Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 4,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I think the CTA will force Ireland to toughen restrictions if a Reform UK government does. They might pull out of the CTA. The Belfast stabbing suspect entered NI through the Republic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭tastyt

What I would propose is to absolutely stop all asylum seeking into the country now because we have no idea how to deal with what we have and it’s only getting worse . Wev also no housing for our young people

However because our politicians have nothing resembling a back bone or any interest in our country I know this could never happen .

Instead I would decline every application from single males , they are the problem and we all know it . The vast majority are scammers . Accept applications from women and children under 14 ( too many con men claiming to be 17 when they are 30 ) . If their application is successful and they live crime free and independently for 2 years they can then apply for their husband to join then for family unification if he has no criminal history.

These women and children should live in asylum centres like Mosney was , if they get a job and earn enough to rent then so be it , if not they can stay living in these centres , away from the centres the men live in . They should not be anywhere near communities until they are employed and paying their way in this country

They should be absolutely at the bottom of any housing list and should never ever get a house before an Irish person

And if that’s not good enough for them they should be told to fck back to the sht holes they are coming from because the Irish people are sick of being told we should be sorry for or responsible for Stone Age Middle Eastern conflicts

Post edited by tastyt on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Eh? I didn't call you anything. Haven't a clue who or what you are or even if you're being serious with your posts or just making statements for a reaction.

All I said was that what you typed was both ignorant and racist. You seem to agree.

I respectfully disagree.

We are a rich and politically stable country with a good system of human rights. We should be able to look after our own and contribute a bit to help others who are not blessed with the same freedoms that we enjoy.

I have no problem with my taxes going towards housing both our own citizens and a sensible number of people from abroad seeking sanctuary from wars or persecution.

Virtue signalling? 😅

How can you virtue signal on an anonymous forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,957 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Ireland already does it part for the poor and persecuted of the world - we contribute over 2 billion EUR annually in foreign aid. We also risk the lives of our own soldiers in peace-keeping efforts in some of these places.

What we do NOT need to do is take in more people from these regions who inevitably bring a host of problems and issues with them that we (at State and community level) are wholly ill-equipped to deal with, but will suffer the consequences of.

Let's not forget that we can't provide enough housing and mental health supports for our own people - let alone meet the more urgent and serious needs of new arrivals.

We also cannot ignore the very real risks that some of these people represent to our way of life and security as we've seen increasingly frequently over the last few years. We have enough problems with antisocial elements and domestic criminals that we aren't effectively dealing with, without importing more.

You say we are a rich and politically stable country but I'm sure know well that much of that wealth is on paper only and only so long as it makes sense to foreign investors and multinationals. That stability you mention is also being steadily eroded with the decline of the traditional big 2 parties in the country and increasing political fragmentation and polarisation that's taking their place - indeed partly a result of frustration by the electorate on the complete mismanagement of this and the other issues I've referred to.

Ultimately however, the economic, social or security issues of foreign countries and warzones are not Ireland's responsibility. We have our own problems and people who need and in fact are entitled to that support under the Constitution, legal framework, and indeed the social contract, and whom are being failed on multiple fronts by successive Governments, the civil and public service, and the legal system.

On a personal level… charity begins at home and I feel no responsibility for or obligation to every randomer or chancer who arrives on our doorstep with a sad story and the hand out. I especially feel no obligation to those who attempt to circumvent what controls we have by stowing away in containers, claiming they "lost" their documents en-route, or claiming to be a "refugee" but in actuality just another economic migrant with nothing to offer. I have zero tolerance for scammers, frauds, violent offenders or people who can't leave their divisive beliefs and cultural issues where they came from. This is OUR country and they should wholly be expected to adapt to and respect OUR way of life - no ifs, ands or buts. No exception and no second chances.

I especially though have NO tolerance for those who scream racism and other such nonsense because these entirely reasonable concerns and expectations don't fit their personal ideology, agenda or worldview. I could not care LESS about the opinion or screeching of those who engage in such behaviour as they simultaneously attempt to stifle the real debates that need to be had on this issue, while also emboldening those who are causing the real issues we're now increasingly seeing.

