Immigration and Ireland - MEGATHREAD *Mod Note Added 02/09/25*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,957 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I thought conspiracy theories were a "far-right" thing!

Sounds more like you are the one being led by social media nonsense. Is "pogrom" the word of the week or something?

The only ones who seem to be getting "marching orders" are those who appear like clockwork to claim that the Emperor is in fact wearing clothes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Wouldnt be like you Kaiser to dismiss an entirely legitimate and valid news article would it ?.nah.

I mean Tommy Robinson lives round the corner for Moscow why else would he be traveling back and forth to Israel and Moscow.

And sure Musks da grew up in Petersburg sure didn't he,!?

You hate the facts of what's going on and all the strings being pulled. Your chain is being yanked by people benefiting from turbulence and you think that's gas. Being played like a fool is conspiracy theory.

Haaa . Why not answer the questions the news poses about why these people are there ? Naaa that'd be too much wouldnt it. Lets pretend the blindingly obvious is something else altogether.

I don't give a toss about Tommy Robinson, Musk, Putin or any other fantasy boogeyman you mentioned.

I don't care about wars that we didn't cause, aren't involved in, and have no say over anyway!

I care about our country being overrun by chancers, fraudsters, and violent criminals and a Government and system that enables it all at huge cost to the locals who are paying for it - both financially and otherwise.

The only blindingly obvious thing is that you seem to pay far more attention to "socials" than what's happening around you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,672 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You don't care because they're the source of all of this.

The simple facts of why wars start and why people move and why others inseminate propaganda seems to be beyond you.

Of course you don't care. To you the answer is obvious look at that foreign person booooo.

The solution 🤷‍♂️. Grrrr ?

You don't want to admit what's going on and who benefits from it as it would shape your world view slightly ever so slightly differently and that's not good ! Grrrr ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

A broken clock is still right twice a day unfortunatly. As much as all those you mentioned is a shower of cnuts, doesn't mean their point (even if not coming from the right motivations), is invalid.

It does though. They've no interest in helping you or anyone on this thread. In fact the same people invest or own funds that profit from supplying accommodation to this people it's a win **** win for them and you're all dancing the merry tune. But sure these people 'graft hard' don't they. They deserve all the cash they're reeping from this entire manipulative exercise.

As with anything in life always question first , who benefits , second it's always the rich. Thats always the answer and has been for centuries.

Privite equity. We sell bombs over there woo win.

Privite equity. We own properties over here woo win.

The rich sitting on yachts at the F1 in monoco. Wooooo (always)

Grrr? What are you, Tony the tiger now?

This is getting ridiculous. You're essentially stamping your foot throwing your toys out because I don't share your obsession with people and countries your social media feed has told you everyone "should" care about.

By all means, go demonstrate your indignation at the Russian, American or Israeli embassies - let us know how that goes, but in reality Ireland just isn't that important, except as a destination for those with the hand out or who want what we've built.

You're also inadvertently suggesting that these new arrivals have no agency of their own. That it's because of Tommy Robinson, Putin, Israel, whatever, that when many of them come here falsely claiming to be asylum-seekers, or that the crimes they commit and disruption they cause isn't really their doing. They're just victims in the great far-right agenda right?

Ya... No. Sorry no sale here.

Again refuses to read the articles and throws back superlatives. Hitting all the marks here but afraid of the truth.

Manipulation.

But don't follow the money ! No, no followy the money !

Hey ! Look over here hey over here ! No not over there. Booo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,138 ✭✭✭BP_RS3813

I never said I like them. As I called them a 'shower of cnuts' in my post. They are hardly hardworkers - I just don't discount something because who it is coming from.

Corporations, private equity funds... - hey we made 11 billion but we spend 10.9 billion to keep going. Our net taxable income is 100 million.

Government - that's right ! You said it !

Average joe - I made 40 grand but I spent 38 grand to keep going to my net tax income is 2 grand right ?

Government - no no no that's wrong!

