Students...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by L4
    Does anyone esle find Students extremely irritating? I have a short experience of student life and I know how these people think. They have some stupid assignment or homework to do and everyone has to hear about it. They have no concept of the real world and a little bit of reading and writing is the end of the world. And why have students got unique accents? It's not Dublin, nor Cultchie, it's a kind of a posh mix of them both. I can't understand these people. Their fashion sense has always been appauling, yet in recent years they like to think they are at the high of fashion with their denim jackets, 'styled hair do's' and rosy red cheeks. I hear them winge on the train ''oh did you hear, I only have a month off this Christmas, it's a farce and we have a 10 page essay to write by march, and they only told us in September'' It's almost funny. Do they have any concept of reality. I have only 4 days off at Christmas, 4. Most people I know have in and around the same. Yet you don't hear them bitch and groan. I say they make College like the Army. Everyone lives in a commune. Everyone is made run trough rain and sleet and fed on slops, that'll teach them.

You are the one with no grip on reality.
    Fucktard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭bus77

Im with ya 110% L4:D
    Walking into a student campus is like goin to the moon.
    Wrong place to say it tho, It's not hard to see that boards ie. is infested with students:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

I'm also with L4, unlike the likes of Syxpak, Duffman and utility whose tongues are lodged so firmly up Sangre's áss, that they can't construct their own reply as to why they LOVE students soooo much.

I'm fine with students that work hard, a good few of my friends are hard working students. It's the wánkers that L4 describes in his first post I have a problem with. If they just didn't appear in the "Real World" until they've finished their course and copped on about how to dress/speak than all of Irelands cities would be much more enjoyable places.

...and yes it's quite obvious that L4 is right... alot of you árse licking suckups here, AKA students seem to have gleaned this new vocabulary/slang from America or possibly UCD. I mean.... fúcktard!?!?!? :confused: If anyone said that to me in "Real life" I have to say I'd be laughing in their face for a good ten minutes.
    Tough $hit pal - cry me a river.

Again, that would induce a good ten minute laugh from me. Who are you Al Pacino? Justin Timberlake? What? Does anyone else on here speak like this? If so, shoot yourself. Unless of course you're American, than you can just about get away with saying bóllox like this.
    if the L in your name stand for 'loser', then all you need to do is add the word 'life' at the end....

The superior wit here... is..... amazing.

Ahhhh.... that felt good. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭L4

Originally posted by Sangre
    Im just telling it like it is.

Your just talking through your ar$e.
    Lower class! not likely no-mark. Also, I have seen D4 daddy's boys on the Dart to Bray many times. Maybe if you left your bedsit now and again you would understand.

And I don't understand all this talk about me disliking my job. I'm very happy with my job thank you very much. Maybe when you lazy un-hygenic school kids get a real job you'll realise the working world isn't made up of spotty students and angry Supermkt/takeaway/Pub managers who treat you like you deserve. Now get up out of bed ye lazy so and so's and today, for a change, have a shower.

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    The superior wit here... is..... amazing.

Ahhhh.... that felt good. :)

At last, someone with a bit of brains.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

just because a small minority of students bitch like you say doesnt mean every single student in the country is like that, its just your typical sterotype image that you have and imo you'd wanna change that!

I should have made it a bit more clearer. Not all students are lazy smelly windbags who live off their parents. (95% of the repliers on this thread)

The people studying medicine, or those Korean students who set themselfs on fire in protest of things, now they're not lazy. Bit crazy, but not lazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

If anyone said that to me in "Real life" I have to say I'd be laughing in their face for a good ten minutes.

