Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭ted_182

A consistent buffer is definitely a great job but does that not attach you to the place like a zero grazer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,240 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

if anyone is on tiktok then the Mayo Dairy Farmer account is a funny follow. Denis and Fiona are extremely humorous..

Cracked to be living in Mayo anyway. 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,938 ✭✭✭straight

I have just left off the bull after 5 weeks of Ai. It's my first year with 2 bulls as i used to just let one mop up. What's the best way to alternate them? Every few days or day/night. They're 2 angus bulls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,240 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Pick which one is easier on yourself sorting. Every few days I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭visatorro

I understand the reasons for switching the bulls, but surely the bulk of the work is done is there any need to swap around. More work handling bulls. Less handling the better in my view.

Out of interest do people feed the bulls in the parlour? We did if they came into the parlour. Some didnt bother coming into the collecting yard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

I heard of a lad who would put the resting bull into the paddock cows would be going to in 2-3 days time so he'd get a good feed and be ready for action when the cows would arrive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

You must have heard that down the pub how actually would you get the bull to the paddock on his own and for him to stay there on his own waiting an accident waitinh to happen messing around with bulls.With the price of bulls now i think any herd over 70 cows should use some sort of computer device for detection and go fully ai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,368 ✭✭✭older by the day

I would not be fooling around, if the two are together now, let them out together. It would be different if you had not used 5wks of AI

I would not be bringing them into the parlour. They will jump on a cow inside there and she could slip.

I would let them wait outside, in a yard. I might give a pick of nuts to a young bull. But its being over weight that kills a mature bull. Treat them mean, keep them keen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Sacrolyte

Swap every few days here. Works grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,497 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Do You leave the bull that's not working on his own?

yea

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I go day and night for bulls. I find there's no messing about with fighting but at the same time there's enough jealousy to keep them keen for work.if you leave 2 bulls together they ll be trying to do every cow whereas when it's day and night it's the work halved.long ago when liam sheily went down to new Ross he bought 10 bulls to do the 4or 5 hundred cows.after a week all the bulls were shagged because every bull was trying to jump every cow.i just draft them out at milking and let off the other fella and i don't give any feed to the idle bull for the time he's in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭ftm2023

Your best bet is to let them off together. I find the bulls get most worked up when being taken away from the herd. Know a man that was nearly killed separating a bull in the evening time. Stuck him onto a wall and broke half the bones in his body. There was a cow bulling and the bull didn’t take kindly to being separated…

If you look it up you’ll see it’s very strongly advised to not swap them out day/night… doing it every 24 hours at least the bull knows he’s bulled whichever cows, if you swap them every evening the new bull comes out and bulls the same cows that the other bull has already bulled

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

https://www.rte.ie/news/ireland/2026/0609/1577445-perfusionist-strike-action/

its interesting to see how far other unions go with strikes/protest…..someone would want to call the army and get them ready

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

But swapping them out night the cows have a great time and neither bull misses out. If one bull is firing blanks then it'd be bad luck for the second lad to be doing it.

The only loser is potentially the farmer if one of the bulls gets fired up because his fun is being taken away.

IMG_3965.jpeg IMG_3966.jpeg

Hard to make sense of the price of that farm. Right in the north west corner of Clare. Obviously an isolated spot. 750m of road frontage. Americans would love building a house in a place like that, if someone sold a site or two out of it they’d have the farm for the price of a tractor practically. I know there’s probably a poor depth of topsoil but you’d think it would be some farm for heifers etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭daiymann 5

Is there a house still in middle not for sale?. If so buyer beware theres loads of cheap farms on daft cheap for a reason and its not that its bad land or bad area

Ya there seems to be a house in the middle of it alright but I think it was actually trick photography in the advertisement… in the photos it looks like the whole farm is basically all in grass and all good land. I looked it up on Google Maps and reality there’s hardly 40 acres of actual land and the rest is mountain. Auctioneer is only codding himself with that advert. It’s effectively €11,500/acre when you consider there’s only 40 or so acres of actual land

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

As luck would have it didn't the second bull break out yesterday and ended up on the road beside the cows so I put him in with them to get him off the road.well such a b#ll#ks of a crack ,2 bulls chasing every cow and messing with each other all day.if you want to feck up your bulls let them out together

It can work but takes a few days to settle. If you enough business for them it’s better. One cow every few days would not be ideal. The best results I’ve had came from every few day swapping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭Coolcormack1979

days like today you just wonder why you bother your arse.had the council in as part of the Suir catchment thing and your just left with a bill to put down a tank to satisfy the eu,deregation,single farm payment etc, etc.

No problem with the old cow house that was converted to a calf shed for calves before from Bord Bia to department inspectors before till today.

Only for I’m too old to try something else now you’d really question your choices in life.

This is more in your line......

North Kerry holding in Special Area of Conservation gathering interest with guide of €4-€5k/acre https://share.google/031rMnmTN9idmzFcm

Rabobank: Growing milk supply no longer pays for Irish farmers - Agriland.ie https://share.google/aIlj4d0D0dAGhTaoO

You won't get much of a tank for under 50k plus a shed on top. Doing one here at the moment. You wouldn't want to be in it for the money anyway. Another year of no wages for the donkey doing all the work.

Ya my last board bia girl coped the calf house had no catchment tank for calf piss. But I didn't do anything about it. I suppose a precast tank at the door would do. Not a massive job if the pressure comes on.

Being around your age, if 1979 is your birthday. Are we too old?

Im hoping to do something with my life yet 😀. Don't have a clue what though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,754 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭dairyedge2

Things are bad when landlords and Kerry shareholders are the ones doing all the complaining on here. Hey look at this property in Clare, tell me why I shouldn’t buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk