Cold Case Review of Sophie Tuscan du Plantier murder to proceed (Threadbans in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,633 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

I'm asking you as you are the one presenting Leo Bolger as a reliable witness, with a seemingly superior recall of events than other parties involved. The onus is on you to justify it.

So what time did Leo Bolger get the call from Alfie on the day the body was found?

Did the Bolgers go shopping on the day the body was found?

How can you account for the discrepancies?
    Why is Leo "lying"? I use this phrase because whenever you find a discrepancy that suits your argument, you accuse the person of lying. So by your standards - why is Leo lying?

You've been reading the same thread. You've seen the statements from the Bolgers and also the later interview with French police which have the discrepancies. They were only posted recently on the thread.

It is also been pointed out to you repeatedly that Leo Bolger can't even get the year right of when this supposed meeting happened, his description of the works don't tally with the dates.

Yet still you try to present Leo Bolger's testimony of an event, which at the time was entirely inconsequential to him as a bystander, as being reliable.
    When he can't even get the details of his own actions on the day the body was found right.

It is an entirely bad faith argument from start to finish.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,037 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

Or to have a quick look around and pick up any small valuables…..

A bottle of wine? A poker from the fireplace?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭tibruit

So I went back and read the statements and there is only one issue. In the early statements he said Lyons rang him at around 4pm and told him about finding the body. 19 years later he said he got the call at 10-30/11am "maybe".

"How do you account for the discrepancies?"

He seems unsure of the time of the call 19 years later. I`m not sure that you can even call that a discrepancy. I see nothing about shopping. I presume you know what you are referring to in that regard.

"Leo Bolger can`t even get the year right when this supposed meeting happened."

He said it was while he was working for Sophie. That was most likely `93. Based on the various statements it is likely that Bolger got the year right and Alfie got it wrong. Alfie associates it with the gardening that Bailey did in a year he "thinks" was 95. He goes on to say that there were other occasions when Bailey was over. Apparently Bailey used to ring Alfie a lot. I wonder why that was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭tinytobe

Getting the years right after so many years is also rather hard. So memories can't really be reliable.

I would neither trust Bolger nor Finbarr Hellen. I would both see as suspects rather than anything else.

Noted. You cant explain why Leo lied to the Guards aboit when Alfie called him. You cannot explain his lies. These are all standards for lying you have set in previous posts.

Grand. I will note that for next time you accuse Bailey of lying or try to convict him because of such a 'discrepancy' - response = is that even a discrepancy.

Its patently obvious you apply double stabdards to evidence and witnesses versus Bailey or those whose testimony supports his - and this is another instance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭PolicemanFox

No, Alfie cannot have gotten the year wrong because he specifically hired Bailey to dig a garden for Shirley on her retirement in June 1995 (when she hit her 60th birthday). Until that date, Shirley lived in London while working as a teacher in Finchley and only visited Alfie during the holidays.

It was Bailey himself who first told Gardai about seeing Sophie while working on Alfie's Garden in a memo dated 31/12/1996. Alfie only made a statement on this in May 1997, and he confirmed the year again.

There is another reason it had to be 1995, because the accounts mention two boys with Sophie. In 1993 Sophie travelled with Bruno and she didn't bring her son or stepson. See Bruno Carbonnet's statements.

Sophie did travel to West Cork in April 1995, it's in her diary and she did bring Pierre-Louie and Carlo with her.

Post edited by PolicemanFox on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,593 ✭✭✭jesuisjuste

It's easy from the outside looking in to say oooh 4 pm is no different than 10.30/11 a.m. but in the context of a murder on the day it is massively different. This would have been one of the most major things to happen in both Leo's and Alfie lives, probably top 2 or 3, like 9/11. You don't just get the time wrong like that. It's different than things that may have occurred in the years previously.

Alfie called Leo as one of the first people to inform about the murder, why? Because Leo would have come to the site to feed the horses, as he or Sally did every day. 4 pm would have been way too late to then inform him.

The fact that Leo gives two different times for sure could be a misremembering, but if he misremembers that, it is clear at a minimum his memory isn't as iron clad as you propose. 2 different years proposed for the meeting is a major issue, obviously. The only reason you're choosing 1993, which there is much less evidence for, is because you think it gives a longer window for Bailey to know Sophie. You're transparent, and living in fantasy land again.

Also don't you ever consider the possibility that all three people can be wrong/misremembering, which is the most likely scenario. Something else could have happened altogether. You always just pick whichever suits your agenda best and leave it at that.

I didn`t say Alfie got the year of the gardening wrong, just that he was unsure of which year it was. Leo was able to work out the year 93 based on his recall of other events. Leo said Bailey was gardening at the time in Alfie`s. He`s probably wrong about that and made that assumption because that had been the prevailing media narrative for nigh on two decades before Leo made his statement. The narrative about Bailey gardening there at the time of the introduction is likely wrong and based on Alfie`s fuzzy recall. The introduction was in 93.

His interest in Sophie was both artistic and sexual and this is evidenced in the statements. Leo talks about him having manuscripts in his satchel that he wanted to show her and Alfie said Bailey made "manny" comments about her and his own prowess, which implies sexual innuendo.

"You cannot explain his lies."

It wasn`t a lie and I can explain it. He couldn`t care less what time Alfie rang him at because he didn`t commit the murder and therefore he didn`t spend nigh on two decades before he made the statement dwelling on what was to him an irrelevant timeline.

It`s good to see that someone grasped the suggestions I made about recall based on 9/11. However you made a fundamental mistake reaching your conclusion…but still…you`re getting there.

But he could care less about some random encounter to which he was just a bystander that was of no importance at the time?

But he can't remember when he heard about the actual death or what he did the day the body was discovered?

