The split season

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

If there's a problem it's the amount of games rather than the length of intercounty calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 633 ✭✭✭B2021M

Read my post again

Apologies. You are correct. But is a couple of weeks a big difference in the overall context? Hurling I split into multiple tiers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭crisco10

I am a total armchair fan and fwiw since split season came in I have totally lost interest in seasonally following GAA.

my main sport, rugby, season is still going so I’m watching and going to it. Then there’s the World Cup this year.

i used to love watching all the inter county GAA during the winter sports downtime in July / August. But today I had to have someone explain the new format of the football to me (having consumed 0 GAA thus far this year)

anyway, could well be a sample size of 1 or could be a view of others who wouldn’t be posting in a GAA forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭almostover

The split season has to remain for the good of the club game. Fixturing championship matches in dual counties was a shambles before the split season. I remember one year our county hurlers got to the All Ireland final and it held my club up in the club football championship because our opposition had a panel member for the hurlers. The hurling final went to a replay, delaying things further. And the person that the club championship was held up for didn't set foot on the pitch in either county game.

We played our club match the weekend after the AI replay, and it went to ET and finished a draw. Had to replay it the following Tuesday, which we won but then had to play the club championship final the following Sunday and we were out on our feet for that. Our club had no match for 6 weeks followed by 3 matches in 7 days. And this was Junior football championship, all held up for a non playing sub for the county hurlers.

I hated the old system as a club player. June and July each year were spent training 3 times per week for challenge matches. Maybe August too if the county teams were doing well. And club managers fighting with players because they would be coming and going for training during these months because there were no competitive matches coming up.

I'm in the twighlight of my playing career now at 35 and just doing a bit of Junior B. But the last few years have been brilliant, a full season calendar published at the start of the season and fixtures are only changed due to bad weather or club bereavements. The club championship is centre stage from late July to late September as it should be. The split season must be kept for the good of the 99% of players in our organisation. If fellas want matches to go to in August and September there is plenty of club fare on offer local to them, and TG4 televise plenty of big club games too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,069 ✭✭✭Uncle Pierre

Well, I've used the term 'casual fan', if that's preferable to you. If there's some other term that you'd deem even more preferable, please let us know.

But fact remains that the vast majority of people still opposed to the split season are this type, rather than active members of the Association. And my key point remains that such people shouldn't be prioritised over active members.

As regards engaging in debate - I entered this discussion a week or so ago by saying I'm knocking around the block enough to know there's little or no point in trying to change such people's minds. If a casual fan (or whatever term you prefer to use) has reached their 30s, 40s or 50s without developing enough of an interest in GAA to be any more than a casual fan, then they clearly don't understand all the dynamics of the Association, and have little inclination to learn them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

Thats the trade off the GAA have made. The 99% of players who train and play with their clubs all year are being prioritised over the likes of yourself who (by your own admission) aren't invested in the GAA and just watch a few of the big games on TV.

A near-perfect example of what I'm talking about, and coming from somebody who obviously doesn't mind being described as 'an armchair fan'.

If the question is 'do we get rid of the split season so that people like @crisco10 can watch some matches on TV in August & September, or do we keep it for the benefit of club players everywhere (like @almostover and all his clubmates)?', then what's the answer going to be?

Or turn things the other way round. I'm a casual and armchair rugby fan. We'll buy a family ticket to see Leinster in the Aviva once or twice a year because it's a good day out, and I'll watch Leinster and Ireland on TV when it suits.

But I missed the 6 Nations match v England this year because Wexford were hurling against Dublin in Croke Park in the National League that day. I missed Leinster in the European Cup Final because I travelled to Carrick-on-Shannon to see Wexford play Leitrim in the Tailteann Cup.

Asking the GAA to change things so that the casual hurling & football fan might watch things when there's nothing else on would be like asking the rugby authorities to change things so that big matches involving Irish sides are generally played on Friday nights, because lots of casual Irish rugby fans go to GAA matches on Saturdays and Sundays instead. And similarly, what would the answer be to that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Gael85

GAA presidents don't have the power to make changes. Everything is voted through Congress. It was CPA(Club Players Association) who proposed the split season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭Gael85

A lot of moaning from coming from GAA pundits and journalists who have no interest in club game. The format is not perfect but at least club players have clarity on their season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭LeoD

Are these same hardcore true gael clubmen as dismissive of casual/non gaa supporters when they are going around with the paw out fundraising for a new ball wall, pitch improvements, etc. or will they only accept donations from those true supporters who regularly attend their local club's adult grade games? If you attend bord na n'og level games on a weekly basis but have no interest in watching your club's adult team play, are you a casual fan in the eyes of those who attend adult grade games?

