Squarwe tomorrow, come down round the Spanish arch too about 4ish wth a few cans and kI'll meet ye there,

Gaillimh Abú!!
    john
    <hic>

Beware the power of a well trained mob
    Hobbes - Ooohh Shinji ;) I would accuse you of Equestrian necrophilia but I would just be flogging a dead horse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Got my results about half an hour ago ...

I am happy biggrin.gif

- Munch

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 28,633 Mod ✭✭✭✭Shiminay

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by [FCA]SyxPak:
    Hehe, two of my friends had their 18th tonight!...went out on the beer, but not enough.
    need more oney for tomorrow night...or tonight rather.
    I'm fairly well-on atm, so excuse any tpos.

Bloody lesbian ***** in the Alley....5 fúckin women walts right in in front of us, not a word said. i lok fairly ols, i'd pass for 19ish, and the other lads all had ID of some sort. This sexist ***** just got all high-and-fookin-mighty and wouldn't let us in.
    The Alley is a knacker whole anyways..... (so there).
    Ended up in the GPO. Good craic, some proper music. Goin on the day-long steam tomorrow/today though. getting a crate in the afternoon, leaving it in the fridge at a mate's house...mighty craic. **** the results. if I get what I want It'll be because i''m a grade A bullshít artist when it comes to any non-,aths subject.
    Reckon i'll do well in maths a physics to though..and acconting.
    Good luck, there's gonna be a mighty ****up around Eyre Squarwe tomorrow, come down round the Spanish arch too about 4ish wth a few cans and kI'll meet ye there,

Gaillimh Abú!!
    john
    <hic>

</font>

The Alley? GPO?? Was Cuba not open? biggrin.gif

So how are them results kids?

All the best!
    Dav
    @B^)
    So Bob Hoskins was about to roll a spliff when in walks Dana with her 3 foot Bong
    [honey i] violated [the kids]
    When the Beefy King arrives, I shall be paying homage with Puunack The Receiver in a haze of green curry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

I'm heading in to get my results now.i repeated to get 10 extra points,so if i dont.....!
    michael woods is at our school.oh joy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by The FANJ:

There are backdoors into every course in the country.
    </font>

Yeah... one of them is "getting older"...

I think I'm going to use that particular backdoor and go back to college as a mature student on an evening course myself...

Best of luck to all in the leaving cert, by the way... I remember those days well.

Bard
    'First motorbike in the bible ???? ---- a Triumph --- 'Yea verily Moses struck down the ammmanites and all the land heard the roar of his triumph !!!'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,423 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

I did pretty crap on the LC myself and was gonna repeat, but I noticed a course in Castlebar that I already had the points for (it was sub 200 the year before I applied smile.gif ).

Funny enough, it was a computing course, and there was me never having used a PC before in my life... smile.gif

I remember some muppet working in a computer shop somewhere advising me not to do the course .... what a muppet smile.gif

Anyways I did well in college after all that... (though I did repeat the LC English exam which I had failed, just to have the pass)

So go get pi$$ed, get your gf pi$$ed, and then introduce me. smile.gif

Al.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭Farls

Got the results earlier myself....well pleased...college here i come!

Farls

btw...if you've not done as well as you wanted to don't worry bout it, i repeated and its not as bad as its made out to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭GreenHell

OH GOD I got my points and now the *******s are sending me to limerick OOOH the humanity!!! tongue.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

Yeah I got my results earlier also. I'm happy with what I got, but just a few points off what I needed. Damn it anyway frown.gif

What do I have to go about repeating? :confusion:

Ah only messin ya muppets wink.gif
    I own j00 with my final year CS degree, LOL

;-phobos-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭phobos

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by GREENHELL:
    OH GOD I got my points and now the *******s are sending me to limerick OOOH the humanity!!! tongue.gif</font>

What course r u plannin on doing in Limerick. I hear the CS degree down there owns us all.

;-phobos-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭Jimi-Spandex

I just heard some of my friends results

some good some bad

one of the *******s got 600 points (6 a1's and an a2)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

Got nearly twice as many points as i needed but i fluffed hons maths and got an 'e'in process in gettin that checked, dang.

Isn't maths like min requirment for everywhere orr am i wrong, let me be wrong! smile.gif

Anyhew, good nite all n all.
    T'was meant to be workin in LIDL today a big shopping center german, the busiest day o the week (thursday) and me thinks no one was in so there be some **** hitting the fan tomo smile.gif heh heh.

Anyway any ideas or me?
    I was thinkin of just repeatin Maths again but gettin kinda old already 19 ffs
    Maybe plc or somethin...?

Wanted to do business-managment/marketing. Anyone know any good plc's that maybe lead on to college rather than wasting a year doing just ****in maths. grrrrrr/

Gideon

--Jefferson AirPlane, White WABBIT is kewl--

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭Winning Hand

<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Gideon2000:

Anyway any ideas or me?
    I was thinkin of just repeatin Maths again but gettin kinda old already 19 ffs
    Maybe plc or somethin...?

Wanted to do business-managment/marketing. Anyone know any good plc's that maybe lead on to college rather than wasting a year doing just ****in maths. grrrrrr/
    </font>

Afaik, hons maths isnt the be all and end all of college, if it was you would see only 20 % of secondary pupils go to college.

Why waste your year doing maths alone? If you have to do why not take your best offer, do maths concurently and just "redo" first year next year. I know it could cost you but it leaves your doors open to the following options

1) You may absolutely love your second choice and not wanna go back.

2) You may hate your second choice, pass honours maths, return to your first choice next year and have a year of college life/ education already built up (might make your second first year alot easier smile.gif)

3) You take a plc in the chance that you may go on to college

Good luck in your choice
    /me anxiously waiting for my offer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Spunog UIE

yup thats what i'm thinking. but i don't think i've got any college choices asssss, maths is a min requirment, ya? What i'm askin is, is maths a min requirment for all colleges, this is something i have presumed.

Anyhew i think i will just do a plc or something and do maths as well in my spare time. Then resit the maths paper and reapply to cao next year. Is that what you were saying it got a bit muddled when i was readin it.

Gideon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭androphobic

maths isnt essential to get into a course like arts in ucd/ucc/nuig

you can do a few other courses w/o maths too.. cant remember them off the top of my head but check the ucd website maybe..
    you need maths for dcu and tcd though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭Mixie

I screwed up my hons leaving cert maths exam a year ago. I couldn't find a single computer degree course that didn't require it, so I ended up doing a computer science PLC and repeating maths (now pass lvl) in the evening. Now that I've got my maths I have a number of choices - the PLC links directly to a CS degree course, I can enter with previous years points & this years new maths result, or through advanced entry (not sure if its 'advanced' entry?).

I was pretty worried about it a year ago, but basically I got the course I wanted and it only tacked on 1 extra year.

WOOHOO biggrin.gif

Just checked the CAO website - got my first choice cool.gif

(the points required for my preferred course dropped by 30 this year)

- Munch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭T.G Catter

just checked d 'jold' offer,first choice..nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 772 ✭✭✭Chaos-Engine

Didn't get anything I wanted frown.gif
    I am lost
    I suppose i better repeat frown.gif

Ah well
    Come on that HC3 in Maths

I'll be seeing u all in TCD CS next year I sware it.

"Information is Ammunition"
    Choas Engine
    Email: choas@netshop.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Steven

*snigger*
    I was refused entry by *snicker* by *chuckle* by... Portobello. Ahahahaha, hahaha. Haha. Hah. Ha, heh. Hmmm, doesn't seem so funny now cool.gif

Anyone else going to IT Carlow? smile.gif