I wouldn't worry if I were you, you seem to have a pretty loose grasp of what is a real life, or a life full stop, for that to happen.
    I don't know what it is about people like you that makes your opinions about students so cynical. What happened? Did a student get served at a bar before you did, or is it the fact that they came into your company with a better qualification than you and ended up being your boss or something? Grow up will you and remove YOUR tongue from L4's @rsehole.
    About the only concession that I'll give both of yiz is that yes indeed, the majority of the people described in L4s initial message seem to dominate what society calls students. These are the loud, poxy, over-opinionated goits that spend more time protesting than they do in lectures. I don't like these people either. But unfortunately, just like the average dublin scanger, its the majority that give the bad name to an ok minority. I'm a student too, but have worked in said "real world" for a few years before I started. I also work 2 part-time jobs to keep my ass in college as the poxy government in this country is too stingy to give me any sort of grant. So I know where I'm coming from on this.
    But opinions like yours are frankly misplaced; if you want to be pi$$ed at someone, then get pi$$ed at their parents for giving them poxy names and letting them talk the way they do (that DORT, or whatever its called!), or blame the schooling system for not making a proper exam for letting them into college (which, in my opinion, would weed out a lot of the twats) or blame the government for using your tax to give them grants (all the while ignoring our pathetic overfunded police and public transport systems!!!).

That is all

Originally posted by xx
    I wouldn't worry if I were you, you seem to have a pretty loose grasp of what is a real life, or a life full stop, for that to happen.

You deduce this how? 'Cos I'm ranting on a message board? Right!
    I don't know what it is about people like you that makes your opinions about students so cynical. What happened? Did a student get served at a bar before you did, or is it the fact that they came into your company with a better qualification than you and ended up being your boss or something?

The students in question - I think we all know who we're talking about at this stage - make my blood boil even if they just happen to come into ear shot, or peripheral vision. Everything about them irritates me. I haven't been particularly hard done by by any student in particular, and no, people I know that did come out of college with their degress couldn't get a job for shít in their studied field (IT). So sorry, but you're wrong there also. I haven't been superceded by a better qualified student in my field of work, ever since I started working full time - 7 years ago or so.
    I don't like these people either.
    So we agree. What's your problem then?
    I'm a student too, but have worked in said "real world" for a few years before I started. I also work 2 part-time jobs to keep my ass in college as the poxy government in this country is too stingy to give me any sort of grant. So I know where I'm coming from on this.

Fair play to you, as I said I have no problem with hard working students, who don't go around like they own the place, and speaking some strange dialect that only árseholes seem to speak.

I do blame the parents, I do blame their poxy friends, I blame the student culture. I don't blame you the hard working student, but still. If you or anyone called me a fúcktard on the street, the only reaction you'd get from me would be maniacal laughter. Embarrassing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

The students in question - I think we all know who we're talking about at this stage - make my blood boil even if they just happen to come into ear shot, or peripheral vision. Everything about them irritates me

I get the same feeling with scangers. Its all relative. If I appeared as bit riled in my previous message its cuz I hate to be pigeonholed in with ar$eholes of any variety, but as with many things in ireland, you apparently ARE the product of what you do and who you mix with.

What I love about these Students is this notion that one day when they finish College they will walk into a magnificent high paid job as if these jobs are lying in wait just for them. Eh, wrong. In the dark dank reality that is the 'real world' they stumble out of school into the world, much like a young fella stumbles from primary to secondary school. They think they are the bee's knees and that bosses all over the country are waiting to sack some chump with about 6-7yrs experience just so they can bring these superintelligent people of the future in. Get real punks.
    When your almost finished your collective 20yrs of education, don't throw the baby out with the bath water. Keep that job at the Video shop or Lou Macaris. You'll probably need it.
    Fact is, most bosses will hire someone with exerience and a bit of savy for a job these people have studied for. So then the freshly ex-students will go a little bit down the ladder, to a position someone who never went to college gets to after 2yrs in the job. But also, no luck there.. Then further down the ladder to a position an Interviewer will turn them down for because... "They are over qualified for such a position". Get used to those words students.

FACT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Christ, there's a lot of bitter, moaning bastards about isn't there?