Deleted..

I think your plight perfectly highlights the problem created by the preparation levels of county teams, and not just at the adult grade. I listened to an interview with Pat Daly (retired now but worked in GAA HQ for 40 years on games development) and his biggest concern was this growing 'professionalism' within the county and club game and the impact it would have on volunteerism. It's not possible to tell teams to not train as much when they all want to win but people need to step back and see the bigger picture and what impact this will have on the games.

well, I'm not sure; i am an armchair fan of senior game, but have 2 kids playing in Academy/u9 and coach the U9 team.

My kids (and I) haven't a breeze of the senior side of the club despite being down there 4 days a week. lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Youre a minority. No offence , because its good that people who might be only casual gaa fans can enjoy our games too.

Most of us who are not fans of the split season are club followers, despite what some posters on here will try to tell you in bad faith.

But junior b competitions are not affected by the inter county season. Certainly not in any county i know. In kilkenny they've been going since April from junior A down to junior F. Games every weekend for lads on their 2nd, 3rd and 4th teams. That's been the case long before the split season too.

Your statement in the 2nd paragraph is very much inaccurate, we're both followers of both the club and intercounty game but have different opinions on this matter which is fair enough, that's life.

Have ye a link to the adult teams through family or friends? That's often a factor.

Absolutely none; my only involvement in the club is thru my kids taking it up and my willingness to help out. And we only chose that club as the one closest to our house and where friends were taking their kids.

See there you go again. Dismissing people with genuine concerns as 'casual ' without even knowing anything about them. You've stated categorically that you know for certain people's backgrounds by reading opinions on an internet forum.Some of the people you call casual fan's could be the most committed club person, cutting grass, selling lotto tickets etc. But you won't even consider that possibility.

You just have a one viewpoint that you stick to and you don't even consider that someone can be a club and county follower in equal measure. What do you think i am ? Do you think im an armchair fan who has never been involved with a club? Do I go to club game's? After all, it seems like you have all the answers !

It obvious alot of people against the split season are armchair supporters although you yourself aren't 1 of them. Alot of the voices against it in the national media weather it's journalists, podcasts, pundits benefit from a prolonged intercounty season financially too.

Name some pundits/ gaa journalists who have no interest in the club scene. No point making a statement if you're not going to be specific .

Guessing you might be from Kilkenny, and so generally speaking, you don't have to consider how there's both hurling and football. And that's not a dig at Kilkenny for 'ignoring' football. I've often pointed out that there's actually more football played in Kilkenny than there is hurling in several other counties.

But I'll tell you for a fact that Junior 'B' championships would indeed be affected by inter-county competitions here in Wexford. Off the top of my head, I can think of four members of our senior hurling squad who line out with their club's second football team (Junior 'B'), and three members of our senior football squad who line out with their club's second or third hurling team (also at Junior 'B').

If you asked those clubs to play Junior 'B' championship while the inter-county campaign was ongoing, they'd have to line out without those players.

Fair play to you, hope it's a great outlet for you and your children.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

I'm coming at this from the opposite side to you: I've been endlessly complaining about summer rugby. They need to put the rugby calendar back the way it was, if people want to watch rugby in June they can watch it in the SH. We're both probably suffering from the GAA/Rugby calendar changes.

Martin Brehony, Roy Curtis, Pat Spillane, Donal Og. Paul Murphy from your own county is very much in favour of the split season along with James Skehill.

lol, I complain about that too! And there's no rugby in September anymore really. Season has just slipped to the right a month. Anyway, off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,183 ✭✭✭hans aus dtschl

I don't think it's TOO far off topic though, we're seeing a lot of sports (and grades) competing for attention in April/MayJune and it's frustrating us all! What a great complaint to have too though, too much sport to watch all at once!

Ah here. One of the people of the type I mean has even referred to himself as an 'armchair fan'. Yet you continue to take issue with that term, and also with 'casual fan'.

I again invite you to inform me of a more appropriate or preferable term to use instead.

Am even beginning to wonder if a sliding scale of 1 to 10 is needed, with 'hardcore' at one end, and 'armchair' at the other. Please let me know.