The welfare of Ireland, our people, society, prosperity and security come before all else. If the new arrivals don't like that, they can always go back to wherever they came from, or anywhere else that'll have them. I make no apologies for that view and nor will I entertain the self-destructive nonsense that would undo everything we've worked hard to build for "feelz" and kudos on the Internet or on the political stage.

Post edited by _Kaiser_ on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,305 ✭✭✭✭zell12

our Govt still refuse to say how/why.. Tóibín asked Q and got no answers

.. no information has been given by the Government as to his movements in this jurisdiction. How long was he in this jurisdiction? I have heard it was 24 hours. Is this true? Did he apply for asylum here? Was the application refused? Did he have a visa? Did he have a passport? Was he checked for criminal records in his background?

The world is asking these questions and all we have is dead air from the Government at the moment. .. is it the case that the Government simply does not know any of this information whatsoever? The Government’s silence is damaging the people's confidence in its ability to manage immigration on an all-Ireland basis. It is creating an information vacuum. Will the Minister tell the people the background of this individual? https://www.kildarestreet.com/debates/?id=2026-06-11a.303#g313

They may not actually know. I would imagine that there's very little actual awareness of the movements or behaviour of people whose status/application has yet to be decided unless they show up as a result of an incident.

We're letting completely unknown quantities from some of the most unstable places on the planet loose on the streets of every town and city in our country. Is it really then any surprise we're seeing videos of attacks on those same streets, reading newspaper reports of everything from harassment and violence against women, other non-nationals and locals, or court reports of scammers, fraudsters and other criminals - and yes we have plenty of the home-grown variety too, which is why we absolutely don't need to be importing more!

The Government will be hoping this one goes away as they always do. The problem with that though is that these incidents are getting harder and harder to ignore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,312 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

That podcast is absolutely unlistenable these days. Ivan Yates was a bullshitter but at least he provided an ideological bulwark to Cooper. Now Cooper just gets on who he probably invites to his cosy upper middle class dinner parties.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I was going to turn it off it was so one sided and ridiculous but kept listening as it actually became comical listening to them falling over each other to see could tell is how racist we are the most.
    To note I was a paid subscriber until Ivan left, know he’s marmite and was contrarian on purpose but it was good listening. He was also the first person on media I heard say people are not racist for asking and worrying about AS being dropped in their villages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

We had a functioning asylum system, we took in Vietnamese boat people in the 1970's. We vetted and accepted people from UNHCR camps. Yet today any randomer from god's knows that rocks up can apply.

https://youtu.be/nn9Pk46exmM?is=c7Zc2osMRPHUo14n

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,305 ✭✭✭✭zell12

more revolving door

Cover Irish Daily Mail 14/06/2026

"Fleeing" that dangerous hot-spot that is the UK (which ironically is becoming increasingly true thanks in part to the behaviour of their fellow migrants or next generation), or just just chancers, grifters, and opportunists with a "gimmie" attitude.

Sure why wouldn't we be rolling out the red carpet for such "wonderful" additions to our society!

For all his faults, Ivan was a badly needed voice on Newstalk I felt as a counter to Shane Coleman or Kieran Cuddihy.

George Hook was another one who provided a bit of balance to the discussion until he got himself embroiled in a controversy that got him suspended and "cancelled".

Hell, I even miss Pat Kenny who in his later broadcasting years would occasionally raise uncomfortable questions or awkward points!

Vincent Browne of course was a massive loss when he retired from TV3/Virgin. Politicians and others would actually be challenged and called out, as opposed to easy-ride love-in they get nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,103 ✭✭✭Juran

Ireland should only accept an annual quota from UNHCR camps, in the hundreds, not thousands. These tend to be women and children or full families. If Ireland was to stop IP / refugee applicatiins at the border, return them to the port they boarded the flight, and tell them to apply from a UNHCR camp via the offical channel, it would soon get the message out there and they'd give up coming. This is what plenty of other countries do around the world. Plus it complies with UN refugee convention ie. We will accept refugee via offical UN channels.