Wealthy people .. funding Tommy Robinson, farage, and any other toe rags they can find to ferment misdirection.

Profit ! Don't ask questions, don't give out about the lack of money in your pocket , the tax breaks for the rich .

You really should, they're being handsomely paid to tell you absolute shite, any old shite . But constant shite all the time.

Treat them as the bought and paid for manipulators that they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,785 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

https://www.thejournal.ie/ukraine-ireland-evictions-7066367-Jun2026/?utm_source=thejournal&utm_content=top-stories

Trabolgan.

Opposition politicians have raised concerns about the pressure this will put on the private rental market at a time when students will also be seeking rental accommodation nationwide.

It's a good time to be a landlord isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

What the hell are you actually on about? I’m not sure I can pick any salient points out of this incoherent rant

Although I did get a good laugh where you said above about the people that “inseminate” propaganda and “ferment” misdirection

Dunno what your general point is but leave us out of whatever you’re inseminating! 🤣🤣

Post edited by Stephen_Maturin on

Youve no response whatsoever to either article I posted that's the point. You don't have a response because you're fully aware of what your at and you don't care.

Meanwhile rather than answering the questions as to who benefits from all this rage your experiencing you dance along to the merry tune. Grrrr immigrants raaarrrr let's burn stuff down .

You've zero interest in addressing why your being manipulated at all. Zero interest. Have you asked yourself why ?

No..?..... random misdirection response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,891 ✭✭✭El Gato De Negocios

This thread has taken a rather bizarre turn.🤨

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Viscount Aggro

Next you will be telling me that Mosney is closed. I have 2 weeks booked there in August.

Your right. The people raging about immigration being posed questions about their heros Farage, Robinson , Musks behavior.

Why are these people in Moscow ? Maybe you have answers ?

Why when you look into the ownership of the hotels/venues this guy was being hosted in does not trace back to a private equity fund ?

Why are these not questions on everyone's lips rather than eating each other alive ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

I saw this absolute nonsense in the Journal. https://www.thejournal.ie/social-housing-legally-resident-ireland-ihrec-7067007-Jun2026/?utm_source=shortlink

THE IRISH HUMAN Rights and Equality Commission (IHREC) has written to the housing minister expressing concern over provisions in new housing legislation that would require social housing applicants to prove they are legally and habitually resident in Ireland.

The Commission said these measures “are likely to result in more people being denied access to social housing assistance”.

What, frankly is wrong with that? We have a housing crisis, a backlog in providing social housing to those on lists. The entire point of legislating for this is to ensure these social supports go to those who are eligible.

Any group who puts forward ridiculous open borders nonsense like this should have any government funding they receive cut. Nonsense like this being given airtime, as if these are legitimate complaints is driving resentment in ordinary people who get up everyday, work, pay taxes, rent/mortgage. Any functioning welfare society needs to ensure that resources are funelled towards those who are eligible and deserving.

I'd love to know who is behind this organisation, what is it and for what purpose was it set up and who funds it.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,785 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

Never heard of it, sorry. I'd recommend Benidorm over anywhere in Ireland for 2 weeks in August though

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Irish_Human_Rights_and_Equality_Commission

I'd love to know who is behind this organisation, what is it and for what purpose was it set up and who funds it.

This wikipedia page should explain all you need to know

Liam Herrick, formerly of the Irish Civil Liberties Council, is the main man involved but it's a state funded institution

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭plodder

"redistributionist" and there's an anarchist strand to it as well. They want to see culture and institutions that they don't like, destroyed, without having much idea of what should replace them.

“The opposite of 'good' is 'good intentions'”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

I have literally no interest in Tommy Robinson, Farage, Putin, Musk etc - I dislike all of them and take none of my opinions from them, nor have I made any reference to them, nor have I expressed support for the rioters in Belfast in any way, so on that basis I genuinely have no idea to what you are referring

Maybe you’ve confused me with someone else, I don’t know. You’re just shouting into the sky by the looks of things.

