Garda Reserve Recruitment 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 irish6

I go next weekend. did ye park at the tennis courts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭LittleMissSunshine

Was there afternoon testing yesterday aswell or was it just the morning group. If just the one group per day, might suggest 70-80 being called for testing over the 4 days across two weekends

Post edited by LittleMissSunshine on

not sure if this is correct but someone told me all samples are taken in the morning so they can be sent to lab on same day . not sure if true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Jimmy.1733

40 people yesterday, 40 today and 40 next Saturday is what i was told. Id a 1pm slot this weekend

Ah, as there is two groups each day, each group has approx 20, your math adds up. I imagine next weekend is same format bringing 80 per weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Crusher82

Hi all might sound like a stupid question im bald so how or where do they take the sample from ? Iv not been called yet nor have I had the station interview 🙃 thanks for all the updates from everyone on here ..

One of the lads this weekend got his head shaved on the Tuesday evening & got the email Wed for this weekend, he said he was in a heap 🤣

He was told arrive up anyway and they would figure it out. They shaved my legs for mine anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭CLUM2022

Very helpful as always.

Thank you

Going by those stats it suggests potentially upto 160 applicants been tested of 2 weekends..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 Crusher82

Ha iv plenty of hair on my legs ill be safe enough so thanks for the feedback 😊

Yeah, the tennis courts are out front of the Golf Course, park away there and a few mins walk over the road. Check in at the entrance gate and they will tell you were to go. All very quick and easy

Head hair is preferred because each 1cm is a month so gives a month-by-month timeline.

Leg doesn't give that chronological look back, but gives a 12 months overview

He took scalps from both legs anyway so it better do 🥵🤣🤣🤣

Wow never knew it could give an accurate breakdown like that..

Might be potentially a few no shows over the two weekends..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 LikeAFineWine

Anyone travelling next weekend, can recommend 'One19' on the main street for food / coffee, really nice spot.

ya it’s so good . they have a other one in thurles also class .

Will try it out minus some of my hair..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Hopeful32

Evening everyone, just wondering if anyone in the group is heading to Templemore this weekend?

yea i am

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭gibsondoyle

First time back in this forum in a longgg time... applied for the reserve in 2024 but was left in limbo like everybody else... applied early 2025 for full time and have since done my time in Templemore and am now operational. If anyone has any questions about the college or job, feel free to shout.

Glad to see things are starting to move forward for some of you...

All the best!

Jaysus fair play @gibsondoyle 👏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 LikeAFineWine

Congratulations @gibsondoyle 🎊

Great stuff..

Do you reckon is the reserves will be pushed back more with all the full time members.

i fully understand that .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭gibsondoyle

I'd be surprised. Most of the training for the reserve is done off campus or on weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 goose 501

Morning all i got a reply back regards station interview. Reply was my application still live but they have over 600 applicants been vetted so very much still in the process than previously mentioned. Will get there yet

AAre You offering you station interview?

Huge congrats on your new role.

Have you observed any reserve training in the last 22 months or what is your understanding of future reserve training classes for 2026?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 349 ✭✭Marty1476

hey Gibson,

please forgive me if I bombard you with questions 😬 and I certainly appreciate any information or advice you can share.

is there an initial full week in Templemore when you get called up ? I just trying to make sure I have enough holiday allowance to cover.

After that, how many weekends did you have to spend it Templemore.

What way does the teams/online training work, how many evenings and how long are the meetings.

what way does the station training work? How many evenings a week and how long each night?

what kind of exams/projects do you need to complete?

what did you have to do that you didn’t expect ?

I already hate my self for all the questions, but any information is sincerely appreciated