Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hottest names

• 02-12-2003 4:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭

Are there a few names that are just purely sexy and some for which the parents should be punished? What are the hottest names out there?

For me:
    Sarah
    Jennifer
    Aisha (the song by Outlandish but the name is hot)
    Jade

Icky names:
    Most of the VERY Irish ones i dislike or the really religious sounding ones... Your gran's name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Luke :D

oh... FYI.........Irish names are lovely.
    Also, my grannys called Kate..... I always thoughr that was a nice name.... not typically grannyish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

We should be careful when listing the name's prents should be punished for- don't want to hurt anyones feelings!! :)
    The sexiest names are: Chris, Jude and Lee. I love those names!
    As for the worst names for a guy.. hmmm, can't think of any right now! Usually if he's sexy the name will grow on me no matter how bad it is to start with.
    /me plays it safe.. phew!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Call me traditional, but I likes the Irish names. Aisling, Aoife, Caoimhe, Niamh, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

i cant think of any sexy names right now, but for just totally down right terrible names:
    JACINTA
    Nicola (only when i hear skangers say that name.... )
    Doras.....

thats my opinion anyway:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Max Power,now thats a name you want:D

As Homer Simpson said"Nobody snuggles with Max Power. They strap themselves in and FEEL THE G`S!"/me gesticulates wildly in a sexual manner and also edits a misquote i typed

As for bad womens names theres a ****load of women in their 40s/50s with names like concepta,assumpta,attracta and others named after obscure foreign saints. Though rare there are even a few women called Immaculata,be jaysus.:rolleyes:

For some reason I like alot of girls names beginning with L.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭radiospan

Originally posted by Kold
    Icky names:
    Most of the VERY Irish ones i dislike

I know of a guy called "Coillte" (= "forests")

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by Tha Gopher
    Max Power,now thats a name you want:D

As Homer Simpson said"Nobody snuggles with Max Power. They strap themselves in and FEEL THE CHEESE!"
    lol, what a misquote!:D

michelle is the name that does it for me anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Originally posted by quank
    i cant think of any sexy names right now, but for just totally down right terrible names:
    Doras.....

Nearly as bad as being called fuinneog. ;)

Crap names are the ones I'd associate with grannies.
    There's a girl in my class named Agnes, what were her parents thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

Originally posted by Makaveli
    There's a girl in my class named Agnes, what were her parents thinking.

LMAO
    oh my god, poor gal...... JEBURS!
    i would smack my parents silly.......
    i send my deepest condolences:p

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Originally posted by plazz2000
    I know of a guy called "Coillte" (= "forests")
    Indeed, I know one as well. And at least two "Nollaigs" (Christmas). You have to wonder if these parents *want* to have their child bullied in school.

Hot names: It really depends on the person. I know of one girl with a sexy sounding French name who happes to be a complete munter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Lukin Black

A teacher at my old school was called Nabla (female). Apparently it's Irish for Annabelle or something.

Girl's names (yay):

Laura/Lara
    Ellen
    Anna

Girl's names (nay):

Gertrude
    Beatrice
    Frances
    Geraldine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Mad Mike

Be careful about this one - the answer to this question tells us more about you than you might think.

I am pretty sure that the names you find fanciable are all linked either consciously or subconciously to someone you lusted after in your formative years - particularly during the mad rush to the head period of early adolescence.

I'm guessing that about 50 years ago in our grandparents day there were some pretty tasty lady stars of the moving cinematograph called

Gertrude
    Beatrice
    Frances
    Geraldine

and

Agnes

i have vauge memories of drunkenly taking the piss out of a girl called... well, i'm not sure how it's spelled, it's pronounced "d-yawanna"

poor lass:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭sunbeam

Joanna? :confused:

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,158 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Girls (yay)

Rachel ;)
    Caoimhe
    Lauren
    Aoife

Girls (nay)
    Amelda
    Beatrice
    Gertrude

There are loads more but I can't think of many at the moment. The names Concepta, Attracta, etc are names I would associate with nuns (considering that I was at a Convent secondary school :p )