Read that back to yourself.

If you believe that you'll believe anything.

Yep. You are doing a great job illustrating why you can't explain his lies or how his memory works spectacularly well when it suits you and is conveniently dreadful when it does not.

It also assumed that Leo gave the right time to the Guards of 4pm but then misremembered it later.
    More likely is that he lied to the Guards about the time Alfie called, which would explain why he didn't go over to feed the horses.
    And forgot about that lie when speaking to the French police, or didn't think he could get away with it.

But here's another explanation duly noted for when you try to try to make a case out of nothing against Bailey:
    "Bailey couldn't care less about X because he didn't commit the murder."

Ok now you're just speculating on another time Bailey may have been there and pushing back the memory timeline to over six years, which makes it even less likely to be a real memory. There's zero evidence for that. Once you depart from what's in the statements it's complete speculation and absolutely pointless.

Fact is, the statements show Leo Bolger couldn't have witnessed an introduction whilst working at Sophie's unless his memory is faulty, and if Leo's memory is faulty we can't trust Leo's account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭rightmove

the justification was it was used after been cleaned the previous day so it must have been someone close to the house and Alfie had immersion issues.

So if its likely that alfies plods on down and does a bit of breaking and entering for a hot bath in the house of a woman he described a a pain in the hole.

awfully suspicious!! considering Alfies history also

Alfie has no history of breaking and entering. So because he smoked a bit of weed, you think he's a burglar. Please.

She claimed he climbed in a window, bringing his own towels, washed himself and climbed back out again. That's ridiculous. This bath nonsense is all from the POV of Josie Hellen who was indignant when Bruno said the bath wasn't clean. There's no evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭rightmove

wow some leap your making on me. I said if he used the bath it was trespass (entering etc) not burglary but anyhow.

" Sophie accepted that someone was in and said it must be Alfie, and she accepted it was not my fault."

"

I discussed setting up a trap with Sophie about catching whoever was using the bath but it seemed that the changing of the locks had changed it, or stopped it.

"

i think there is something in it thats all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,863 ✭✭✭tinytobe

Suppose the previous owner gave spare keys to Alfie and Sophie never changed the locks, then by that deduction, it must have been Alfie or Shirley who used the bathroom in Sophie's absence. Other than that only Finbarr and Josie had access to the house, and Josie was doing the cleaning, so it wouldn't have been her or most likely not been her.

You're a fantasist what are you talking about. Leo and Alfie knew each other and talked regularly. Like come on, you don't think they would have just had a conversation about when they saw Bailey being introduced outside of the context of a police statement. These guys were on first name basis with the gardai as well. It's like you think it's an episode of CSI or something, luckily everyone has you to put together every bread crumb and make…. (puts on sunglasses) a ham sandwich.

Irrelevant… Someone got murdered next to his good friend, and he knew her and worked for her, and it's the biggest scandal in the area for a century, and he was one of the last suspects, who was ready to higher a lawyer to help him before he got stuck off. He couldn't care less, yep, that tracks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,409 ✭✭✭Deeec

It would have been a huge risk for the murderer to go to the house after the murder if they were not sure it was empty. They would have to be ready to kill everyone in the house. There could have been any number of people there and they could overpower him. It would be a foolish risk to take. Much more plausible that they knew the house was empty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭csirl

Who says it was only one person? There could have been multiple people involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,060 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Alfie phoned his foodie friends in Cork sometime in the morning according to the poster who was at Shirley's retirement party, she was aware of the murder by noon. It makes sense that Alfie would have phoned Leo at that time. Of course it's possible Leo and Sally had gone shopping, or maybe just too busy to take the call. I can't see anywhere in Alfie's statements what time he says he phoned Leo.

As to it being an irrelevant timeline for Leo, as one of the few regular visitors (on a daily basis) to what was to become the most talked about, written about, filmed, you name it, murder sites in the area- county - country before or since, what he was doing is probably burned into his brain.

"Once you depart from what`s in the statements it`s complete speculation"

No it isn`t. We have testimony from the three witnesses that confirms that Bailey met Sophie. It is undisputable. But either Leo or Alfie got the timeframe wrong. Once you examine the statements it becomes apparent that Leo witnessed the introduction in 93. There aren`t alternatives. Alfie indicated that Bailey had been over there on occasions other than the gardening. The introduction was clearly in 1993.

Jeez you`re in bad old form. I have no doubt the two of them chatted about it. It`s probably one of the reasons why Leo tried to marry his recall of the introduction with Bailey doing the gardening.

"It makes sense that Alfie would have phoned Leo at that time."

No it doesn`t. Not when Leo says that it was around four. You are making it up as you go along.

Yeh two decades later he tried to do that, instead of at the time the gardai were taking statements after a murder.

He's not making it up. Like you just ignore actual facts that don't suit. Leo also said that Alfie "Called him in the morning, around 10.30/11.00 a.m." to the French. That is the whole premise of this discussion.

I evaluate which statement is most likely to be correct. I choose the one made in the days after the murder over the one made two decades later.

And you left out the "maybe" from that 2015 quote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,060 ✭✭✭chooseusername

Well there's more if you want to be specific

Q. When or what time did Alfie Lyons call you?

A. Early in the morning, 10:30/11am maybe. I think 10:30am

The maybe was in context, and clearly referring to trying to pin the time between 10.30 and 11.00 a.m., given he already reinforced it with morning, of which he chose 10.30 a.m. A mere 15 minutes after the gardai were called.

And you can choose whatever you want, but it doesn't make it correct or the truth, and other people can make their own minds up without you obfuscating actual facts, and accusing others of making up those facts.

It's you that pass opinion and speculation off as fact, pretty much incessantly on here.