Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Students...

• 02-12-2003 12:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭

Does anyone esle find Students extremely irritating? I have a short experience of student life and I know how these people think. They have some stupid assignment or homework to do and everyone has to hear about it. They have no concept of the real world and a little bit of reading and writing is the end of the world. And why have students got unique accents? It's not Dublin, nor Cultchie, it's a kind of a posh mix of them both. I can't understand these people. Their fashion sense has always been appauling, yet in recent years they like to think they are at the high of fashion with their denim jackets, 'styled hair do's' and rosy red cheeks. I hear them winge on the train ''oh did you hear, I only have a month off this Christmas, it's a farce and we have a 10 page essay to write by march, and they only told us in September'' It's almost funny. Do they have any concept of reality. I have only 4 days off at Christmas, 4. Most people I know have in and around the same. Yet you don't hear them bitch and groan. I say they make College like the Army. Everyone lives in a commune. Everyone is made run trough rain and sleet and fed on slops, that'll teach them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

ohh, you're in for it now, theres a lot of users here students, let the flaming begin..

ah no, but seriously, im a student myself, and its so true im ashamed:o
    but a lot of what you said is utter generalisation......not all of us wear denim jackets ffs:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

It sounds like you're describing some dirty stinking arts students, scum of the earth!
    I'm an IT student, and I may have 3 weeks off for christmas, but guess what, I will be working 12 hour shifts for most of that to pay my way. I also work every weekend, so its not like i'm relaxing all year.

shove your whinging up your arse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭L4

No not just Denim jackets I know. But the general fashion sense is muck. And I forgot, Students have a superiority complex.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Well all that time off sounds like Arts students getting their crappy "reading weeks" do do their pantsy essays. It's certainly not IT students because they get much more work (and harder work too) and can't dress. And they certainly don't think they're superior!

Of course you could have bumped into the D4 BESS students. Daddy's going to give their precious a job afterwards, and fund their designer clothing meanwhile (this is, btw, from my mate who did BESS).

Not all students have superiority complexes. I never did. At the same time, they should all be shot now that I have to go and live in the real world and want to return to being a lazy bum like they all are :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 999 ✭✭✭Raz

Well now..... somebody got out into the rain this morning.

You're obviously thinking of arts students. I guess you've never had four large projects to finish within a week while attempting to study for exams and trying to keep up with lectures.
    For a student in an engineering or science degree the day starts around 9 or 10am and lectures finish sometime around 5. If you have any hope of being successful you then will go into the labs and work until about 8 or 9pm at night.
    It's a little more strenuos than your usuall 9 to 5 job and the stress levels go way up when everything becomes due at the one time (which is around now btw)
    You obviously didn't do too well in your short experience, threw it in and got a "Real" job.
    Believe me, if your short experience means a few weeks (or even months) of first year than you havn't got a clue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭rob1891

it sounds like to get the dart to work and have to listen to little blackrock fucks on their way in to trinity orts or whatever it is they do there. I'd get some headphones if I were you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭DeadBankClerk

Haha i'm a student and I am super fashionable! In fact all of us in Trinners are. You probably just didn't get enough points for Tallagh IT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Originally posted by L4
    Does anyone esle find Students extremely irritating? I have a short experience of student life and I know how these people think. They have some stupid assignment or homework to do and everyone has to hear about it. They have no concept of the real world and a little bit of reading and writing is the end of the world. And why have students got unique accents? It's not Dublin, nor Cultchie, it's a kind of a posh mix of them both. I can't understand these people. Their fashion sense has always been appauling, yet in recent years they like to think they are at the high of fashion with their denim jackets, 'styled hair do's' and rosy red cheeks. I hear them winge on the train ''oh did you hear, I only have a month off this Christmas, it's a farce and we have a 10 page essay to write by march, and they only told us in September'' It's almost funny. Do they have any concept of reality. I have only 4 days off at Christmas, 4. Most people I know have in and around the same. Yet you don't hear them bitch and groan. I say they make College like the Army. Everyone lives in a commune. Everyone is made run trough rain and sleet and fed on slops, that'll teach them.