Originally posted by sunbeam
    Joanna? :confused:

very strange pronounciation of it if that was the case...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

Aaron

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

the key to sexy names, keep it simple!

emma
    anna
    aoife
    zoe
    amy
    jamie
    kate
    zara
    kim
    lara
    clara
    ruth

however my favorite name is roxanne;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

Emma
    Emily
    Rebecca
    Michelle
    Trish
    Sharon
    Catriona/triona
    caoimhme
    Aoife
    Niamh
    Cliona
    Laura
    Stephanie
    Andrea
    Most italian names

Masculine sounding girls names are unsexy

Frances
    Adrienne
    Agnes
    Noèl
    etc.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I always thought that Natasha sounded pretty sexy until some skanger on a bus one day bellowed NA-TASH-AAAHHH at the top of her lungs at her poor unfortunate 4 year old. Kinda put paid to it for me after that. I've never met an ugly Catherine, so that would have to rank as a favourite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Originally posted by Kold
    Are there a few names that are just purely sexy and some for which the parents should be punished? What are the hottest names out there?

Aisha (the song by Outlandish but the name is hot)

That was Death in Vegas, was it not, Kold?
    Personally I hate all those dumb assclown names that you'd find on the southside, like Caoimhe, Seoirche, Fainche, Caca millis, Bainne etc :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

Irish girl names

Aoife
    Cliona
    Einin
    Saoirse
    Aoibheann
    Aine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Some sexy names:

Ruth
    Elaine
    Jordanna

Some non-sexy names:

Humpty Dumpty
    Einsturzende :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭embee

Originally posted by xx
    Personally I hate all those dumb assclown names that you'd find on the southside, like Caoimhe, Seoirche, Fainche, Caca millis, Bainne etc :D

Seoirche? Is that meant to be Saoirse? Or Sorcha, perhaps?

Sorcha is my name. It might not be sexy or hot, but I like it.

My mama was going to call me either Sorcha or Roxanne.

I think I got off lightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 300 ✭✭neoB

Chad is freaking hot. So is Chet. *drools* Bryan, Cormac (sexillent)
    Alana is a cute too. Remeber this hot girl with the name. Smoking! Becca, Elise.. Candi hehe.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,678 ✭✭✭Selik

Some of my favourite names for the ladies would be Natasha, Alicia and Saskia... I have some cousins with some unusual names as well - Tamara, Mikaela and Tatiana, also lovely names for girls mo. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

most of the irish names and foreign names like Tamara or hailey or naomi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭xern

Charlotte
    Melanie
    Deirdre
    Gemma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Neg xx, Kazaa "Outlandish - Aisha" (pronounced Eye-E-Sha)

*Shudder* I was meeting a girl called Jacinta, lovely girl but I made sure to refer to her as 'Jazz'.

As for the subconscious fancying thing, of the 4 girls i consider best looking in my year, 3 are sarahs but i just think it's a lovely name too. Though the other ones name is 'Vera' *more shuddering*

I'm Liam, I never liked it when i was younger but I dunno, it's growing on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

Originally posted by zaph
    I always thought that Natasha sounded pretty sexy until some skanger on a bus one day bellowed NA-TASH-AAAHHH at the top of her lungs at her poor unfortunate 4 year old. Kinda put paid to it for me after that. I've never met an ugly Catherine, so that would have to rank as a favourite.

gawd how many nice names were ruined by scummers shouting them out loud.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,446 ✭✭✭Havelock

Thumps Up for

Alana
    Liz (Elizabeth)
    Amanda
    Alison
    Natasha/Natalia
    Samantha (Sam)
    Lorna
    Sophia/Sophie

Thumbs down for

Commen Names

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭The Second

common names.... I know at least 4 Amandas ... half the names you mentioned Havelock are common enough!

