Hottest names

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Sinead (any Sinead I know is very sexy) ;)
    Jane
    Jennifer
    Lisa
    Claire

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

Originally posted by giggles
    Caimin, I think your name is great! I love names that aren't very common
    your in there!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

A few people have mentioned it and I think it's very true, about associating a name with a person you like/dislike.

I absolutely hated a girl in school called sinead so because of that I hate the name sinead.
    hate the names of a few exes etc but love my husbands name so it's all kinda relative.

Must be hard trying to pick names for kids, too many people don't take the second name into account.
    My brother went to school with a guy called Robert Robertson.. poor guy, totally blame the parents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭catspring

For the ladies I like:
    Catherine/Kate/Katie/Kat (but not Catriona or Cathy)
    Samantha
    Sophie
    Emma
    Eve
    Naomi

And for the men:
    Peter
    David

I’m Claire and I don’t like it coz there were 6 other Claires in my year in school.
    When (hopefully) I have a daughter I’d like her second name to be Cobweb (I know a baby called Jade Cobweb and I think it’s lovely!!)

Also, I agree with the associating names with people theory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Sinead (any Sinead I know is very sexy) ;)
    yeah i know one aswell and omg she's fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,926 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Best girl's name I've heard was "Storm", never met the girl though. Worst names "Tuesday" and "Spatula".
    Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    Ohhh baby, guess what my name is
    "Jesus"? :)
    Originally posted by andrew163
    Lisa (when its applied to a scanger, otherwise its not TOO bad)
    "Liz"..... elizabeth (the big long full version :rolleyes:) isnt too bad.
    The best of the Lizzies are the South African "Zabeth" and "Tabetha".

I wonder where Paris Hilton was conceived. As was Caimin.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Originally posted by Victor
    Best girl's name I've heard was "Storm", never met the girl though. "Jesus"? :) The best of the Lizzies are the South African "Zabeth" and "Tabetha".

I wonder where Paris Hilton was conceived. As was Caiman

As far as I know, the hotel was named after the family, not the other way around.

It would be a sick joke of her parents named her after their Paris hotel.

Originally posted by monument
    It would be a sick joke of her parents named her after their Paris hotel.
    Tell this to Brooklyn Beckham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Originally posted by Victor
    Tell this to Brooklyn Beckham.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

my name is lewis , i hate it lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭rmacm

For girls I like:
    Nathalie
    Laura
    Denise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭oq4v3ht0u76kf2

Sara (pronounced the same as Sarah but spelled without the h) - the hottest, bestest, most sextacular name ever! Just hearing the name Sarah is cool but I think seeing Sara spelt is just... nyom!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Clare (iza very sexy name - why? there's a babe at work called Clare - she's foxy - sexy - and oh man what a babe! She's No. 1 of my work top 5!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 tonysoprano

Worked with a guy once called Jude Nazareth. A name with b

• Closed Accounts Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Carbiens

gots me my kids names picked out,

boys,

Kain
    Seth (maybe)

girls,

Rebecca
    Sharwyn (maybe)

dogs,

Spanky + Angus:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭davil

Originally posted by catspring
    And for the men:
    Peter
    David

Well I think Claire would definitely be in my top 10 and I'm a David. If names were all there were to worry about, we'd both be in business. But anyway, my list would be like this:

Amy
    Abby
    Alice
    Celine
    Claire
    Debbie
    Elaine
    Emma
    Jada
    Jennifer [not jenny as much though]
    Katie
    Lorraine
    Melissa
    Sasha
    Sandra
    Tamara

And just about any Irish name you can think of. Except Máire. or Áine. There's a lot of Saoirses going about but I still like that name.

And I really think Noleen is a crap name. sorry to all you Noleens out there.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,744 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

More female input please. I wanna see if my name is on that list. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭davil

Originally posted by commuterised
    Robert Robertson.. poor guy, totally blame the parents.