Yea, sorta like the self rightious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

As opposed to someone who works a nine to five and comes onto a bulletin board to bitch and moan just like the students because they are at a different stage in their lives, puhlease

Or you're just a blatant troll...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,537 ✭✭✭joseph brand

I was IN ITT(Tallaght) few years ago, studying Mech Eng.

Had good laughs in class, most of us in s**t clothes and no money, but no moaning, . . . that was saved for the 'Business' students.

Usually a class of 30 women(few beauties), and about 4 homosexual boy band heads!!!(Denim and tall standy uppy hair)

The students mentioned here are prob studying marketing 'strategies' and 'techniques' or some made up s**te like that.

Ye have to feel sorry for these Ronan Keating wannabes, . . such insufferable bores!!! :o:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Diddy Kong

not every student is a lazy arts student with only 10 page assignments to there are someother people in the county in college actually doing somethin, sounds like you didnt actually go yourself, so you have no right to judge the students!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

Originally posted by Joesph Brand
    Had good laughs in class, most of us in s**t clothes and no money, but no moaning, . . . that was saved for the 'Business' students.
    Usually a class of 30 women(few beauties), and about 4 homosexual boy band heads!!!(Denim and tall standy uppy hair)

Oi ... I was a business student in Tallaght IT & I never wore Denim or had Standy Uppy Hair ... I do now though :D

But seriously, you have to go through the stress of college life [with all the beer & parties :rolleyes: :D] to really understand it ... being in college all day, then working @ night & weekends, with every spare minute after that spent studying or prepping assignments, really takes it's toll :( ... but when it's all over, you get to b!tch about how easy students have it :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

diddums.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

army food is actually quite nice L4!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Originally posted by L4
    ...I hear them winge on the train ''oh did you hear, I only have a month off this Christmas, it's a farce and we have a 10 page essay to write by march, and they only told us in September'' It's almost funny...

You probably heard one bunch of students saying something like this and now you think it applies to us all. I wish I only had a 10 page essay to do with 6 months notice. Not that I'm complaining or whingeing :rolleyes: but I've a ton of work to do over Xmas, so much that I'll be spending half of my 3 weeks off doing projects. So it's not as easy as you say.
    And I defend my fashion sense and my 'rosy cheeks'!!!

all it is, is just typical sterotyping

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

T R O L L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Defo Art students... The source of students crying about stuff all the time stems from the fact that most have **** all money... Then ya look at some useless bums claiming the dole, your parents having to fork over a grand in admin fees and then you probably gotta work the weekends to get some money..

So back to your point. Last year in college I was there from 10am till 9pm from Monday to Tuesday everyday after Xmas for 5 months. On a Friday I was there between 9 am and 1 pm, then I was in work from 2pm till 10 pm. Then on Saturday I was worked a 8.5 hours and the same on Sunday. So make ur own mind up [/rant]

Jealous!! Not likely. I hated College, which lasted for about 6-7 months. Too many students, and I could feel myself changing into one. Not for me thx. Plus I'm not into working in a Super Mkt in the evenings. Too much self respect, that's my problem.
    I was talking to an Arts student in the pub at the weekend. the get up of him was comical. Was wearing a suit with a white/grey t-shirt underneath. That was dressy up for him I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

...guess who hates his/her job...

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,698 ✭✭✭✭BlitzKrieg

I'm studying the longest course title but i got feck all work each week (i admit i havnt done too well so far)

the course: 20th Centuary European History, Politics and film studies.

i admit i dont complain i keep quiet and thank the lord.

In cambridge they hate the students that think they are god gift to beer drink too much and walk through residental areas singing at 4am (i've done it once)

Not me. My job's o.k. It's the train journey to and from the work that annoys me.
    They clog up the trains with their stupid rugby jerseys and dirty cords.
    I can only imagine the train going south of the City with all the D4 daddy's boys.
    Horrid.
    If there is anything worse than students on the train it's the women who think they have a God given right to have a seat. Words can't describe my contempt for them.