..... I heard a name for a fellow before ... Dagan ... thought it was nice.. and unusual ... and Irish....

unusual names always sound best....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 184 ✭✭smoke

Layla!!!

Wouldn't that be deadly if you hooked up with someone by that name!
    You could sing a line from the song by the same name every time you wanted something!
    eg. Layla, get my dinner ready!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Originally posted by embee
    Luke :D

Ohhh baby, guess what my name is ;););)

I like Amy, Lisa, Sara and Maria.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Anything said in a French accent (knees weakening already) :p

Nothing said in a Dundalk accent!

(For instance, compare "Jacinta").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,823 ✭✭✭Horsefumbler

'Dick Gobbler'

Originally posted by embee
    My mama was going to call me either Sorcha or Roxanne.

I think I got off lightly.

I think so too. But think how many drunken men could have sung "Roxanne" by Sting & The Police at you in the middle of the street?!?

[SINGS LOUDLY]RRRRRRRRRROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOXXXXXXXXXXXXAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNEEEEEEEE...
    [/Singing]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭][cEMAN**

Originally posted by tman
    i have vauge memories of drunkenly taking the piss out of a girl called... well, i'm not sure how it's spelled, it's pronounced "d-yawanna"

poor lass:D

If you ask a girl in a bar her name, and she replies anything sounding remotely like d'yawanna, you say yes - and quickly leave. You do not make fun of her....only if she's crap do you make fun of her :p:p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Oisin
    Fionn
    Mc Guyver :)

Mr_angry: *In silly French accent* "It is I, LeClerk"

non?

Ow about "I will say tis once and only once"

Did that turn you on?
    I miss "Allo, allo"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Crystal Steal!!!

Too many Gandalf avatars in a row there...

Anyway, weren't we talking about women's names, as opposed to just any French?

Lets actually do that comparison.

French women: "Je suis Jacinta" (Sha-cint-ah)
    Dundalk women: "Well. Dey call me Jacksintar".

Quite a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭andrew163

Yay:

Jennifer/Jenny
    Laura
    Emma
    Clare
    theres more but i cant think of them....

Nay:
    Samantha
    Beatrice/Gertrude/all the bad ones mentioned up there
    Lisa (when its applied to a scanger, otherwise its not TOO bad)
    "Liz"..... elizabeth (the big long full version :rolleyes:) isnt too bad..
    Sarah....especially when it's being screamed in a high-pitched voice through a school corridor *shudders*

[edit]
    add to Nay list:
    cant believe i forgot this one.... *screams* KATREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEYYYAAAAANNNNEHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!
    [/edit]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭AL][EN

Originally posted by zaph
    I I've never met an ugly Catherine, so that would have to rank as a favourite.

Id tend to agree with that zaph

My list of hot names would go something along the lines of

Catherine
    Catriona
    Hannah
    Jennifer
    Zara
    Sara

And so on

I dont really have any names that i dont like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Originally posted by Lex_Diamonds
    Crystal Steal!!!

:D It's spelt with a 'K', but thats hardly worth arguing over!

*dr00ls*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

I have a couple of (real) friends with the best names ever:

Kathy Fox
    Angie Silk

Never, ever met a good looking Heidi .... **shudders**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

Candi hehe

/me glows!!!!

That is my name. Although, I have always hated it cause I was made fun of as a child. :(

My favorites are older and antique sounding...Boys..William, Owen, Alexander, ....Btw My brother is a LUKE!! heheheh

For girls...I like Katrina, Maria, Collene, and Marissa. I like spanish decent names on girls. My grandmothers family is from Spain...She is a Juanita Louisa Valero....I love it!

Names are such an insight to someone. Love this thread.

~DR~

Originally posted by DriftingRain
    Alexander~DR~

Thats my name! Well mine is actually, Alexandre.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

For a guy, Parthalán, pronounced in a good Irish accent!

The last guy who bore that name probably died a good few centuries though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Thelonious Monk, legendary jazz player.

Now there's a f**k off name if you ever heard one.