Cinema Rant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

i wonder why i dont go to the cinema anymore :D happens all the time that there will be someone rattling a crisp bag, slurping on a drink, on the phone, talking etc. etc. had someone snoring behind me once aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭Sauron

nothing annoys me more tbh..:dunno:
    was watching ROTK in the UGC and some 15yr old skanger's phone rings for ages and he actually picks it up and starts talking really loudly and this was in a quiet scene, annoyed the hell outta me....:mad:

Seeing ROTK again, was sitting in front of a group of middle-aged house wifey types and ignorant bastards.....felt it was great to think of some kind of pun or joke for whenever someone dies...mainly during quiet scenes, laughing loudly.....thinking they were so funny...only ppl talking in an otherwise quiet scenes....got a few looks from the rest of the crowd...seemed oblivious to them.

I HATE ppl like that who think they're so funny and cant keep their mouth shut (in a cinema) and think they're above criticism and would drop their monacles in their sherry glasses in shock at any sign of it...."well, I never!"

Finally, little mini-rockers with Nirvana hoodies and laser pens.....nuff said.

Inconsiderate assholes imo..when skangers come to a movie that to complex for them they start acting like idiots.:dunno:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

If there are little skangers annoying you and the crowd in UGC tell security. I've seen them kick them out a few times. It does work.

Now does anyone want to fund my plan whereby, for a small ticket price increase, we pay for a rifleman in the cinema, with night vision goggles, who will take out any noise makers?

Originally posted by echomadman
    And if i'd have killed those women, i'd have been in the wrong.....
    Not if I was in power: you'd get a medal for bravery in the face of duty. Vote ixoy - you know it makes sense!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭MrBigglesworth

It's my number one hate in this life. It ruins the whole experience of cinema-going and is one of few times I would gladly smash a jumbo pepsi into somebody's face. TWATS!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

I have never had any trouble like this, what time do you all go at?

I tend to go on weekday evenings.

Not been so bad lately, for me. Get the showings around 18:30ish but - more importantly - generally and see more "alternative" movies, such as "Thirteen" or "One/Two/Three" which skangers wouldn't touch.
    I still think murder is justified however.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

Phones ringing in cinemas really piss me off - and although the person making the call must share some of the blame, people should really turn them off before they go into the cinema.

Most of the time I will put up with talking etc but on two separate occasions over the years I have lost the head and thrown my drink over people - after telling them to shut up a couple of times prior to this.
    Both times they walked out in shock.
    Both times other people applauded.

the trick is make sure they are smaller than you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 538 ✭✭✭raphaelS

After the beers, the poker, the pool why not a film, only for us, with us!
    How much will it be to book a screen for a film...?

Raphael

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭dictatorcat

Personally i don't mind noisey people/knackers in the cinema.........becauz ven i am in power ze final zolution vill sort zem all out......oh i've had too much sugar today:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

Originally posted by echomadman
    "we're at the kill bill" "no, no its not over yet" "yeah we'll meet youin." at this point I lost it, turned around and shouted " SHUT THE FUCK UP, GET OFF YOUR PHONE YOU IGNORANT BITCH YOU'RE IN A CINEMA"

she looked stunned and terrified, and hung up......... not 1 minute later it rang again, obviously the same person as she began talking again "no its not over yet.." que me shouting abuse again, then her slack jawed friends mobile rang, honest to god I was almost in apoplexy at this point, which was compounded when i turned around and the credits were rolling (kill bill pt 1 ends rather abruptly imo). I turned to the three vacuous bints again and congratulated them on ruining the film and totally fucging up the ending then left b while i was still able to contain my urge to throttle them

And if i'd have killed those women, i'd have been in the wrong.....

That's the most satisfying post I've ever read.

Originally posted by Mark
    That's the most satisfying post I've ever read.
    Indeed. Can I bring him to the cinema?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

ah yes the cinema, where you either have a good time or a near heart attack.

first off in relation to children in cinemas

1) ban all children under the ages of 5 from any movie
    2) children should only be brought to children's movies and other appropriate movies - having been told to be absoluetly quiet (I do this with my daughter, and it works a treat)
    3) if the child acts up, just get up and leave (i have done this twice before with a neighbour's child as she wouldnt shut up nattering to herself)
    4) never ever let a child get away with kicking your seat or seats of people with you. went to see several movies with my daughter and unfortunatly she seems to get the seat kickers - which were duely dealt with either a stern look that the offending child's parents see or the final solution, stand up, turn around, and look directly at the parent and tell them to stop their child kicking the seat or you will stop the child yourself - quite funny to see parents sh*t themselves :)

now we come to my personal hate - the mobile phone users

gah will these people just curl up and die! every so often while at the cinema with the gf, there are countless people with mobiles - and every bloody time the gf stops me from getting up and thumping them and breaking their phones. so now i resort to just yelling really loudly at them and pointing at them. although one guy got up and came over to me and threatened me as he was talking to his mother!!! so i just pushed him away, and he duely fell down 3 steps - he just quietly sat back down.