Originally posted by L4
    Not me. My job's o.k. It's the train journey to and from the work that annoys me.
    I can only imagine the train going south of the City with all the D4 daddy's boys.
    Horrid.
    If there is anything worse than students on the train it's the women who think they have a God given right to have a seat. Words can't describe my contempt for them.
    so if an old lady was on the train and was standing looking for a seat you would let her sit down in your seat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,289 ✭✭✭gucci

jesus its great being a student,i mean i have the life of reily,worked like hell over the summer(had a grand total of 8days off!)
    but its worth it,i mean i have another whole year off according to the thread starter!!well i have 28 hrs a week which means 3 days 9-6 and poo loads of projects etc.
    but do you hear me moaning?? NO! im not goin to work for years,and thanks to the power of lidl beer i can afford to party my balls off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Dave

What a cranky bastard. What age are you, 90? Next you'll start with the "Back in my day...."

You're probably a troll in fairness, with that post count.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭IgnatiusJRiley

Originally posted by woosaysdan
    so if an old lady was on the train and was standing looking for a seat you would let her sit down in your seat?

I know I wouldn't. She should know to wait until the rush hour is over

If an elderly lady (over 60ish) was standing and struggling then I would give up my seat. If a pregnant woman didn't have a seat, then I would give up my seat. But when women, who are just as capablr of standing as I am, start whinging about a different time when a 'gentleman' would offer his seat to a lady, then I get annoyed. They hint the heart out to their friends who are usually in the same age bracket (35-45) and spot an old lady down the other side of the carraige and practically shout down your ear that 'young men just don't care any more'. And if these cretins were sitting down, which I've seen before, while a pregnant woman stood beside them they would do their upmost to avoid eyecontact.

Plus Dave, I'm not a 'troll'. And that's another thing about Students. Wanna be Americans a lot of them. Not all of them by the way, I didn't say all of them.
    While in Ireland, pls speak like we do. A troll is an American terminology for a WUM.
    Wind - Up - Merchant. Which I am not. I'm just telling you what I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,758 ✭✭✭Peace

L4, you a ****ing idiot. Students are what this country builds on for the future.

Go on out of that will ye. We hear the same from builders, logistics people, Everyday Joes who do a job required by the people.
    And I didn't say that College should be eradicated. I just don't like Students..
    And don't use such foul language like that. Keep it for the schoolyard please.
    That's what I mean by Superiority complex. Your posts depicts you as the kind of Student you sub-conciously or fully conciously looks down the nose at those who don't have 3rd level education. Those people aren't as important as you are they?
    God no, they need you to build their future....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

TROLL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Kalina

Originally posted by L4
    Jealous!! Not likely. I hated College, which lasted for about 6-7 months. Too many students, and I could feel myself changing into one. Not for me thx. Plus I'm not into working in a Super Mkt in the evenings. Too much self respect, that's my problem.

The whole point of college is that there are loads of students And, what's wrong with working in a supermarket??? Too much self respect- that's NOT your problem mate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭JessieG

"short student experience"

yeah hun which proably means that you didnt get to fourth year. Granted id agree with thats crap about getting an essay in septmeber for march but your were problaly listening to, like your man first years/ arts students.

I'm a fourht year IT student and this xmas though i may have three weeks off i'll be pulling twelve hour days to get my thesis done, research papers, working demos of my computing projects, learngin new langugages (code).

So before you go trashing all us "whinging students" spare a thought for the 75% of students who take college seriously and put in the work.

As for your derogitry comment about having to much self respect to work in a super market. I'd just like to voice that i applaud all the students who have put themselves through college via tesco, superquinn etc. And to all the mothers out there who work on the check-outs to support their kids in college or even to support growing kids so they can eventually get there, dont worry there are some of us out there who dont look done our noses at your profession and DONt feel you have comprimised your self respect by your chosen profession.

dont worry L4 these students will evetually catch up with the norm and only get 4 days off at xmas and have more on their plate than a ten page essay.
    "These people" will enter the "real world" the only difference is when they do they WILL have that ickle piece of paper that will permit them to make more than €50,000 a year. And go further if they want, cos after all isnt that what college is for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭JessieG

yes i realise i canty spell but im a computer student i dont need to :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

I am a student with about 40 scheduled hours a week. I spend about another 16 hours a week doing project work and research. I love it.

