Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

1122112221223122412251227»

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,855 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,399 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

1000048421.jpg

Seen grasstec advertising these on Facebook earlier...if something like those came available in the autumn id definitely be keen

If I was you I d start with the milkyest herd I could get and then bred to high ebi bulls if you like.if you start with high ebi you ll find it very hard to breed milk into them with irish ai companies wheras they always being the milk from the mother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,299 ✭✭✭older by the day

Start ar the top and work down, " that's what she said last night"

They would be considered a very good herd. What are you planning on feeding them next spring. They won't produce that on air

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Have 400 bales of top quality early may bales of silage and should the guts of another 400 made by September.Meal wise id be aiming to feed 1.2-1.5 ton per head in the parlour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,886 ✭✭✭straight

No problem with steps here. Fit young man and an avid mountain climber.

That's the line from the salesmen trying to save rubber pipes alright but they won't be the ones in the sh1t pit and getting kicked.

Ours Just worked out that way. It wasn't planned or anything. My father built a 22 foot shed and that's they way it worked out. I wonder if I narrowed the pit and turned the cows back into it would I get many more cows in.

You Won't need to feed much over a ton with your stocking rate and land type. I wouldnt worry too much about pushing performance until you settle in. Just get them calved and back in calf again.

Grasstec provide a good service and are genuine lads but some people say to take the figures with a pinch of salt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

it’s has little to do with being fit and young. It’s about getting as far along in life as possible without needing hip/knee/shoulder replacements. Mountain climbing once a week isn’t the same as walking up and down a pit every day twice a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Never heard such rubbish being spouted about parlours and dairying arguing over steps fox lad needs to get one person who knows dairying inside out only one how does he know which advice to take as fox clearly knows nothing about dairying so get one person only pay them and follow there advice my advice to fox is lease the farm and problem solved but when hes locked up with tb and cant sell calves and weather is crap and calves get sick and has no grazing for them he might realise i was right.

I dunno lad. I've great faith on my musculoskeletal system anyway. Important to keep moving throught life as much as possible. Milking cows for 20 years will be the last thing that'll wear it out.

Grass tec are middle men they rang me once when i had an ad on done deal offering to sell my animals like wtf i can sell them myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Don't Grasstec use Coop Performance reports? Those are very solid spring calving herd figures but nothing spectacular enough to question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,645 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Stick and stone may break my bones.…

Never worry about spending money, however spending money you cannot afford or wasting it is another thing. BIL was saying that his son and his partner are going borrowing to pay for a big weeding. They are just finished paying off a load for a holiday they did 3-4 years ago to Australia, NZ and South America. BIL is annoyed but he say you cannot talk to him.

It not about being tight, its not about misery, it just about valuing money. I am.of a generation where money was not as much hard got but it was earned. Nobody handed it to you. With the generation before me it was hard got. You wasted little.

Those young lads will go throught there 20's like that and when they are in there thirties and are renting a house with a partner and a couple kids they will blame the government for the housing crisis.

But sh!t it 🥑

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,287 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

time moves on …your bil son was dead right to go travelling and see bit of the world ..do it whilst your young …life is for living …

I never bought anything off them. I was selling heifers once and a farmer said he was happier to deal with me than grasstec. Their figures are all exaggerated. I'd say you could say the same about alot of figures thrown around.

very sceptical ….get full coop report for previous year and look for sales catalogue of stock in question …milk records of dams and grand dams etc all on it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 5,117 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

We're going off topic but I'm very glad I'm not in my 20s or 30s these days. (I'll be 50 in October this year) That generation have been told since they were born they can have it all and f—k the consequences. Used be celebs on television and then influencers on social media. Sometimes their parents started to believe the hype too.

I'm obviously starting to feel older as I see 50 on the horizon, so apologies for the rambling. But the biggest thing I want to show our young lads is not just how to make a few bob, but also how to keep it. Whether that's farming or leasing the place - every generation is only passing thru.

All Those figures need to be taken with a large pinch of salt. I don't buy any stock apart from bulls.

If I was to buy I would put more faith in genotyped EBI figures than I would in milk recording figures. Even the co op reports don't mean that much.

I see lads on YouTube feeding heavy including buffer feeding and blowing about massive solids and yet supplying less than 500 KgMS.

if you know what your looking at those figures are worth far more than some computer generated predicted ebi figure ..get full cooo report with stock nos easy enough tell if lad is fiddling ….sales catalogues with with generations of milk records aren’t to be snuffed at

What about the lads buffer feeding and feeding heavy ….if they are getting the milk and solids it shows what the poteintal is in right environment …more records shown the better when buying stock

Yeah see the craic now with young people college and drinking maybe some drugs 4 to 8 years.Bit of travelling low paid job then renting house cant afgord to buy house cus paying rent better leave school and get a trade.They have it tough even tho they dont do much work.Generation before even the laxy could all buy houses even on low paid jobs even during and after boom as wages followed house prices now even high paid cant afford if i was a young person.id emigrate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭ftm2023

What you said about every generation passing through — a few years ago here, we were reseeding a field… my father noticed something strange in the field and got off. Long story short, it was a piece of flint stone. Carved exactly into the shape of a carpet knife Stanley blade essentially. I couldn’t find one for certain how old it was, but roughly as old as the pyramids. Would certainly make you think about how we’re only all passing through on our farms whether we like it or not 😂😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 413 ✭✭Austinbrick

You're moving along Siamsa Sessions . Ive a good bit on you age wise!!

Aidan Brennan reckons all the good grass managers ran out of grass last week. Sounds like a pretty hypocritical statement to me.

Also he's worried about the huge cost of keeping calves inside longer.

His system doesn't seem very sustainable to me.

Brink back Jack I'd say at this stage. At least he was a good laugh.

wouldn’t play a blind bit of heed to him …one trick pony when it comes to advice and he would be last lad I’d listen to when it comes to feeding cows/calves ….i often wonder dose he eat grass himself he seems to have such an infatuation with it

IIt's More the treatment of ration as poison that gets me .last year when the relationship between ration and milk price was so positive some of the stuff he put out was senseless.

Most farms in nz are feeding meal as well as buffer feeding maize or catch crops