Anyway back on topic, Newstalk mentioned that the Times are reporting on TikTok ads offering people passage to UK where they can claim asylum via Dublin for 7k - I foresee the border is going to become a hot topic over there again. It is essential that there is cooperation on both sides to prevent this kind of trafficking of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,928 ✭✭✭archfi

Yes, progressives have the laws tied up.

The laws surrounding this capture and appeals to nebulous international obligations which are deployed all of the time, need to be completely dismantled.

Yes, treat people *humanely but that doesn't mean (at least in non-progressiveland) letting completely unknown foreigners roam the country from the second they land here.

*Not made up hooman rights

"What does that even mean, vetting?"

-Michael Martin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,146 ✭✭✭dabbler2004

While I agree with the above how do we manage the ones who have no valid documents, they can't be flown back to anywhere.

What about the companies that own the hotels and centers ? Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,951 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

The reality is that if there wasn't a video of the incident, there would have been no riots in the days following the brutal attack, minimal coverage in the media and it would have been largely forgetting fairly quickly.

Like the Clifden murder, like the young Jihadi who tried to murder the Priest at the barracks in Galway while shouting Allah Akbur, like the ritualistic murder and beheading of the two gay men in Sligo (don't see any podcasts of this incident on the usual crime pods in Ireland), like the knife attack on the Gardai in Capel St while a man was shouting Allah Akbur.

The reality is that these incidents are now regular occurances. These lone wolf attacks will lead to a Manchester Arena type incident here some time soon and we'll also suffer Cell organised attacks like the Bataclan, Brussels, 7/7 etc etc in the coming years.

The horse has well and truly bolted now. Those at fault for allowing it to happen will be happily sitting on their huge ministerial pensions, doing after dinner speeches and working in some handy NGO or EU job while Irish society deals with the impact of what they have allowed.

And yet still there will be no political change in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,037 ✭✭✭jj880

Post edited by jj880 on

>>> BOARDS IS IN TROUBLE - SUBSCRIPTIONS NEEDED <<<

Info 👉️ Important News!!

Progress 👉 https://keepboardsalive.com/

Subscribe 👉️ https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭OscarMIlde

The BBC has been doing a lot of investigation into Kurdish mafia running vape and barber shops in the UK that are fronts for money laundering, criminal activity and people trafficking. Some of it is horrific, intimidation and violence towards people working in Trading standards. https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cdxplq92rx1o

Also violence and extortion towards those being smuggled. https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/c8xwxdgvx8lo

It's not just about the sheer waste of taxpayers money. It's the strain on housing, education, hospitals/GPs, policing. It's the fact that we have no idea of the age, country of origin, criminal or terrorist backgrounds of people turning up with no documentation claiming asylum. There are organised criminals and offshore networks making vast amounts of money out of this.

It's not right wing for people to object and worry.

“Never argue with an idiot. They will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience.”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 443 ✭✭sekiro

This should naturally raise the question of how are these folk paying for that.

7k is something like 10 times the average annual wage in Sudan.

How many people who are arriving here by these means are starting life in their new country owing thousands to criminal gangs?

It's clear that people are really excited to get hot under the collar about Tommy Robinson and the situation in Belfast or whatever but at some point questions need to be asked about what exactly is going on with our immigration policies.

People with apparently the resources and motivation to gather up many multiple years worth of earning in their homeland make the journey all the way to Ireland and then suddenly are completely inert needing the government to take care of absolutely everything for them. Some of them might even get involved in crime and victimise locals, or each other. Why?

When the stuff in Belfast settles down and people stop gleefully using it as a way to handwave away genuine concerns we are still going to have to ask what are the benefits of the current policies? What are the negatives? Maybe even ask how is all of this being funded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,792 ✭✭✭creedp

It must be that poster’s turn to peddle the self righteous Boy Scout twaddle. In fairness the other couple of chaps who have been continuously belching that gibberish had earned a well deserved break