"Oxegen" Festival confirmed for 10/11 July, Bowie and The Darkness to headline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

Originally posted by smelly girl
    well im drunk and pissed off, and ill be drunk and pissed off at witnness and ill find u!!!!!!!

and then what? ponit and laugh at me? :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Originally posted by brocklanders
    yes

Thanks for that pointless comment you fúcking cliché.

I checked out more information and it seems that The Darkness are not headlining the festival as originally thought. Instead they will be sharing the stage with David Bowie on the Sunday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭The Failed God

PINK!!!!!! Uggggggh I like the darkness even though they're a bit pop but come on lets hope the quality of line up announced does a sharp U turn n starts going back uphill otherwise we might as well rename the thing "****nness", Mcd get your act together and listen to your average gig goer, for example Madonna at slane???, is that a prank or what she shouldnt be allowed in the field to clean the toilets, never mind up on stage, forgive me if im wrong but i reckon most people would agree!:confused:

Kings of Leon and Franz Ferdinand are now added to the lineup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

From hotpress.com
    Last year's Witnness showstealers, Kings of Leon, have been added to the Oxegen bill.

Elsewhere, Snow Patrol, Franz Ferdinand, Muse and Dogs Die In Hot Cars have been confirmed for T In The Park, Oxegen’s sister festival which takes place over the same weekend near Glasgow. With the bills in past years being pretty much interchangeable, there’s every chance you’ll see ’em at Punchestown too.

Meanwhile, an MCD spokesman has denied that the event is being sponsored by O2. Also ruling themselves out of the running are their rivals Meteor who tell hotpress.com: “From our point of view to do that, following the Meteor Awards, it would be too much of the same thing.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Tickets priced €59.50(one day), €110(two day) and €130(two day including camping) go on sale on Friday 5th March at 9am. All ticket prices include booking fee and are available as follows:

How do they kick the people on one day tickets out once the first day is over?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle
    How do they kick the people on one day tickets out once the first day is over?

The campsite is seperate the music area, and requires an armband to get in. One day ticket holders don't get campsite armbands. You can camp in the carpark though, as long as you wait to pitch your tent. This can prove tricky at 1am after a day at a festival, but it's surprisingly good craic out there.

hehe just make sure ya dont scratch me car lodgepole :)

isnt there several different carparks? i was lucky last year, picked the closest one to the first campsite! was still a hell of a walk carrying alot of slabs of drink!

didnt know they let people camp in the car park at all, especially with tents, ah think i'll still go for the campsite, is some laugh :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

i dont believe
    david bowie, wheel him out lads, he should be in a retirement home
    and the darkness...
    how pathetic.
    roll on the strokes and the kings of leon...
    the other bands sound dire

some bands are just good
    others are just plain crap

the thing about good taste is: can you see it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭antifyre

Adonis,

I saw lots of gigs last year; Glastonbury, Witness, Springsteen, Radiohead, Damien Rice, REM (Three times....big fan)......and David Bowie in the Point (the crappy, souless Point Depot) played the best 2hrs and 35 minutes of live music I have ever seen....

for that reason, and to laugh at the Darkness again, I am going to oxegen......

and I have'nt seen many of the other bands live.

MJK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

david bowie, wheel him out lads, he should be in a retirement home

Have you seen him recently? he looks like he's about 35? not 57. age has got nothing to do with quality of music, by that logic, brittany should actually be good.

Try not to enjoy his set at Oxegen. I dare you.

R

David Bowie puts on one of the best, longest and most energetic rock shows that I have ever seen. I saw him play the Sunday night in the Point, for three hours. He's going to be STUNNING at Oxegen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Bungalow Bill

WTF? Bowie's lookin sharper than ever AND is still making good music.
    Bowie will be awesome, I guarantee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭adonis

hey all you guys gonna go to the cher gig,
    man some of that mundane music you are listening to is awful././.
    anyone going to kraftwerk on monday night?
    now thatll be a gig, bettter than old man bowie crooning into a microphone.
    what did he ever do anyway, bar hanging on to the coat tails of lou reed, andy warhol and the whole new york underground thing.
    i mean ziggy stardust
    how pretentious

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Originally posted by Bungalow Bill
    WTF? Bowie's lookin sharper than ever AND is still making good music.
    Bowie will be awesome, I guarantee.

