Dublin GAA Discussion Thread: Mod Note - No 'Dublin Dominance' chat allowed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,439 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

you were right on the last 10 minutes. Cavan tired kicked it away.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Cavanlad23

Visiting from the Cavan thread. Came on here to ask. Definitely was him on a red cap during the warm-up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Nothing to put the fear of God into any of the teams after today really ,better in the second half but thought we were fortunate to be ahead even if just by a point at half time .It was maddening the amount of stray passes we did really poor and once again we seemed so slow in getting the ball up the field.Expect us to bow out next day and then there will have to be a serious reset for next season .Hopefully the lads prove me wrong of course .Another thing about today the jerseys looked quite similar I thought ,no excuse for the poor passes but still .

Not a notion to of that happening same issues. Any half decent team who are anyway clinical and will beat this Dublin team please pulling up. It’s a very average div 2 panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭diceyreilly

Don’t care who we get i just home we arent drawn at home.
    Games are so much more fun outside of Croke Park.
    I think from now on any home games that the County board nominate Croker for that are on tele I'm not going to.
    Today was brilliant.
    Home games should be in Parnell Park end of story. Hopefully we are getting near to it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Am I right in thinking the losing round 2A teams will have home advantage against the winning round 2B teams.

If so, Dublin will definitely be away to either Mayo, Donegal or Armagh as we can't play Westmeath.

Just can't see us beating any of those teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,450 ✭✭✭Jizique

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭mobby

I do agree, still be nice to take an ulster team out of the championship. As for Mayo. 😏

We shall see i suppose.

I see Ger wants Parnell if draw for home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,129 ✭✭✭Trampas

I think our best chance be against mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,247 ✭✭✭MFPM

Mayo the weakest team Dublin can draw...Very hard to see Dublin beating Armagh or Donegal on all available evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

On form Dublin are out.

The only chance is away draw, Dublin are written off (I think this team can’t handle any pressure or expectations) , Dublin click entirely on the day and the opponents aren’t on it. I actually think while highly improbable, a last sting of a dieing wasp display from Dublin is possible. But I wouldn’t bet on us beating anybody left that we can draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,862 ✭✭✭rolling boh

Hopefully if as likely we go out next day ,we go down with a decent showing and not a mauling .Then there will have be a serious reset for next season to be ready for a very competitive div 2 campaign .

Post edited by rolling boh on

Ger Brennan said he wants the game in Parnell Park if drawn at home.
    So now i want us drawn at home.
    Can remember ever seeing the footballers play a championship game there. It would be incredible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Gael85

We will be drawn away to Armagh or Donegal. Will be beat regardless who play next week. Cavan ram out of gas.

Con was class. Basquel and McGarry made big contributions off the bench.

Great to see a big support behind the team today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,241 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

It would be fantastic but won't happen as I don't think Parnell would have the capacity to facilitate Dublin's and their opponents season ticket holders.

It’s depressing at this stage . Will be a load of u20 lads next season as will have no other choice regardless.

Donegal!! Dublin at home...Burns mentioned Croke Park..interesting to see what happens...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,771 ✭✭✭dobman88

No way it'll be in PP imo. Dublin have too many season ticket and parnell pass holders themselves to fill it, let alone any away supporters.

Yeah, I tend to agree...GAA will want it in CP..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,659 ✭✭✭Dogsdodogsstuff

I hope Dublin push for Parnell park, don’t see why we couldn’t play it there, I’ve been going to all games so I’m grand for tickets.

At least isn’t in Ballybofey. A Donegal side with a point to prove after losses v Down and Cork. Dublin got away with not getting a hiding from Donegal during the league, because of Bugler from the bench. I would nearly take that again at this stage!

Parnell or nowhere.

Season tickets are capped at 3k iirc and didn’t sell out.
    Brennan wants it there. The county board will back him.
    GAA should have no say and Dublin won’t be doing them any favours.

UPTHEDUBS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,765 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Whats the capacity of Ballybofey? Surely its similar to Parnell Park in which case it should be held there. Croke Park is no advantage to Dublin.

Lost 7 of last 9 games in Croke Park. Play it in Parnell as will be using pitch for next season for Dublin games. Donegal will be delighted getting a handy draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 490 ✭✭Charlo30

I think Ballbofey capacity is around 15/16 thousand. About 7/8 thousand more then PP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭JohnDoe2025

Does anyone know the story with Bugler? Rumour going around the ground yesterday that he didn't make the bus trip.

Lundy was number 10 instead.

Thought Gannon, McGarry and Basquel all done well. Ref was poor again. Pulled up the Cavan 12 three times for overcarrying, and booked him for a relatively nothing foul.

Dublin should have had another penalty, and an awful lot was let go.

Con the key to everything.

He was definitely at the ground yesterday. Walking around an hour before throw in, in his crocs.
    injured i’d say.

Doesn't matter where it is played Dublin will likely lose.

The fact that Dublin lost 7 out of the last 9 games in CP just means that the team is shite and has played the bigger teams there. Donegal, Kerry, Mayo, Armagh all division 1. Plus a Westmeath and Louth side with fire in them.

Think about it the more interesting thing is to look at who Dublin have beaten this year? Look at the context and how the opposition played.

Monaghan in league (CP)

Monaghan in CP they were awful. Worst match I saw all year (maybe in the worst in over a decade) it was 7-7 HT. Monaghan would have won if could have finished chances, they were using the league to experiment. Dublin kind of fell over the line.

Rossies in league (The Hyde)

A weird game in the Hyde where the Rossies did not score for 25 minutes of the first half. Apparently according to the locals the wind was a major factor, and the introduction of the Brigids lads disrupted the settled Rossies side, keeper etc.

Wicklow in championship (Aughrim)

By some miracle Dublin were ahead a HT. And Dublin were dominated by Wicklow in the first 20 minutes, it was embarrassing. Dublin blessed to get out of Aughrim with a win. Only for the Wicklow keeper Jackson missed all his 6 2pt attempts Dublin would have lost deservedly

Louth in the championship (Portlaoise)

Dublin got away with playing that slow, slow, sloooow, patient stuff against a a very oddly flat Louth team devoid of energy. They didn't even press Dublin. It was Louth's worst performance of the year, as proven in hindsight they are a better side than that.

Cavan in the championship (Breffni Park)

No way in hell did the final scoreline reflect the match at all. Cavan had loads of chances kicked it away. And wilted in the heat at the end.

-

I wasn't happy with any of these wins when you look at the context, how the opposition played, and how Dublin played etc.

Totally agree.

In many ways Dublins wins were mostly a reflection of opposition being off or letting us off the hook.

We will lose to Donegal , possibly hammered but playing it in PP and the fact we will be massive under dogs really helps this team. We can’t manage being favourites or high expectations, so at least we should be able to play the game with less lead in the boots.

Honestly think we are capable of a one off shock but everything has to go our way for that happen. Anything less than a 5 point drubbing would be not so bad as a one off game (asides from the fact we’d be out of champo).