Why is this country so spineless to protect its borders, its residents, its culture, society, economy, etc.. if a Russian navy boat appears 50 miles off the Irish coast, the government are crying about the threat, deploying navy ships, a few prop planes, asking the British to send over fighter jets to get rid of the threat. Yet, thousands of foreign men of fighting age, many from hostile countries illegally enter the country every year with no identity papers, wander around on our streets, costing us a fortune and the government somehow doesnt see this as a state threat ?

Americans recently often say 'I'm so embarrased about my president and government' ... well I can say I'm embarrased about our Taoiseach and government over their lack of protecting the people who reside here legally (be Irish, EU, non EU, all colour, culture, creed, religion - as long as you arrived legally and reside legally).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,451 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

The “ do nothing “ Government

They see nothing , do nothing, hear nothing and ignore everything

Mr Martin is going quietly under the radar and heading to Europe as soon as he can . He angers me so much because he simply can’t listen to people explaining the reason why they object

It is so very logical to want controls and not have hoards of people competing for every single thing . School places , doctors appointments , housing , help for carers , supports for elderly etc etc

The biggest problem I see is the genuine and in huge need refugees are now lumped in with young men who should not be here at all

So the genuine people get less supports because we simply can’t support them all

If I have two kids and they are well fed and I can give them what they need . If I then go on to have another two or three then I am sharing what I have so they all get less .
    Our system is chaotic to put it mildly allowing all and sunder in to share in our limited pot .
    Micheal Martin does not care about anyone or anything he is only bidding his time , clocking up brownie points till he land in his plush job

This country right now cannot support this free for all and that is the simple reason people object

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

I really don't want to take in a bunch of men from a country where Bacha bazi is an accepted communal cultural practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭Paddy_Mag

One thing which really angered me in March was the RTE interview with a Ukrainian woman after the govt announced the phased winding down of the Ukrainian housing supports. Four-year, no job, worried about what her daughter would do when she finished her degree in trinity.

Its not a do nothing government. Its a do nothing for Irish people government. And when Jim OCallaghan had to explain to idiots like Bacik that Irish legislation should be of benefit to the Irish people then you know where the opposition priorities lie too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭briangriffin

There will always be a need for some to virtue signal to prove how noble, tolerant and englightenend they are. Its the same reason that people share there lives on social media its a type of narcissism that seeks validation and its self serving the validation happens just by sharing with the wider public, its a worldview that is built on the ego.. I am a wonderfully moral, tolerant and kind individual therefore all other cultures must also be like mine so we must trust that all people are inherently good so no rules or laws surronding immigration should be enforced. Immigration laws are inherently racist and just examples of " white privileged racists " being the usual gate keepers.

Left wing progressive types (politicians, NGOs and every liberal person) cowed into rejecting there critical thinking skills are responsible for allowing a situation occur that sees our country as one of the largest social experiments on mass immigration in the world, the rate of demographic change in a country lacking critical infrastructure is mind boggling.

But if you control the narrative you can do what you like, Irish MSM hold none accountable.

Matt Cooper thinks it's great that when he gets the bus in Dublin he doesn't hear a word of English he says its like living in London - how wonderfully progressive how incredibly enlightend that man is.

He has never once on his show discussed the problems with mass immigration remember going back many years now there is

"no connection between housing and immigration"

its all bonkers there are no adults left overseeing anything.

Would you take in someone who is fleeing from this practise?

Would you take in someone whose life is in danger for exposing, speaking out and campaigning against this practice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭InAtFullBack

I recall the exact same sentiments being levelled at Irish men following the Aisling Murphy murder. The media was falling over themselves to give air time to all sorts of nutjobs who were calling for curfews on Irish men and also a re-education programme for Irish men - all which was propagated by far-left ideologues who were barely challenged for these entrenched disgusting racist and ignorant remarks. Then, the perp wasn't Irish so the calls went silent very quickly. These far-left types are very fond of stirring the pot, but boy they don't like to lick the spoon afterwards, do they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭briangriffin

Do men lie?

Why are 80% of asylum applications rejected at first instance?

Would you consider the culture that produces such a practice compatible with the values we have in Ireland?