Yes, I love "Passenger" and "Lust for life".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 947 ✭✭✭neXus9

They were Iggy Pop songs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Johnny Versace

Originally posted by neXus9
    They were Iggy Pop songs.

No you are confusing David Bowie with Iggy Pop. Iggy Pop did the Larger Larger Larger song for Trainspotting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

anyone know if the pixies are in the line up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭comet

Originally posted by Johnny Versace
    No you are confusing David Bowie with Iggy Pop. Iggy Pop did the Larger Larger Larger song for Trainspotting.

Ahem these were Iggy Pops on his 1977 album Lust for Life. He did collaborate with Bowie on some songs (i think Bowie wrote the music for Lust for Life) but Pop wrote the lyrics and sings the definitive versions.

Originally posted by comet
    Ahem these were Iggy Pops on his 1977 album Lust for Life. He did collaborate with Bowie on some songs (i think Bowie wrote the music for Lust for Life) but Pop wrote the lyrics and sings the definitive versions.

Actually the Lust for Life album is pretty much a continuation of the David Bowie experiment that began with The Idiot. He produced and co wrote most of it, sang backing vocals to a couple of tracks too. Lyrically the album is Iggy's, but musically, it's Bowie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

Originally posted by Corben Dallas
    anyone know if the pixies are in the line up?

I wish. Chilis will be their only major gig in Ireland this year in all proabability. And I'm doing my Leaving :(

yes the pixies only major gig in ireland, i wouldn't be surprised to see a couple of smaller gigs added in say the olympia or ambassador.

such a band cant only play in ireland as support to the chillis, its just not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Pixies already have a pretty busy schedule around that time...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

Originally posted by p.pete
    Pixies already have a pretty busy schedule around that time...
    Yeah but with Foo Fighters in 2002, they played in the Ambassador the night before Witnness and the day after Witnness had T in the Park, so there's hope yet!

note that they aren't playing anywhere between july 8 and july 11 and on july 11 they play t in the park, that leaves july 10 open for them to play the saturday at oxegen.

hopefully they'll play the saturday at oxegen and sunday at t in the park, which alot of bands do play alternate days at the sister festival.

start crossing them fingers!

Don't want to spoil the hope here but it is very unlikely that the Pixies are going to return to Ireland to play at Oxegen, unless it acts as a surprise or a last-minute decision. It would undermine their support slot with the Red Hot Chili Peppers and would be considered uneconomical to return to such a small country in such a short period of time.

I would imagine that they would play the Machester MOVE festival instead over that weekend, just like REM did last year. REM is an example of a band that played the T in the Park festival (in 2003) yet skipped Witnness.

Club shows are also very unlikely because, like p.pete said, they have a pretty busy sceduele around that time (Red Hot Chili Peppers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Tatevik

Hi guys, just thought id tell ye bout a great new website for all the info on witnness (or should i say oxegen). the address is www.goldenplec.com

Hope to see ye all there soon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 healy001

whats goin on with the line up? PJ Harvey and WU Tang Clan added now. its going in the complete opposite direction of what i was hoping the line up would be. where are the good rock bands? why cant they get a line up that matched witnness 2002? the likes of green day and the foos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭p.pete

Originally posted by healy001
    whats goin on with the line up? PJ Harvey and WU Tang Clan added now. its going in the complete opposite direction of what i was hoping the line up would be. where are the good rock bands? why cant they get a line up that matched witnness 2002? the likes of green day and the foos.
    Are Wu Tang playing any other dates in Europe? would love to see them but can't see much on their website ;-(

Originally posted by p.pete
    Are Wu Tang playing any other dates in Europe? would love to see them but can't see much on their website ;-(

It is confirmed over at www.oxegen.ie.