Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭lmk123

I agree 100% there is no point in deluding yourself, some of it comes down to a person’s expectations as you mentioned earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

There's no harm in discussing money when it comes to milk. It's expensive to produce.

If our lord when he was around said " a labourer deserves his wages"

A good friend of mine who was an insurance door to door salesman. When I asked was he embarrassed to be knocking used to say, don't ever be embarrassed to make a living.

So don't mind talking shiite the next time you meet Your dairy managers or board members, only tell them to bring up the price of milk as there's nothing coming in the door only bills.

They're worried about the next generation of farmers. They should be focusing on what they have now.

• This content has been removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭ftm2023

<deleted post removed>

You’re on about an account by the name of Bellview. That categorically was not me and you have defamed me by saying so. Ridiculous comment to make. Ring me anytime you like pal if you’ve such a big problem with me — or keep hiding behind your crybaby anonymous account

Post edited by Big Bag of Chips on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭ftm2023

<Deleted post removed>

I think nobody put it better than Michael Healy-Rae. He was on The Late Late Show one night and the topic of Twitter trolls came up.

Michael said, "Anyone who's online late at night saying whatever about me on Twitter, if they were up early in the morning to do a hard day's work, they wouldn't be up in the middle of the night giving out about me."

You've taken it upon yourself to start an argument with me completely out of the blue. When you made your first post, I was putting my oldest daughter to bed.

It would probably be far more beneficial for you to get yourself a girlfriend. You might then have better things to be doing with your evenings than picking fights with strangers on the internet.

You have my number. Feel free to ring it.

As regards mental health, it's generally the angry man starting arguments with strangers late at night online who probably needs a bit of help, not the fella he decided to target.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 13,141 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

<deleted post removed>

Banned for trolling.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

Trying to make a decision here on a parlour.Seems my TAMS applications for parlour which wasn't accepted with rank and selection back in the last round is now going to be approved in this round.So my two options now are a new pearson 10 unit with metal work for 12 for 23k (after tams) or a 15 year old 14 unit dairymaster for 19k which looks to be in good condition.

Both parlour are basic direct to line machine,no auto wash,acrs,or anything and both being supplied and maintained by milking machine companies and will be fitting ids feeders regardless of which I go for

Will starting off with around 70 cow and build up to 80 quickly as possible.The grazing block is 70 acres with all young stock and silage made elsewhere.so I could probably push on over the 80 cows in time if I wish to so I want a parlour to cope eith this option too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,368 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Which after sales service is better in your area

Both crowds have a good reputation now.But its 90% pearson parlours around me probly due the fact the factory is local

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

go for the new machine if you can at all. We have a Pearson since 2016 and extended it in 2021. Very happy with it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

alot of voodoo about milking parlours but if you keep it basic and go secondhand but put in a new milk pump/vacumn pump and get a few new relay sets .After that it's just stainless pipe.pipe.i presume that parlour you referred to for 19 k was frame and all.all and even at tthat It's dear.dear.the one thing I'd insist on is go 14 now,you won't regret

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,881 ✭✭✭straight

Is that the milking machine company pushing stallwork for 12 with only 10 units supplied. That's only bollixing. They are planning to screw you to add on the extra two units down the line and you will still only have 2 extra units at a huge cost.

14 sounds better to me. Good second hand stuff with backup be grand imo. And I don't like the sly move of adding 2 down the road.

Only concern id have is if the vacuum pump went the secondhand parlour would be an exspencive option

Vacuum pumps never give trouble. My father's VP76 is in for nearly 60 years I'd say and never touched. Just keep the oil changed and dripping in. My vacuum pump went in in 2009 and was never even looked at. Delaval. Can't speak for other brands or variable speed stuff. At small numbers you don't need that fancy stuff anyway.

12 units here, I'd love to have more. Number of rows is the key to time in the pit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,620 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

You can get told a lot of things in places like Pallaskenry. I tend to ignore Teagaasc advice on costs.

Driving a Toyota Rav for the farm here. Admittedly its on its last legs. 2010 2.2D it cost 7K in 2019, its has ⁸ 115k miles ( 185k kilometers) done since I bought it. This is the first year it really cost me money and its still not much with 1K since it started giving bother. Admittedly mechanic has to be paid cash.

Cost of living is all related to expectations. When my children went looking for planning, I said to them houses no bigger than 2k sq ft and bunglows and we would get them build. My son was into his for about 300k, no lawns footpaths to be completed with the last drawdown, all the house is floored and painted white. Bathroom, ensuite, two bedrooms, utility and family room are in use and a timber shed at the back of the house. Mortgage will be around 1k a month. He has a 2013 Rav4, his GF changed to a 2023 Skoda Kodiaq before the baby was born. No car loans if possible no matter what dealers tell you about 0 or 1% interest rates.

About 10 years ago I saved around 2.3k on insurance premiums, between HI, car, farm and houses compared to renewal quotes off orginal renewals total of 6-7k.

Recently I was told about a couple of young lads still in college, decent summer jobs. They buy coffee 3 times a day, and will have an Acai bowl with the morning one. They could buy another Acai Bowl the day they will be gojng hurling training. Estimate is about 150 euro a week on a luxury. Then again this is considered Avacoda commenting by me according to some on other threads.

Life has never been.more about cost control, 90k to run a home is a first world problem, as a friens said

"remember money is for spending..…and for saving as well"

Spending 1800 a week to run a house i8s grand while it coming in, however if the economy noses dives tou need to have the ability to shave 4-600 a month off that if needed

Post edited by Bass Reeves on

Slava Ukrainii

Tom Kelly's final sale at noon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

I had to google Açai bowl. I think I’ll stick to the aul cornflakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

go for whichever crowd will have the best back up, it’s the most important thing.

After that I’d be inclined to go with the 14 units, it’ll keep you at 7 rows or less which is huge when you’re doing majority of milking yourself. The difference in cost will cover any potential breakdowns I would think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭cosatron

open up the cheque book whelan, you've to keep some of the stock in the parish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 22,620 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Porridge or Granola man myself. Those Acai bowls like coffee are grand if you are making them at home or have access to them.at work otherwise it costs as much as a weekend cocaine habit otherwise, admittedly its probably ( but I am not quite sure) to ditch the Acai habbit

Slava Ukrainii

My lad gone over to it, ear to the ground there filming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,289 ✭✭✭older by the day

I agree. You will spend 14 times a week in the pit. Even if you went for 14 units brand new, you would get a long time without touching it.

6 rows is ideal, when it goes 10 rows or above you will get sick of it and your help if you have any, will get sick of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,286 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I’d say you’d be a great lad to get into rounds with on a night out ..rap water all round 😆😆….had to get young one an açai bowl other day …a fookin tenner ….she can buy her own one next day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Pot calling the kettle black there ya tight arse🤣🤣

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,665 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

You’re lucky with that vp76. They had a terrible name

Dangerous talk now but I have a VP77 myself I think it is and it was never touched.

Capacitors went in the motor alright and the milk pump is the biggest problem. That let me down twice.