Are you saying because there are victims of pedophiles we must take the victims and the pedophiles together. If a pedophile would act as a pedophile acts would lying on an asylum application be a step to far even for the pedophile?

How would you vet an application from Afghanistan would you ring up the local afghan police and say fill out this form like we do in ireland?

I hope the British keep hammering home this point about the CTA. It's embarrassing for Harris and Martin - and for them to be responsible for the loss of the CTA would be one of the biggest treasonous acts ever self-inflicted by an Irish government. The more the British hammer it home, the more Harris and Martin are going to have to hold their noses and pass laws they clearly don't want to pass.

And for anyone who mentions the fact that alot of IPA come over the NI border, yes - we know. The British would be lambasting us while not keeping their own house in order in the same regard. But if it forces this country's hand into doing whats needed, it will be worth it.

Rich on paper Chooch, there is a big swathe of the Irish population struggling and the vast swathe of what's left is barely comfortable.

We already contribute handsomely via foreign aid. When you put that bill on top of the bill for the IPAs and social supports given to non Irish nationals, you will find we are spending colossal amounts of money on 'others'.

The Irish taxpayer is hit on multiple sides for said 'others' - firstly via the foreign aid given to other nations, secondly the massive costs of IPAs, thirdly via the strain on housing prices (rental and purchase) and finally public services.

We cannot continue funding others on such a scale. Either cut the foreign aid, or cut the money spent on others here, both cannot continue is my opinion. I'd much rather cut all immigration coming in (where people cannot support themselves) and the money spent on foreign aid will do more as it's cheaper to do it in other lands (better value for money).

When foreign (mostly) men then go on to commit horrendous crimes here and you've a public narrative that it's racist to say anything about it, it's no wonder you have a population that is fiercely peeved off.

Also - what is this sensible number you mention, I've yet to see anyone who is so warmly accepting of the current numbers of immigration into Ireland mention a cap/limit - I must admit this is a new departure. So, what is the figure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

Then the came after Ashling's grieving boyfriend Ryan Casey.

Most likely not. Those lands where that practise is rife need people there to speak out and lead the way in bringing change to those lands. As a nation, Ireland can use it's foreign aid allocation to assist these people in bringing about such change. Ireland loves it's moral grandstanding towards Israel over Gaza, Russia over Ukraine, but crickets about other countries with deplorable human rights records. Why?

The poster who made the comment has accepted that it's racist and stood by it.

If you judge an entire race of people as a whole entity and not accept that there are individuals within that group and you deem that entire race (eg. ALL Palestinians) to be inferior then it's racist.

I don’t know why some people get so upset over a definition. Stand over your opinion at least. If you think all Afghanistan men are scumbags then stand over it but don't moan when a statement that is clearly racist is labelled as such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 149 ✭✭Migdal_Or

I stopped watching it regularly when Ivan left. Like him or loathe him, he added a bit of spice to the podcast.

A friend of mine told me about this week's episode, so I took a quick look out of interest. I watched the first thirty minutes, up to the point where they started discussing the Israel game. The episode was recorded before the decision was made to move the game. Matt seemed to think the segment was still worth listening to; I disagreed, so I stopped at that point.

The discussion around the attack in Belfast, their attempt to link it to the incident in North Dublin, and their subsequent attempt to tie all of that to a narrative that "Ireland is racist" was downright bizarre. The MSM's unwillingness to discuss the issue at the heart of what happened is alienating more and more people with each incident. I have friends who were all for open borders and considered anyone who disagreed to be far-right, who are now starting to ask serious questions. The tide is turning.

The MSM here have had a shocker of a week. I thought they might have calmed down by now, but Ireland AM followed suit this morning. Poor Elaine is upset that wealthy people exist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭French Toast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,037 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I don’t think all Afghan men are scumbags, or all Sudanese, Nigerian, Palestinian etc.. but there are some-plenty.. and to ensure we don’t let bad apples in, just let no more in under our current immigration rules! Job done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,177 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The DUP should read that article, they have been doing a hatchet job on us since the attack in Belfast basically suggesting we are flooding the North with illegals when it's the other way round.