Note to anybody - If Dr. Loon is agreeing with you, that means that you're being a moany bitch ;)

Students are no different to any other group of people. They have their assholes, and people stuck up their ass just like any other group.

Granted, some of them can have superiority complexes, and are a bit away with the fairies as to what they think they'll get when they leave, but so are a lot of people. How many people have you worked with in any job that have thought they're way above the job, but have still been there long after you've left? Loads I'm sure.

Get over it people. If you're giving out about students then life can't be all that bad. :)

Originally posted by seamus
    Note to anybody - If Dr. Loon is agreeing with you, that means that you're being a moany bitch ;)

Ha ha... very perceptive indeed.

Note to anybody - If you have a justified rant. Or pent up anger to realease with good cause, I'll back you up ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

Those recruitment schemes exploit students. Now go back to bed, first lecture isn't until 1.30.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,461 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Up yours, big nose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Originally posted by L4
    Those recruitment schemes exploit students. Now go back to bed, first lecture isn't until 1.30.

I start at 9 every morning- and am usually in the library or labs til 9 at night. Wish I could start at 1, now that would be taking it easy!

Labs!?
    Well it's hardly backbreaking work injecting rats now is it? Labs :rolleyes:
    I wish I could spend 12hrs in a lab. I'd find better things to do with my time than grafting an ear on a gerbal's back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

Do you not all think rather then Bitchin and Moanin at each other about this subject
    we could put are energies into Positive things!

For the students instead of defending yourself ignore L4
    comments and put your energy into your essay or your Lab work
    or what ever subject you study.

And for the workers in society find something constructive to
    do in the workplace instead of spreading negative feelings.

Just a thought .

No dice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Originally posted by Ichiro
    Do you not all think rather then Bitchin and Moanin at each other about this subject
    we could put are energies into Positive things!

For the students instead of defending yourself ignore L4
    comments and put your energy into your essay or your Lab work
    or what ever subject you study.

And for the workers in society find something constructive to
    do in the workplace instead of spreading negative feelings.

Just a thought .

Well said Ichiro! That might shut the muppets up for a while (I include both students and workers in that comment!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭Ichiro

Real Slick!

Baka Yaro Manko!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭matrim

They think they are the bee's knees and that bosses all over the country are waiting to sack some chump with about 6-7yrs experience just so they can bring these superintelligent people of the future in. Get real punks.

Bosses will probably sack the guy who wastes company time using the internet, complaining about how he hates students.

Your obviously not part of the working world are you?
    Where do you think I work? Dixons or Currys? Do you think I turn on one of the computers on the sly and type as fast as I can? I have a real job. Which carrys Internet privileges....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Originally posted by L4
    Labs!?
    Well it's hardly backbreaking work injecting rats now is it? Labs :rolleyes:
    I wish I could spend 12hrs in a lab. I'd find better things to do with my time than grafting an ear on a gerbal's back.

I don't usually inject rats. I'm a computing student so my time in the labs is spent doing computer projects. I was just trying to point out that there is a huge workload involved in a lot of college courses.
    Ichiro is right though, there's no point wasting time 'bitching and moaning' our point at each other. L4, I think you should be a little more open-minded in your opinions.
    And that's a pretty obnoxious sig you have!! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Originally posted by L4
    I have a real job. Which carrys Internet privileges....
    He's a delivery boy for restaurant express!

And how does a delivery boy have internet access from 9 to 5?
    I can't understand why Students can't understand that there are better jobs than that in the delivery/fast food/super mkt/hospitality or pub industry for people that don't have a degree in Animal phsycology or Far eastern art.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,240 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Ignoring the fact he is an obvious troll I think I'll reply to him as if he wasn't.

You can come back and moan to me if you can get even half the points anyone in college got for the Leaving did you 'fúcktard'.

You were obviously too retarded to get into any worthwhile course so suddenly minimum wage didn't sound so bad, you left college, got a job and now you're stuck there forever.

Now fúck off please, I think i hear jacinta calling you.