I know a Donald McDonald. Pooor fecker.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,418 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Originally posted by Carbine:

gots me my kids names picked out,

boys,

Kain
    Seth (maybe)

girls,

Rebecca
    Sharwyn (maybe)

You can't lumber a kid with a name like Kain, the ISPCC will be on to ya in no time. If you're going to insist you could at least spell it in it's more normal form, Cain, although either way it's a hiding in the schoolyard for that kid. As for Seth, well I'm a Leeds fan and the only Seth I've ever heard of is a useless lump called Seth Johnson that we paid £8m for, so that name doesn't conjour up happy images either.

Are you sure Sharwyn is even a name??? I think you're making this stuff up as you go along. I'll let you away with Rebecca though, that's a nice name and at least you didn't spell it Rebekah, unlike a poor unfortunate cousin of mine whose parents need a good beating. She's a lovely girl despite all that. Still, it could have been worse - I've heard of one poor unfortunate girl christened Alabama recently. That child should be taken away from the parents and put into care immediately!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Senor_Fudge

i vote Naoise for either male or female

either way ya'll be getting slagged

Originally posted by zaph
    I'll let you away with Rebecca though, that's a nice name and at least you didn't spell it Rebekah,
    I suspect thats the original Hebrew spelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,738 ✭✭✭BigEejit

My cousin had a friend called Krona ... nice enough name until a margarine came out with the same name (15 years ago this was, at least) ... and what was their main advertising line: - "Krona - Spreads Easily" ... poor girl got a savage piss taking
    she was talking to me one time, saying people asked her name (grand looking cailín, attracted boys no bother) .. she told them Krona and then she counted to 3 and watched the stupid grin spread across their faces... she only went out with the ones that didnt have the dopy grin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ll=llannah

the thing about names, though, is that whether or not we like certain ones is it depends so much on who we know who has which name and what effect they had on us.
    But, anyway, I like names that aren't common. I know so many people with my name, and after the first few phone calls consisting of "hi hannah, its hannah. no, not that hannah. the other hannah. wow. this is confusing. ha...ha...ha" it wears off and consequently I find that I do not respond to my name, because the percent chance that someone is talking to me is low enough that 'hey you' or calling me by my last name is a much better bet.
    but i like iona, aurora, fiona, deirdre, katharine (spelled just like that with two 'a's), sophia and aisling to name a few.
    and i hate boys names for girls. especially with 'y's and 'k's. like kasey and carey and kyle and the like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Senor_Fudge

pin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Linzi (or lyndsay but i prefer the z spelling, possibly due to the ones i knew were particuarly hot..) this one being a particular favourite..

Ashley

Jennifer

Elaine

Amy

some irish names are pretty sexy to i thought,

Aisling and niamh are 2 that spring to mind from my ex and someone i work with which i thought were nice names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

all those black ghetto women names such as

sha naynay
    shaneequa
    lequifa
    blololololololololol-equa

its ****ing retarded.

(anyway, yay)
    jennifer
    ruth
    emma
    rachel
    maria

(nay)
    jacinta
    nicola (NICKLA)
    corina (KARRRRRRINA) :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,810 ✭✭✭DRakE

Originally posted by BigEejit
    My cousin had a friend called Krona ... nice enough name until a margarine came out with the same name (15 years ago this was, at least) ... and what was their main advertising line: - "Krona - Spreads Easily" ... poor girl got a savage piss taking
    she was talking to me one time, saying people asked her name (grand looking cailín, attracted boys no bother) .. she told them Krona and then she counted to 3 and watched the stupid grin spread across their faces... she only went out with the ones that didnt have the dopy grin

HAHAHA bloody nightmaer for the poor girl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,165 ✭✭✭Big Ears

theres a person in my year called ulie. this reminds me of ali g all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭snickerpuss

Boys names (yay)

Ben
    Óisín
    Matthew
    I love irishy sounding names

Naoise - i love that name except ive heard both boys and girls called it so i dont know what it is anymore.

I dont think anyone will find my name particularly nice...karen.
    Its just not very...anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,165 ✭✭✭Big Ears

great names: Tim.

that is all.