a friend of mine was being annoyed by someone beside them using their mobile phone, so they took it off them and hurled it to the floor - he was in the back row so he threw it a loooong way away. luckily the phone did break, or else he would have had to spend time looking for it if it rang again :)

the point is - would it not be an idea for a member of security to confiscate all phones and then hand them back after the movie? wouldnt be too hard to implement if it was based on a ticket or sticker solution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭anthonymcg

Originally posted by Ph3n0m
    the point is - would it not be an idea for a member of security to confiscate all phones and then hand them back after the movie? wouldnt be too hard to implement if it was based on a ticket or sticker solution

Nah, I'd rather have one of those mobile phone blocker things in place. The Savoy had one but they had to get rid of it for some reason. How can people not go without their phone for 2 hours?! Its crazy. If its important, leave a f*cking voice mail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

As far as I know, the Savoy had to remove the mobile phone blocker thing because it was a security hazzard.

Originally posted by tinkerbell
    As far as I know, the Savoy had to remove the mobile phone blocker thing because it was a security hazzard.

How exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭echomadman

Mobile phone blockers, wonderful as they may be, are illegal unless you have a license to broadcast in that specific frequency range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

is there a variation that sets all mobiles ringing?

Cause it be funny and usefull for a turn mobile add off to say "If your mobile is on like so...(activate blocker that causes all mobiles to ring) turn them off NOW! and once again i shall say if it is on (blocker again) keep it off."

it'll be like those orange mobile ads. No one in warner cinema ever seem to have mobile on cause those ads are so funny and out of respect people turn mobiles off (its only in ugc and my home town cinema with their crappy ads that they are not turned off)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

confiscate phones? christ, there is a 'silent' option on most phones now. Thats all thats needed. That and of course the brains needed to let calls go to voicebox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

ah-ha but you see they have to have the intelligence to be able to use said silent option :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

would it be possible for the regular people to make mobile phones illegal in a cinema. show a few warnings before the film like

have your phone on and we'll have you prosecuted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

That's way too draconian. Just have it that if your phone goes off(and you don't immediately silence it,just to allow room for mistakes although they give enough fecking warnings) then you get automatically thrown out of the cinema,no questions asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 210 ✭✭deimos

Mobile phone blocker, best invention ever......... a friend made one before using a vco(925mhz to 960mhz), just kept doing full frequency scans, back and forth. He actually brought it to the cinema with him now and again, he used a 12v rechargable alarm battery, I think it lasted about an hour and had about 40m range on it. Your phone would just loose signal with it on, brilliant device........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

I'm afraid it's not just Dublin. The Omniplex in Galway has it's share of nackers. Worst experience ever was when we went a few months ago (can't remember the film). Some cúnt and his stupid girlfriend sat beside us. She started to argue and then ignore him for not buying the popcorn :rolleyes: however he decided to bicker with her for most of the film. Then some cúnt in front of us took a phone call and for most of the film I had some kid (with his dad) behind me kick my chair. As we were leaving the film the bickering couple were in front of us walking down the stairs. I was seriously contemplating kicking him in the back thus having him fall down approx 40 steps. I didn't though but I wish I had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

afaik the reason the savoy had to get rid of theirs was bacause they had a phone shop beside them. you couldnt get a signal anywhere in the shop which was a bit of a hinderence if you're trying to sell mobile phones. that shop is closed down now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Phone blockers are more a health hazard. It basically blocks the signal so most phones will boost thiers to get a connection, which isn't too healthy for the person.

They are working on new blockers though, which basically tell the phone to STFU. It will either switch off the connection or switch them to silent mode. They will also shut down the camera while in range.

Nope - wrong. The blocker breached Ireland's ancient telegraph act which states that you can't block access to telephones. It was illegal unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Phone blockers are illegal in Ireland. And wat about on call doctors. How would they receive the call if their phone can't receive a signal.

Originally posted by clownboy
    Phone blockers are illegal in Ireland. And wat about on call doctors. How would they receive the call if their phone can't receive a signal.

On-call doctors shouldnt go to the cinema if they're on call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by anthonymcg
    On-call doctors shouldnt go to the cinema if they're on call.

Why not? They are 'on-call' not in work