Having worked in an office on my year out, I came to the conclusion that I actually do more work in college than in "the real world" amounting on average about 36 hours a week. And before any of you say anything I did do work in the office, as much as anybody else in fact.... lost my train of thought there.... ANYWAY students are OK let them/us have our gripe and I suggest that you buy a walkman for the train.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

not worth my time.

:ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Originally posted by L4
    Not for me thx. Plus I'm not into working in a Super Mkt in the evenings. Too much self respect, that's my problem.
    You sound too stupid and lazy to have ever been in college in fairness.. and yes that is a problem! and it will be a problem in the future when we are your boss/managers too.. hahaha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭omahaid

Ha ha, an oppertunity for me to whinge. I have recently returned to college after working 6 years in the "real world". And while I'm still working full time (48 hours, 4 x 12hr night shifts) I go to work to catch up on rest. Seriously, they have dumped a load of work on us and it just keeps mounting up and up (btw I'm not doing Arts, I'm doing Computer Science, a real degree, har har *beats chest*). Seriously, the only college students I know having a great time are the same ones wondering how to do the assignments. College is hard work, "real work" is easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

they should be all burned tbh....

waste of time money resources and housing...

90% anyway

if the L in your name stand for 'loser', then all you need to do is add the word 'life' at the end....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

that was very creative....

you must be an arts student...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Lukin Black

I was an Arts student, but my course was not very Arts-degree like. Anyhow, I found a lot of the students to be rather nauseating, especially the ones from Belfast, Ballymena, Bangor, Derry, any of the big towns (I was at UU Coleraine). The worst were the girls swanning around, all dressed up in boots and tight jeans and leather/denim jackets, with enough makeup to do up one of the Moulin Rouge 'ladies'.

I think what disgusted me the most (perhaps maybe I was being jealous, but hey who wouldn't be) the most of them had nothing to worry about except what they were going to wear to Kelly's on Wednesday night. I worked my way through uni, my parents couldn't afford to put me through, and I would've thought it unfair to burden them.

Originally posted by L4

Cry me a river.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,726 ✭✭✭quank

Originally posted by L4

you sound like the moany ass tbh
    c'mon, ye made a thread about YOUR moaning......ww)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

Originally posted by utility_
    if the L in your name stand for 'loser', then all you need to do is add the word 'life' at the end....
    Originally posted by Emboss
    that was very creative....

you must be an arts student...

lmao!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Originally posted by L4
    Horrid.

Do you honestly think any D4s or daddy's boys would get the train? Join reality you fúcking worthless piece of lower class shít.

Now do us all a favour and log off from the internet forever, return the computer to whoever you stole it from and get behind that checkout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭xx

Although this thread reeks of troll to me, I think I'll have a good ol' bitch anyway.
    This L4 character sounds like someone who's in a sucky ass job cuz he fcuked up his leaving cert and got snubbed by all the decent colleges in the country. Tough $hit pal - cry me a river.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

i love being an arts student.

i love to drive around in the BMW my daddy bought me wearing my boy band esque spikey hair and denim jacket doing no work all day.

(the above is a lie)

actually, i do love being an arts student, i do very little work tbh and i think its great, my folks arnt rich and i have no job at the moment.

people like L4 are just sad fools who couldnt hack it and then build up a self righteous wall of social morality around themselves to hide their own inadequacies and shame in which they bitch about how student are spungers and yet....when he needs a doctor, nurse, lawyer, architect (because yes, some one has to tell the "joe-soap builder" what to do), teacher, engineer etc do you think he'll say - "piss off you spunging bastard!"??? no - so he is a total hypocrite as well.